Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

xproc
post Mar 24 2014, 06:08 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kendallkylie777 @ Mar 23 2014, 03:55 PM)
Hello guys. I need your suggestions.
I'm a Mass Communication student, I used to have HP Pavilion g4 series as my laptop.
Recently, my mom wants to buy Surface RT tablet as I want to bring something light and easier to carry around college.
But I was thinking, instead of buying Surface RT, I would like to change to Macbook.
I've done several research/survey online which Macbook models I should buy but I still can't make up my mind.
I want something where I can keep a lot of things inside (assignments, pictures, songs) but didn't lag,
I walk quite far from my car to college so I want a thin & light laptop, long last battery.

I need your help, which Macbook models (MBA 13 inch vs MBP 13 inch) should I buy?
You can explain to me in detail about the disadvantages/advantages of both models and suggest me which Macbook model should I buy smile.gif

Main difference is the SSD storage (RM 3,149.00, RM 3,749.00 if you purchase with student price)
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

MacBook Air 13
Pros

-Thin, light, long battery
-Lower price entry (higher than plastics for sure)
-better resale value when you plan to change laptop after 3 years (other brand = 3 years = pretty worthless i have to say)
-best all rounder laptop (except gaming)
-PCI-e flash store (faster than SATA based SSD)
-intel HD5000, (better graphic than most other equivalent spec&price ultrabooks)
-sleek outlook, one of best in the market keyboard and touchpad. It set a par standard where people used to campare and define good keyboard and touchpad
-Facetime, iMessage, Find My Mac readied
-iPhoto, Pages, Numbers, Keynotes, OS X = all free
-can boot camp to use windows if need
-long lasting, my friend 2010 mba still like new, except adapter become old..
-and more...

Cons
-expensive than most normal laptop i can say (but the values retain well, you can check garage sales for 2nd hand price)
- low pixel than other more expensive ultrabook like ( asus zenbook prime, sony vaio pro, lenovo yoga 2 etc..)
- ram and storage not upgradable
- people claimed slower processor if compare to normal cheaper laptop with i5 i7 non ULV processor etc (but nowadays ULV processor is quite faster for normal daily usage already, except rendering or other CPU task heavy application)
- no Kingston? lock slot available
- battery not removeable
- no bundle mouse, bag, sleeve or casing, all need to buy yourself...
- no discount (except student discount)
- price for 3 years warranty is expensive (~RM800 top up, if you do the math, is still worth it)
-hardware replacement without warranty is very expensive (if you break it accidentally etc)
-not native windows (people claim OS X is difficult to learn, what i can say is, the learning curve is even lesser than Windows 7 to Windows 8.1)
- not gaming friendly (but still can dota 2, diablo 3 at very OK settings and OK framerates occasionally)
-and more...

MacBookPro 13" (Retina Display), i5-4258U + Intel Iris 5100 + 128GB SSD + (2560x1600)@RM4199[1.57kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookPro 13" (Retina Display), i5-4258U + Intel Iris 5100 + 256GB SSD + (2560x1600)@RM4899[1.57kg], 8GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

MacBook Pro 13, pro and cons similar with above, but with higher price, retina display, better processor and graphics, higher weight & lower battery due to higher performance. Get this if you want extra performance and you have spare bullets to spare

my bottom line, go those Apple Premium resellers, to touch touch and play play with then laptop, ask all the question you want to ask, then go home and think properly, then buy online (because you are student which got abit discount). Retail reseller shop = no discount.

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 24 2014, 10:11 AM)
instead of paying Ks on a mac book air. would rather ask u have a look on other brand of ultrabook,  and get a ssd, still cheaper than mac book.
even mac book also will lag.
you got used mac before?

kendallkylie777 requirement thin & light laptop, long last battery

let see mba 13 vs other ultrabooks, what is the other model of ultrabook that have (i want to know also because got people asked me what windows laptop to buy always...)

1. battery life equals mba 13 (min. >11 hours)
2. weight equals or less than mba 13 (1.35kg)
3. thickness 0.3-1.7 cm
4. price from RM3299 (RM3149 student price)
5. Internal graphic is Intel HD5000, not Intel HD4400 or 4600 which is less powerful...

i think got ultrabook can better for item 1-3 but price is nearly 4k at least... correct me if i am wrong...

This post has been edited by xproc: Mar 24 2014, 06:15 PM
xproc
post Mar 24 2014, 06:49 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 24 2014, 06:36 PM)
If anyone can give you the best descriptions of Apples vs Windows notebooks, it'll be putochip123 since he has basically used all types of notebooks before laugh.gif
I think the Surface Pro 2 will be able to compete against the MBA hmm.gif
The XPS11-13 used to be the main contenders, but now that they are touch-enabled, they have become a niche higher than the MBA already  hmm.gif
Suface Pro 2 is definately better portability than mba, but when we going to get it? but SP2 i think is more like top end tablet rather than laptop since it do not have keyboard attached.

xps11-13 definately higher range liao, no doubt of it, what is the price now?

but he say instead of

i just wonder which other brand of ultrabook is that... just for knowledge and sharing notworthy.gif
xproc
post Mar 30 2014, 06:23 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(izne75 @ Mar 30 2014, 03:41 PM)
Thanks. Might be going with MacBookAir 11" + Intel HD5000 + 128 SSD + (1366x768)@RM2,849 (education price) with spare for VGA dongle and still fall within budget.

thumbup.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2014, 03:52 PM)
Good for you man rclxm9.gif
Try to go for the warranty extension as well if possible, since slim notebooks will be very expensive to repair if anything happens  nod.gif
should go feel the screen size, not much people especially students choose 11" since 13" is just RM300 away... anyway good luck to your purchasing...
xproc
post Mar 31 2014, 05:32 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Mar 31 2014, 12:56 AM)
1. Preferred brand: Any brands
2. Budget: RM2k-3k
3. Usage: MS Office, web browsing, occasional gaming but not a must (for eg. FIFA/COD playable at smooth fps at low-med graphic), run some engineering software like autocad is optional too (if can't run is fine too)
4. Screen size: Below 14"

-weight is below 2kg or slightly more than 2kg (ultraportables)

Currently looking at Lenovo U430 touch and dell Inspiron 14 7000. Any other recommendations?  smile.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 01:54 AM)
You do realize U430 and Inspiron 14 are 14" notebooks (not "below 14"")? haha laugh.gif

I suppose its still these two at the moment hmm.gif Lenovo for better GPU and higher resolution; Dell for better warranty support (If opted)
Sure can run AutoCAD, just a matter of how smooth (depending on the intensiveness of tasks given)

Can consider this one as well, quite sleek:
14"
HP Envy Touchsmart 14-K119TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799[2.01kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8.1
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 03:19 PM)
11-13" notebooks are not that large-scale produce , so they are generally more expensive nod.gif
It costs more to fit more in such a small profile as well, so nope... not really much you can choose around that budget

Closest:
13"
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
from the second and third his usage really like mine usage... i am sure you can have a look at MacBook Air... 11" is from 2999 and 13" is from 3299

autocad LT is very okay... 3D i not sure becoz mine is just LT license. Light gaming is definately do-able and since that is not your priority i think that is more ok also...

just price a bit higher, but still less than 3.5 as you said la...

anyway you still can go back to your insprion 7000 if too expensive for you...

xproc
post Mar 31 2014, 06:02 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 05:48 PM)
Vostro 5470 has poor built quality, ergonomics and weak Wifi, but its very light.. I wouldn't recommend it, not very confidence-inspiring especially if you plan to do heavy tasks on it hmm.gif

As for the Vaio Pro 11, are you sure you are okay with such a small screen?  hmm.gif FullHD summore, your eyes will pop out mate... I find FullHD on a 13" already a pain to my eyes  cry.gif
I agree... i wonder why microsoft still dont plan to fix this issue....
xproc
post Mar 31 2014, 09:41 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 07:24 PM)
I think this problem is also plaguing the MBP with RD as well  hmm.gif
Its not just Microsoft problem, but basically every software out there... which is why as of now its still not a very good move to go for super high-resolution screens  hmm.gif
beside 11" mba, i also own a full hd 13" W8,1P asus zenbook prime, which is more like a joke screen to me, i rather it 1600x900 or 1440x900 srsly, the icons and the font scaling and magnification setting aint help much...

rmbp "Best for Retina" (double pixel) setting is at least better than full HD jokes on those 11" and 13" screen, even the apps not retina optimised yet, its ways better than those jokes already...

xproc
post Apr 1 2014, 09:31 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(adrianneow @ Apr 1 2014, 09:13 PM)
Can sifu please make it more specific about the difference between Y410p and Y510p(3399)? Do you really recommend these two models? Any cons of these models?? Y510p will look big and stubborn?(The picture in internet isn't thick, I need a thin one). In another word, may you please be more specific of these models?
if you need thin laptop, stay away from y410p/y510p... sweat.gif sweat.gif
xproc
post Apr 2 2014, 09:38 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 2 2014, 05:54 PM)
since your sister only use it for assignments and projects and not using it for playing games, the Core i3 is enough to handle the office applications, where your sister will use it for doing assignments and projects.
anyway... core i3 is okay for office usage, you will feel abit slow if you not that patient...

core i5 is for mainstream....
xproc
post Apr 2 2014, 10:05 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 2 2014, 09:44 PM)
As Raymond sifu mentioned, warranty-wise Dell is still better (if opted icon_rolleyes.gif)
The current lineup of Toshiba notebooks have pretty shallow keyboard, not that suitable if you type alot oh  icon_rolleyes.gif
You won't be able to tell the performance difference between i3 and i5 for normal office work dude  doh.gif
25 chrome tabs + 10 excel + 10 words + 15 pdf is about normal office work...
xproc
post Apr 2 2014, 11:49 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 2 2014, 10:11 PM)
I didn't he was buying for you haha  laugh.gif
Fed up with your Asus already?  brows.gif  or Mac?
my wishlist is coming generation mba.... rumours is 12" with retina display and without fan assembly... looking forward to it... too shy to put in sig becoz later scare most of it is not true (always) ... sweat.gif sweat.gif wish.gif

just hope the price tag is affordable by then...

your wishlish M3800 is just about RM6700 (baseline spec la). get from your fren bro oscar maybe more discount... can upgrade lor since your m14 is 3 years old d....

but one is gaming laptop and the dell precision more like a workstation laptop... M3800 can gaming meh?
xproc
post Apr 4 2014, 09:08 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(KcX35 @ Apr 3 2014, 10:11 PM)
do u know any shop in lowyat which has wide range of ultrabooks (dell /asus ) as in display ? cause i prefer to buy thru shops and test it before buying haha
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 3 2014, 11:09 PM)
No specific shops, just go there and have a look, ask around, bargain before buying  nod.gif
pc fair?
xproc
post Apr 4 2014, 09:12 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

Microsoft Is Updating Windows, All But Killing The Look Of Windows 8 For Laptops

good news, at last they know the tile screen wont not work....
xproc
post Apr 4 2014, 03:05 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 4 2014, 11:20 AM)
Yeah, that should be in kopitiam or softwate discussion section. I started to notice some fanboyism post seriously.
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 11:38 AM)
Now only notice sifu? haha  laugh.gif
82 posts in the previous thread, all of them only recommending Apple, whether suitable or not  sweat.gif
i just recommend to those which maybe can consider macbook based on their usage and requirement only... others people have different requirement or looking for windows only i would not recommend anything to them

suitable or not is for them to decide, not us... and we should not to decide for them to choose any of the laptop... more choices to consider is better... if the laptop we ask them to buy spoil very fast, then how?

while other sifu recommend the laptops, i wonder they recommend just based on spec and online review or they are actually using it. if is the earlier, then it is doh.gif

This post has been edited by xproc: Apr 4 2014, 03:23 PM
xproc
post Apr 4 2014, 04:10 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Apr 4 2014, 03:53 PM)
Anyone bought laptop from Lazada, COD? Any issue?
read fine print for lazada warranty... i would not back there again...
xproc
post Apr 7 2014, 04:52 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(ProperTYcoon @ Apr 7 2014, 12:25 AM)
is it necessary to go for the highest specs? or Iris is enough?
Iris Pro 5200 = 15% lower performance than nvidia 750m (but definitely save more battery then nvidia GT750m), if your budget is allow, go for highest spec, if not also fine...

This post has been edited by xproc: Apr 7 2014, 04:56 PM
xproc
post Apr 7 2014, 06:02 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 7 2014, 12:06 AM)
Precision M3800- I don't have the detailed specs for this particular model. But it looks exactly as the XPS 15 above, but with a more powerful Quadro GPU and SSD, definitely worth considering thumbup.gif
Dell Precision M3800, W8P / W7P, Core i7-4702MQ, 8GB (1x8GB) 500GB SSHD, NVIDIA Quadro K1100M, 15.6" FHD(1920x1080), 6 cell(61wH), 8mm-18mm x 372mm x 254mm (excludes feet), 1.88kg + 0.5kg (adapter), RRP RM 6888

high spec one i think about 9k (the one with QHD and ssd)
xproc
post Apr 8 2014, 04:35 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 8 2014, 04:15 PM)
You are most welcomed notworthy.gif

The MSI GE70 Apache Pro is still a fairly new notebook, so not much reviews yet...
But you can take a look here: http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/msi_g...ache_pro,1.html

No mention of temperature though... but I think you can expect the notebook to get hot during load... However, I'm not sure how it will perform in comparison with the Illegear  icon_rolleyes.gif
illegear definitely need to be supporkted since is our msia brand...
xproc
post Apr 8 2014, 08:43 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 8 2014, 06:33 PM)
Recommending based on true facts, not based on whether the brand is ours or not...
If its not good, then we don't recommend, no matter what brand it is  nod.gif
time will tells, hopefully their business last for many many years
xproc
post Apr 9 2014, 11:22 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(tUps @ Apr 9 2014, 06:18 PM)
Really detailed ones, Judging on the price vs spec .. Yoga2 is the best buy? I'll skip illegear as it's heavy as I need to walk with it .. daily.
assuming you use windows 8.1, the apps/touch mode benefits from the QHD display, but the desktop/normal mode, the icons and fonts is really tiny if you set the native resolution...

TL:DR version; we would not recommend it until windows patch this issue...
xproc
post Apr 9 2014, 11:33 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Apr 9 2014, 10:57 PM)
Many thanks for the recommendation bro. Highly appreciate it.

I'm planning similarly like your suggestion - running bootcamp but on MacBook Pro Retina 13 inch instead of 15 inch due to size, weight and mobility.
Below is what I've gathered so far;

Specifications (13 inch Macbook Pro with Retina display)
• 2.8GHz Dual-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
• 16GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
• 512GB PCIe-based Flash Storage
• Apple USB SuperDrive
• Backlit Keyboard (English) & User's Guide (English)

Purchase Information
• RM 7,508.00

Is this a good setup or would it be better to stick with 15 inch instead?
I would prefer to spend not more than 8k at this moment.

Thanks heaps in advance for your kind reply!
the 13" rmbp is dual core processor and iris graphic only... another option for you to consider..

how about 15" RMBP... just shy 2.0kg... and shy RM 8179, with configuration as follow
2.0GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz
16GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
512GB PCIe-based Flash Storage
no Apple USB SuperDrive

or directly get the higher spec 15 RMBP at rm 8499....

just suggest only....

This post has been edited by xproc: Apr 9 2014, 11:37 PM

0.0496sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:18 PM