Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

DEVILtonight
post Apr 7 2014, 11:40 AM

74 posts

Hi guys! Been looking for a laptop for a while. Narrowed it down to Lenovo S410p/S510p (i7 processor/4GB RAM DDR3/GT 720M or GT 820M) @ RM2.1k-RM2.4k, with plans to add-on 4GB RAM, totaling 8GB RAM.

Chose this over the better specs from Dell's Inspiron because the Lenovo screen>Dell's. But was wondering if there are other better laptops out there (within my budget) that I should consider.

1. Preferred Brand: Anything but HP
2. Budget: 2.5k
3. Usage: Meant to be used to see clients face-to-face, but would like to also be able to work on it. Photoshop, some video editing and After Effects (motion graphics).
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14-15.6".

Doumo arigatou~
DEVILtonight
post Apr 8 2014, 02:43 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 7 2014, 03:57 PM)
Is the Lenovo's screen better than those on Dell Inspiron 7000 series?  hmm.gif

Can consider these too:
15.6"
Lenovo Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

*Prices in RRP
These are running on Mobile processors- more powerful for your editing needs, but shorter battery life  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks again! You helped me in another thread ^-^

@ Inspiron 7000: Didn't check, because the Inspiron 7000 series is out of my budget XD. But between Inspiron 15R and Lenovo S series, the latter is a clear winner (pun unintended).

Looking into the two recommendations now. A bit of a bummer that most stocks for the Z510 is in white... My headache is that, compared to the S510p, the processor is i5 but the graphic card is better @@.

Which is more important for my purposes (photoshop/video editing/after effects); better processor or graphic card?

0.0395sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:21 AM