129 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

BaboonZ
post Apr 6 2014, 06:51 PM

131 posts

1. Preferred Brand
Any Windows 8 laptop brand except Sony

2. Budget
Preferably less than RM4000

3. Usage
Light gaming in the form of Dota 2. Should have at least 4 hrs battery life.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Between 13.3" and 15.6". Weight is not an issue.

-----------

As a matter of fact, I have done a lot of research these past few days but since this laptop is gonna be my first ever laptop that I own, I want to get one that I wouldn't regret in years to come.
So I'm asking you sifus opinion on the following options:

1. Asus N550JK-CN026H
- My current first choice
- Touchscreen. Cool subwoofer.
- Latest NVIDIA GTX 850M but only DDR3 VRAM.
- Curious about the actual battery life. Any info?

2. MSI GE60 2PE Apache Pro
- Awesome specs. GTX 860M 2GB GDDR5.
- Can do without the touchscreen in this case but I'm concerned with the battery life. One website is saying that it can only last 2.5 hrs despite being idle. If it's true, I might as well get a desktop.

3. MSI GE60 2PC Apache
- Cheaper alternative to 2PE Apache Pro.

4. HP ENVY Touchsmart 15-j137TX
- 2nd cheapest option.
- All-rounder.
- Touchscreen.
- 24 GB mSATA flash cache.
- Need confirmation that the VRAM is DDR3 and not GDDR5.
- No idea bout battery life.

5. Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p
- Cheapest option and comes with GDDR5 VRAM
- lack of touchscreen
- decent battery life (5 hrs as advertised)

6. Asus G56JR-CN183H
- No touchscreen.
- GTX 760M 2GB GDDR5 VRAM.
- What is the battery life?

7. Asus N56JR-S4018H
- Similar specs with G56JR.
- Quite certain that it has no touchscreen either.
- Again, what is the battery life?

Did I missed other options? Most of the options above are gaming laptops. Are they too powerful for my purpose?
curvez
post Apr 6 2014, 07:32 PM

1. Any brand
2. Below 2k
3. Gaming, programming, assignment
4. 15 inch

This is my first laptop so if can, i want a laptop that can last up to 3 or 4 years. Please help me.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by curvez: Apr 6 2014, 07:41 PM
stevie8
post Apr 6 2014, 08:02 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2014, 12:38 PM)
Yeah, I'm aware of the size of that HP laugh.gif Just wanted to share one of the best pick in town haha

I seldom hear people prefer conventional HDD over SSD nowadays haha laugh.gif
You can read about the benefits of SSD a few pages back, I've written it down for another forumer nod.gif

Can consider these:
11.6"
Dell
Inspiron 11 3000, Celeron 2955U + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1349[1.43kg]. 2GB, 500GB, W8.1
Inspiron 11 3000, Celeron N2815U + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[1.43kg]. 4GB, 500GB, W8.1

*extend warranty to 3 years on-site with remaining budget

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.5kg],W7HP, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

*relatively old model, but very popular among companies

The HP you mentioned is pretty good as well, though I would still prefer getting the Dell for better peace of mind.. Budget-line consumer notebooks tend to be not-that-reliable
**Prices in RRP
What's the different between Intel® Pentium® N3520 Processor and Intel® Celeron® Dual Core processor N2815 (1M Cache, 2.13 GHz) used by the HP mentioned and Dell Inspiron 11 3000 N2815U recommended by you? Dont mind explain a bit. Thanks
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:34 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Apr 6 2014, 03:59 PM)
I think you guys should also mention to the students here if they are looking to get dell laptop they can contact dell chat to order via them & get student rate.

I just ordered Inspiron 14R (linux + i5 + 2years warranty) for RM1925 (student rate). Its a pretty good deal I would say  hmm.gif
Yeah, we often tell people that the prices on Dell websites are RRP... you can actually get a much cheaper price if you buy from LYN sellers like putochip123 and viper88 etc., or bargain online with multiple Dell online sales agents nod.gif
Not hard to get good prices by doing that haha, just that most people are shy/lazy and don't want to do it sweat.gif

Its not student price la haha, just best price icon_rolleyes.gif Don't have to be a student to get it~

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wquin @ Apr 6 2014, 03:49 PM)
Hi, I need recommendation on buying a gaming laptop. rclxms.gif

1. Preferred Brand : Prefer Lenovo/MSI, other brands are fine too
2. Budget : around 3.5k to 4.5k
3. Usage : Gaming, movie, office work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 " or 15"
Pretty much the Y510p nod.gif
15.6"
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, exGPU GT755M & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

Can consider this one as well if you know how to overclock the CPU:
15.6"
MSI GX60-3CC-299MY, A10-5750M + (AMD XT R9-M290X + A76M) + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 128GBSSD@RM4699, 4GB, 750GB (7200rpm), W8.1, multi-color backlit; HDMI cable

But spec-wise, the Y510p is still better in SLI mode nod.gif

*Prices in RRP
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Apr 6 2014, 04:38 PM)
Oh sorry. I'll try to be more specific next time. I was actually talking about the MSI GE60 Apache series.
Now I'm thinking, is there any laptops within my budget that has the new Nvidia Geforce 800M series? Maybe around RM3.5k
Most of the brands have not refresh their notebooks with the latest Nvidia GPUs yet, afaik hmm.gif
So you only have these two:
15.6"
Asus
N550JK-CN026H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M (DDR3) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3899[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1

MSI
GE60-2PE-097MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3999[Dynaudio], 8GB, 1TB (7200rpm) HDD, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(BaboonZ @ Apr 6 2014, 06:51 PM)
1. Preferred Brand
Any Windows 8 laptop brand except Sony

2. Budget
Preferably less than RM4000

3. Usage
Light gaming in the form of Dota 2. Should have at least 4 hrs battery life.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Between 13.3" and 15.6". Weight is not an issue.

Did I missed other options? Most of the options above are gaming laptops. Are they too powerful for my purpose?
Its good to know that you have done your homework instead of just jumping the gun like most notworthy.gif

But I think apart from the HP, the notebooks you picked are way too powerful haha.. especially considering the fact that Dota 2 is not exactly demanding at all laugh.gif
If you want one with long battery life, pick those with ULV processors- power saving:
15.6"
Acer
R7-572G-54208G1T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.5kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8
V7-582PG-74501225k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3999[2.2kg], 12GB, W8.1

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + 8GB SSHD + 1TB(5400rrpm) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3699[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

*prices in RRP
I would recommend going for the RM3.6k Dell and extend warranty to 3 years icon_rolleyes.gif
paperlee
post Apr 6 2014, 08:44 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2014, 12:54 PM)
A larger screen is better for the elderly nod.gif
So definitely a 15 incher although it'll be bulkier

Can consider these:
15.6"
Dell
Vostro 5560, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, ODD
Vostro 5560, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2349[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, ODD

Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
*Prices in RRP, use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years icon_rolleyes.gif

** Go for the Vostro if you want something lighter (but less solid)
** Go for the Inspiron if you want longer battery life, better quality and screen
thanks for the suggestions, honestly i wondering is there any laptop specifically design for senior citizen other than the spec u suggested to me? i know looking at PC screen for long period doesn't bring any benefit to elder but sometime we just cant prevent it when situation come to office works

This post has been edited by paperlee: Apr 6 2014, 08:45 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(paperlee @ Apr 6 2014, 08:44 PM)
thanks for the suggestions, honestly i wondering is there any laptop specifically design for senior citizen other than the spec u suggested to me? i know looking at PC screen for long period doesn't bring any benefit to elder but sometime we just cant prevent it when situation come to office works
Don't really understand what you meant by a laptop designed specifically for senior citizens? hmm.gif
I suppose all they need is a larger screen? As recommended? hmm.gif

Otherwise, maybe get a desktop with an even larger monitor
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 08:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 6 2014, 08:02 PM)
What's the different between Intel® Pentium® N3520 Processor and Intel® Celeron® Dual Core processor N2815 (1M Cache, 2.13 GHz) used by the HP mentioned and Dell Inspiron 11 3000 N2815U recommended by you? Dont mind explain a bit. Thanks
Based on the comparisons here, the N3520 is much better in terms of overall performance nod.gif
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/721/Intel...tium_N3520.html
infernoaswen
post Apr 6 2014, 08:57 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2014, 08:34 PM)
Yeah, we often tell people that the prices on Dell websites are RRP... you can actually get a much cheaper price if you buy from LYN sellers like putochip123 and viper88 etc., or bargain online with multiple Dell online sales agents nod.gif
Not hard to get good prices by doing that haha, just that most people are shy/lazy and don't want to do it  sweat.gif

Its not student price la haha, just best price  icon_rolleyes.gif Don't have to be a student to get it~
Got student rate they told me (donno true or not la) coz they asked for the student email, details will be sent over that email.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 09:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Apr 6 2014, 08:57 PM)
Got student rate they told me (donno true or not la) coz they asked for the student email, details will be sent over that email.
That's interesting, thanks for the heads up notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Helldana
post Apr 6 2014, 09:38 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2014, 08:37 PM)
Most of the brands have not refresh their notebooks with the latest Nvidia GPUs yet, afaik hmm.gif
So you only have these two:
15.6"
Asus
N550JK-CN026H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M (DDR3) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3899[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1

MSI
GE60-2PE-097MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3999[Dynaudio], 8GB, 1TB (7200rpm) HDD, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid

*Prices in RRP, negotiable

Oh I see, will those two models outrun the y410p in the long run? Or is it not worth spending the extra buck? hmm.gif
SoraDestiny
post Apr 6 2014, 10:59 PM

147 posts

hey guys... im back...

need suggestion on a laptop for my friend, she got a job as a graphic/web designer just like me but she has no laptop to work.... so she ask me, n now im asking you sifu2 out there on what laptop is better??

1. Preferred Brand - She said anthing as long as good
2. Budget - RM3000
3. Usage - Graphic Design (Photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - anything
stevie8
post Apr 6 2014, 11:10 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 6 2014, 08:53 PM)
Based on the comparisons here, the N3520 is much better in terms of overall performance nod.gif
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/721/Intel...tium_N3520.html
Thanks for your prompt reply. Appreciate vm.

Now, a friend told me 11.6 inch is too small for work like spreadsheet and watch movie. Recommend me to have 12 to 13 inch. According to him even the 13 inch is light and battery can last 6 to 8 hrs. Am confused. Can you recommend me 12 to 13 inch screen with touchscreen, light weight and good battery for sales table talk presentation, price less than RM2k. No need for games.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 11:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(SoraDestiny @ Apr 6 2014, 10:59 PM)
hey guys... im back...

need suggestion on a laptop for my friend, she got a job as a graphic/web designer just like me but she has no laptop to work.... so she ask me, n now im asking you sifu2 out there on what laptop is better??

1. Preferred Brand - She said anthing as long as good
2. Budget - RM3000
3. Usage - Graphic Design (Photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - anything
If she's familiar with Mac OSX, then the MBA13 is a great choice nod.gif
13"
Apple
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

* Discounts available for students
* Assuming she has all the softwares for Mac

Most graphic designers prefer Macs because of the smoother experience and also better screens.

Windows counterparts:
Thin and light (most girls prefer designs like this)
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2649[1.99kg], 4GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD
Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768; touch)+ 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2999[1.99kg], 6GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

Lenovo U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs

Toshiba
Satellite U40t-A102, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1366x768; touch)@RM2799[1.74kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3-cell; 3 years local warranty; backlit keyboard

But for better/full performance (bulkier and heavier):
14"
Lenovo
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Toshiba Satellite M840-1034XG/XP/XQ, i7-3620QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2499, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:gold/pink/blue

**prices in RRP
**Not recommending 15" notebook (even though a larger screen might mean a better editing experience), since most girls don't like something too large and heavy tongue.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 11:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 6 2014, 11:10 PM)
Thanks for your prompt reply. Appreciate vm.

Now, a friend told me 11.6 inch is too small for work like spreadsheet and watch movie. Recommend me to have 12 to 13 inch. According to him even the 13 inch is light and battery can last 6 to 8 hrs. Am confused. Can you recommend me 12 to 13 inch screen with touchscreen, light weight and good battery for sales table talk presentation, price less than RM2k. No need for games.
12-13" notebooks are of lower demand, and are thus less produced= more expensive... there's only one I could think of at the moment that's within your budget:
13"
Samsung
Book 9 Lite NP915S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8

Ramjade
post Apr 6 2014, 11:43 PM

24,352 posts

Hi, asking for my friend. His laptop dead already.

1. Preferred Brand: No acer or HP
2. Budget: Rm2000. Max 2400
3. Usage:
-Student
-Thin and Light
-Gaming (optional) like DoTa 2, L4D2
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Bigger than 11"
5. Others: FreeDos (optional - to bring down the price. Can install windows himself)
ProperTYcoon
post Apr 6 2014, 11:46 PM

1,322 posts

1. Apple / Your recommendation
2. <10k
3. Heavy Usage, Graphic & 3D Design, Normal Gaming and Surfing
4. Doesnt Matter about size
Looking for a Laptop

This post has been edited by ProperTYcoon: Apr 7 2014, 12:00 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 11:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 6 2014, 11:43 PM)
Hi, asking for my friend. His laptop dead already.

1. Preferred Brand: No acer or HP
2. Budget: Rm2000. Max 2400
3. Usage:
-Student
-Thin and Light
-Gaming (optional) like DoTa 2, L4D2
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Bigger than 11"
5. Others: FreeDos (optional - to bring down the price. Can install windows himself)
14"
Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
K451LB-WX071H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black
Pavilion 14-N223TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2399[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8.1; colors: silver/black

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14318SG, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white

Toshiba
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[Onkyo], 2GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty, W8; colors: Gold/blue/white

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget (if applicable)
* Upgrade to 8GB RAM if within budget

129 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:58 PM