what if service centre is far from me and what should I do if I need to send them for service ?
Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Apr 7 2014, 02:08 AM
163 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
what if service centre is far from me and what should I do if I need to send them for service ?
Apr 7 2014, 07:42 AM
207 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Hey sifus, kinda rushing to get a new laptop in case my current laptop die off so don't have much time to do my own research as it happen yesterday
1. Preferred Brand - Anything except Asus or Dell 2. Budget - <RM3000 3. Usage - Programming and Gaming (Games like Assassin Creed) 4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6 (1920x1080) 5. Optional - Battery life that can last about 3-5 hours I'm thinking about Lenovo Y500, but I do like to get some options of other brands if there is any that is worth the money and is better than the Y500. |
Apr 7 2014, 09:14 AM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
QUOTE(BaboonZ @ Apr 7 2014, 01:30 AM) Thanks for the suggestions. Was wondering what was the difference between the "U", the "HQ" and the "MQ". Now I know a bit more. U - ULV processor or ultra-low-voltage. a battery efficient and lesser heat processor but weaker performance.I was indeed looking for FHD screens. I wondered how I overlooked the Inspiron 15 7000 in the first place. It's all-day battery life is a big plus. MQ and HQ - practically the same but HQ has better integrated performance graphics but who cares if you have a dedicated graphics card. its glad to know you view the Inspiron 15 7000 in the first place. not mention, you can get to say that you own a macbook replica. |
Apr 7 2014, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 7 2014, 02:08 AM) send back to your seller. just remember to bring the invoice/receipt along with you.if you own a Dell, just call their support number, do a remote diagnosis and if nothing can be solved, they will ask you to make appointment and dispatch technicians to fix the computer at your home or office. QUOTE(Xaxas @ Apr 7 2014, 07:42 AM) Hey sifus, kinda rushing to get a new laptop in case my current laptop die off so don't have much time to do my own research as it happen yesterday too bad Y500 is phased out and very hard to find in the market. even if you can find 1, its a demo unit. this is the only best you can get :1. Preferred Brand - Anything except Asus or Dell 2. Budget - <RM3000 3. Usage - Programming and Gaming (Games like Assassin Creed) 4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6 (1920x1080) 5. Optional - Battery life that can last about 3-5 hours I'm thinking about Lenovo Y500, but I do like to get some options of other brands if there is any that is worth the money and is better than the Y500. MSI GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099, 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB or top up about RM200, negotiate with seller and get this : Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs |
Apr 7 2014, 11:40 AM
74 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Hi guys! Been looking for a laptop for a while. Narrowed it down to Lenovo S410p/S510p (i7 processor/4GB RAM DDR3/GT 720M or GT 820M) @ RM2.1k-RM2.4k, with plans to add-on 4GB RAM, totaling 8GB RAM.
Chose this over the better specs from Dell's Inspiron because the Lenovo screen>Dell's. But was wondering if there are other better laptops out there (within my budget) that I should consider. 1. Preferred Brand: Anything but HP 2. Budget: 2.5k 3. Usage: Meant to be used to see clients face-to-face, but would like to also be able to work on it. Photoshop, some video editing and After Effects (motion graphics). 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14-15.6". Doumo arigatou~ |
Apr 7 2014, 12:33 PM
6,214 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Busan, Kr | Kuching, Swk |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 05:33 PM) Review on the GS60 is out yo: http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/msi-gs60-ghost.aspx It runs hot during load, which is anticipated Still a pretty awesome machine for such weight |
Apr 7 2014, 12:51 PM
1,365 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 7 2014, 01:43 AM) the sales for SSD depends on the storage capacity. normally 80GB and 120/128GB has the best sales, 256GB good and 512GB and above are slowest. actually the main priority of SSD is to boot faster. so thats why its best to have an external hard disk as back up drive if your storage is limited by SSD. How about this 2 in 1 drive: Western Digital HDD INT NB BLACK 2 DUAL DRIVE SATA III 1TB+120GB SSD? RM1k.trade in price, i dont know but the 256GB is for sale at around RM6xx. |
Apr 7 2014, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 7 2014, 12:51 PM) How about this 2 in 1 drive: Western Digital HDD INT NB BLACK 2 DUAL DRIVE SATA III 1TB+120GB SSD? RM1k. and the laptop that you are going to fit that dual drive in? if you want to fit into the ATIV Book 9 Lite, sorry to say, thats not possible as it uses mSATA. i hope you had seen the image i shared. |
Apr 7 2014, 01:26 PM
1,365 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 7 2014, 01:06 PM) and the laptop that you are going to fit that dual drive in? Ya the ATIV Book 9 Lite seems small and the dual drive I think is for older notebook, non SSD original notebook, right?if you want to fit into the ATIV Book 9 Lite, sorry to say, thats not possible as it uses mSATA. i hope you had seen the image i shared. |
Apr 7 2014, 01:35 PM
Apr 7 2014, 02:53 PM
207 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 7 2014, 10:21 AM) too bad Y500 is phased out and very hard to find in the market. even if you can find 1, its a demo unit. this is the only best you can get : Aww bugger... so there is no laptop out there that is a match for Y500 for its price which is about 2.7-2.9k? I'll have to consider one of those two then MSI GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099, 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB or top up about RM200, negotiate with seller and get this : Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs Thanks for helping out though. |
Apr 7 2014, 03:39 PM
163 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
thanks raymond bought myself a HP 14-d002tx from a seller using courier service. i wonder why not many people u recommend on this model ? is it not one of the good model ?
Apr 7 2014, 03:57 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Apr 7 2014, 11:40 AM) Hi guys! Been looking for a laptop for a while. Narrowed it down to Lenovo S410p/S510p (i7 processor/4GB RAM DDR3/GT 720M or GT 820M) @ RM2.1k-RM2.4k, with plans to add-on 4GB RAM, totaling 8GB RAM. Is the Lenovo's screen better than those on Dell Inspiron 7000 series? Chose this over the better specs from Dell's Inspiron because the Lenovo screen>Dell's. But was wondering if there are other better laptops out there (within my budget) that I should consider. 1. Preferred Brand: Anything but HP 2. Budget: 2.5k 3. Usage: Meant to be used to see clients face-to-face, but would like to also be able to work on it. Photoshop, some video editing and After Effects (motion graphics). 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14-15.6". Doumo arigatou~ Can consider these too: 15.6" Lenovo Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white *Prices in RRP These are running on Mobile processors- more powerful for your editing needs, but shorter battery life |
Apr 7 2014, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 7 2014, 03:39 PM) thanks raymond bought myself a HP 14-d002tx from a seller using courier service. i wonder why not many people u recommend on this model ? is it not one of the good model ? i dont remember im the one whom recommend the laptop to you.anyway, this laptop is good bang for bucks. quality wise, all are the same. |
Apr 7 2014, 04:52 PM
4,470 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ProperTYcoon @ Apr 7 2014, 12:25 AM) Iris Pro 5200 = 15% lower performance than nvidia 750m (but definitely save more battery then nvidia GT750m), if your budget is allow, go for highest spec, if not also fine...This post has been edited by xproc: Apr 7 2014, 04:56 PM |
Apr 7 2014, 06:02 PM
4,470 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 7 2014, 12:06 AM) Precision M3800- I don't have the detailed specs for this particular model. But it looks exactly as the XPS 15 above, but with a more powerful Quadro GPU and SSD, definitely worth considering Dell Precision M3800, W8P / W7P, Core i7-4702MQ, 8GB (1x8GB) 500GB SSHD, NVIDIA Quadro K1100M, 15.6" FHD(1920x1080), 6 cell(61wH), 8mm-18mm x 372mm x 254mm (excludes feet), 1.88kg + 0.5kg (adapter), RRP RM 6888high spec one i think about 9k (the one with QHD and ssd) |
Apr 7 2014, 08:16 PM
384 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi there I'm back with a slightly different preference.
1. Preferred Brand : Anything except ASUS, Acer and Apple 2. Budget : <2k 3. Usage : College (business) so word-processing and Internet (strong wi-fi) as well as a clear camera for video calls. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-inch and below. Additional request: Long battery-life, backlit keyboard, light and portable since I'll be carrying it and walking A LOT. Thanks again sifus. |
Apr 7 2014, 09:04 PM
85 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Hey experts, I'm not very good at choosing one, would appreciate a genuine opinion for an ultrabook.
1. Preferred Brand : No particular preference 2. Budget : ~3k 3. Usage : Business/on-the-go/general use 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : ~14 inch, ~15.6 Additional request: reasonably good battery life, backlit keyboard, at least 1600x900 resolution, ssd, dedicated gpu) Thanks in advance. |
Apr 7 2014, 09:07 PM
151 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Hi Sifus,
Need your recommendation on notebook based on the following: 1. Preferred Brand: Any mainstream ones would do 2. Budget: <2.5k (will consider up to 3k if significant benefits) 3. Usage: Mostly for work (lots of ms office related usage, normal browsing etc) with movie/tv-series viewing sometimes 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 inches Other aspects: Good battery life, Great display (for movies rather than gaming), backlit keyboard & slim/lighweight profile. A beautiful exterior would be a plus. Thanks in advance for your replies! |
Apr 7 2014, 09:59 PM
90 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Preferred brand : any
Budget : 3.5 k max Usage : gaming Screen size : any |
| Change to: | 0.0356sec