AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

kucingfight
post May 21 2007, 12:52 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ May 21 2007, 12:43 PM)
treason, try vdimm mod to go to 2.2v or 2.3v
Check rebels haven forum, a pair of grabbers and resister will do biggrin.gif
aya u...dump ur windsor la..get a brisbane.... laugh.gif
byfc2010
post May 21 2007, 01:42 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ May 20 2007, 12:16 AM)
just some news to Abit KN9 family board.

recently ive received a lot of blue screen.Fedup of it.i unOC the cpu.
still BSOD..after some hard thinking.seems like there is some issue with Silent OTES.Crap design!!........the NB heatsink is too blardy hot!!i cant even survive 3sec touching test..

so i retrofit a small fan on top of the heatsink.temp down like heaven and earth..
no more BSOD.and im back at super clock....... rclxms.gif
oh is it?...
darn! who else got this problem...
i am on my way changin my mobo to a KN9 ultra...
plz feedback fast be4 i got the same case...
TerryZeroX
post May 21 2007, 01:44 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Guys at 290htt i can boot in windows and orthos and superpi 32m, but whenever i restart my pc during bootup theres a long beep and it hangs. i have to reset it and all my settings is back to default blink.gif any idea why? Currently at 286htt and not having problem with it

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 21 2007, 02:11 PM
davidletterboyz
post May 21 2007, 03:17 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 21 2007, 01:44 PM)
Guys at 290htt i can boot in windows and orthos and superpi 32m, but whenever i restart my pc during bootup theres a long beep and it hangs. i have to reset it and all my settings is back to default  blink.gif  any idea why? Currently at 286htt and not having problem with it
Maybe it's cold boot etc. It happens to some mobos..... what you can do is oc from window after setting 286htt in BIOS. : sweat.gif
TSsoulfly
post May 21 2007, 03:34 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

Maybe it is related to the startup voltage of the RAM. Some boards have different values for startup voltage and running voltage. To me, this kind of feature sucks!
TerryZeroX
post May 21 2007, 03:39 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Dang! Zzz oh well, i'm kinda happy still to squeeze out something from this mobo lol
8tvt
post May 21 2007, 04:27 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

sometimes bios problem..
what u set for ur ram? voltage,timing etc..
mfa333
post May 21 2007, 04:40 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ May 21 2007, 12:36 PM)
1st of all, i'm getting X2 soon and my target would be 3600+ Brisbane core.

About mobo, i saw in the list that many of u guys using Biostar mobo. Is it really good? How's it it compare with MSI K9N Neo? In terms of OC-ability and support(driver).

And, is it enough to OC 3600+ to 2.5GHz using only stock cooler?
anyone? unsure.gif
8tvt
post May 21 2007, 04:56 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ May 21 2007, 04:40 PM)
anyone? unsure.gif
ya make sure the cache stated on the box.. 640 + 640

About mobo, i saw in the list that many of u guys using Biostar mobo. Is it really good? How's it it compare with MSI K9N Neo? In terms of OC-ability and support(driver).
biostars t-force cheap with solid caps.. good for oc..

can.. try 2.7 better..
TerryZeroX
post May 21 2007, 05:04 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 21 2007, 04:27 PM)
sometimes bios problem..
what u set for ur ram? voltage,timing etc..
i used 533 divider and i tested adding 0.1 and 0.2vdimm, timing is still 5-5-5-12.

now i'm using the settings at my sig, using +0.1vdimm and stock vcore

Added on May 21, 2007, 5:06 pmand my question still unanswered tongue.gif what happens when the chipset is too hot? becoz my mobo's chipset is freaking hot and i can't even bear to touch for 1 whole sec

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 21 2007, 05:14 PM
8tvt
post May 21 2007, 05:18 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 21 2007, 05:04 PM)
i used 533 divider and i tested adding 0.1 and 0.2vdimm, timing is still 5-5-5-12.

now i'm using the settings at my sig, using +0.1vdimm and stock vcore

Added on May 21, 2007, 5:06 pmand my question still unanswered tongue.gif what happens when the chipset is too hot?
0.1 means? 1.8 +0.1? like that maybe not enough voltage... try untill 2.2v if any..
and set CR 2T..

when chipset hot.. it will run incorrectly.. hang.. sudden shutdown..
sjn hassan
post May 21 2007, 07:09 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 21 2007, 08:54 AM)
thanks Bro..nice result for the m-ATX mobo..how about 630a chipset??any user?

** about the cpu multi, have u tried another BIOS?maybe it can be fix with other bios
mfa333
post May 21 2007, 07:53 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 21 2007, 04:56 PM)

can.. try 2.7 better..
Thanks... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

1 more question, how to differentiate 3600+ Brisbane core and Windsor core? Is it all Brisbane core's part number ended with 5DD/5DL and windsor 4CU?
byfc2010
post May 21 2007, 07:57 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ May 20 2007, 12:16 AM)
just some news to Abit KN9 family board.

recently ive received a lot of blue screen.Fedup of it.i unOC the cpu.
still BSOD..after some hard thinking.seems like there is some issue with Silent OTES.Crap design!!........the NB heatsink is too blardy hot!!i cant even survive 3sec touching test..

so i retrofit a small fan on top of the heatsink.temp down like heaven and earth..
no more BSOD.and im back at super clock....... rclxms.gif
QUOTE(byfc2010 @ May 21 2007, 01:42 PM)
oh is it?...
no other had this case?

This post has been edited by byfc2010: May 21 2007, 07:58 PM
TerryZeroX
post May 21 2007, 08:50 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 21 2007, 05:18 PM)
0.1 means? 1.8 +0.1? like that maybe not enough voltage... try untill 2.2v if any..
and set CR 2T..

when chipset hot.. it will run incorrectly.. hang.. sudden shutdown..
max i could go is +0.3vdimm on my mobo. for my clockspeed now +0.1vdimm is enough, if i go to 290htt then i have problem when i restart.

my mobo got limited options to mess with ram timings. sad.gif hate it
i can't even change the commandrate from bios.

soulfly tongue.gif help update pls laugh.gif i'm using ThermalTake Big Typhoon VX for cpu cooler

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 21 2007, 10:02 PM
lohwenli
post May 22 2007, 06:20 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 21 2007, 04:56 PM)

can.. try 2.7 better..
QUOTE(mfa333 @ May 21 2007, 07:53 PM)
Thanks... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
1 more question, how to differentiate 3600+ Brisbane core and Windsor core? Is it all Brisbane core's part number ended with 5DD/5DL and windsor 4CU?
Brisbane core has a P/N ending with DD. CZ is the Windsor core, stepping F3, also another lovely overclocker. CU is the normal Windsor, which although can overclock, takes a lot of effort.

And yes, you can overclock to at least 2.8GHz even with the stock cooler if you're using a DD or CZ; keep an eye on temperature though. 3.0GHz is not difficult if you have a better cooler.
sempronic
post May 22 2007, 10:50 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ May 21 2007, 01:42 PM)
oh is it?...
my KN9 Sli got no prob....
last time onli with my 3600++ Windsor....
then using 3800++ no prob...
till 3.0ghz no prob ar....
just update ur bios with the correct one....
sure fine....and the important ur casing air flow make sure it good...

KN9 SLi....rock steady!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by sempronic: May 22 2007, 10:57 PM
CV6149
post May 23 2007, 08:40 AM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

anyone found steeping F3 selling somewhere?sorry too busy nowdays
sherdil
post May 24 2007, 12:14 AM

Knowledge the key to Heaven
1,571 posts

Whats the best stepping for a AMD 3800 + Brisbane
Say one that would be able to OC at stock voltage.

Anyone
Cheers
-pWs-
post May 24 2007, 12:22 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(sherdil @ May 24 2007, 12:14 AM)
Whats the best stepping for a AMD 3800 + Brisbane
Say one that would be able to OC at stock voltage.

Anyone
Cheers
Brisbane do not have 3800 model smile.gif
Is it you meant 3600??

-pWs-

156 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:42 PM