10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

TSPPZ
post May 14 2014, 11:54 AM, updated 8y ago

736 posts

Hi ladies and gentlemen,

I want to propose to my gf later this year if i can find a suitable ring as soon as possible. All those preparation of the proposal also need some time. smile.gif

My budget for the proposal ring is around RM 10k. Maybe RM 2 - 3k for wedding bands. My gf is dying for Tiffany & Co and I take some time to think about it since a lot of choices out there that can offer me better ring despite the brand itself. Because i think wedding only once in a lifetime, i think should buy the best for her but if i can get better ring somewhere else then maybe i should reconsider.

I asked my friend last week in KL to help me to see some rings in Tiffany & Co and he told me that it is possible to buy a proposal ring for RM 10k with only 0.25 or 0.3 carat of diamond with Tiffany Setting. I not sure about the colour, cut, etc yet because i not there to see it. Maybe that kind of money can buy you 0.25 carat but low colour and cut which i not really sure yet. I will be going to KL this weekend and I will drop by to see the ring myself.

For the wedding bands, if i able to get Tiffany & Co for the proposal ring, i think to buy the wedding bands in other shops.

So what is your advice on this matter? Should i go for Tiffany & Co or other brand for the proposal ring and how about the wedding bands?

Thanks!

SUSTyler__Durden
post May 14 2014, 12:29 PM

98 posts

Your wedding band and ring should be 5 times of your monthly salary.
Azurika
post May 14 2014, 03:10 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ May 14 2014, 12:29 PM)
Where or how did you get that figure ?
Like that have to look at 3 carat ring d sweat.gif

Well TS, my rule of thumb which I share and agree with my GF is, why buy something that might not have an appreciation value ? If its a 10k ring, imagine you using only 1k for the ring and 9k to further grow your wealth tongue.gif But hey, if the rock can appreciate over time, why not ? laugh.gif
TSPPZ
post May 14 2014, 03:14 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ May 14 2014, 03:10 PM)
Like that have to look at 3 carat ring d  sweat.gif
Well TS, my rule of thumb which I share and agree with my GF is, why buy something that might not have an appreciation value ? If its a 10k ring, imagine you using only 1k for the ring and 9k to further grow your wealth  tongue.gif  But hey, if the rock can appreciate over time, why not ?  laugh.gif
haha.. i think the most important thing is that this wedding is a good and happy moment for both of us. Should i go for it? or got other choices?
Azurika
post May 14 2014, 03:29 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ May 14 2014, 03:14 PM)
haha.. i think the most important thing is that this wedding is a good and happy moment for both of us. Should i go for it? or got other choices?
IF you can afford it, without much of a worry in your financial area, then Ill say go for it. Dont be those idiots out there who because their GF wants, do not want to be looked at a cheapo or whatever the reason buys a damn expensive ring and went into financial crisis.
But remember, humans are greedy, once u get her a 10k ring, the next time you want to get her something, you better not disappoint her laugh.gif
TSPPZ
post May 14 2014, 03:38 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ May 14 2014, 03:29 PM)
IF you can afford it, without much of a worry in your financial area, then Ill say go for it.  Dont be those idiots out there who because their GF wants, do not want to be looked at a cheapo or whatever the reason buys a damn expensive ring and went into financial crisis.
But remember, humans are greedy, once u get her a 10k ring, the next time you want to get her something, you better not disappoint her  laugh.gif
true but i want her to know that this wedding means a lot to me and i want to give my best to her. So hopefully next time she wont expect me too much la. haha
fuelsave
post May 22 2014, 12:26 PM

133 posts

anything any value as long as its affordable for u, if not most shops got 0% installment plan
xAmdx
post May 22 2014, 12:30 PM

486 posts

I bought my wedding ring at Tiffany store in SG airport because duty free. I think end of the day is your partner like the design or not, the others factors like the carat,color,clarity and stuff you can choose later depending on ur budget.
fkinmeng
post May 22 2014, 02:19 PM

6,314 posts

1st, learn more about diamond, it's not about the carat, it's about the cut.
sonerin
post May 22 2014, 08:28 PM

8,716 posts

Seriously, I had only spend 1k for wedding ring + band. Seriously I don't know how important is a ring or your future finance. Of course if you have the money then go for it.
nevenchailj
post May 23 2014, 09:18 AM

Cyclist
561 posts

Well from my POV, Tiffany & Co. diamond rings are overrated. It's all because of the brand. Why don't go make a visit to SUEN in Bangsar (Used to be called The Carat Club) or DeGem in Bangsar. They have variety diamond ring collections with your budget. Maybe a 0.4c with nice 4C? Good luck in your hunt bro.
fkinmeng
post May 23 2014, 09:27 AM

6,314 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 22 2014, 08:28 PM)
Seriously, I had only spend 1k for wedding ring + band. Seriously I don't know how important is a ring or your future finance. Of course if you have the money then go for it.
how many years ago was that? blink.gif
sonerin
post May 23 2014, 08:23 PM

8,716 posts

About 4 years ago.
happychai
post May 27 2014, 09:14 AM

1,867 posts

look around cartier or mont blanc?
those 2 are famous for wedding bands also
dynamic123
post May 30 2014, 09:32 AM

325 posts

Well TS, my rule of thumb which I share and agree with my GF is, why buy something that might not have an appreciation value ? If its a 10k ring, imagine you using only 1k for the ring and 9k to further grow your wealth  tongue.gif  But hey, if the rock can appreciate over time, why not ?  laugh.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Azurika @ May 14 2014, 03:29 PM)
IF you can afford it, without much of a worry in your financial area, then Ill say go for it.  Dont be those idiots out there who because their GF wants, do not want to be looked at a cheapo or whatever the reason buys a damn expensive ring and went into financial crisis.
But remember, humans are greedy, once u get her a 10k ring, the next time you want to get her something, you better not disappoint her  laugh.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(iluvlipstick @ May 28 2014, 05:55 PM)
for me, i prefer cartier
cartier really expensive lah. of cause nice lah HAHA
fuzzy
post Jun 5 2014, 06:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,963 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ May 14 2014, 11:54 AM)
Hi ladies and gentlemen,

I want to propose to my gf later this year if i can find a suitable ring as soon as possible. All those preparation of the proposal also need some time. smile.gif

My budget for the proposal ring is around RM 10k. Maybe RM 2 - 3k for wedding bands. My gf is dying for Tiffany & Co and I take some time to think about it since a lot of choices out there that can offer me better ring despite the brand itself. Because i think wedding only once in a lifetime, i think should buy the best for her but if i can get better ring somewhere else then maybe i should reconsider.
You definitely can buy a better ring than Tiffany & Co. But what you mean by 'better' would be the issue. T&C doesn't pride itself in having the best numbers, rather a solid and established brand name. Some would consider a 0.5c from T&C is 'better' than a 1c from non-brand.

I asked my friend last week in KL to help me to see some rings in Tiffany & Co and he told me that it is possible to buy a proposal ring for RM 10k with only 0.25 or 0.3 carat of diamond with Tiffany Setting. I not sure about the colour, cut, etc yet because i not there to see it. Maybe that kind of money can buy you 0.25 carat but low colour and cut which i not really sure yet. I will be going to KL this weekend and I will drop by to see the ring myself.
He might be right, but 10k probably get you a lower end stone. I think the 0.4c, H, SI that they quoted me was around 13k.

So what is your advice on this matter? Should i go for Tiffany & Co or other brand for the proposal ring and how about the wedding bands?

Thanks!
You will find very different advice here. Some will call you stupid for buying in into the whole diamond hype, some will tell you that you can get something better at that price and others will tell you to get what your wife wants.

My advice, have a budget, stick to it and get something your future wife would love. If it is not a surprise, get her to go and look at it as well. If you are open to customisation, you can actually get a very decent rock + setting for that price you mentioned, stones that are on par with Lazare's.

I don't believe in diamonds, but my fiancee does. I got her something exactly what she loved. The joy in her face everytime she looks at it for me is worth what I paid. Obviously I could have bought a 1k diamond and spend the rest on something else, but what is the point if it means sacrificing her happiness? I can always earn money, it is nothing to me.

Just put it this way. A diamond ring will last you a marriage, which last perhaps around 30 years. If you spent 10k on a diamond ring that means you are spending less than RM1 a day. And for me, that is too cheap to pay for that happiness I see in her face smile.gif
joohui
post Jun 7 2014, 11:34 PM

Hi ladies and gentlemen,

For the wedding bands, if i able to get Tiffany & Co for the proposal ring, i think to buy the wedding bands in other shops.

Thanks!
Bro, just get whatever your fiancee like. Never get her engagement ring that "you think" is best for her, the ladies' brain works slightly different as we know it.

Just go easy on the wedding band, coz you'll wear it everyday, frankly, very easy to lose it.
TSPPZ
post Jun 9 2014, 09:18 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jun 5 2014, 06:21 PM)
You definitely can buy a better ring than Tiffany & Co. But what you mean by 'better' would be the issue. T&C doesn't pride itself in having the best numbers, rather a solid and established brand name. Some would consider a 0.5c from T&C is 'better' than a 1c from non-brand.
He might be right, but 10k probably get you a lower end stone. I think the 0.4c, H, SI that they quoted me was around 13k.
You will find very different advice here. Some will call you stupid for buying in into the whole diamond hype, some will tell you that you can get something better at that price and others will tell you to get what your wife wants.

My advice, have a budget, stick to it and get something your future wife would love. If it is not a surprise, get her to go and look at it as well. If you are open to customisation, you can actually get a very decent rock + setting for that price you mentioned, stones that are on par with Lazare's.

I don't believe in diamonds,  but my fiancee does. I got her something exactly what she loved. The joy in her face everytime she looks at it for me is worth what I paid. Obviously I could have bought a 1k diamond and spend the rest on something else, but what is the point if it means sacrificing her happiness? I can always earn money, it is nothing to me.

Just put it this way. A diamond ring will last you a marriage, which last perhaps around 30 years. If you spent 10k on a diamond ring that means you are spending less than RM1 a day. And for me, that is too cheap to pay for that happiness I see in her face smile.gif
Thanks for your input! I think the best thing is that i get the ring which she likes. I maybe have limited budget and not able to give her the biggest carat ever but i think she will appreciate if i buy the ring she prefer.

QUOTE(joohui @ Jun 7 2014, 11:34 PM)
Bro, just get whatever your fiancee like. Never get her engagement ring that "you think" is best for her, the ladies' brain works slightly different as we know it.

Just go easy on the wedding band, coz you'll wear it everyday, frankly, very easy to lose it.
Thanks bro! Will get it soon but have to travel to kl to get it
ukiya
post Jun 10 2014, 10:14 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

I m got my rings mostly from here:
SOS

You may customize it too. It always deliver to my friend in SG before it pass to me. It's worth every penny. And their diamond is certified by GIA normally.
And making a commitment to surprise my girl in changing new ring from time to time.

Aster66
post Jun 26 2014, 10:05 PM

92 posts

just go for what your gf loves. the heart that you did notice her preference counts~
good luck and congrats in advance! wub.gif

This post has been edited by Aster66: Jun 26 2014, 10:06 PM
Yennie26
post Jul 12 2014, 12:18 PM

Hi ladies and gentlemen,

Thanks!
My fiance got me a beautiful Forevermark (by DeBeers) diamond ring from DeGem. I totally love it. Check it out.

solarshine
post Jul 14 2014, 10:08 AM

Getting from a diamond wholesaler will save you a lot!
steventan85
post Jul 14 2014, 10:09 AM

6,400 posts

QUOTE(solarshine @ Jul 14 2014, 10:08 AM)
Getting from a diamond wholesaler will save you a lot!
diamond wholesaler ? reliable or not ... got GIA cert ?

mind to share with us who is it icon_idea.gif
solarshine
post Jul 14 2014, 10:09 AM

The rocks from wholesaler are GIA certified which you can be assure of. If you get from a retail, it will cost you a bomb just for the name and the box. Really not worth the money spending when you can get a way better one and a bigger one
solarshine
post Jul 14 2014, 10:12 AM

You can get the GIA certificate number and check with GIA directly if you are not comfortable to get a confirmation.
steventan85
post Jul 14 2014, 10:14 AM

6,400 posts

QUOTE(solarshine @ Jul 14 2014, 10:09 AM)
The rocks from wholesaler are GIA certified which you can be assure of. If you get from a retail, it will cost you a bomb just for the name and the box. Really not worth the money spending when you can get a way better one and a bigger one
who is the wholesaler ? doh.gif
TSPPZ
post Jul 14 2014, 11:47 AM

736 posts

It's ok guys. i bought my ring already. From Tiffany & Co because my gf loves it and i think it is totally worth it since it is the ring she like. Not a ring that will break my wallet and i think it suit fine.
yuen1985
post Jul 16 2014, 04:41 AM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jul 14 2014, 11:47 AM)
It's ok guys. i bought my ring already. From Tiffany & Co because my gf loves it and i think it is totally worth it since it is the ring she like. Not a ring that will break my wallet and i think it suit fine.

May i know how much it cost?

It is tiffany setting?
leannlt7
post Jul 23 2014, 07:20 PM

Tiffany & Co- the brand itself will sweep your fiance off her feet and at the same time burn a hole in your pocket. It's high-end, luxurious and very pricey! good workmanship.
Love & Co has nice designs and less expensive.
For better quality diamonds but not luxury brand, Tomei's medium-tier Le Lumiere is a good option. These are premium cut and more shiny.

http://www.wedresearch.net/2013/08/finding...engagement.html
Deznom
post Aug 28 2014, 08:03 AM

356 posts

anybody looked into moissanite stones ah?
bb100
post Aug 30 2014, 12:07 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 14 2014, 10:09 AM)
diamond wholesaler ? reliable or not ... got GIA cert ?

mind to share with us who is it  icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 14 2014, 10:14 AM)
who is the wholesaler ?  doh.gif
http://www.jamesallen.com

They have this revolutionary 360-degree HD view of the actual diamonds, so you can truly the stones quality before deciding. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bb100: Aug 30 2014, 12:10 PM
lobak
post Oct 15 2014, 01:52 PM

Hi ladies and gentlemen,

Thanks!
Try Lazare Diamonds, for RM10k, you should be able to get a bigger rock / quality. DeGem has some nice bands too for around the 2-3k price range with good design. I like DeBeers for wedding bands, but they are....ex.pen.sive. Good luck searching!
bearbear
post Nov 2 2014, 05:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,058 posts

need some input here, i am looking at budget of 5-8k

de gem [in house i forget the name] - 0.36c G VS1 RM6880
0.44c I VS1 RM8200

D&P Estrella- 0.35c E VS2 RM6590 (platinum ring)

D&P Forevermark similar as above RM5290

Lumiere 0.35c F VS2 RM5388
0.4c G VS2 RM6899

Seems really hard to just get GIA certified, most of the shop focus on these ideal cut and the only other option is no cert.

Any other shops worth checking out? Will Singapore have better pricing?

fuzzy
post Nov 7 2014, 01:51 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,963 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 2 2014, 05:10 PM)
need some input here, i am looking at budget of 5-8k

de gem [in house i forget the name] - 0.36c G VS1 RM6880
0.44c I VS1 RM8200

D&P Estrella- 0.35c E VS2 RM6590 (platinum ring)

D&P Forevermark similar as above RM5290

Lumiere 0.35c F VS2 RM5388
0.4c G VS2 RM6899

Seems really hard to just get GIA certified, most of the shop focus on these ideal cut and the only other option is no cert.

Any other shops worth checking out? Will Singapore have better pricing?
Hey, Singapore most likely have similar pricing (unless you earn SGD) after conversion.

DeGem in house? You mean Lazare?

I'm not sure what you mean by hard to get GIA certified, I think most if not all do try to sell GIA certified except for DeGem's lazare and I think D&P which pushes their own certification.

If you just want a stone, you can try buying it online then getting your own setting. That was what my friend did, you might have have the brand name but with just a little time, you can get a stone that shines and looks as good as the Lazare I got for half the price.

I'll go search for the tools if you are interested.

GiNgEr^fIsH
post Nov 10 2014, 07:05 PM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

Guys, when I was sourcing for my fiancée's ring I did a lot of reading and research. I came to a conclusion that all brands will try to sell you their brands from showing you a perfect hearts and arrows to lazare's ideal cut. To be honest, all brands will say they are ideal cut. Finally I decided to use http://Pricescope.com/ (ask for the diamond's GIA cert and plot in the numbers)
Any diamond rated 0.4 to 1.6 does return a really good shine. Using this I source for my diamond. I was able to find the perfect diamond and a nice setting. Let me know if anyone of you need help. Good luck guys!

bearbear
post Nov 11 2014, 09:38 PM

10,058 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 7 2014, 01:51 PM)
Hey, Singapore most likely have similar pricing (unless you earn SGD) after conversion.

DeGem in house? You mean Lazare?

I'm not sure what you mean by hard to get GIA certified, I think most if not all do try to sell GIA certified except for DeGem's lazare and I think D&P which pushes their own certification.

If you just want a stone, you can try buying it online then getting your own setting. That was what my friend did, you might have have the brand name but with just a little time, you can get a stone that shines and looks as good as the Lazare I got for half the price.

I'll go search for the tools if you are interested.
well you are right, in fact some ideal cut range cost more after converting.

Example i go to Tomei, it is either Lumiere or WITHOUT GIA cert. I don't know how true but even other shops around MV claimed the same. Except maybe the likes of De Gem / D&P where they carry Forever Mark. One sales man from a random shop even told me: no cert but i will give you receipt. I almost vomit blood doh.gif

I've read quite abit and seems like if you are buying based on cert, HCA tool is one that might help you decide.

Anyway i might just buy one in Singapore from Lovis

A 0.4c / G / IF / triple Excellent on cert / HCA score 1.6 with simple classic setting - below 5k MYR. An ideal cut in Malaysia would cost at least 7k and above for 0.4c.

For those of you who have a chance to buy in Singapore, check out JannPaul which is a private jeweller. They are quite famous now selling their Super Ideal Cut range. They will send you all sort of image to demonstrate how perfect it is. Of course it come with a premium. I was quoted 0.41c / G / VS2 for 2.5k SGD, their cheapest setting 550 SGD.
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Nov 12 2014, 12:47 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

Those buying from sg, I suggest visit Jann Paul for more diamond knowledge. And try canary. I find them to have better diamonds than lovis
bearbear
post Nov 12 2014, 12:54 AM

10,058 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 12 2014, 12:47 AM)
Those buying from sg, I suggest visit Jann Paul for more diamond knowledge. And try canary. I find them to have better diamonds than lovis
hi, where did you get it and mind sharing soec and price?

like JannPaul, as much as I would like to visit their business hour is abit of a pain to deal with. wink.gif
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Nov 12 2014, 01:49 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

I got mine from canary. Mine is .9 E vs1. Price is not cheap. But perfect for my fiancée. I'm just suggesting you try both Jann Paul and canary too. In fact I find them to have better diamonds than Larry's also. Good luck my friend. Make sure you use HCA. The grades there really shows the diff. My fiancée .9 shines much much more than her boss's 1.1
fuzzy
post Nov 12 2014, 09:04 AM

*pew pew pew*
6,963 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 12 2014, 01:49 AM)
I got mine from canary. Mine is .9 E vs1. Price is not cheap. But perfect for my fiancée. I'm just suggesting you try both Jann Paul and canary too. In fact I find them to have better diamonds than Larry's also. Good luck my friend. Make sure you use HCA. The grades there really shows the diff. My fiancée .9 shines much much more than her boss's 1.1
Shine has nothing to do with carats. Shine is to do with how it is cut, so it is not surprising that a .9 can be shinier than a 1.1c biggrin.gif

Just ask them for the measurements and pump it into their online tools that can guestimate quite decently the shine and brilliance the stone can cut.

Do bear in mind, Malaysia have the cheapest diamonds around SEA if I'm not wrong, but Singapore might have more selections due to the market.
jovene11
post Nov 12 2014, 10:54 AM

where to buy genuine good diamonds retailers in malaysia..
bearbear
post Nov 12 2014, 12:27 PM

10,058 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 12 2014, 09:04 AM)
Shine has nothing to do with carats. Shine is to do with how it is cut, so it is not surprising that a .9 can be shinier than a 1.1c  biggrin.gif

Just ask them for the measurements and pump it into their online tools that can guestimate quite decently the shine and brilliance the stone can cut.

Do bear in mind, Malaysia have the cheapest diamonds around SEA if I'm not wrong, but Singapore might have more selections due to the market.
hmm where would you suggest me to scout diamond with just GIA cert in Malaysia? hmm.gif
fuzzy
post Nov 12 2014, 02:01 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,963 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 12 2014, 12:27 PM)
hmm where would you suggest me to scout diamond with just GIA cert in Malaysia? hmm.gif
My friend got his from Audrey's (http://audreys.com.my/index.php/), maybe other forumers can guide you to any other sites.

They are quite transparent, providing all the details as well as the GIA certification number (so you can look it up online) on their website.

What we did was got a shortlist of the stones within his budget and 4C's, then check out each stone in the GIA website (they will give you the online certification) and run it through the tools available online (http://www.pricescope.com/tools) and narrow it down to the final few which was the best among the shortlist.

He got the settings done outside by another jeweller according to his customise design. I'd say the shine of the diamond was a good as the Lazare I got for my fiancee, and I think overall he got his down for about 30% less. The only drawback is less bragging rights, but really, unless it's a Tiffany, Cartier, Lazare or something, would your wife to be really care about that?
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Nov 12 2014, 02:34 PM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

Spot on fuzzy. Sounds like u went through the exact steps I went through when I was sources my stone. Did a lot of homework. In the end is a personal choice; to me, brand is secondary. The diamond's brilliance and cut is priority. I compared a couple of Tiffany diamonds on pricescope and the returning rates are really poor. The sales person have no knowledge about this area. Mind you this is Singapore, takashimaya.
shauno
post Nov 12 2014, 04:37 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 12 2014, 02:01 PM)
My friend got his from Audrey's (http://audreys.com.my/index.php/), maybe other forumers can guide you to any other sites.

They are quite transparent, providing all the details as well as the GIA certification number (so you can look it up online) on their website.

What we did was got a shortlist of the stones within his budget and 4C's, then check out each stone in the GIA website (they will give you the online certification) and run it through the tools available online (http://www.pricescope.com/tools) and narrow it down to the final few which was the best among the shortlist.

He got the settings done outside by another jeweller according to his customise design. I'd say the shine of the diamond was a good as the Lazare I got for my fiancee, and I think overall he got his down for about 30% less. The only drawback is less bragging rights, but really, unless it's a Tiffany, Cartier, Lazare or something, would your wife to be really care about that?
+1 to what fuzzy said. I am said friend.

Overall, I did spend a lot more time as compared to fuzzy when picking out the ring - but I really thought it was a fun process, and I now know a lot more about diamonds. Of course, getting the stone and setting separately also gives you the freedom to pick out the type of setting you like. Some will say that looking for the stone, and thinking of the design is a lot of work, but some will prefer it as it is more personalized.

At the end of the day, when she puts the ring on, you can't tell if its a Tiffany, Tomei or personalized.
bearbear
post Nov 12 2014, 09:16 PM

10,058 posts

thanks for the valuable feedback, will surely check out audrey before buying.

edit: audrey only sells big stone?

This post has been edited by bearbear: Nov 12 2014, 09:52 PM
marquis
post Nov 13 2014, 11:05 AM

Flower Power!
2,469 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Nov 12 2014, 04:37 PM)
+1 to what fuzzy said. I am said friend.

Overall, I did spend a lot more time as compared to fuzzy when picking out the ring - but I really thought it was a fun process, and I now know a lot more about diamonds. Of course, getting the stone and setting separately also gives you the freedom to pick out the type of setting you like. Some will say that looking for the stone, and thinking of the design is a lot of work, but some will prefer it as it is more personalized.

At the end of the day, when she puts the ring on, you can't tell if its a Tiffany, Tomei or personalized.
Mind sharing where you got your setting done? I'm at a lost for which one to choose sweat.gif

All this horror stories about setting in subpar gold and what not has me a tad bit paranoid.
shauno
post Nov 13 2014, 01:56 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 12 2014, 09:16 PM)
thanks for the valuable feedback, will surely check out audrey before buying.

edit: audrey only sells big stone?
If I'm not wrong, they have a range of stones. What I did was to go over to their outlet, let them know what your budget and all is. They sent me a list of their existing stock, and told me to take my pick.

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 13 2014, 11:05 AM)
Mind sharing where you got your setting done? I'm at a lost for which one to choose sweat.gif

All this horror stories about setting in subpar gold and what not has me a tad bit paranoid.
I got mine from a friend who was recommended. PM me if you want to know his contact
bearbear
post Nov 19 2014, 05:55 PM

10,058 posts

i have price list of Audreys, frankly it is not cheap. a 0.4c without triple excellent also cost 4.5k and above but their price is inclusive of settings.

Have my eye on a 0.4c / G / IF / Triple ex, HCA score of 1.6 in Singapore at SGD 1680 without setting.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Nov 19 2014, 05:55 PM
fuzzy
post Nov 20 2014, 06:33 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,963 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 19 2014, 05:55 PM)
i have price list of Audreys, frankly it is not cheap. a 0.4c without triple excellent also cost 4.5k and above but their price is inclusive of settings.

Have my eye on a 0.4c / G / IF / Triple ex, HCA score of 1.6 in Singapore at SGD 1680 without setting.
Get their dimension, run it through the tools as the score might not fully reflect how the stone shines. IF you add in setting, it might cost more than Audrey's, I think it is better (if you have something in mind) to get your own setting from someone you trust.
MrOne
post Nov 21 2014, 11:44 AM

276 posts

TS u seem very kaya leh....
darx84
post Dec 22 2014, 02:41 PM

112 posts

Sorry if I am asking a stupid question. But where to get the dimension detail to input into the HCA calculator? Does the retailer actually have all those information?
bearbear
post Dec 23 2014, 03:49 PM

10,058 posts

QUOTE(darx84 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:41 PM)
Sorry if I am asking a stupid question. But where to get the dimension detail to input into the HCA calculator? Does the retailer actually have all those information?
the information is on the GIA cert, if you can get the GIA number then it is easy as the information is available online.
bearbear
post Dec 23 2014, 06:22 PM

10,058 posts

QUOTE(darx84 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:41 PM)
the information is on the GIA cert, if you can get the GIA number then it is easy as the information is available online.
Kelv
post Dec 28 2014, 02:45 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Any opinion on Wah Chan diamond? They claimed theirs comparable to more branded one and cheaper. Also comes with GIA cert for 0.3 above.
SUSsupersound
post Dec 28 2014, 06:46 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Dec 28 2014, 02:45 PM)
Any opinion on Wah Chan diamond? They claimed theirs comparable to more branded one and cheaper. Also comes with GIA cert for 0.3 above.
Follow your budget.
I only bought rm1500 wedding ring last time.
With current economy, the rings are kept in our pocket as we don't want to end up with fingers being cut.
rajnikan
post Dec 30 2014, 04:14 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(joohui @ Jun 7 2014, 11:34 PM)

that is right. ask her what she likes. girls areeee different from guys. haha nod.gif
mochibean5
post Jan 13 2015, 12:17 AM

19 posts

Hi ladies and gentlemen,

Thanks!
I know a lot of guys who got really nice rings which were customed and not branded but yet cheaper than a branded ring for more value (i.e., better stone and setting). Noone can tell what brand the ring is once its on your finger and you can even custom it to follow a Tiffany design.
But if the actual brand value is important then that will be a the deciding factor.
wilsonyew
post Feb 16 2015, 11:23 PM

Hi all the sifu there, i also started planning to buy my proposal ring. Just went to one of the shop ask today. They quote me RM 5k with the casing for the below spec :

- 0.4 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

Is it a good deal ? Of i can get a better spec within my 5k budget ?
Like a Bause
post Feb 17 2015, 12:23 AM

415 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyew @ Feb 16 2015, 11:23 PM)
Hi all the sifu there, i also started planning to buy my proposal ring. Just went to one of the shop ask today. They quote me RM 5k with the casing for the below spec :

- 0.4 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

for 5k you can get bigger one.. where did ya scouted that piece ? smile.gif
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Feb 17 2015, 12:23 AM)
for 5k you can get bigger one.. where did ya scouted that piece ?  smile.gif
I did research at other shops, but for 5k, only can get like 0.3 carat. Any other shops u can recommend ?

By the way, this offer is from WC.
MandyG
post Feb 17 2015, 10:13 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyew @ Feb 17 2015, 01:29 AM)
I did research at other shops, but for 5k, only can get like 0.3 carat. Any other shops u can recommend ?

How about love &co? Did u went in to ask... They got provided cert for ur diamond.... My frenz last week brought propose ring 0.18carat only rm3.1k and provided cert... Surveyed many shop don't provide cert for that amount...
Like a Bause
post Feb 17 2015, 10:50 AM

415 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyew @ Feb 17 2015, 01:29 AM)

u got this from which wc ? u can try MV branch near aeon there. the prices are pretty cheap there.. else, u can try on their hq branch..
Jet23sky
post Feb 17 2015, 12:25 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

- 0.4 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

I got my ring last week, below is the spec.

- Round Brilliance.
- 0.6 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

And it cost SG4.6k. You can try to compare whether worth it or not. Of course the design of the ring is custom made. Not branded. Inclusive. Free sizing, polish and carving. For me, I think RM5k for those spec are good.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Feb 17 2015, 12:25 PM
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Feb 17 2015, 10:50 AM)
u got this from which wc ? u can try MV branch near aeon there. the prices are pretty cheap there.. else, u can try on their hq branch..
I got it from WC ss14. Today did research love & co too. I been quoted rm 8k for :
- 0.4 carat
- ideal cut
- vs2
- F color

Can see the difference between it n wah chan. And it comes with a pair of love bear and a glass casing. Still considering.
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(MandyG @ Feb 17 2015, 10:13 AM)
How about love &co? Did u went in to ask... They got provided cert for ur diamond.... My frenz last week brought propose ring 0.18carat only rm3.1k and provided cert... Surveyed many shop don't provide cert for that amount...
The 5k i got from WC also got cert. Is from GIA. I did went to Love & co today. They quoted me 8k for the below spec :
-0.4 carat
- ideal cut
- vs2
- f color
And come with igi cert, 1 pair of love bear and a glass casing.
How does it sounds ?
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 17 2015, 12:25 PM)
I got my ring last week, below is the spec.

- Round Brilliance.
- 0.6 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

And it cost SG4.6k. You can try to compare whether worth it or not. Of course the design of the ring is custom made. Not branded. Inclusive. Free sizing, polish and carving. For me, I think RM5k for those spec are good.
I think 5k for the deal is quite good thou. But that is the only first shop that i went for survey. Still thinking to survey other shops first. Want to get 1 before gst
MandyG
post Feb 17 2015, 03:06 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyew @ Feb 17 2015, 01:29 PM)
The 5k i got from WC also got cert. Is from GIA. I did went to Love & co today. They quoted me 8k for the below spec :
-0.4 carat
- ideal cut
- vs2
- f color
And come with igi cert, 1 pair of love bear and a glass casing.
How does it sounds ?
Not bad deal also... As it quite shine also... Did try TSL jewellry? Not bad also the price and design and cutting...

Like a Bause
post Feb 17 2015, 03:14 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(MandyG @ Feb 17 2015, 03:06 PM)
Not bad deal also... As it quite shine also... Did try TSL jewellry? Not bad also the price and design and cutting...

if your gal dun mind on those brands, try to skips those famous jewelry boutique. It can save you some money there. try to look at those WC shops that I wrote earlier. they have a lot of stocks..
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(MandyG @ Feb 17 2015, 03:06 PM)

Didnt went for tsl yet. Just survey wc n love&co so far. Dunno why I felt love&co diamond better than wc. Probably due to ideal cut ?
wilsonyew
post Feb 17 2015, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Feb 17 2015, 03:14 PM)
if your gal dun mind on those brands, try to skips those famous jewelry boutique. It can save you some money there. try to look at those WC shops that I wrote earlier. they have a lot of stocks..
She know those brand but she did not stdy on diamond b4, so ighink shd be alright. Lol. Will take a look on the mv branch

cyongyong
post Feb 22 2015, 02:18 PM

58 posts

Advice from someone who s married ...bring your gf to choose her wedding ring n of course buy within the budget.

One biggest regret I did is to buy the cheapest wedding ring which is only rm1k.. Bcos tht time we just started working n not willing to spend much money on our wedding .
The cheap ring is so uncomfortable that I don't even wear it anymore .

N even if in future when we are more well to do n can buy a more expensive ring,.,it will never be your wedding ring ... Just feels different
Jet23sky
post Feb 24 2015, 02:10 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(cyongyong @ Feb 22 2015, 02:18 PM)
Advice from someone who s married ...bring your gf to choose her wedding ring n of course buy within the budget.

One biggest regret I did is to buy the cheapest wedding ring which is only rm1k.. Bcos tht time we just started working n not willing to spend much money on our wedding .
The cheap ring is so uncomfortable that I don't even wear it anymore .

N even if in future when we are more well to do n can buy a more expensive ring,.,it will never be your wedding ring ... Just feels different
Well I guess most of the price that covered that much is not due to the ring, is the diamond that matters. So whether cheap or expensive, both should be comfortable, its just whether diamond's quality is great or not. biggrin.gif

And nowadays there is a trend.... trade off diamond and upgrade it. But i think its not practical as trade it off with nicer diamond, it doesn't seem like the engagement diamond.... just don't have the feel. haha
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Feb 25 2015, 12:49 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

Guys, I strongly urge you to use pricescope to determine you Diamond's return light and shine.

I used it when I was sourcing my diamond and it was perfect.

Personally I feel there is not point in just size if the shine is bad.
Mind you, whether is triple excellent or ideal cut or whatever bullshit they may say. The actual angle and diameter of the diamond does play a more in depth significance.
pius8311
post Feb 25 2015, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Feb 25 2015, 01:49 AM)
Guys, I strongly urge you to use pricescope to determine you Diamond's return light and shine.

I used it when I was sourcing my diamond and it was perfect.

Personally I feel there is not point in just size if the shine is bad.
Mind you, whether is triple excellent or ideal cut or whatever bullshit they may say. The actual angle and diameter of the diamond does play a more in depth significance.
Bro can u quickly post the link on how to grade it? I can't find in pricescope website.. too confusing I am at chow tai fook now and goING to buy now.. many thanks

GiNgEr^fIsH
post Feb 26 2015, 10:41 PM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

QUOTE(pius8311 @ Feb 25 2015, 03:15 PM)
Bro can u quickly post the link on how to grade it? I can't find in pricescope website.. too confusing I am at chow tai fook now and goING to buy now.. many thanks
http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
Ask for the diamond's GIA cert
input the depth and table percentage.
crown and pavilion angle.

A score below 2 (Excellent) means you have eliminated known poor performers (more than 95% of all diamonds). Your own personal preference may be for a diamond with an HCA score of 1.5 more rather than one with a lower score of say 0.5.

Good luck.

solarshine
post Feb 27 2015, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 14 2014, 10:14 AM)
who is the wholesaler ?  :x
Ms Khoo 0123272110. She is located at Plaza Mont Kiara
wookp
post Mar 13 2015, 09:18 PM

497 posts

I bought mine from wc today. Spent 5.3k for 0.5carat, g color, si2 and triple ex. Hope you find yourself soon.
Crys_Crys
post Mar 17 2015, 11:51 PM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

Any of you know 0.3carat heart shape, F color above, Triple Excellent, VS2 above would roughly cost how much?
blstz
post Mar 18 2015, 01:29 PM

831 posts

-delete-

This post has been edited by blstz: Apr 23 2015, 08:46 AM
rose6580
post Apr 20 2015, 04:37 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(joswth88 @ Feb 27 2015, 02:39 PM)
From personal experience, I would actually suggest you to visit a diamond wholesaler.

They are way more genuine and is the best money can buy rather than buying name/ box like Tiffany and Cartier all.

As long as the diamond is cut at its best cut with 8 hearts and arrows. The diamond is rated at the best cut. So doesn't means triple excellent would shine the best. IT is the cut and also the fluorescent of the stone. The best is without fluorescent at all. Cause stones with it would be the cheapest cause it would be the tint in the rock that cannot be washed off.

ALSO DO CHECK THE DATES OF YOUR CERT!!!!! For rocks smaller than 1ct la, usually a lot is traded in stones!! Especially those older than a year.

In wholesaler, they usually don't sell solitaires dated 3-4 months later than current date unless it is an unusual size.

I've a bad experience from Degem for my proposal before meeting wholesaler.

I bought a Lazare diamond at RM36k for H colour and IF Clarity. However, I just ended up paying for just the brand and it wasnt even 1 ct. It was only 0.8ct. When  you buy that time, the sales retail will say anything and agree with anything but when you decide to trade in only I realised they will only pay max 50% cash back or to trade to another ring or another jewellery it has to be double the price meaning 75k and above! Practically eating your bank account!! LEARNED MY FIRST AND LAST LESSON IN A RETAIL STORE no matter how they name their brand it is just a RETAIL CERT AND PACKAGING not a LAB CERT.

I ended up knowing about the whole concept of wholesale and I found how much more genuine it is. So much worth the value and quality is the best as they got first hand of the diamond and they have their own factory so you can practically customised any design you want whether in gold or platinum.

Just sharing with those moving forward and wholesaler guarantee the best shine of the diamond WITHOUT spotlight.

My wife had so much compliment of her jewelleries from the wholesaler and price (Man save you minimum 30% of the retail price at least but the best and cleanest diamond)

But wholesaler works by appointment. Your can try contacting Bludiamond +60123272110 if your want diamonds or gems that are worth the value. They have tons of GIA Certified Solitaires and ready made jewelleries. But it takes about 2-3 weeks to do the setting for solitaires and also wedding bands. Only thing about wholesaler, don't expect like high end packaging and all la.... Practical the jewelry piece is the most important!!!

They have so much choices rather thn jst few pieces in retail which are way too expensive, overrated and limited choices.

Have fun!!
hi

i am trying to understand.

you paid RM36K for 0.8carat lazare diamond.

so that would mean your next minimum upgrade must be worth RM72K(RM36K x 2) diamond at least, which means you top up RM36K. correct?

but u stated that when u wanna trade in, they make you top up RM75K instead of RM36K ?

rose6580
post Apr 23 2015, 08:58 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ May 14 2014, 12:29 PM)
this is quite silly - 5 times? where did that come from? i heard of this before , from somone who is quite 'cinabeng' . i asked her - if ur husband to be brings in 20K per mth - that means he has to buy u RM100K ring?? hahahahahahahah

+LIKE

QUOTE(PPZ @ May 14 2014, 03:14 PM)
get somthing that is good quality , the carat u can upgrade in later years but ensure that its good colour+clarity+cut. the carat should be the least of worries. i've seen big carat with poor clarity colour and cut. so yellow and ugly !

JLSon
post May 4 2015, 11:34 PM

I bought my engagement ring from Audreys in Kuala Lumpur. They have a good selection of GIA diamonds online on their website, you can also see their bands and rings online try googling Audrey Diamonds Malaysia or something like Wedding bands Kuala lumpur Malaysia, thats how I found them... that and the prices are 30% cheaper than other retailers in Malaysia.. i did my research before proposing to my girl. The owner is friendly too.. he would like to sit you down for coffee and educate you on Diamonds. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by JLSon: May 4 2015, 11:50 PM
ejlim88
post May 13 2015, 04:59 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 11 2015, 01:43 PM)
Got any shops in KL have the ASET scope to see the diamond before I buy? So far all the shops I went to don't have it and the HCA score also not very good.

Thinking of travelling to Singapore to buy. Anyone got experience?
I think shops like Wah Chan, Le Lumiere and Love & Co offer the Ideal Scope to view the Hearts and Arrow of the diamond.

That being said, given that there there is no ASET Scope to view the light performance of the diamond, I will normally take a picture of the GIA Cert to calculate the HCA Score.

I recently purchased a 3EX 0.71 H Color SI2 Clarity (eye clean) from Wah Chan at a reasonable price (my fiance was super excited and happy when she saw the ring biggrin.gif) . I was served by a really friendly sales person as well.

This post has been edited by ejlim88: May 13 2015, 05:03 PM
bgbk78
post May 15 2015, 03:45 PM

18 posts

Q: For the ring, white gold or platinum better?

ejlim88
post May 15 2015, 06:01 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 15 2015, 03:59 PM)
The Ideal scope you saw, did it look like this?

I went to Le Lumiere and Love & Co before. I asked for the Ideal scope and they give me the Hearts & Arrows scope like this.

I don't think they know what the Ideal scope is leh..

I saw some online diamond website have all the scopes.. but I prefer to see the diamond before buying it if possible..
If there is a difference between the Hearts & Arrows Scope and Ideal Scope, then I retract my earlier statement. I thought both were the same. doh.gif

That said, I think by using the Hearts & Arrows scope, you will still be able to see the light leakages from the diamond, if there is any (I stand corrected if I am wrong).

iDoJewellery
post May 18 2015, 12:15 PM

Go to www.idojewellery.com , you will get everything diamonds and ring designs that you needed at great price

Jet23sky
post May 19 2015, 03:57 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(bgbk78 @ May 15 2015, 03:45 PM)
Q: For the ring, white gold or platinum better?
Gold is better, can reshape. Platinum cannot be reshaped.
Jet23sky
post May 19 2015, 03:58 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 18 2015, 03:31 PM)
Ya! That's what I thought at first. But then I read the Hearts and arrows scope is to only see the pattern of the cut or to see the symmetry. It won't show light leakages.
To see the light leakages only the Ideal or ASET scope will show.

This is what the proper Ideal scope is suppose to look like

I went to alot of shops and they also think its the same but its not. I'm thinking if I should just buying the scope myself and go arnd see see
This is the shop that I bought my engagement ring., JannPaul. biggrin.gif
ejlim88
post May 20 2015, 09:32 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 18 2015, 03:31 PM)
Ya! That's what I thought at first. But then I read the Hearts and arrows scope is to only see the pattern of the cut or to see the symmetry. It won't show light leakages.
To see the light leakages only the Ideal or ASET scope will show.

This is what the proper Ideal scope is suppose to look like

I went to alot of shops and they also think its the same but its not. I'm thinking if I should just buying the scope myself and go arnd see see
I think you are right. To see light leakage, you have to place the loose diamond under a light and use the ASET/Ideal Scope to view from the top. That service certainly isnt given by jewelry shops in KL.

I think this video by Garry Holloway is self explanatory.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_yqYDZdxyI

Do let me know the price of an ASET Scope and where to get them in Malaysia. I also would like to buy the scope and go kaypoh.

Cheers bro.
jonlow1017
post May 21 2015, 04:18 PM

25 posts

Well, I really like Diamond Platinum. If you are looking for a diamond ring, you can always check that place out. And there are a lot of things to learn from them before buying.
Jet23sky
post May 21 2015, 11:08 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 21 2015, 05:59 PM)
I read alot of good reviews about them.. Ideally I prefer to get in KL.. less le che. But if I can't find any shops with the scopes, Singapore will be my next option.

Did you go to Singapore to buy and collect yours? Or they got do delivery?
I work in Singapore. laugh.gif laugh.gif So basically I just went there and choose the proposal ring. Since its customized, hence it was finished after two months.

I can say JannPaul offered me the best buck of price with no drop in diamond quality. Highly recommended. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: May 21 2015, 11:09 PM
fastreader
post May 24 2015, 12:19 AM

4,554 posts

what type of wedding band is in trend nowadays? gold or white gold? *not so interested in platinum, as i think its overpriced. smile.gif
kaiserwulf
post May 24 2015, 07:25 PM

1,110 posts

- 0.4 carat
- Triple Excellent
- E color
- VS2

I got something like this... Round cut, 2Ex, Good Polish, F color, 3.2k with simple 18k white gold ring. This was 3 years ago from Habib.

So I think your gem spec is pretty good actually if its Round Cut.
Farmer_C
post May 29 2015, 03:13 PM

199 posts

Can most diamond engagement rings be returned and resized if you didn't get the right size for her? I'm talking about the higher end stores - will they do this? Thanks in advance.
ejlim88
post Jun 3 2015, 02:42 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ May 29 2015, 03:13 PM)
Can most diamond engagement rings be returned and resized if you didn't get the right size for her? I'm talking about the higher end stores - will they do this? Thanks in advance.
I think most shops offer resizing for free of charge. That said, please check with the sales person before purchasing.
ejlim88
post Jun 3 2015, 02:48 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 28 2015, 03:42 PM)
I've been contacting Jannpaul over email and shortlisted these 2 diamonds to save time. They're very prompt in their replies.
I'm visiting their store next week to see the diamonds but want to prepare for any possible qns.

The 2 diamonds I shortlisted are around the same price. Will you go for the E VVS2 or D VS1?
Both are their Super Ideal Cut range.

I checked on http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
The 0.42 E VVS2 HCA score is 1.4. The 0.41 D VS1 has a better HCA score 1.0.

One is GIA, the other is AGS. I read both are good and comparable. AGS looks abit more impressive to me.. maybe cos it looks bigger and got more details.
Should I go for GIA or AGS?

Any tips or questions I need to prepare when I'm there?

I agree that the AGS Diamond looks more impressive on paper. Despite both being Super Ideal Cut Diamond, the Cut on the ASG is much better than the GIA diamond. thumbup.gif

If given such a choice, I think the decision on which diamond boils down on the price. You will still need to look at both the diamonds before deciding.

I am just curious why the AGS diamond, dated Sept 2014 is still available. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ejlim88: Jun 3 2015, 02:53 PM
ejlim88
post Jun 10 2015, 03:51 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ Jun 5 2015, 12:34 PM)
These are the scope photos for the 0.41 D VS1 (AGS certificate).

Does it look ok? Going to SG tmr to see and confirm the stone  tongue.gif

Looks really good swabe. How much is JeanPaul asking for this stone?

If the price is within your budget, this diamond is a must get. rclxms.gif
bearbear
post Jun 10 2015, 04:57 PM

10,058 posts

knowing JannPaul pricing, diamond of that spec at least $ 2.5k up, setting at least another $ 550
bearbear
post Jun 12 2015, 05:03 PM

10,058 posts

spot on because i enquired with them when i was looking for one laugh.gif

i end up with Lovis Diamond, cost me only half of what JannPaul is asking for with similar size.

Both me and my wife are not so attention to details kind when it come to diamond so it works for us. smile.gif
bearbear
post Jun 14 2015, 12:40 PM

10,058 posts

That suck. I would walk off as well if they told me that.

They did show me with scope and etc.

For me that will be the only time I will see that stone in scope so I didn't bother that much. Just get the best within my budget.

My wife also have small hand and a .4 really look big on her hand biggrin.gif
ally80
post Jun 14 2015, 01:36 PM

86 posts

Any promotion for wedding band?
angkee83
post Jun 26 2015, 09:40 AM

461 posts

Anyone try order from Blue Nile before??
ejlim88
post Jun 29 2015, 04:57 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(isaactham @ Jun 29 2015, 12:51 PM)
That's quite cool. I like the 4 prongs too.. but some of my female friends say 6 prongs nicer... in a dilemma now..
Is there any advantage/disadvantage? Haiz.. I still haven't decide on the diamond and already stuck at the setting design  icon_question.gif
Hi Isaactham,

When I bought my engagement ring for my fiance, the sales person told me that "prongs" are essentially like fingers that is holding the diamond. It is like a protective measure e.g. the more prongs that is holding the diamond, the more secure it is for you and your pocket biggrin.gif .

Usually jeweler will recommend the 4 prongs or more to ensure the security of the diamond. That said, I have seen some really nice 3 prongs setting design as well.

Personally I went for the 6 prongs classic tiffany settings as well. Many girls love the tiffany setting, my fiance included. Attached is the 6 prongs setting which I have opted.

Hope this helps.

EJ

Attached image(s)
Jet23sky
post Jun 29 2015, 10:00 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(angkee83 @ Jun 26 2015, 09:40 AM)
Anyone try order from Blue Nile before??
My brother in law bought it from Blue Nile. What he got is really cheaper than any shop with good quality. biggrin.gif
angkee83
post Jun 29 2015, 11:58 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 29 2015, 10:00 PM)
My brother in law bought it from Blue Nile. What he got is really cheaper than any shop with good quality.  biggrin.gif
Mind to share how much cheaper and what he bought from there? biggrin.gif
Jet23sky
post Jun 30 2015, 08:47 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(angkee83 @ Jun 29 2015, 11:58 PM)
Mind to share how much cheaper and what he bought from there? biggrin.gif
He bought in Aussie Dollar, so can't really judge from Malaysia though, but the spec is definitely cheaper than any shop, around 10% to 20% cheaper

0.7+ carat
VVS1
Class D

That's what I know. Cause he's brother in law, so he worried if I knew the price, I will let my sister know. @_@

angkee83
post Jun 30 2015, 09:35 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 30 2015, 08:47 AM)
He bought in Aussie Dollar, so can't really judge from Malaysia though, but the spec is definitely cheaper than any shop, around 10% to 20% cheaper

0.7+ carat
VVS1
Class D

That's what I know. Cause he's brother in law, so he worried if I knew the price, I will let my sister know. @_@
Understand... biggrin.gif

Very very good spec.

I also notice Blue Nile price is like 10-20% cheaper than local retail shops also... just a bit hassle have to collect from Singapore. :\
angkee83
post Jun 30 2015, 04:20 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(isaactham @ Jun 30 2015, 03:31 PM)
There are better websites that bluenile.
Bluenile don't have any photos of the diamonds and blindly sell them themselves.
https://www.diamonds.pro/site-reviews/blue-nile/

You can consider James Allen or Whiteflash.
I find them to have better quality control and they have photos of the diamond.

Personally, I will prefer to see the diamond before I buy.
I looking at James Allen also, but price seem not very cheap if compare to Blue Nile.

Personally think for high range cut should be ok. I can see those who complain about Blue Nile purchased SI 1 / SI 2, somehow I already set a smaller stone, but only VVS2 and above.

Does it worth to go "Platinum" for the ring?
tcken
post Aug 2 2015, 09:53 AM

412 posts

Hi guys. I just a few prices with normal 6 prongs setting from Tomei

0.41ct e/vs1 rm1033
0.41 ct f/vvs2 rm9999

which is the better deal? Thank you.
tcken
post Aug 2 2015, 09:53 AM

412 posts

- deleted - accidentally double posted.

This post has been edited by tcken: Aug 2 2015, 09:55 AM
tcken
post Aug 6 2015, 12:36 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ Aug 6 2015, 11:02 AM)
How come the price difference is so much?  shocking.gif Typo error??

Did you check the HCA score for it? Or you can share the GIA certificate no.
Ops typo. It's Rm10338. Tomei is most expensive I think.

Recently I've been to a few other jewelries like SK, Bliz and Love & co. Most of them carry IGI cerf but just not many GIA only. They told me that IGI is much better than GIA and it only provides to those ideal cut diamond which is better than GIA 3ex. Love and Co is more expensive than SK so far. It's so confusing right now.

This post has been edited by tcken: Aug 6 2015, 12:37 PM
tcken
post Aug 6 2015, 11:29 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ Aug 6 2015, 03:00 PM)
That's not true... The top 2 certificate is GIA and AGS. Certificates likes IGI and EGL are known to have looser standards. By right, if you compare an IGI and GIA diamond of the same grades, the IGI will always be cheaper because of the lower standard. Stick with GIA or AGS safer. It really depends on the quality of the diamond you're looking at.. And you better check if the diamond is really an "Ideal Cut" as what they claim. Most of them just anyhow say.

You can start by using the HCA tool to check the diamond score http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
From there, you will roughly know if the diamond proportions are good. Then you will need the ASET scope to check the light performance  thumbup.gif
Yeah. I have been using HCA tool to check the diamond and found out many of them don't even know about it. Most of the diamond I found scores at 1.3-1.6 by using the IGI cerf info . I'll be going to KL to survey more since most jb jewellers carry IGI cerf. ASET scope is that the one they provide in the store? Besides, I want to find out actually how expensive tiffany & co and cartier are. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tcken: Aug 6 2015, 11:30 PM
post Aug 10 2015, 09:39 AM

353 posts

Is it worth to go for Tiffany and Co?

Same spec can get from other retailer at cheaper price....

Though same spec, but visually is so much difference during my survey in several other retailer.....

What you guys think?
post Aug 11 2015, 02:40 PM

353 posts

But most ladies they wish to see the best "brand" when they open up the box....tongue.gif
rose6580
post Aug 12 2015, 01:38 PM

127 posts

i have a ring to let go

Brand : Forevermark
Cut : Excellent
Colour : G
Clarity : VS2
Carat : 0.21-0.34-0.21
Full set with original certificates and receipt from Degem Bangsar

let me know if anyone is interested

c2ng
post Aug 26 2015, 03:23 PM

39 posts

Currently Wah Chan is having promotion but some diamond come with cert and some does not.
NASUS31
post Aug 27 2015, 03:27 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(c2ng @ Aug 26 2015, 03:23 PM)
Currently Wah Chan is having promotion but some diamond come with cert and some does not.
does it include wedding bands as well? or just diamond rings
ritctze
post Aug 28 2015, 02:14 AM

QUOTE(swabe13 @ May 28 2015, 03:42 PM)
I've been contacting Jannpaul over email and shortlisted these 2 diamonds to save time. They're very prompt in their replies.
I'm visiting their store next week to see the diamonds but want to prepare for any possible qns.

The 2 diamonds I shortlisted are around the same price. Will you go for the E VVS2 or D VS1?
Both are their Super Ideal Cut range.

I checked on http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
The 0.42 E VVS2 HCA score is 1.4. The 0.41 D VS1 has a better HCA score 1.0.

One is GIA, the other is AGS. I read both are good and comparable. AGS looks abit more impressive to me.. maybe cos it looks bigger and got more details.
Should I go for GIA or AGS?

Any tips or questions I need to prepare when I'm there?

Hi Swabe13,

I've been looking on JannPaul diamonds as well. Do you mind sharing how much do they quote you on the above 2 diamonds?
What kind of information do we need to provide them when we first email them for inquiries? (eg. desired diamond specs, budget etc.)

ritctze
yesorno48
post Aug 28 2015, 02:20 AM

212 posts

tat day accompany with my fren to go tru all in pavilion, most fond on lazare diamond in de gem... u can take a look there... very nice diamond.
c2ng
post Aug 28 2015, 03:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(NASUS31 @ Aug 27 2015, 03:27 PM)
does it include wedding bands as well? or just diamond rings
All, not only diamond. Gold as well. Basically the whole shop, promo end in end sep if not mistaken but each outlet will have different items on display. FYI, all price shown is already at discounted price.

NASUS31
post Aug 28 2015, 03:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(c2ng @ Aug 28 2015, 03:08 PM)
All, not only diamond. Gold as well. Basically the whole shop, promo end in end sep if not mistaken but each outlet will have different items on display. FYI, all price shown is already at discounted price.
thank you, must pay a visit with my fiancé, I have already decided for my engagement ring, hoping to find something to match it.
I saw Hearts on Fire rings in Habib, really like them
NASUS31
post Aug 28 2015, 03:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ritctze @ Aug 28 2015, 02:14 AM)
Hi Swabe13,

I've been looking on JannPaul diamonds as well. Do you mind sharing how much do they quote you on the above 2 diamonds?
What kind of information do we need to provide them when we first email them for inquiries? (eg. desired diamond specs, budget etc.)

ritctze
am interested to know about this as well, already got a quote for Hearts on Fire from Habib.
c2ng
post Aug 28 2015, 03:25 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(NASUS31 @ Aug 28 2015, 03:22 PM)
thank you, must pay a visit with my fiancé, I have already decided for my engagement ring, hoping to find something to match it.
I saw Hearts on Fire rings in Habib, really like them
Please share after you visit ya...

NASUS31
post Aug 28 2015, 03:55 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(c2ng @ Aug 28 2015, 03:25 PM)
Please share after you visit ya...
hoping to go to KL in 2 weeks time!, will go ring shopping!
ritctze
post Aug 29 2015, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(swabe13 @ Aug 29 2015, 11:26 AM)
Both were around the same price. They quoted me SGD 3k. That is for their Super Ideal cut.
They showed me Ideal cuts and the normal triple EXC ones too which was 15-30% cheaper.. but I could see the difference in quality  nod.gif
SGD 3k is for the diamond itself, excluding the setting right?
Their Super Ideal cut is very attractive smile.gif

NASUS31
post Sep 3 2015, 06:14 PM

22 posts

[quote=swabe13,Sep 1 2015, 07:52 PM]
Ya, its for the diamond only. They have a video explaining how diamonds looks in different lights.. especially in jewelry shops with strong lights.
Makes alot of sense...

how much is the cost of their ring setting for white 18K gold 4 prongs I wonder? May I ask do you know about Hearts on Fire in Habib Jewels, are they super ideal cut? they quoted RM10K plus for one ring 0.4c , I did not take note of the cert for more details urgh!! after watching the videos from JannPaul, I've learn more info, thinking of contacting JannPaul for a quote.

This post has been edited by NASUS31: Sep 3 2015, 06:16 PM
NASUS31
post Sep 4 2015, 05:35 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(swabe13 @ Sep 4 2015, 01:42 PM)
My plain ring in 18kt white gold cost SGD 550. They also got give some free ring servicing like 2 resizing, 2 replating and 1 engraving.

This is my ring. It's only a 0.4ct but it looks quite big  brows.gif

Hearts on Fire is not super ideal cut. They are like branded diamonds but the quality is still not as good as super ideal. They don't use the Ideal and ASET scope to measure the light performance. They only use the hearts and arrows scope. When I was in Habib, one of the Hearts on Fire diamond had a HCA score of 3  shakehead.gif
IMO, its not worth the money to buy a branded diamond. Just go for a good quality and value for money one. In the end, girls can only tell the size and how shiny the diamond is... they cannot see the brand.
oh no!! Now I wish I can see a comparison of Hearts of Fire and Super Ideal cut diamond side by side!!! hhmm!! I was kinda set to buy the one in Habib! I don't live in Spore, a little hard to convince my fiancé to make a trip there to buy it for me tongue.gif

do show us a picture of the ring on your gf hand!!
can't really see the sapphire that you mentioned you inserted!

This post has been edited by NASUS31: Sep 4 2015, 05:39 PM
ritctze
post Sep 15 2015, 02:26 PM

Visit JannPaul yesterday and attended by Jerome, it was a very informative session with him and he was being so patient in attending all questions and showing me different diamonds under various light conditions. Totally worth my visit!
ritctze
post Sep 22 2015, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(isaactham @ Sep 22 2015, 10:37 AM)
Congratz! You mind sharing your diamond specs you got?  smile.gif
I short listed 2 Super Ideal diamonds:
0.35ct D colour VVS2
0.42ct E colour VS1

ritctze
post Sep 25 2015, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(isaactham @ Sep 24 2015, 01:28 PM)
Nice! Are you planning to go SG to collect your final ring or ask them to ship to you?
I think i will go down personally for collection. Now still waiting for their 3D rander design
myeventcompany
post Sep 29 2015, 08:00 PM

Hi, do let me know how i could assist you. Experience Wedding Planner here. PM me or visit www.myeventco.com

All The best in your proposal
Guardian
post Oct 3 2015, 08:13 AM

817 posts

Anyone bought from Jann Paul before without actually visiting them? It's a bit hard to go visit them, would like to know experience of those that bought from them online, thanks
Guardian
post Oct 5 2015, 01:17 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(isaactham @ Oct 5 2015, 12:32 PM)
I visited them to see the diamonds and they will be shipping my final ring to me. Prior to visiting them, they already narrowed some diamonds in my requirements to choose from then send me more info.
Actually, I still can make a decision without visiting them. The info they sent me is the same as what I saw in their store. I had other stuff to do in SG so might as well go see visit them too.
Thanks. What makes you decide to get from them instead of others? I only went through Tomei lumiere series so far, wondering if Jann Paul worth my effort of traveling there just to get it.
Guardian
post Oct 5 2015, 06:17 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(isaactham @ Oct 5 2015, 02:23 PM)
They're known for their quality. I found them over the internet and they have alot of good reviews. All jewelry shops will say their diamond is the best, etc. You need to check it for yourself and not just rely on what they say. To really check if the diamond is good, you need to analyze it with the Ideal scope, Aset scope and the hearts and arrows scope. All the local shops I went to including Tomei only have the hearts and arrows scope but not the Ideal and ASET scope. Those scopes are more impt to check the light leakages. Anyway, I saw the Lumiere series too. The proportions isn't really that great. You can check using this http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca
Best is to find one with a score under 1.4 then check with the scopes. Problem I had was none of the local shops had proper scopes to check...
No proper scopes, have to agree with that. Thanks for your information.
JoyceBarton
post Oct 6 2015, 10:45 AM

Those diamond rings sure are expensive. Right now my ring have a larimar stone, but maybe in a few years it will get upgraded for diamond + larimar (I want to keep this personal touch). Me and my husband met during our vacation time at the Dominican Republic, and larimar is a local good there (it means a lot to us).

This post has been edited by JoyceBarton: Oct 6 2015, 10:46 AM
Guardian
post Oct 7 2015, 01:20 PM

817 posts

Contacted Jann Paul and I was given these 3 diamonds to choose from, any suggestions/recommendations? Thanks

0.32 F VVS2

This post has been edited by Guardian: Oct 7 2015, 06:48 PM
Guardian
post Oct 7 2015, 01:21 PM

817 posts

0.32 F VVS1

Guardian
post Oct 7 2015, 01:21 PM

817 posts

0.31 E VS1

harak_84
post Oct 7 2015, 01:35 PM

259 posts

My experience it shouldnt be 5x your salary... burst your budget for other stuff..

Just bring your future fiance to the shop and choose which wedding ring her prefer...you know la..we men dont know how to value that thing...

it just a piece of rock...which is no value...
go to Times Square or Midvalley or Sg wang at there a lot of selling rings i get at Sungai wang... with 7k budget...

at 10k budget you will get cert for the diamond which is just show that the piece of rock having cert same as you get a dog or cat which come with gud breed...hahahha...

Gud luck with window shopping for the ring and wedding...
and keep in control with the budget....dont burst it...
JoyceBarton
post Oct 8 2015, 08:47 PM

5x O.O
Guardian
post Oct 8 2015, 11:06 PM

817 posts

5x salary is a lot... I am aiming around 7k-8k , not more than that
Guardian
post Oct 13 2015, 05:18 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Oct 10 2015, 10:52 AM)
Looks good! Did you get this diamond?

Just emailed them to see if they can provide a video for the diamond I'm interested in.
They will be sending me the video of the diamond. Cant wait for it!
Haha very fickle-minded, Still cant decide between the Brellia or the Octagon cut. biggrin.gif
No, I end up with solasfera series. Octagon series is special, too bad they don't have stock for size that I requested.

This post has been edited by Guardian: Oct 13 2015, 05:18 PM
LOOOOOOL
post Oct 13 2015, 09:37 PM

what is this
704 posts

Hi guy, wanna ask ah, anyone have seen a setting from love &co. Something look like tiff and co classic setting design? If not mistaken, the design is called 6 prongs knife edge. I saw that from singapore branch, but not sure ita available in msia or not.
If anyone happen to captured an image of that deaign, could you please kindlyshare to me??
SkyFlamer
post Oct 14 2015, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Oct 12 2015, 07:40 PM)
Just received this from them!
Been liaising with them through email, they are very responsive and helpful.
The guy Casey replies his email very fast!
They took a video of the Octagon and Brellia diamond I shortlisted.
Didn't expect them to entertain me so much even though I haven confirm anything with them..  sweat.gif

Both looks damn stunning.. But I'm leaning towards the Brellia.. What do you guys think?  blink.gif
Didn't realize it was an octagon at first until a second look.. haha. I wonder how it will look like on a ring though.. abit hard to visualize..
ed0gawa
post Oct 18 2015, 03:17 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

CODE
Weight: 0.451

Diamond Shape: RD

Clarity: VS2

Carat: 0.451

Sym: EX

Color: E

Fluorescence: N

Polish: VG

Cut: EX

Lab: GIA

Got the GIA details and check with the HCA tool, this score 0.6. Cost RM5.1k just for the diamond, is it worth it?
Are a low HCA score = Good shine for sure?
ed0gawa
post Oct 19 2015, 01:46 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Oct 19 2015, 12:32 PM)
From what I know, this diamond is not a 3 Excellent diamond leh.. Do you have the GIA certificate number?
Low HCA doesn't mean it will definitely be good shine. Need to use the scopes to see also.
You can take a look at this video. Maybe it will help you.

3 Excellent?
because the Polish is graded very good only?
ed0gawa
post Oct 20 2015, 07:25 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Oct 7 2015, 01:21 PM)
0.32 F VVS1

What's the price range of those 3 diamond Jann Paul sent you? (need to know their price range before contacting them)
ed0gawa
post Oct 22 2015, 08:07 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Bought this from JannPaul as JamesAllen doesn't ship to Malaysia and selection from Whiteflash doesn't seem that good and getting those scope images seems troublesome

Total damage $2354 inclusive of a 18k 4prong Classic Solitaire Ring & 7% GST (sad)

Well, for those that wanna buy from JP, they only accept bank transfer no credit card. $50 for postage & insurance if you want them to ship it to you. But you wont be charge 7% GST. I choose to pickup from them so I got charged 7% GST
arcule
post Oct 22 2015, 10:39 PM

271 posts

Does any sifu here know is there any soo kee or brilliant rose in kl?

N the price range is?
Guardian
post Oct 23 2015, 08:07 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Oct 22 2015, 08:07 PM)
Bought this from JannPaul as JamesAllen doesn't ship to Malaysia and selection from Whiteflash doesn't seem that good and getting those scope images seems troublesome

Total damage $2354 inclusive of a 18k 4prong Classic Solitaire Ring & 7% GST (sad)

Well, for those that wanna buy from JP, they only accept bank transfer no credit card. $50 for postage & insurance if you want them to ship it to you. But you wont be charge 7% GST. I choose to pickup from them so I got charged 7% GST
Eh, I thought 7% is claimable at changi airport?
ed0gawa
post Oct 24 2015, 11:48 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Oct 23 2015, 08:07 PM)
Eh, I thought 7% is claimable at changi airport?
My friend who is picking it up for me is going in from Johor and leaving car, no can't claim the GST
DeVoir
post Oct 26 2015, 02:23 AM

DeGem - Forevermark
0.27c E VS1 = RM4300
0.34c E VS1 = RM6200

Wah Chan
0.40c D SI2 = RM4800

D&P - Estrella collection
0.31c I VVS2 = RM6200

Poh Kong - HEMERA
0.30c F VS1 = RM5880

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
My Budget RM5k-6k
Please help above list is after filter icon_question.gif
I really donno which one is good. Bigger Carat, Nice clarity or Design on the diamond setting?
My Gf 26 years old, Jewelry knowledge know sikit.
Guardian
post Oct 26 2015, 08:05 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Oct 24 2015, 11:48 AM)
My friend who is picking it up for me is going in from Johor and leaving car, no can't claim the GST
Ooo ok, I am leaving by flight, should be able to claim right? Thanks
ed0gawa
post Oct 26 2015, 08:20 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Oct 26 2015, 08:05 PM)
Ooo ok, I am leaving by flight, should be able to claim right? Thanks
Let the JP guys know about it, they will prepare a form for you.
You'll get back like 5.5%
Guardian
post Oct 26 2015, 09:27 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Oct 26 2015, 08:20 PM)
Let the JP guys know about it, they will prepare a form for you.
You'll get back like 5.5%
Ok,thanks
buddho
post Oct 27 2015, 05:57 PM

33 posts

Anyone know how much does white gold wedding band cost for a pair ?
Budget around 1k to 1.2k
What are the quality or design can get for such budget ? biggrin.gif
ed0gawa
post Nov 10 2015, 09:57 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(DeVoir @ Oct 26 2015, 02:23 AM)
DeGem - Forevermark
0.27c E VS1 = RM4300
0.34c E VS1 = RM6200

Wah Chan
0.40c D SI2 = RM4800

D&P - Estrella collection
0.31c I VVS2 = RM6200

Poh Kong - HEMERA
0.30c F VS1 = RM5880

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
My Budget RM5k-6k
Please help above list is after filter  icon_question.gif
I really donno which one is good. Bigger Carat, Nice clarity or Design on the diamond setting?
My Gf 26 years old, Jewelry knowledge know sikit.
Go read about ideal scope, ASET scope, HCA, and how to look at magnified actual diamond.
That way you will find a good diamond.

You can get a big stone but not shiny, or you can get a shiny stone but not that big. Color, clarity is ... erm, well, kinda hard to differentiate in real life.
Most jewelry shop will tell you, the bigger the better. The color grade higher the better, the clarity the high the better.
But when you take another of slightly lower grade of color or clarity put it side by side, you'll hardly see any difference.

QUOTE(buddho @ Oct 27 2015, 05:57 PM)
Anyone know how much does white gold wedding band cost for a pair ?
Budget around 1k to 1.2k
What are the quality or design can get for such budget ? biggrin.gif
Can we get a pair of white gold wedding band for 1.2k? (I have no idea about it's market price, seriously)
The classic 4 prong setting that I bought is white gold 18k, it already cost me SGD500. While local diamond store quoted me RM2k >.>

QUOTE(Im_SheW @ Nov 10 2015, 12:09 PM)
Hi ed0gawa, have you collected your ring yet? How did it turn out?
Sorry for the many qns.. first time making a expensive purchase  tongue.gif
It's good. Well, no complains from her biggrin.gif
The shine is definitely great. Way better when compared with those I saw in local jewelry store like Tomei/Habib etc ... (ugh, the Habib one is expensive, cost double for same size and less shine)
keneshiro7
post Nov 11 2015, 12:18 AM

159 posts

How much for 1.0 carat minimum entry price? Normally starting price range?
XiuKeong
post Nov 17 2015, 07:00 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

Wanna ask, I am considering between Canary Diamond and JannPaul. Anyone have experience purchasing from Canary Diamond before?
ryanfernandez
post Nov 19 2015, 10:10 AM

36 posts

hi, am thinkin of proposing to my gf of 5 years.. i have no idea how.. where to start? what tp get..?
XiuKeong
post Nov 21 2015, 01:46 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(chickenlittle123 @ Nov 21 2015, 01:33 AM)
I been to sg to buy from canary before, 2 years back, they're okay... friendly but quality wise is just alright
few of my friends have bought their proposal rings from jannpaul, i never seen them but i heard they're the super in thing now in sg for their quality
maybe ill check them out with my wife in a few weeks when im there
Just surveyed, surprisingly it's cheaper than JP...
steventan85
post Nov 23 2015, 02:06 PM

6,400 posts

QUOTE(MCSun.dy @ Nov 23 2015, 01:25 PM)
how do i start with buying diamond?

i have a few questions and now very stuck i only know i need to propose soon if not gf  vmad.gif

how to:
know ring size
know what diamond size to buy
know what is good and bad
know if i got kena potong
know what design for ring

jialat liao
1st question , ur budget . let us know ur budget 1st

2. once u got budget , we can sort out which brand u should go for.

3. then bring ur gf to try and let her choose the ring she like .

only this 3 steps

do not buy diamond ring without bringing ur gf there... u sure regret sweat.gif
steventan85
post Nov 23 2015, 08:41 PM

6,400 posts

QUOTE(MCSun.dy @ Nov 23 2015, 04:54 PM)
maybe 20k rm?
i dun tink she will like the idea of buying together

wat can my budget have? i go tiffany 20k is only 0.4..
hmmmmmmmmm  rclxub.gif
i try ask her mommy first see what the mommy expect also...
plans to ask for her hand on vday
totally forgot about shapes
Lol...paying 20k for 0.4carat ? If u want to get bigger diamond with ur money , don't go for Tiffany la...20k can get at least 0.6 or even 1carat at wahchan or pohkong d... thumbup.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

0.4 max I pay rm4k...
steventan85
post Nov 23 2015, 09:09 PM

6,400 posts

QUOTE(harak_84 @ Oct 7 2015, 01:35 PM)
My experience it shouldnt be 5x your salary... burst your budget for other stuff..

Just bring your future fiance to the shop and choose which wedding ring her prefer...you know la..we men dont know how to value that thing...

it just a piece of rock...which is no value...
go to Times Square or Midvalley or Sg wang at there a lot of selling rings i get at Sungai wang...  with 7k budget...

at 10k budget you will get cert for the diamond which is just show that the piece of rock having cert same as you get a dog or cat which come with gud breed...hahahha...

Gud luck with window shopping for the ring and wedding...
and keep in control with the budget....dont burst it...
5x ...don't be silly....
XiuKeong
post Nov 23 2015, 09:50 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 23 2015, 07:47 PM)
did contact them before.. JP diamonds so much better in quality.
I will say quality assured with the scopes and video...

reshare my video.. you can request for it if can't go down..

actually mine i didn't request.. they sent it direct to me..  rclxms.gif
Actually I went to JP 3 times already, but each time also can't decide on the settings. Maybe 4th or 5th time will finally pull the trigger smile.gif
XiuKeong
post Nov 24 2015, 01:52 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 24 2015, 01:32 PM)
ring settings? i chose mine online from their recommendation... try asking for recommendations?
Almost there bro, now just need few more changes then the ring is complete smile.gif
bbsanta
post Nov 24 2015, 02:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 24 2015, 01:32 PM)
ring settings? i chose mine online from their recommendation... try asking for recommendations?
her mom good to you bro
update us on what her friends say then

yes that is the cushion brellia i bought...

took pictures myself when it just arrived  wub.gif

You buy this from the online store ? What is the damage ohmy.gif
XiuKeong
post Dec 1 2015, 10:50 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 24 2015, 03:08 PM)
cool bro. share the pics man!
what kind of customize ring you do?
My gf prefer Tiffany & Co setting so most probably will go for that smile.gif
XiuKeong
post Dec 2 2015, 07:32 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Dec 2 2015, 02:24 PM)
this one?

Yea, that's the one. She wants more bling bling from the diamond. I showed her designs in BlueNile but she feels so so only laugh.gif

Once this is decided, need to choose wedding band sweat.gif
XiuKeong
post Dec 3 2015, 04:11 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Dec 3 2015, 01:17 PM)
So fast wedding band already? i have my ring not yet propose even hahaha  blush.gif
Need to plan ahead. Everything also need to budget.
XiuKeong
post Dec 4 2015, 07:25 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Dec 4 2015, 04:17 PM)
Budget for bands how much do you set aside?
I put 4k/pair smile.gif
XiuKeong
post Dec 5 2015, 12:37 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(imray @ Dec 5 2015, 12:25 PM)
4k rm? can get what kind?
No bro, SGD4k. So far, shortlisted are Bvlgari and Cartier
XiuKeong
post Dec 7 2015, 01:26 PM

[OMG] Sweetieâ„¢
9,424 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Dec 7 2015, 12:27 PM)
oh 4k SGD...that is a lot for wedding bands isnt it?
I'm not sure about the market in SG but consider cheap if you compare dollar to dollar smile.gif

But for wedding rings, the spec (0.518 E VS2 - Super Ideal Cut) I requested is around SGD4,100 excluding the setting
cynachen
post Dec 30 2015, 07:44 PM

221 posts

Hi guys, I'm planning to propose to my GF after almost 8 years being together. After studying about the 4C, I've chosen what should be the best bang for my bucks (hopefully). Would need some help if the below diamond spec and ring setting are reasonably priced? Quotes are from Audreys.

Diamonds:
4.30 - 4.32 x 2.64 mm, 0.30 carat, Color Grade F, Clarity VVS2, Cut : Excellent , HCA score 1.3 : ~RM3450

4.32 - 4.34 x 2.60 mm, 0.30 carat, Color Grade F, Clarity IF, Cut Excellent, HCA score 1.7 : ~RM3661

Ring Settings:
Tiffany 6 prongs solitaire setting, 18k White Gold : ~RM1,200
Tiffany Harmony-like setting (6 prongs) : ~Rm2,500

Does the difference between IF and VVS2 really that obvious to the naked eyes? I mwill request for the idealscope and videos from Audreys. At the meantime, any other good recommendation on other jewelers? Thanks in advance.
crusher
post Jan 26 2016, 05:35 PM

1,340 posts

Hi guys, usually proposal ring is it must be diamond ring? My gf actually likes gold ring. Something like Lord of the ring - the ring. Haha, anyone knows I can custom make the ring? Thanks for recommending
Elephant^^
post Feb 3 2016, 10:06 PM

128 posts

initially i wanted T&Co too. went to the shop and sales person wasnt that great. im not willing to spend a fortune to pay for someones commission when the service is poor.
if budget is not a concern, i recommend de beers.
i might get a 0.25ct from blue nile and 1 ct from wah chan. two rings because my work requires hand washing at least 10 times a day lol.
also, i recommend to do some research on the 4Cs. carat is the least important of all. as for other Cs, no point getting above a certain threshold (where naked eye cannot differentiate). i
i too learned about HCA score on this thread. many thanks! happy marriage everyone smile.gif
Elephant^^
post Feb 3 2016, 10:10 PM

128 posts

most asians like us have small hands (and fingers). get a rock size that compliment her finger size. for example, my ring finger is european 46. a 0.25ct looks best. anything more than that makes me looks rough...
bunzbunz
post Feb 4 2016, 11:53 AM

33 posts

Hello people. I'm not the only girl who leave a reply right? Browse through some of the pages and realized I know nuts about diamond even though I'm a girl. sweat.gif I started to survey around when bf said lets get married. He's the one who paying but I'm the one who wear the ring so I don't want him to waste money on something I don't like. At the end, he's the one who chosen all the rings and I love them so much.

I have bad taste. cry.gif

I went to almost all shops in klang valley. I can only remember that few engagement rings I like and really attract me. Sharing my experience and viewpoint, decision is yours and depends on what your the other half like. I thought my bf was stingy but I'm way more stingy and calculative than him.

1. Degem
The engagement ring I spotted is around 0.4c but it cost 8k. After knowing the price I don't bother to know about the details anymore. Totally out of my budget. Their wedding bands are so much cheaper which 3k+ for a pair but I didn't spot any I like.

2. Diamond and platinum
I spotted engagement ring from forever mark, 0.3-0.4c price at 5k, which he likes too. Price slightly ok than the previous one I like. Considering but the price didn't manage to catch my heart. Their wedding bands are nice too but the pair we are quite ok comes up to 7k.

3. Love and co
Friends and comments online recommend so I went to have a look. Engagement ring 0.3-0.4c at 5k, price seems ok but not really what I want. Wedding bands no doubt very nice but both of us feel that they are too thick. Price range from 5k for a pair.

4. SK
The final shop we went and where we sapu engagement ring plus wedding bands. All together cost us 5k+. Hahahahahahaha mission complete as we found rings that we love, both design and the price. Plus, they allow us to have 3 alphabets on each of the wedding band. SK has few outlets, went to pyramid but didn't see what we like but different story when we went back to quill city mall. My solitaire is actually 0.18c but nobody really believes it. Color G, Vs2 and don't know what else. I don't really care about the details as I love the ring so much and will wear it all the time. Even my uncle who has good jewelry knowledge thought it's 0.3c. The design makes the difference and I wanted a ring that manage to match the solitaire so we went back and got the wedding bands.

5. TSL
Spotted a pair of wedding band at the end of 2015 which cost less than 3k after discount. The boss didn't like the wedding band even though the price was attractive.

6. Tiffany & co
The very first shop we step in. Price is scary, tried the ring and it seems weird on me.

Rings hunting for around 3-4 months and case closed. Not sure all the shops have the same policy, what I heard was price will increase twice a year due to the price of gold. So act fast and buy, never wait till last minute.

I'm looking at round cut only for the solitaire which I read that this is the most expensive type.
Sky.Live
post Feb 4 2016, 12:55 PM

Proctected Species
4,388 posts

hmm..

Solitaire design with cushion diamond... any recommendation?
Elephant^^
post Feb 5 2016, 04:19 AM

128 posts

bunz bunz- please could you show us a photo of your ring? just wonder how it looks like. the way diamond is presented does make it looks bigger.
bunzbunz
post Feb 5 2016, 03:47 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Elephant^^ @ Feb 5 2016, 04:19 AM)
bunz bunz- please could you show us a photo of your ring? just wonder how it looks like. the way diamond is presented does make it looks bigger.
Elephant^^
post Feb 6 2016, 01:01 AM

128 posts

bunz- wow, really doesnt look like 0.18c. nice!!! i want to get it too smile.gif
bunzbunz
post Feb 6 2016, 10:39 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Elephant^^ @ Feb 6 2016, 01:01 AM)
bunz- wow, really doesnt look like 0.18c. nice!!! i want to get it too smile.gif
Saw the same ring with bigger diamond at SK Sunway pyramid. Got mine in quill city mall. Go get it before the price hike! So far the price still remain the same. biggrin.gif
Elephant^^
post Feb 9 2016, 12:18 AM

128 posts

thanks bunz smile.gif did you say it was the same ring with bigger diamond, but same price?
bf wants is buying a house so dont want to be financial burden to him. my dream from 1ct tiff and co has now changed to budget of less than 1.5k ringgit lol. actually i told him no need diamond ring, but shall see how it goes.
Elephant^^
post Feb 11 2016, 06:48 AM

128 posts

where can i buy used diamond ring?
legolego
post Feb 11 2016, 09:55 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(bunzbunz @ Feb 4 2016, 11:53 AM)
Hello people. I'm not the only girl who leave a reply right? Browse through some of the pages and realized I know nuts about diamond even though I'm a girl.  sweat.gif I started to survey around when bf said lets get married. He's the one who paying but I'm the one who wear the ring so I don't want him to waste money on something I don't like. At the end, he's the one who chosen all the rings and I love them so much.

I have bad taste.  cry.gif

I went to almost all shops in klang valley. I can only remember that few engagement rings I like and really attract me. Sharing my experience and viewpoint, decision is yours and depends on what your the other half like. I thought my bf was stingy but I'm way more stingy and calculative than him.

1. Degem
The engagement ring I spotted is around 0.4c but it cost 8k. After knowing the price I don't bother to know about the details anymore. Totally out of my budget. Their wedding bands are so much cheaper which 3k+ for a pair but I didn't spot any I like.

2. Diamond and platinum
I spotted engagement ring from forever mark, 0.3-0.4c price at 5k, which he likes too. Price slightly ok than the previous one I like. Considering but the price didn't manage to catch my heart. Their wedding bands are nice too but the pair we are quite ok comes up to 7k.

3. Love and co
Friends and comments online recommend so I went to have a look. Engagement ring 0.3-0.4c at 5k, price seems ok but not really what I want. Wedding bands no doubt very nice but both of us feel that they are too thick. Price range from 5k for a pair.

4. SK
The final shop we went and where we sapu engagement ring plus wedding bands. All together cost us 5k+. Hahahahahahaha mission complete as we found rings that we love, both design and the price. Plus, they allow us to have 3 alphabets on each of the wedding band. SK has few outlets, went to pyramid but didn't see what we like but different story when we went back to quill city mall. My solitaire is actually 0.18c but nobody really believes it. Color G, Vs2 and don't know what else. I don't really care about the details as I love the ring so much and will wear it all the time. Even my uncle who has good jewelry knowledge thought it's 0.3c. The design makes the difference and I wanted a ring that manage to match the solitaire so we went back and got the wedding bands.

5. TSL
Spotted a pair of wedding band at the end of 2015 which cost less than 3k after discount. The boss didn't like the wedding band even though the price was attractive.

6. Tiffany & co
The very first shop we step in. Price is scary, tried the ring and it seems weird on me.
Rings hunting for around 3-4 months and case closed. Not sure all the shops have the same policy, what I heard was price will increase twice a year due to the price of gold. So act fast and buy, never wait till last minute.

I'm looking at round cut only for the solitaire which I read that this is the most expensive type.
Hi bunzbunz, I'm looking for wedding band and may you please show the photo of your wedding band?
I'm also hunting for wedding band and so hard to choose.
Thank you.

ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 11 2016, 10:28 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(bunzbunz @ Feb 5 2016, 07:47 PM)