Very unhappy experience at VW, Goh Brothers Motor sdn bhd & Volkswagen

TSBlackForce
post Oct 2 2013, 11:34 PM, updated 13y ago

This gonna be a little bit long but its complete story of mine.

5 or 6 months ago, my car (Volkswagen Beetle which still under Volkswagen warranty for 2 to 3 years) was having engine unstable and going to stop by itself, so i decided to take my car had a visit to Goh Brothers Motor sdn bhd located at Sungai Penang, Pulau Penang. I was able to bring my car there after quite a number of appointment with them. This is the first time i sent my car there, at the next day they told me the problem caused by my carbon sensor, they told me it just require to clean the sensor. So i believed and ask them to do so. After two days i went to collect my car, by the time i left the service center, the problem still exist. So i called and do another appointment, Goh side replied that i have to wait for 2 to 3 weeks. But it took me 1 month to took my car to the service center again. The second time i sent my car there and told the same problem, they told me to clean the carbon sensor again. But this time the problem seems to solved. Until days before 2nd of September, the engine of my car started to unstable.

At the noon of 2nd September (heavy rain), suddenly my cars' brake paddle stuck and i couldn't brake, the engine stop and smoke came out from front left of my car. So i called the Volkswagen Roadside Assistance, which promise will arrive in 90 minutes but end up i was waiting for them for 4 hours. After towed to Sungai Pinang Volkswagen service center, i called and they told me to let me know what happen to my car at the next day. They did not call me at 3th September, so i called them again at 4th September, Goh side told me they were still troubleshooting problem for my car, and will call back. After one day waiting, i called them back at 5th September, they told me the cause of my problem is from my battery. I argued with them said that smoke came out from my car and the brake paddle stuck had nothing related to my battery some more the battery was new one, but they insist it was my battery problem. And left me no choice have to accept what they told me, so i request them to take any battery to test in my car, they told me if i wanna test, i have to pay for the new battery because they do not have any battery that can test. So i called the person i bought the battery to have me a replacement, after changed the battery my car finally start up. They told me that the problem of smoke came out from my engine and brake paddle stuck is actually all doing good and no problem at all.

So i went to collect my car at Friday, at Friday night (heavy rain) after 45 minutes when i almost reach the parking of my condo, my engine idle unstable again and feel like gonna stop, in order to prevent engine dead i have to step on my gas paddle constantly. Then my brake paddle stuck again, its totally malfunction. Luckily i did not involved in any road accident. It was 12:30am, so i decided to take my car to the service center the next morning. The next morning my car couldn't start up after 10 minutes of trying, so i called Volkswagen Roadside Assistance again, they promised will arrive in 60 minutes. ( File number is : X113061321 } I left my car key to my security guards so they could pick up my car when they arrive, i can't wait for them because i was going to attend an important meeting. After around 1 hour, someone called me they collect my car but they told me my car can start up and they will tow to the service center anyhow. At the same day afternoon, i went to the service center and i was tried to explain to them what i experienced, this condition of my car may cause me to involve into road accident which may risk my life. They said they will start troubleshooting for the problem, end up i wait for them to answer me until 11th of September, i called them to ask, the person in charge name En. Kurma, he keep telling me they are still checking and promised to call me back but never.

After that he called me and told me the problem was my brake pad and disc rotor, i was confused and told him it has nothing to do with the pad and rotor as the problem not brake not gripping but paddle malfunction, but they insisted and told me to change the brake pad, disc rotor and brake fluid which cost me around RM1,100.00 and i reject since i ask other technician as the told me this incident only will occur when the brake pump or something called vacuum malfunction and my car still under warranty. At 13th of September i visit the service center again and i wish to talk with Kurma face to face, but end up fail to met him. So i request to meet the technician who in charge my car, maybe he understand what happening to my car. The technician name some sort of Ah Yuan, i told him everything and told him to update me directly because i have lost faith in En. Kurma since he never update me and failed to follow up at all. I called them again at 17th of September due to nobody update me at all, so i called and talk with Ah Yuan in the line and he told me that i must change my brake fluid around RM200++ and i accepted. Another problem that caused my aircond having leaking noises after incident of 2nd of September, if i wanted to fix it i will only able to collect my car at 24th September but i already told them i must collect my car at 20th September. But i have no choice i have to collect my car at 24th of September.

At 24th September i did not receive call from Goh side, so i called them and they told me that i must wait until 27th due to waiting aircond cooling coil to arrive and i have to bear cost of the aircond gas refilling around RM100++, i have to accept it. But at 27th September En. Kurma called me and told me i cant collect my car because of cooling coil haven't arrive, i told them to explain everything to me and give me an exact date to collect my car but he couldn't answer me. So i complaint to Volkswagen Malaysia, person in charge of my case name Ms. Jessy. I told her everything and she said she will update me with my car status in the same day. But until 1st of October, both Goh Brothers Motor sdn bhd and Volkswagen Malaysia did not gave me any response. So i called Kurma again since he never call back, he told me most probably i can only collect it as early 13th October, i refused and ask him to lend me car as i having transportation problem but he told me he cant decide, he told me he would discuss with his branch manager and will give me a call but never. And i called Volkswagen Malaysia and spoke to Jessy again and told her everything again, i request to talk to their technical department o discuss about brake paddle stuck and engine idling unstable but Jessy told me all technician were not available. She promised me will contact me at the next day, but never. So i call her back the next day (2nd October) but her colleague told me Jessy was engaged for many times, they ask me to left note to Jessy so she could call me back but until now still haven't call me back. Then i call Kurma to get updated of my car status and the request of lending a car but Kurma was engaged for many times, i asked them to call me back but never.

I had been wait for the whole and siting here typing this helpless and hopeless. I still have to pay for installment, which cost me RM2000 per month. And now i have to rent a car which cost me RM100 per day. But the biggest concern is even after collect my car the problem of my brake and engine problem already risk my life and i really helpless now. I tried to talk with experienced technician they told me it could me wiring malfunction due to those incident (brake vacuum, engine idling unstable, battery totally discharged and cooling coil leaking at the same moment) were in raining day. So i believe its short circuit of the wiring system. I am already lost faith in Volkswagen servicing and the worst Goh Brothers Motor Sdn Bhd. Please let me know what should i do.

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Xploit Machine
post Oct 2 2013, 11:39 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

have u called VW malaysia and explain this situation?
selinix

7,343 posts

Is this the new volkswagen beetle or the previous model?

vincent_ng86

1,659 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Oct 2 2013, 11:39 PM)
He did.
TuranWS
post Oct 2 2013, 11:41 PM

This stupid Goh Bro can go to hell...no better in bkt tengah area....
SUSvmammoth
post Oct 2 2013, 11:44 PM

265 posts

This is how an incompetent support team handle customer: make them run around and wait.
TSBlackForce
post Oct 2 2013, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Oct 2 2013, 11:39 PM)
Yes i called, even Volkswagen Malaysia are useless.

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 2 2013, 11:39 PM)
Is this the new volkswagen beetle or the previous model?
Previous generation bro.

Really speechless about this incident.
selinix
post Oct 2 2013, 11:47 PM

7,343 posts

Volkswagen cars are utter crap in terms of reliability ... nuff said ..

1.2 polo at home is jerking and vibrating when in low gear and the replacement DSG can only be done January next year.. sigh
chemistry101
post Oct 2 2013, 11:53 PM

The VW M'sia and Goh are excellent "tai-chi" players.
selinix
post Oct 2 2013, 11:57 PM

7,343 posts

Sometimes i think they just don't have the bandwidth to handle the number of complaints and fixing the issues ..
Alan
post Oct 2 2013, 11:58 PM

413 posts

your experience (engine dead just b4 reaching condo on friday night) sounds similar to my situation when crankshaft position sensor is dead (but mine no 'smoke' in engine bay). I have only seen water vapor from radiator cap, so is it overheated? Besides, not sure if it is related to rain (water) which wet/shorted some circuit.
TSBlackForce
post Oct 3 2013, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 2 2013, 11:47 PM)

1.2 polo at home is jerking and vibrating when in low gear and the replacement DSG can only be done January next year.. sigh
QUOTE(Alan @ Oct 2 2013, 11:58 PM)
your experience (engine dead just b4 reaching condo on friday night) sounds similar to my situation when crankshaft position sensor is dead (but mine no 'smoke' in engine bay). I have only seen water vapor from radiator cap, so is it overheated? Besides, not sure if it is related to rain (water) which wet/shorted some circuit.
At least you guys clearly know what happeb to your car. Mine they cant even tell me what is really goes wrong. And never update me.

wiraone
post Oct 3 2013, 12:13 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

So this DSG problem is still persist? When I test drove the Passat last month, the sales lady said that all later models are okay. Luckily Passat rear seats are not as spacious as Accord or M6, otherwise I've opted for Passat.
electron
post Oct 3 2013, 12:15 AM

1,329 posts

until very recently, they are the only dealer for VW in Penang, no competition
selinix
post Oct 3 2013, 12:21 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(BlackForce @ Oct 3 2013, 12:03 AM)
At least you guys clearly know what happeb to your car. Mine they cant even tell me what is really goes wrong. And never update me.
Honestly speaking, replacing the DSG doesn't even convince me that it will solve the problem. How do I know because I have colleague who replace the gearbox and yet he still experience some juddering, jerking and the car feels like it wants to dies off during low gears... and the car definitely feel less responsive as previously, I believe they tune the gearbox to be less agressive
mugenz
post Oct 3 2013, 12:41 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Serious. I agree that they can't have even technician or manpower to cope with their customers.

Not just in Penang even in klang valley I have problems with their customer serive even simple thing they can just give me an answer.

My problem, I booked mechatronic replacement 7th oct but unfortunately my car got banged so have to send back to glenmarie for bodywork repair on 30 sept until 4th sept 2013.

So I think I wanna have the parts transfer to glenamrie from jalan 223. Even this request they can gimme an answer whether yes or not. I request on the 30th until now no news. Tried call back always engaged. Look for person in charge always not around. Like no need to work like dat. Drop a call back note but never call back.
unitron
post Oct 3 2013, 12:44 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Really arr..? How come still so many VW on the roads... I'm just wondering.
dares
post Oct 3 2013, 12:59 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Oct 3 2013, 12:44 AM)
I have a friend who is just utterly smitten with the Scirocco, so much so that the main purpose of her salaried job is to one day allow her to afford one.

Even after I told her that there is a very high chance that the DSG will kaput one day (she's eyeing the TSI trim), she answers that it doesn't matter, her burning desire to own one outweigh the risk of a gearbox failure and if it does happen and if she dies in an accident due to the DSG failing, she'll accept it.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
unitron
post Oct 3 2013, 01:01 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I cannot brain her explanation.... rofl...
selinix
post Oct 3 2013, 01:06 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Oct 3 2013, 12:44 AM)
Drive VW = means Very Wealthy
Wangan
post Oct 3 2013, 01:10 AM

84 posts

ya. sometimes it ridiculous. last time i had a problem with my glove box, it was stuck. and they set me an appointment month after that wtf. then i just go to some random workshop with a RM10 labour. 5mins siap. lol
babyk
post Oct 3 2013, 01:11 AM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

@BlackForce

You can send your car for me to diagnose next time smile.gif
TSBlackForce
post Oct 3 2013, 01:25 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 3 2013, 12:59 AM)
I have a friend who is just utterly smitten with the Scirocco, so much so that the main purpose of her salaried job is to one day allow her to afford one.

Even after I told her that there is a very high chance that the DSG will kaput one day (she's eyeing the TSI trim), she answers that it doesn't matter, her burning desire to own one outweigh the risk of a gearbox failure and if it does happen and if she dies in an accident due to the DSG failing, she'll accept it.

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
This is ridiculous, styling and life which are more important? Scirocco 1.4 with that price actually i can get many great car from other brand. Absolutely not from VW. doh.gif
kcng
post Oct 3 2013, 01:28 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

if any one u want to know...

jessy is one of the 2 customer service dept people in VGM.
the other being her direct manager who will not answer any calls or reply any mails...
everything is done by jessy... and yes she do have some kind of attitude problem too...

in a way i pity her for doing everything but after seeing her attitude first hand, i would say she deserved it in a way... another typical pretty face with an attitude example...
Empathy
post Oct 3 2013, 04:36 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 2 2013, 11:47 PM)
This do not happen with VW cars alone .It happen to other luxury cars too . The reason for this is that todays luxury cars is more sopisticated with many parts . Old cars have fewer parts so that why old cars like Iswara , Nissan 130Y , Toyota Corolla are much more reliable than todays luxury cars .

dynamic123
post Oct 3 2013, 04:51 AM

325 posts

dam it,the worst part is u still need to pay RM2k every month for the car loan.i feel you bro.
AmenoJaku
post Oct 3 2013, 06:45 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Oct 3 2013, 01:28 AM)
another typical pretty face with an attitude example...
Got pic?
ericmaxman
post Oct 3 2013, 07:02 AM

-
7,951 posts

VW = People's Car in Germany.

Prettt much like Proton in Malaysia. So why do people look up to VW? Because price.

Despite that, the manual Jetta GLI is very nice. wub.gif
efaceninja
post Oct 3 2013, 07:10 AM

why don't copy this thread's link and paste it on VW Malaysia's FB page?? and see how they respond
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 07:29 AM

4,140 posts

TS described engine related problem right ?, we are not talking about Dsg,? Sigh.... 2nd pacing in 2013 JD power Customer Service Index, and like this, no wonder every body go back and stick to T&H
ruffey
post Oct 3 2013, 07:44 AM

41 posts

Great info for all... thanks a lot for your story. Many people don't realize till they found this. Really appreciate it, thanks BlackForce.

m0r31d8ng3l
post Oct 3 2013, 08:03 AM

200 posts

Is Wing Hin Autohaus any better?

This post has been edited by m0r31d8ng3l: Oct 3 2013, 08:07 AM
timeonce
post Oct 3 2013, 08:11 AM

282 posts

I suggest you email to VW international. As they dont accept this lousy services. As far as i know VW is really reliable. To this to happen must be rare. Keep us updated ya bro. Try this email to
compliance@volkswagen.de .

http://www.volkswagenag.com/content/vwcorp...+of+Conduct.pdf

http://en.volkswagen.com/en/tools/navigati...t/worldmap.html

dstl1128
post Oct 3 2013, 08:20 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Oct 3 2013, 08:11 AM)
I suggest you email to VW international. As they dont accept this lousy services. As far as i know VW is really unreliable. To this to happen must be rare. Keep us updated ya bro. ...
Fixed.

German makes rank the lowest in the most recent reliability index (2013 Jan). Sos

efaceninja
post Oct 3 2013, 08:23 AM

"Among the 15 brands included in the 2013 study, BMW ranks highest in overall customer service satisfaction for a third consecutive year, with a score of 817. Volkswagen (793) ranks second, followed by Honda and Mazda in a tie (786 each). Mitsubishi (765) achieves the highest improvement among all brands, with a 34-point increase." - source http://paultan.org/2013/08/15/j-d-power-af...es-in-malaysia/

very different from the after sales satisfaction study report..VW ranks 2nd in the report. i thought that premium/expensive cars is also coming with premium after/sales assistance. also don't understand why they charge you consumables and other things because, it is the car's engine (or other problems) that causes the lost of your brake fluid for example. its not that you went for regular service. somemore still under warranty.

very appreciate if TS can update any news/wayforward, will be following this thread..

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Oct 3 2013, 08:28 AM
WilliamHoo
post Oct 3 2013, 08:33 AM

Noobsss

German QUALITY Speaks for ITSELF

jimmygohcl85
post Oct 3 2013, 09:06 AM

How about VW Jetta? Test Drive feel very good
allenultra
post Oct 3 2013, 09:19 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(jimmygohcl85 @ Oct 3 2013, 09:06 AM)
The gearbox failure/defective hardly come during the test drive but after certain mileage.

BMW is using ZF 8-speed gearbox, certainly a safer move IMO.
TSBlackForce
post Oct 3 2013, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(Empathy @ Oct 3 2013, 04:36 AM)
This do not happen with VW cars alone .It happen to other luxury cars too . The reason for this is that todays luxury cars is more sopisticated with many parts . Old cars have fewer parts so that why old cars like Iswara , Nissan 130Y , Toyota Corolla are much more reliable than todays luxury cars .

I mean the after sales service not durable of the car.
My friend's bmw sent to fix for fews days and bmw borrow him a 7 series. His car is a 3 er.

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Oct 3 2013, 06:45 AM)
Got pic?
Agree

Saw few jetta dsg malfunction cant drive need to tow into workshop
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 09:58 AM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Oct 3 2013, 08:20 AM)
Fixed.

German makes rank the lowest in the most recent reliability index (2013 Jan). Sos
Engine reliability - top 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
1. Honda (failure rate: 1 in 344)
2. Toyota (failure rate: 1 in 171)
3. Mercedes-Benz (failure rate: 1 in 119)
4. Volvo (failure rate: 1 in 111)
5. Jaguar (failure rate: 1 in 103)
6. Lexus (failure rate: 1 in 101)
7. Fiat (failure rate: 1 in 85)
8. Ford (failure rate: 1 in 80)
9. Nissan (failure rate: 1 in 76)
10. Land Rover (failure rate: 1 in 72)

Engine reliability - bottom 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
1. MG Rover (failure rate: 1 in 13)
2. Audi (failure rate: 1 in 27)
3. Mini (failure rate: 1 in 40)
4. Saab (failure rate: 1 in 40)
5. Vauxhall (failure rate: 1 in 41)
6. Peugeot (failure rate: 1 in 44)
7. BMW (failure rate: 1 in 45)
8. Renault (failure rate: 1 in 46)
9. Volkswagen (failure rate: 1 in 52)
10. Mitsubishi (failure rate: 1 in 59)

that 's it, as I said, go back buying T&H doh.gif
jakal sombong
post Oct 3 2013, 10:00 AM

A fool's brain digests philosophy into folly
880 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 2 2013, 11:57 PM)
Sometimes i think they just don't have the bandwidth to handle the number of complaints and fixing the issues ..
i think they knew the problem from complaints all over the world. but make the customer round around and lost hope in claiming warranty from them.why ??? money , money , money
same ol story just like our favourite local car maker brows.gif .

anyway i pity you TS.

Dwango
post Oct 3 2013, 10:01 AM

491 posts

The Jetta is good. Refined and quiet. A friend is driving one and so far no issues.
wiraone
post Oct 3 2013, 10:02 AM

3,892 posts

I guess I made a good decision to go for Accord instead of Passat based on the above report smile.gif
dtna7
post Oct 3 2013, 10:05 AM

456 posts

another typical example of a VW owner's nightmare.

You can give me all the high tech stuffs and everything, but in exchange i have to go through all this?
- Sensors failure
- All the safety specs but failures on brakes/engines in the middle of the road is steering me to an expressway to hell
- Unreturned calls to SC/CS? WTF? Pay so much and Proton's customer service level?
- Under warranty but still being charged for repairing my car? What bu11shit is this?
- Months of waiting for a part replacement? What if car cannot be driven until the part is replaced? I have to take the bus/lrt for months after paying a premium price tag?
- I have to repeatedly visit your SC to get the SAME problem fixed?

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif This is ridiculous!
Don't talk to me about your high tech stuffs before proving your reliability, and your respect after pocketing my money for after sales service.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Oct 3 2013, 10:06 AM
dtna7
post Oct 3 2013, 10:07 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Oct 3 2013, 10:02 AM)
I guess I made a good decision to go for Accord instead of Passat based on the above report smile.gif
you bet!
dtna7
post Oct 3 2013, 10:08 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Oct 3 2013, 10:01 AM)
The Jetta is good. Refined and quiet. A friend is driving one and so far no issues.
it's using the same GB. Pray. Pray really hard.
vey99
post Oct 3 2013, 10:29 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(BlackForce @ Oct 2 2013, 11:34 PM)

they told me the cause of my problem is from my battery

he called me and told me the problem was my brake pad and disc rotor

he told me that i must change my brake fluid

i have to bear cost of the aircond gas refilling

oldest trick in servis line
change the easy part first that no relate to the problem

geek8585
post Oct 3 2013, 10:41 AM

923 posts

if i were in your shoes, make this bigger with the power of media...
post at VW Malaysia official fb...

feelfree
post Oct 3 2013, 11:05 AM

174 posts

Haha, bro I do not think you are the only victim, my friend also kena one time like your case, he was driving the Polo, engine keep giving him problem, and the 5 years warranty is useless, everything also have to pay until he has no choice, but driven to trade in another car and he swear no more VW in future. VW = normal brand like Japanese, but premium cost of maintenance, quality also lousy like local car, I think most of the VW owner also facing one common problem, the dashboard rattling noise after 1-2 yrs of ownership, especially those used to park their car under direct sunlight!
leftist
post Oct 3 2013, 11:13 AM

734 posts

the only reliable VW car is polo sedan..u dont have to worry bout DSG biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Oct 3 2013, 11:14 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

And that is why I sold of my VW Golf........spent too much time at the service centers instead of work sad.gif
Azurika
post Oct 3 2013, 11:15 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

If i were you, ill write to their HQ, letting them know how incompetant the Malaysian VW is running .

amdxp
post Oct 3 2013, 11:19 AM

239 posts

But but ..... it seems the TS is using the older version of Beetle wor, if not mistaken.

That one comes with 1.6 engine, and mated to 6 speed gearbox. That model (2G beetle) has overheating problem due to the grill opening is too small for cool air to flow in. For normal outskirt drive not much issue but in big city with jam and congestions, it tends to overheat. Once that happen many electronics parts can fail.

Don't draw pre-conclusion to pin point it to DSG or MU.
chokolato
post Oct 3 2013, 11:34 AM

62 posts

that's why i tell ppl many time. Volkswagen is The Rakyat's Car in Germany. It's an el-cheapo car but overpriced in malaysia. yet many ppl banggala.jpg can drive this conti car. the price u paid can get an entry level bmw 320i or the bmw 316i... the bmw service is PREMIIUM ! get audi or merz also better (if u can afford more).

so, SAY NO TO VOLKSWAGEN KERETA RAKYAT JELATA. it's like a proton sold at same price with honda accord.
jwrx
post Oct 3 2013, 11:35 AM

515 posts

5 or 6 months ago, my car (Volkswagen Beetle which still under Volkswagen warranty for 2 to 3 years) was having engine unstable and going to stop by itself, so i decided to take my car had a visit to Goh Brothers Motor sdn bhd located at Sungai Penang, Pulau Penang. I was able to bring my car there after quite a number of appointment with them. This is the first time i sent my car there, at the next day they told me the problem caused by my carbon sensor, they told me it just require to clean the sensor. So i believed and ask them to do so. After two days i went to collect my car, by the time i left the service center, the problem still exist. So i called and do another appointment, Goh side replied that i have to wait for 2 to 3 weeks. But it took me 1 month to took my car to the service center again. The second time i sent my car there and told the same problem, they told me to clean the carbon sensor again. But this time the problem seems to solved. Until days before 2nd of September, the engine of my car started to unstable.

At the noon of 2nd September (heavy rain), suddenly my cars' brake paddle stuck and i couldn't brake, the engine stop and smoke came out from front left of my car. So i called the Volkswagen Roadside Assistance, which promise will arrive in 90 minutes but end up i was waiting for them for 4 hours. After towed to Sungai Pinang Volkswagen service center, i called and they told me to let me know what happen to my car at the next day. They did not call me at 3th September, so i called them again at 4th September, Goh side told me they were still troubleshooting problem for my car, and will call back. After one day waiting, i called them back at 5th September, they told me the cause of my problem is from my battery. I argued with them said that smoke came out from my car and the brake paddle stuck had nothing related to my battery some more the battery was new one, but they insist it was my battery problem. And left me no choice have to accept what they told me, so i request them to take any battery to test in my car, they told me if i wanna test, i have to pay for the new battery because they do not have any battery that can test. So i called the person i bought the battery to have me a replacement, after changed the battery my car finally start up. They told me that the problem of smoke came out from my engine and brake paddle stuck is actually all doing good and no problem at all.

So i went to collect my car at Friday, at Friday night (heavy rain) after 45 minutes when i almost reach the parking of my condo, my engine idle unstable again and feel like gonna stop, in order to prevent engine dead i have to step on my gas paddle constantly. Then my brake paddle stuck again, its totally malfunction. Luckily i did not involved in any road accident. It was 12:30am, so i decided to take my car to the service center the next morning. The next morning my car couldn't start up after 10 minutes of trying, so i called Volkswagen Roadside Assistance again, they promised will arrive in 60 minutes. ( File number is : X113061321 } I left my car key to my security guards so they could pick up my car when they arrive, i can't wait for them because i was going to attend an important meeting. After around 1 hour, someone called me they collect my car but they told me my car can start up and they will tow to the service center anyhow. At the same day afternoon, i went to the service center and i was tried to explain to them what i experienced, this condition of my car may cause me to involve into road accident which may risk my life. They said they will start troubleshooting for the problem, end up i wait for them to answer me until 11th of September, i called them to ask, the person in charge name En. Kurma, he keep telling me they are still checking and promised to call me back but never.

After that he called me and told me the problem was my brake pad and disc rotor, i was confused and told him it has nothing to do with the pad and rotor as the problem not brake not gripping but paddle malfunction, but they insisted and told me to change the brake pad, disc rotor and brake fluid which cost me around RM1,100.00 and i reject since i ask other technician as the told me this incident only will occur when the brake pump or something called vacuum malfunction and my car still under warranty. At 13th of September i visit the service center again and i wish to talk with Kurma face to face, but end up fail to met him. So i request to meet the technician who in charge my car, maybe he understand what happening to my car. The technician name some sort of Ah Yuan, i told him everything and told him to update me directly because i have lost faith in En. Kurma since he never update me and failed to follow up at all. I called them again at 17th of September due to nobody update me at all, so i called and talk with Ah Yuan in the line and he told me that i must change my brake fluid around RM200++ and i accepted. Another problem that caused my aircond having leaking noises after incident of 2nd of September, if i wanted to fix it i will only able to collect my car at 24th September but i already told them i must collect my car at 20th September. But i have no choice i have to collect my car at 24th of September.

At 24th September i did not receive call from Goh side, so i called them and they told me that i must wait until 27th due to waiting aircond cooling coil to arrive and i have to bear cost of the aircond gas refilling around RM100++, i have to accept it. But at 27th September En. Kurma called me and told me i cant collect my car because of cooling coil haven't arrive, i told them to explain everything to me and give me an exact date to collect my car but he couldn't answer me. So i complaint to Volkswagen Malaysia, person in charge of my case name Ms. Jessy. I told her everything and she said she will update me with my car status in the same day. But until 1st of October, both Goh Brothers Motor sdn bhd and Volkswagen Malaysia did not gave me any response. So i called Kurma again since he never call back, he told me most probably i can only collect it as early 13th October, i refused and ask him to lend me car as i having transportation problem but he told me he cant decide, he told me he would discuss with his branch manager and will give me a call but never. And i called Volkswagen Malaysia and spoke to Jessy again and told her everything again, i request to talk to their technical department o discuss about brake paddle stuck and engine idling unstable but Jessy told me all technician were not available. She promised me will contact me at the next day, but never. So i call her back the next day (2nd October) but her colleague told me Jessy was engaged for many times, they ask me to left note to Jessy so she could call me back but until now still haven't call me back. Then i call Kurma to get updated of my car status and the request of lending a car but Kurma was engaged for many times, i asked them to call me back but never.

I had been wait for the whole and siting here typing this helpless and hopeless. I still have to pay for installment, which cost me RM2000 per month. And now i have to rent a car which cost me RM100 per day. But the biggest concern is even after collect my car the problem of my brake and engine problem already risk my life and i really helpless now. I tried to talk with experienced technician they told me it could me wiring malfunction due to those incident (brake vacuum, engine idling unstable, battery totally discharged and cooling coil leaking at the same moment) were in raining day. So i believe its short circuit of the wiring system. I am already lost faith in Volkswagen servicing and the worst Goh Brothers Motor Sdn Bhd. Please let me know what should i do.

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Bro,

you have a strong case. File a case with Consumer Tribunal. It only costs RM5 and you will get a court hearing within 1 week, and you can claim up to 25k.

Claim for all the damsges, towing etc.

Once you get a trial date, fax to Goh brothers and VW HQ, i guarantee they will call you to settle b4 the hearing, cos the tribunal usually sides with the consumer

usually even the threat of a consumer tribunal case would get VW HQ to contact you back fast fast

This post has been edited by jwrx: Oct 3 2013, 11:36 AM
chokolato
post Oct 3 2013, 11:41 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Oct 3 2013, 11:39 AM)
do it brother its time to teach them some lesson.
just tell ur frens to boikot VW can dy la.. when sales drop, VW germany sure question and change dealer
matmoto5125
post Oct 3 2013, 11:43 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Oct 3 2013, 11:35 AM)
Bro,

you have a strong case. File a case with Consumer Tribunal. It only costs RM5 and you will get a court hearing within 1 week, and you can claim up to 25k.

Claim for all the damsges, towing etc.

Once you get a trial date, fax to Goh brothers and VW HQ, i guarantee they will call you to settle b4 the hearing, cos the tribunal usually sides with the consumer

usually even the threat of a consumer tribunal case would get VW HQ to contact you back fast fast
I 100% agree with this. Rather than running back and forth between SC and VW showroom/whatever, better to get into a lil bit of 'hassle' to lodge this case to Tribunal.
ZzZzz...
post Oct 3 2013, 11:54 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

can summarize mar? plssss
wiraone
post Oct 3 2013, 11:56 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Oct 3 2013, 11:19 AM)
But but ..... it seems the TS is using the older version of Beetle wor, if not mistaken.

That one comes with 1.6 engine, and mated to 6 speed gearbox.  That model (2G beetle) has overheating problem due to the grill opening is too small for cool air to flow in.  For normal outskirt drive not much issue but in big city with jam and congestions, it tends to overheat.  Once that happen many electronics parts can fail.

The DSG issue wasn't raised by the TS but it was raised by few owners in this thread who shared their experiences driving VW. DSG does indeed has problem, even the SA that attended me during test drive told me about this. It is a known problem with mechatronics stuffs she said.
zweimmk
post Oct 3 2013, 11:56 AM

512 posts

To TS:

http://ttpm.kpdnkk.gov.my/portal/index.php/en/

Good luck, hope your problem gets resolved soon.
feelfree
post Oct 3 2013, 12:07 PM

174 posts

Sometime I really kesian those VW owner, paid so much money thinking VW is in the same class as the BMW, Merz, Audi, but ended up like getting a normal car like same quality as our local made! TS, make a police report first, then consumer tribunal and then sell it and get at least BMW Audi Merceded if really want to enjoy Continental luxury, else just get a Japanese car and the quality can beat the VW hands down anytime, especially in South East Asia Weather!
kcng
post Oct 3 2013, 12:11 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

regardless of the super good after sales service of VW, in malaysia people will still rush to buy VW because it give them a "higher-level" feel compared to those KIA's, Perodua's, Pug etc out there...

and it is exactly because of this mentality that VGM don't care about customer satisfaction...

but then when u think about it, customer service is non-existent in this part of the world anyway...

zweimmk
post Oct 3 2013, 12:18 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Oct 3 2013, 12:11 PM)
regardless of the super good after sales service of VW, in malaysia people will still rush to buy VW because it give them a "higher-level" feel compared to those KIA's, Perodua's, Pug etc out there...

and it is exactly because of this mentality that VGM don't care about customer satisfaction...

but then when u think about it, customer service is non-existent in this part of the world anyway...
Eh ok la, I had 7 good years with Toyota. Their CS actually quite decent, lol.
scotty
post Oct 3 2013, 12:58 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Oct 3 2013, 12:11 PM)

Very true. They feel upper abit.
cybermaster98
post Oct 3 2013, 01:07 PM

4,440 posts

So what has TS done so far? Has this been published on the VW Malaysia FB page yet?
efaceninja
post Oct 3 2013, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 3 2013, 12:21 AM)
Honestly speaking, replacing the DSG doesn't even convince me that it will solve the problem. How do I know because I have colleague who replace the gearbox and yet he still experience some juddering, jerking and the car feels like it wants to dies off during low gears... and the car definitely feel less responsive as previously, I believe they tune the gearbox to be less agressive
QUOTE(dares @ Oct 3 2013, 12:59 AM)

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(BlackForce @ Oct 3 2013, 09:51 AM)
QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 3 2013, 10:05 AM)

You can give me all the high tech stuffs and everything, but in exchange i have to go through all this?
- Sensors failure
- All the safety specs but failures on brakes/engines in the middle of the road is steering me to an expressway to hell
- Unreturned calls to SC/CS? WTF? Pay so much and Proton's customer service level?
- Under warranty but still being charged for repairing my car? What bu11shit is this?
- Months of waiting for a part replacement? What if car cannot be driven until the part is replaced? I have to take the bus/lrt for months after paying a premium price tag?

Don't talk to me about your high tech stuffs before proving your reliability, and your respect after pocketing my money for after sales service.
QUOTE(amdxp @ Oct 3 2013, 11:19 AM)

That one comes with 1.6 engine, and mated to 6 speed gearbox.  That model (2G beetle) has overheating problem due to the grill opening is too small for cool air to flow in.  For normal outskirt drive not much issue but in big city with jam and congestions, it tends to overheat.  Once that happen many electronics parts can fail.

i think TS's VW is not DSG but since a few forumners mentioned it, a quick google found this:
already 1 death claimed/reportedly to be related to "VW suddenly stopped on highway" at Australia. read here:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volk...-recall/4747694
VW Aus denies it:
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/05/31/...E94U07W20130531
Janick1437
post Oct 3 2013, 02:33 PM

38 posts

my sis previously also got the same problem like this, but she's lucky enough to caught the attention of VW Malaysia GM. Try this, spam their FB with comments, and also check their website and e-mail to each and every dept regarding the complaints.

Hope it work out for you as well.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 02:39 PM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(Janick1437 @ Oct 3 2013, 02:33 PM)
my sis previously also got the same problem like this, but she's lucky enough to caught the attention of VW Malaysia GM. Try this, spam their FB with comments, and also check their website and e-mail to each and every dept regarding the complaints.

Hope it work out for you as well.
wow sound like a lot of work, but can we know what VW Malaysia GM's response was, curious and would be good as experience sharing hmm.gif
Janick1437
post Oct 3 2013, 02:49 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 3 2013, 02:39 PM)
wow sound like a lot of work, but can we know what VW Malaysia GM's response was, curious and would be good as experience sharing hmm.gif
car settled within 2 days, with direct response from the Service Centre Manager call up that day itself. But my sis works with legal firm, so might be threatening them a bit help.

*its from VW Centre Chan Sow Lin

This post has been edited by Janick1437: Oct 3 2013, 02:51 PM
SUSMamapapamsia
post Oct 3 2013, 02:59 PM

304 posts

Yes VW sc is horrible. Very slow and always hv to book appt 1 mth in advance. And claim warranty for the dsg took ages especially at cergaz .

Even the VW Malaysia fb is hopeless. If u ask them about buying a car, they will reply damn fast.

If u ask them about warranty all, they will take ages to reply. And after u waited ages, they give u a stupid number to call.

I called up and screwed them b4. But no improvement. I have 2 VWs now but sorry to say, these 2 will be the first n last!

If I were u, i will go and make a scene at the SC. If nt nothing gets done!
bumfart
post Oct 3 2013, 03:12 PM

258 posts

write a letter to VW group. Address is to VW headquaters in germany, send copy to VW malaysia
actually ask someone else to write for you. your england not very good
your problem will be resolved

my colleague was experiencing similar problems with his BMW, but after he wrote a nice letter, everything was suddenly solved. they even replaced some major parts in his car for free
ConmanHunter
post Oct 3 2013, 03:27 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Oct 3 2013, 12:58 PM)
Very true. They feel upper abit.
What makes you feel that people drives VW feels upper abit?
JoeYoung
post Oct 3 2013, 03:41 PM

153 posts

I am also having problem with VW Juru. Still waiting for my booking refund after 3 months. Call Sales Manager dont care and dont reply back call.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 03:51 PM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(Janick1437 @ Oct 3 2013, 02:49 PM)
car settled within 2 days, with direct response from the Service Centre Manager call up that day itself. But my sis works with legal firm, so might be threatening them a bit help.

*its from VW Centre Chan Sow Lin
rclxms.gif lawyer - scary lawyer or legal lingo laden letters (so many L's!) works nod.gif icon_idea.gif
SUSMatrix
post Oct 3 2013, 03:53 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 3 2013, 10:05 AM)

- Sensors failure

Actually, my Proton SC very good....called me when my order parts available, help me to do advance claim for Service voucher etc.

tongue.gif

TS: There is no point arguing with VW anymore, raise the case to Small Consumer tribunal. Very high chance you will win, there have been many cases with cars before. Just make sure all your repairs by VW is properly documented as proof.

EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 03:55 PM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 3 2013, 03:53 PM)
TS: There is no point arguing with VW anymore, raise the case to Small Consumer tribunal. Very high chance you will win, there have been many cases with cars before. Just make sure all your repairs by VW is properly documented as proof.
notworthy.gif seriously respect notworthy.gif
Show them who is the boss !!!:flex:
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 3 2013, 03:56 PM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 3 2013, 11:56 AM)
To TS:

Good luck, hope your problem gets resolved soon.
notworthy.gif
amdxp
post Oct 3 2013, 04:00 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 3 2013, 12:18 PM)
Eh ok la, I had 7 good years with Toyota. Their CS actually quite decent, lol.
For me too, used to own Avanza for 6 yrs, SC quite ok lah. Changed my wife car to Alza, even Perodua SC is quite ok.

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Oct 3 2013, 02:22 PM)
i think TS's VW is not DSG but since a few forumners mentioned it, a quick google found this:
already 1 death claimed/reportedly to be related to "VW suddenly stopped on highway" at Australia.  read here:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volk...-recall/4747694
VW Aus denies it:
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/05/31/...E94U07W20130531
Err...in TS case, first the car is 2nd hand, might be lemon (I know VW might have lots of lemon due to DSG). Secondly, I felt it's more the inability of the Service Center to properly diagnose and pin-point the root cause. Thirdly, customer service is suc..k big time wink.gif

Actually with the big profit margin VW Malaysia (or the respective cronies etc) have, they can easily solve the first and biggest problem by adopting the less problematic 6 speed DSG instead of the 4 speed ones. Many no brainers on top it seems. Like bee end...

This post has been edited by amdxp: Oct 3 2013, 04:02 PM
huaren1978
post Oct 3 2013, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(feelfree @ Oct 3 2013, 12:07 PM)
Sometime I really kesian those VW owner, paid so much money thinking VW is in the same class as the BMW, Merz, Audi, but ended up like getting a normal car like same quality as our local made! TS, make a police report first, then consumer tribunal and then sell it and get at least BMW Audi Merceded if really want to enjoy Continental luxury, else just get a Japanese car and the quality can beat the VW hands down anytime, especially in South East Asia Weather!
Berapa kali mau cakap, a VW to Germany is what a Proton is to Malaysia. Want to buy a VW, buy la, just don't go overboard and worship it for something it is not. What premium? What luxury?

When discussing problems with a VW car, it is done matter-of-factly, often with minimal curses and swearing. As if people are a bit hesitant to hurl the same verbal treatment like what they've been giving Proton. Why? Because you're dealing with a German brand, suddenly you're a bit restrained with your words ah?

Imagine if a Proton car suffers from a widespread gearbox failure like that, complete with a runaround after-sales service like that. All hell will break loose la, I tell you. All the bashing and the profanity will come raining down like there's no tomorrow. On a lucky day, some racial slurs might even get thrown into the mix.

I still wait for the day VW Malaysia receives the same bashing that Proton gets from the masses. They both deserve it, but so far only one gets it.
timeonce
post Oct 3 2013, 06:17 PM

282 posts

wow .. seem proton in middle yeah.. ^^ .. or they are not inside list . lol
scotty
post Oct 3 2013, 06:24 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(ConmanHunter @ Oct 3 2013, 03:27 PM)
What makes you feel that people drives VW feels upper abit?
same spec same class but more expensive?

Daniel John
post Oct 3 2013, 07:51 PM

38 posts

VW SC same like Proton SC? funny...

eyh...y proton came into picture? ekekeke
efaceninja
post Oct 3 2013, 08:21 PM

a quick look at VW Malaysia FB page, almost every promotion picture that they post, its full of complain after sales comment, lol.
Dwango
post Oct 3 2013, 09:31 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 3 2013, 10:08 AM)
it's using the same GB. Pray. Pray really hard.
He is quite well-off anyway. It's less than a year car and covered under warranty, so not too much of an issue I guess.
unitron
post Oct 3 2013, 09:42 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I don't own a Proton... but have visited service centre several time for friend car and even help to sent friend car to Proton SC for service... no problem in the customer service... no problem
ken74
post Oct 3 2013, 10:31 PM

Why not u check at other SC?

TSBlackForce
post Oct 3 2013, 11:32 PM

Already complaint to vw germany, and national consumer complaint department. Both already replied me so far. I think gonna complaints to Consumer Tribunal liao. Status, no updates from them. The car not dsg version, its previous generation one.
psycho1
post Oct 3 2013, 11:47 PM

37 posts

Expect worse after warranty ended.
alwinnng
post Oct 4 2013, 02:12 AM

4,296 posts

2.0 6spd got these problems?
mystvearn
post Oct 4 2013, 02:35 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 3 2013, 09:58 AM)
Engine reliability - top 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
1. Honda (failure rate: 1 in 344)
2. Toyota (failure rate: 1 in 171)
3. Mercedes-Benz (failure rate: 1 in 119)
4. Volvo (failure rate: 1 in 111)
5. Jaguar (failure rate: 1 in 103)
6. Lexus (failure rate: 1 in 101)
7. Fiat (failure rate: 1 in 85)
8. Ford (failure rate: 1 in 80)
9. Nissan (failure rate: 1 in 76)
10. Land Rover (failure rate: 1 in 72)

Engine reliability - bottom 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
1. MG Rover (failure rate: 1 in 13)
2. Audi (failure rate: 1 in 27)
3. Mini (failure rate: 1 in 40)
4. Saab (failure rate: 1 in 40)
5. Vauxhall (failure rate: 1 in 41)
6. Peugeot (failure rate: 1 in 44)
7. BMW (failure rate: 1 in 45)
8. Renault (failure rate: 1 in 46)
9. Volkswagen (failure rate: 1 in 52)
10. Mitsubishi (failure rate: 1 in 59)

that 's it, as I said, go back buying T&H doh.gif
Few years ago, VW topped the J.D Power survey. Not anymore.

http://paultan.org/2013/10/01/jd-power-sal...ion-index-2013/

Also, VW runs its turbo unit so high that the engine itself has very low tolerance
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/9...ity-survey.html

That is why Honda & Toyota will always win with conventional NA engines with simple gearbox setup. I still think DSG is the wrong way to go. CVT better, aside from the rubber band feel and you need to be very patient driving a CVT car.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 4 2013, 06:07 AM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 4 2013, 02:35 AM)
Few years ago, VW topped the J.D Power survey. Not anymore.

http://paultan.org/2013/10/01/jd-power-sal...ion-index-2013/

This is sales satisfaction index (SSI) study, i have commented in that article

Energy Analyst on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:15 am
this is SSI. it is about Sales experience (from visiting the showroom to have the car delivered)
Please read CSI August 2013 which to me is more meaningful as it measure the after sales service.
http://paultan.org/2013/08/15/j-d-power-af...es-in-malaysia/

And who was that at no 2---VW!!! just behind BMW, above T&H , mind you this survey is also from JD power , Aug 2013

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Oct 4 2013, 06:08 AM
ConmanHunter
post Oct 4 2013, 08:43 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Oct 3 2013, 06:24 PM)
same spec same class but more expensive?
To be honest. I am driving a Mk6 golf gti. Sometimes i do feel that i paid RM215K and was getting a hatchback where as i could easily could had gotten a luxury 3 series around the brackeet or an Audi 1.8T at that time.

I am unsure if you are mentioning that VW is same class with the sub luxury cars or maybe comparing to other sub entry continental cars?

how is it sub class when the GTI is using a engine that was first developed for AUDI's and a DSG gear box which also share it's common blue print with the DPK porsche gearbox or bugattis gearbox?

But then what made me choose the GTI was it's pure power and i always knew what i wanted from the start. So i think it is really unfair to say that people choose VW because they feel atas. I am offended.

This post has been edited by ConmanHunter: Oct 4 2013, 08:47 AM
dvinez
post Oct 4 2013, 08:56 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 3 2013, 11:14 AM)
And that is why I sold of my VW Golf........spent too much time at the service centers instead of work sad.gif
bro, usually those problem come out around what mileage?
if problem occurs exactly like ts case, then very dangerous sad.gif
now worry about family golf tsi bought last year sweat.gif
dtna7
post Oct 4 2013, 09:47 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 4 2013, 06:07 AM)
This is sales satisfaction index (SSI) study, i have commented in that article 

Energy Analyst on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:15 am
this is SSI. it is about Sales experience (from visiting the showroom to have the car delivered)
Please read CSI August 2013 which to me is more meaningful as it measure the after sales service.
http://paultan.org/2013/08/15/j-d-power-af...es-in-malaysia/
And who was that at no 2---VW!!! just behind BMW, above T&H , mind you this survey is also from JD power , Aug 2013
Thanks for reminding us that this JD Power survey is bullshit. blush.gif
EddyHyip
post Oct 4 2013, 10:05 AM

361 posts

this is scary.. to learn about terrible service experience in malaysia.

i have intention to purchase a used golf gti which is under warranty after owning a powershift dual clutch car for awhile.

with great technologies come great service hassle it seems.

anyone can advise otherwise on the gti mk6 model?
zweimmk
post Oct 4 2013, 10:11 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Oct 4 2013, 10:05 AM)
this is scary.. to learn about terrible service experience in malaysia.

i have intention to purchase a used golf gti which is under warranty after owning a powershift dual clutch car for awhile.

with great technologies come great service hassle it seems.

anyone can advise otherwise on the gti mk6 model?
Gti mk6 uses a wet clutch 6 speed DSG. As far as I know, no issues or at least minimal problems with the mechatronics
Yapmy
post Oct 4 2013, 10:13 AM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

QUOTE(ConmanHunter @ Oct 4 2013, 08:43 AM)
To be honest. I am driving a Mk6 golf gti. Sometimes i do feel that i paid RM215K and was getting a hatchback where as i could easily could had gotten a luxury 3 series around the brackeet or an Audi 1.8T at that time.

I am unsure if you are mentioning that VW is same class with the sub luxury cars or maybe comparing to other sub entry continental cars?

how is it sub class when the GTI is using a engine that was first developed for AUDI's and a DSG gear box which also share it's common blue print with the DPK porsche gearbox or bugattis gearbox?

But then what made me choose the GTI was it's pure power and i always knew what i wanted from the start. So i think it is really unfair to say that people choose VW because they feel atas. I am offended.
I totally agree with your statement. I bought a Golf not because it feels upclass but because of the drive and feel was superb as compared to the Honda Civic 2.0 and Altis which I was considering side by side.
siegwarhiet
post Oct 4 2013, 10:27 AM

18 posts

Why blame Proton?? vmad.gif
ReVolVolution
post Oct 4 2013, 10:33 AM

311 posts

Should try Ver 10 Scooby STi. The power is unbelievable, not to mention it's handling too. icon_idea.gif
kww
post Oct 4 2013, 10:38 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(siegwarhiet @ Oct 4 2013, 10:27 AM)
Why blame Proton??  vmad.gif
Cause they are root cause of me paying double of my car price.
siegwarhiet
post Oct 4 2013, 10:44 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Oct 4 2013, 10:38 AM)
Are you sure without Proton, government would let you pay less? You still have Perodua. Ok let say P1/P2 do not exist. Are you sure the tax system would be different? Look at our gasoline price even we have our own PETRONAS. hmm.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 4 2013, 10:52 AM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 4 2013, 09:47 AM)
Thanks for reminding us that this JD Power survey is bullshit.  blush.gif
you think so? actually to me it is simply because SSI and CSI are 2 different area and a car brand that score high in Sales Satisfaction ( delivered by sales agent, etc.) may not necessarily score high in CSI (delivered by service agents, etc.) Also the score /and placing varies y-o-y, so it is important to monitor it. FYI, JD power SSI & CSI survey/study for Malaysia is in its 11th year now (2013)

e.g. look at Nissan brand
2010 Nissan is no. 3 in SSI but 6th place in CSI
2011 Nissan is no. 2 in SSI but 7th place in CSI
2012: Nissan come up top no. 1 spot in SSI (and they were happily advertising it) but the same year its CSI is only at 5th place
2013 : Nissan SSI dropped back to 2nd place and its CSI is 8th place! (not bashing Nissan just quoting example here)

VW first appeared in Malaysia SSI in 2012 at 4th place but not in CSI the same year. It appear in CSI only in year 2013 with reappearance in SSI 2013

(Ford brands also first appear in both indexes in 2013 but not years before that)

Why ? because JD power typical surveyed on a sample size of buyers , e.g. the 2013 CSI study is based on responses from 2,772 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between February 2011 and May 2012 and took their vehicle for service to an authorized service center between August 2012 and May 2013. The study was fielded between February and May 2013.

So, as a colder brand , VW although included in the CSI studies but were not ranked in 2012 , 2011 and years before due to small sample size found on these brands. You will find Peugeot brand has yet to make its Malaysian debut appearance in both indexes due to the same reason.

Looking back in previous years result, you will find even BMW and Mercedes only start appearing in CSI in 2011 but not in 2010 and the years before that

So perhaps VW has 2nd CSI placing in 2013 because its buyer who purchased VW between February 2011 and May 2012 and took their vehicle for service to an authorized service center between August 2012 and May 2013 were happy because facing less problem --may be their cars come from manufacturing batch that has less defects, so the question now is to look at 2014 CSI to see buyers of June 2012 to may be Sept 2013 and see whether that same CSI is held high up there.

and if SSI of 2013* is a tell tell sign to what will become in CSI 2014, a drop of VW at SSI from 4th place 2012 to 7th place in 2013 is not looking good.

*The 2013 Malaysia SSI Study is based on responses from 2,622 new-vehicle buyers who purchased their vehicle between August 2012 and April 2013. The study was fielded between February and June 2013.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Oct 4 2013, 11:06 AM
ruffstuff
post Oct 4 2013, 11:04 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Oct 4 2013, 10:38 AM)
You are sure the money you paid double is went to government instead of VW themselves?

You sure how much excise tax government earned vs total revenues of vehicle sales? If you know the number, you'd be surprise these companies are making lot of profit with current tax system.
kww
post Oct 4 2013, 11:05 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(siegwarhiet @ Oct 4 2013, 10:44 AM)
Are you sure without Proton, government would let you pay less? You still have Perodua. Ok let say P1/P2 do not exist. Are you sure the tax system would be different? Look at our gasoline price even we have our own PETRONAS. hmm.gif
With p1 and p2, they have a very good excuse to say they need to impose that tax in for imported cars. They also come out with AP system and many more to make more money for everyone..... And if you all still remember, there is a stage VW want to invest in P1, but someone stop it for the sake of pride and own pocket..... Sorry this is OT.

Back to VW. At europe, VW is a fun and affordable car, there is no atasaan feeling when you own one, it is just an ordinary car. The DSG is a revolution gearbox design, imagine manual transmission you can shift fastest in 300ms, in sport mode DSG can up shift in 8ms. How fast is it? You need to drive one to know the trill. But since it is a new technology, shit hits the roof, DSG fluid outlasted the gearbox. I have a love hate feeling for this car.
dtna7
post Oct 4 2013, 11:06 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 4 2013, 10:52 AM)
you think so? actually to me  it is simply because SSI and CSI are 2 different area and a car brand that score high in Sales Satisfaction ( delivered by sales agent, etc.) may not necessarily score high in CSI (delivered by service agents, etc.) Also the score /and placing varies y-o-y, so it is important to monitor it. FYI, JD power SSI & CSI survey/study for Malaysia is in its 11th year now (2013)

e.g.
2011 Nissan is no. 2 in SSI but 7th place in CSI
2012: Nissan come up top no. 1 spot in SSI (and they were happily advertising it) but the same year its CSI is only  at 5th place
2013 : Nissan SSI dropped back to 2nd place and its CSI is 8th place! (not bashing Nissan just quoting example here

VW first appeared in Malaysia SSI in 2012 at 4th place but not in CSI the same year. It appear in CSI only in year 2013 with reappearance in SSI 2013

(Ford brands also first appear in both indexes in 2013 but not years before that)

Why ? because JD power typical surveyed on a sample size of buyers , e.g. the 2013 CSI study is based on responses from 2,772 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between February 2011 and May 2012 and took their vehicle for service to an authorized service center between August 2012 and May 2013. The study was fielded between February and May 2013.
So, as a colder brand although included in these studies but were not ranked in 2012 , 2011 and years before due to small sample size found on these brands. You will find Peugeot brand has yet to make its Malaysian debut appearance in both indexes due to the same reason

Looking back in previous years result, you will find even BMW and Mercedes only start appearing in CSI in 2011 but not in 2010 and the years before that

So perhaps VW has 2nd CSI placing in 2013 because its buyer who purchased VW  between February 2011 and May 2012 and took their vehicle for service to an authorized service center between August 2012 and May 2013 were happy because facing less problem --may be their cars come from manufacturing batch that has less defects, so the question now is to look at 2014 CSI to see buyers of June 2012 to may be Sept 2013 and see whether that same CSI is held high up there.

and if SSI of 2013* is a tell tell sign to what will become in CSI 2014, a drop of VW at SSI from 4th place 2012 to 7th place in 2013 is not looking good.

*The 2013 Malaysia SSI Study is based on responses from 2,622 new-vehicle buyers who purchased their vehicle between August 2012 and April 2013. The study was fielded between February and June 2013.
yeap. I concur on what you said. But when i meant bullshit its because I don't agree their way of conducting this survey. A VW guy may think it was okay to book an appointment 1 month ago. But a Honda guy may think it is unacceptable to to book an appointment anything more than a week before. Customer's expectation differs and loads of other factors were not taken into account. Sorry to say, but any reports coming out from JD Power from now on, it's garbage to me. blush.gif
ConmanHunter
post Oct 4 2013, 11:07 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Oct 4 2013, 10:33 AM)
Should try Ver 10 Scooby STi. The power is unbelievable, not to mention it's handling too.  icon_idea.gif
Again. I always have a rule of thumb please disagree if you may. A proper car to me not only has to get you from Point A to Point B rule no1. rule no 2: comfort of driving (handling, safety,NVH) no3 power

so if you are talking about a STI subaru i am not too sure if it falls into the same category brackeet of safety, NVH, and comfort of the GTI. Sheer brute force heck even a wajalution could beat any cars.

Then again, i had my fair share with VW. I had my car tow twiced. Changed my mechatronic unit which i was really unhappy because i was a very careful driver.

you buy a car, it is under warranty, you get it fixed and life goes on. apa lagi mau?

VW are in the spotlight because of the amount of cars they are selling and the amount of end users. Therefore i am not defending VW again but then when the volume arises defintiely they will be more complain and more breakdown compare to other car brands. Again, just so you know VW used to be under car trade and their dealership was revoked due to numerous complains.

End of the day, i do not defend VW service in Malaysia i had my own fair share too trust me.
dtna7
post Oct 4 2013, 11:09 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(siegwarhiet @ Oct 4 2013, 10:44 AM)
it WAS different before P1/P2 is here. Thanks to Mahathir. Evil old hag.

kadajawi
post Oct 4 2013, 11:10 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(BlackForce @ Oct 3 2013, 09:51 AM)
I mean the after sales service not durable of the car.
My friend's bmw sent to fix for fews days and bmw borrow him a 7 series. His car is a 3 er.
Agree
They want to poison your friend laugh.gif

The way I see it they lack experienced mechanics and enough SCs to handle the explosion in VW sales.

You can try international VW forums for suggestions as to what the problem is. Also contact VW international/Germany. We had a problem a long time ago with our new Renault back then. The SC couldn't fix it, Renault Germany was also clueless. After they contacted Renault France they were told what the issue was..
kww
post Oct 4 2013, 11:11 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 4 2013, 11:04 AM)
You are sure the money you paid double is went to government instead of VW themselves? 

You sure how much excise tax government earned vs total revenues of vehicle sales? If you know the number, you'd be surprise these companies are making lot of profit with current tax system.
I'm not sure who made more profit, but all I know is, I pay double of the car price. And I think the car price is control by some secret committee , we will never enjoy open market.
ruffstuff
post Oct 4 2013, 11:12 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:09 AM)
Not that different. Import car price remain the same after first proton launched. No price increase. The different is, the proton is cheaper due to low excise tax.
siegwarhiet
post Oct 4 2013, 11:16 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:09 AM)
Typical Malaysian worshipping export car manufacturer until forgetting the most fundamental matter. Then you should just went for work, go back dinner sleep and die for the next 40 years ahead. If you are lucky enough to survive that long. doh.gif
ruffstuff
post Oct 4 2013, 11:18 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Oct 4 2013, 11:11 AM)
I'm not sure who made more profit, but all I know is, I pay double of the car price. And I think the car price is control by some secret committee , we will never enjoy open market.
The secret committee is the company themselves. Hybrid cars is still expensive despite 0 tax compare to the rest of the world. Even funnier is that they are few thousands cheaper in langkawi, despite the hybrid already 0 tax.

AP system benefit AP holder. Franchise AP holder are all these big car company. They previously no need to pay single cent to government to get the AP certificate, but somehow AP is cost 30k per certificate in middle of distribution stage.
dtna7
post Oct 4 2013, 11:19 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(ConmanHunter @ Oct 4 2013, 11:07 AM)
Again. I always have a rule of thumb please disagree if you may. A proper car to me not only has to get you from Point A to Point B rule no1. rule no 2: comfort of driving (handling, safety,NVH) no3 power

so if you are talking about a STI subaru i am not too sure if it falls into the same category brackeet of safety, NVH, and comfort of the GTI. Sheer brute force heck even a wajalution could beat any cars.

Then again, i had my fair share with VW. I had my car tow twiced. Changed my mechatronic unit which i was really unhappy because i was a very careful driver.

you buy a car, it is under warranty, you get it fixed and life goes on. apa lagi mau?

VW are in the spotlight because of the amount of cars they are selling and the amount of end users. Therefore i am not defending VW again but then when the volume arises defintiely they will be more complain and more breakdown compare to other car brands. Again, just so you know VW used to be under car trade and their dealership was revoked due to numerous complains. 

End of the day, i do not defend VW service in Malaysia i had my own fair share too trust me.
As Livelifedrive's review of the new MK7 GTI put it, it's the best of both worlds. thumbup.gif

But the after sales service and the many problems reported that is major is disturbing.
dtna7
post Oct 4 2013, 11:23 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(siegwarhiet @ Oct 4 2013, 11:16 AM)
Typical  Malaysian worshipping export car manufacturer until forgetting the most fundamental matter. Then you should just went for work, go back dinner sleep and die for the next 40 years ahead. If you are lucky enough to survive that long.  doh.gif
you insolent brat cursing others in open forum! shakehead.gif
Baseless shit you accuse others before brushing your English comprehension to understand others better before spouting bullshit with that twisted mouth of yours, making you a great example of a smart alec keyboard warrior.

I doubt you can go far with your life with such attitude. be a crybaby all you want after this. you aren't worth more of my time.
skywardsword
post Oct 4 2013, 11:25 AM

680 posts

Volkswagen Malaysia need to step up its subpar service. Enough is enough. Bring in some qualified technician rather then some...hocus pocus technician. Everything change change then finally fixing it is not good enough.

rockets
post Oct 4 2013, 11:31 AM

No Recoil
509 posts

I wonder how much would it cost to repair a VW especially at their service centers.

For example if TS car wasn't still in warranty, would the bill be like RM20k?

Those people buying 5 year old VW really have balls of steel.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 4 2013, 11:36 AM

4,140 posts

.... So i think it is really unfair to say that people choose VW because they feel atas. I am offended.
rclxms.gif nod.gif

QUOTE(ConmanHunter @ Oct 4 2013, 11:07 AM)
... i had my fair share with VW. I had my car tow twiced. Changed my mechatronic unit which i was really unhappy because i was a very careful driver.

so are you saying consumers can make a difference in influencing VW to continue or change their local dealership to the more professional complaint handling dealers. ? (if i am reading between the line right? if that is true, I fully agree) but just curious, in your opinion who are currently the better local VW dealer? curious if you don't mind sharing...
siegwarhiet
post Oct 4 2013, 11:58 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:23 AM)
you insolent brat cursing others in open forum!  shakehead.gif
Baseless shit you accuse others before brushing your English comprehension to understand others better before spouting bullshit with that twisted mouth of yours, making you a great example of a smart alec keyboard warrior.

I doubt you can go far with your life with such attitude. be a crybaby all you want after this. you aren't worth more of my time.
Now who's cursing who at the first place at the open forum! doh.gif

You shouldn't curse people at the first place, don't you think? Or you have a special exception from others like me? hmm.gif
ConmanHunter
post Oct 4 2013, 12:09 PM

50 posts

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ConmanHunter: Dec 27 2013, 06:27 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 4 2013, 12:13 PM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(ConmanHunter @ Oct 4 2013, 12:09 PM)
Definitely we as the consumers at the end of the day are kings. If we don't buy their product their wallet will hurt and they will need to reflect on it. I have my fare share of terrible customer service from VW untill the extend i wrote letters wrote all the way up to their then MD and also CCed a copy to then german ambasaddor and VW germany.

On the matter of which local VW dealer is better i would said each of them have their bad apples but then i heard Win Hin Balakong is quite good. But in my case i go to the nearest SC to my house for major claims and etc at least you know you can check and monitor your car easily just in case.  I would like to say it is the relationship with you and the SC that matters most.

for exsisting vw owners and prospectors, to know more you can always join us at http://vwclubmalaysia.net
You are the MAN notworthy.gif
teh_tarik_satu
post Oct 4 2013, 12:29 PM

140 posts

complain to the VW malaysia manager
sonic_cd
post Oct 4 2013, 02:17 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Oct 3 2013, 01:28 AM)
if any one u want to know...

jessy is one of the 2 customer service dept people in VGM.
the other being her direct manager who will not answer any calls or reply any mails...
everything is done by jessy... and yes she do have some kind of attitude problem too...

in a way i pity her for doing everything but after seeing her attitude first hand, i would say she deserved it in a way... another typical pretty face with an attitude example...
so you kena already ?
Mavik
post Oct 4 2013, 02:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Oct 4 2013, 08:56 AM)
bro, usually those problem come out around what mileage?
if problem occurs exactly like ts case, then very dangerous sad.gif
now worry about family golf tsi bought last year sweat.gif
It happened to me from 20,000km onwards
sky1223
post Oct 4 2013, 02:27 PM

202 posts

normal lar.....big company will like that,i experience twice already,better go for under pokok sifu to repair ....
feelfree
post Oct 4 2013, 05:16 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:06 AM)
yeap. I concur on what you said. But when i meant bullshit its because I don't agree their way of conducting this survey. A VW guy may think it was okay to book an appointment 1 month ago. But a Honda guy may think it is unacceptable to to book an appointment anything more than a week before. Customer's expectation differs and loads of other factors were not taken into account. Sorry to say, but any reports coming out from JD Power from now on, it's garbage to me.  blush.gif
Bro, totally agree with you, never ever used what JD power or other survey as your reference, because few years ago my sister was working in a survey company and she told me all these surveys was done mostly by them and she said they would simply find a person to conduct the survey when the time is running out, the most funny part was when conducting the survey with Proton owner, they said most of them would give full marks to Proton and that is also the reason P1 and P2 used to won Gold award or Platinum award!
kcng
post Oct 4 2013, 06:21 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 4 2013, 02:17 PM)
so you kena already ?
nope... but some one i know...
assange
post Oct 6 2013, 02:36 PM

If i am you. Already go to tribunal court..... still need to wait for so long.
efaceninja
post Oct 7 2013, 12:23 PM

how's this thing already? any update, TS?
cuomo
post Oct 7 2013, 02:25 PM

20 posts

pity at your situation.
me too, strongly dissatisfy with the VW service centre (CERGAZ and FA)!
VW is good to drive but sucks in service and maintenance...
BeastX
post Oct 7 2013, 05:38 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 4 2013, 11:18 AM)
The secret committee is the company themselves. Hybrid cars is still expensive despite 0 tax compare to the rest of the world. Even funnier is that they are few thousands cheaper in langkawi, despite the hybrid already 0 tax. 

AP system benefit AP holder. Franchise AP holder are all these big car company.  They previously no need to pay single cent to government to get the AP certificate, but somehow AP is cost 30k per certificate in middle of distribution stage.
Hybrid has no import and excise tax... but there's still the sales tax of 10%....
lewiszen
post Oct 7 2013, 09:57 PM

116 posts

Not this again. doh.gif

People should just get a Vios with outdated but more reliable engine. VW, anyone?
feelfree
post Oct 7 2013, 10:55 PM

174 posts

VW is built good car, just it is not meant to drive in our such extreme weather, hot humid, heavy rain, heavy jam....... Now a lot conti car also recommend for 15k km to change the engine oil, but in our such extreme weather and driving condition, if you follow the 15k km service interval, then good luck to you, more than 90% of chances that your engine will have problem in 2-3 years time, or even less!
ruffstuff
post Oct 8 2013, 06:40 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Oct 7 2013, 05:38 PM)
Hybrid has no import and excise tax... but there's still the sales tax of 10%....
sales tax is flat rate 10%. Why price 2-3k price different in langkawi vs peninsular?
Even weird CKDs hybrid they claim can be cheaper, but the fact is equipment was downgraded. It doesn't make any sense since excise tax is already at 0 rate.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 8 2013, 09:38 AM

4,140 posts

sad

http://www.carsguide.com.au/blogs-and-stuf...will_dent_sales
confession from a World Car of The year judge (who has voted for the past three Volkswagen winners over the past four years)
dtna7
post Oct 8 2013, 10:40 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 8 2013, 09:38 AM)
sad

confession from a World Car of The year judge (who has  voted for the past three Volkswagen winners over the past four years)
Australians take Japanese reliability for granted because about half of all new cars sold here are made in Japan. But the reality is Japanese cars routinely top quality surveys around the world. It's not the norm, it's the benchmark. When we visit the factories of European car makers it's not uncommon to see Japanese cars stripped to pieces in the back corners as they learn how to make theirs better.

Wow shocking.gif

*runs off before VW owners starts spitting on me

This post has been edited by dtna7: Oct 8 2013, 10:59 AM
Drian
post Oct 8 2013, 10:44 AM

4,999 posts

dunno about you... but from my group of friends who has a vw... they always end up with problems. The failure rate is really really high. Definitely above industry average

EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 8 2013, 10:54 AM

4,140 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 8 2013, 10:40 AM)
Wow  shocking.gif

*runs off before VW owners starts spitting me
I believe they will be matured enough to know the biggest room in the world is room for improvement

any way except VW which has a bad JV/Tie Up with Suzuki
all other Germans has been forming JV with Japanese and that is all done in the open

e.g. BMW with Toyota

http://www.bmwcoop.com/2011/12/01/bmw-offi...al-with-toyota/
http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/29/bmw-toy...ev-partnership/
http://www.bmwblog.com/2013/01/25/analysis...ing-agreements/

Daimler with Renault-Nissan

http://www.daimler.com/dccom/0-5-7153-1-16...-0-0-0-0-0.html

and this even with Ford

geniuz
post Oct 17 2013, 08:59 PM

402 posts

how is it sub class when the GTI is using a engine that was first developed for AUDI's and a DSG gear box which also share it's common blue print with the DPK porsche gearbox or bugattis th uthgearbox?

Agreed with u bro.... notworthy.gif
geniuz
post Oct 17 2013, 09:14 PM

402 posts

After i read all this input its make me think twice whether to buy passat or not. Anyway is a good knowledge to learn how terrible vw are.....
landlily98
post Oct 17 2013, 09:20 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 8 2013, 09:38 AM)
sad

confession from a World Car of The year judge (who has  voted for the past three Volkswagen winners over the past four years)
A clear difference between an honest man and fellow Greman car lovers here.....

Ooopppppsssss.... Run for my life.......
bushyboy105
post Oct 17 2013, 09:39 PM

Happiness is you could spend time with closest one.
561 posts

Hm... sounds like only problem with DSG now?

but i have heard the Service center changing fake parts for the Genuine 1 also? The SC really that bad?

If only the DSG have problem, then is it ok if I buy Polo Sedan?
AmenoJaku
post Oct 18 2013, 08:46 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Oct 17 2013, 09:39 PM)
If only the DSG have problem, then is it ok if I buy Polo Sedan?
Yes.
bushyboy105
post Oct 18 2013, 09:30 AM

Happiness is you could spend time with closest one.
561 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Oct 18 2013, 08:46 AM)
Yes.
Do you have a VW? How's their Service Center?

Volkswagen Malaysia is under which company management? e.g.: Ford is under Sime Darby, Nissan is under Tan Chong

AmenoJaku
post Oct 18 2013, 11:52 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Oct 18 2013, 09:30 AM)

Volkswagen Malaysia is under which company management? e.g.: Ford is under Sime Darby, Nissan is under Tan Chong
No I don't. Mine's a poor man's VW. Older model without dsg but fsi engine. Still running great after 7 years.
selinix
post Oct 18 2013, 12:35 PM

7,343 posts

No doubt DSG is a brilliant tech .. but not when it comes to reliability ... you get to enjoy it's power and fast gear shifting but come to think of it .. does anyone likes to buy a daily driven car that needs to goes back to the service center more often than you think and worry each day on whether the gearbox will fail on you and leave you stranded on the road someday ...
Mavik
post Oct 18 2013, 12:43 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I know Volkswagen Group itself has shares in it, not sure how much and whether there is a local player here that ties up.
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 18 2013, 01:01 PM

4,140 posts

http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/volkswa...ices-increased/

LOL
blu3
post Oct 18 2013, 01:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 8 2013, 06:40 AM)
sales tax is flat rate 10%. Why price 2-3k price different in langkawi vs peninsular?
Even weird CKDs hybrid they claim can be cheaper, but the fact is equipment was downgraded. It doesn't make any sense since excise tax is already at 0 rate.
Absolutely correct. I need to do my own service for F30 because their BSRI is bullshit, 25k to change engine oil, by that time the engine is confirm koyak

At least the peace of mind is BMW accept immeadiate walk in service. no need to book one month ahead
foohoa
post Oct 18 2013, 01:26 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(BlackForce @ Oct 2 2013, 11:46 PM)
Yes i called, even Volkswagen Malaysia are useless.
Previous generation bro.

Really speechless about this incident.
write an email to the vw hq, overseas one and southeast asia one, CC to all contact which u can find at their website

this i always do when face problem, the malaysia one memang useless one
always play tai-chi only
blu3
post Oct 18 2013, 02:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 8 2013, 06:40 AM)
Absolutely correct. I need to do my own service for F30 because their BSRI is bullshit, 25k to change engine oil, by that time the engine is confirm koyak

At least the peace of mind is BMW accept immeadiate walk in service. no need to book one month ahead
kadajawi
post Oct 18 2013, 07:05 PM

544 posts

When we visit the factories of European car makers it's not uncommon to see Japanese cars stripped to pieces in the back corners as they learn how to make theirs better.

And Japanese companies don't take apart continental cars to see how they are made and what the tech is? Common practice la...

Btw., there is a video of the VW CEO sitting in some Hyundai or Kia, scolding his engineers that the Korean car is better made, and how they did it, when not even BMW could get that part right.

QUOTE(blu3 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:29 PM)

With that sort of pricing I'm not surprised you can just walk in... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Oct 18 2013, 07:06 PM
phas3r
post Oct 18 2013, 10:06 PM

1,206 posts

My gti already 4.5 years, 111,xxxkm , stage 2 modded. Still pulling like a train.. Very nice to drive just like almost all vws. Turbo+dsg combo is great
Not to say problem free tho. And the interior rattles everywhere lol

Dont let service centre attitude prevent u from enjoying a superb car.
Stopped going to sc after 2 years. I just go outside workshop, walk in, say wanna do service, settled in an hour. No booking or claim warranty nonsense

This post has been edited by phas3r: Oct 18 2013, 10:07 PM
psycho1
post Oct 18 2013, 11:55 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 18 2013, 10:06 PM)
My gti already 4.5 years, 111,xxxkm , stage 2 modded. Still pulling like a train.. Very nice to drive just like almost all vws. Turbo+dsg combo is great

Stopped going to sc after 2 years. I just go outside workshop, walk in, say wanna do service, settled in an hour. No booking or claim warranty nonsense
U totally speaks my mind bro. Servicing in SC is totally nonsense and rubbish. Having to make bookings in advance (sometimes up to weeks or month) and still make us waited for hours in sc, and yet still have to pay a premium price compare to what you can get in non authorised workshop. And when it comes to any defect, they will always try to find someone else to blame instead of themselves.
huaren1978
post Oct 19 2013, 11:00 PM

Phewww...lucky thing i didn't settle for the passat cc last time..
Mavik
post Oct 20 2013, 10:58 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:29 PM)

Why not do your service outside of the dealership especially for your interval oil change? I personally don't like the engine oil the dealers use. I just did that recently and when I pumped out the oil, it was completely BLACK. Their intervals for BSRI is totally way too long!
blu3
post Oct 20 2013, 11:53 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 20 2013, 10:58 AM)
Why not do your service outside of the dealership especially for your interval oil change? I personally don't like the engine oil the dealers use. I just did that recently and when I pumped out the oil, it was completely BLACK. Their intervals for BSRI is totally way too long!
Yes, it's too long. I can't wait for that, BSRI is Bull Shit RI, I don't know which reputable SC in petaling jaya can service bmw, mayb bro you can help to recommed?

SUSjolokia
post Oct 20 2013, 12:59 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

DRB !
Mavik
post Oct 20 2013, 03:30 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Oct 20 2013, 11:53 AM)
Yes, it's too long. I can't wait for that, BSRI is Bull Shit RI, I don't know which reputable SC in petaling jaya can service bmw, mayb bro you can help to recommed?
Actually I have been going to Quill for BSRI but I myself am looking around for other places to do simple servicing. Because I am using a diesel, there is a place in USJ1 which my friends recommended (Gloriang Auto) which uses Ravenol Engine oil. Did a change last week and it isn't too bad, the engine feels smoother (of course after an oil change). Next 8000km I will be trying it out at Quicksave USJ using Liqui Moly Engine oil.
blu3
post Oct 20 2013, 03:43 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 20 2013, 03:30 PM)
Actually I have been going to Quill for BSRI but I myself am looking around for other places to do simple servicing. Because I am using a diesel, there is a place in USJ1 which my friends recommended (Gloriang Auto) which uses Ravenol Engine oil. Did a change last week and it isn't too bad, the engine feels smoother (of course after an oil change). Next 8000km I will be trying it out at Quicksave USJ using Liqui Moly Engine oil.
Meaning they service petrol enigne as well? Done outside much cheaper ?
Mavik
post Oct 20 2013, 05:07 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Oct 20 2013, 03:43 PM)
Meaning they service petrol enigne as well? Done outside much cheaper ?
Yes they also do service petrol engines as well, changing engine oil isn't that difficult. Troubleshooting, that is another story. And yeah, you get better engine oil of your choice and labour charge for me was only RM30.

You can also choose to get your fuel filter from the BMW stockists such as Bavarian Auto (SS2 is the nearest one in PJ) and bring it to your mechanic and they can change the oil for you.
carnby77
post Oct 20 2013, 06:04 PM

385 posts

Lodge a complain to CAP or HEP. Make a complain to VW International.
Get all the details and send it to all of them simultaneously...
mystvearn
post Oct 20 2013, 08:00 PM

6,639 posts

TS tried this?

EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 23 2013, 09:54 AM

4,140 posts

Another Victory for VW eh sorry it is 'VW LAW' rather, by Germany (yup, you are reading it right VW law!, there is such a thing )

In its 2007 decision, the EU tribunal overturned the VW law (after European Commission took Germany to EU Court becoz of this VW law) that protected Wolfsburg, Germany-based Volkswagen by capping shareholder’s voting rights at 20 percent, regardless of the size of their holdings. That matched the stake held during the previous four decades by the German state of Lower Saxony, where Wolfsburg is located.Lower Saxony is VW’s second-largest shareholder after family-controled Porsche Automobil Holding SE with a 20 percent voting stake. Labor representatives account for 50 percent of the 20 seats on VW’s supervisory board.

European commission, which won the 2007 case, sued Germany in 2012 again over its “piecemeal approach” to changing the law. The EU executive authority wanted Germany to pay a penalty of 31,114 euros ($42,560) a day from the 2007 ruling until it complied or until the ruling in today’s case, plus a 282,725-euro daily fine from today’s ruling until the VW law was compliant.

The commission returned to the top court to argue that Germany’s overhaul of the VW law, which shielded Volkswagen AG (VOW) from takeovers since 1960, continued to violate the bloc’s rules because government veto powers at the company still existed. Instead of scrapping three provisions that were earlier ruled unlawful by the court, the country abolished two and kept the blocking minority, the Brussels-based EU regulator said.

Germany escaped fines and defeated the European Union’s regulator after the bloc’s highest court said its redraft of the so-called Volkswagen law doesn’t clash with EU rules.
Germany’s changes to the VW law “complied in full” with a 2007 ruling, the EU Court of Justice in Luxembourg said today, rejecting the challenge by the European Commission, the bloc’s executive authority.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-10-22/g...apes-fines.html

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Oct 23 2013, 04:34 PM
TZERNG
post Oct 26 2013, 01:04 AM

581 posts

Need some sifu help here...how about golf gti mk7 is there any problem with the day problem?? Thinking to grab 1
Sorry newbie at car section....sry
kfchoo
post Feb 22 2016, 11:15 AM

15 posts

Hi All,

After having disappoited experience with Wearnes Sg.Besi, KL. I decided to switch service center.

After having my car went for the 60K major service with Wearnes Sg. Besi. I got battery died on me two weeks, then got eps/abs error 2 weeks after battery replacement.

I'm planning to have eps/abs issue to be fixed with Goh Brother, Sg. Pinang, P. Penang.

Appreciate anyone would share some experience you have with Goh Brother, Sg. Pinang, P. Penang. Or any recommended VW SC is also appreciated.

Regards,
Kim.
demetry
post Feb 22 2016, 01:50 PM

302 posts

U guys really rich enuf to buy a lemon car. rclxms.gif
aaron1717
post Feb 22 2016, 04:22 PM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Feb 22 2016, 01:50 PM)
U guys really rich enuf to buy a lemon car. rclxms.gif
now that is sarcastic... hahahah.... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Ginny88
post Feb 22 2016, 04:53 PM

1,032 posts

Reading TS's account on pg 1 is the most incredible bad experience I've ever read. Nobody should have to go through such frustration and hardship for owning a car. No "driving pleasure" is worth such a bitter ownership experience. Give me a "boring" Jap car anytime.

6UE5T
post Feb 22 2016, 05:20 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kfchoo @ Feb 22 2016, 11:15 AM)
Hi All,

After having disappoited experience with Wearnes Sg.Besi, KL. I decided to switch service center.

After having my car went for the 60K major service with Wearnes Sg. Besi. I got battery died on me two weeks, then got eps/abs error 2 weeks after battery replacement.

I'm planning to have eps/abs issue to be fixed with Goh Brother, Sg. Pinang, P. Penang.

Appreciate anyone would share some experience you have with Goh Brother, Sg. Pinang, P. Penang. Or any recommended VW SC is also appreciated.

Regards,
Kim.
Have you read the tread starter first post here? It's sharing his nightmare experience with that same workshop lor!
aaron1717
post Feb 22 2016, 05:22 PM

10,188 posts

i am driving a Renault currently... so far the experience has been above average... not all conti cars have the same bad after sales services... but in reality yea... most of the continental cars brand's after sales services has bad reputation.... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
6UE5T
post Feb 22 2016, 07:00 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Feb 22 2016, 05:22 PM)
i am driving a Renault currently... so far the experience has been above average... not all conti cars have the same bad after sales services... but in reality yea... most of the continental cars brand's after sales services has bad reputation....  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Renault is under Tan Chong Nissan, so should be decent enough service I suppose.
cysun
post Feb 22 2016, 07:19 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Oct 3 2013, 11:34 AM)
that's why i tell ppl many time. Volkswagen is The Rakyat's Car in Germany. It's an el-cheapo car but overpriced in malaysia. yet many ppl banggala.jpg can drive this conti car. the price u paid can get an entry level bmw 320i or the bmw 316i... the bmw service is PREMIIUM ! get audi or merz also better (if u can afford more).

so, SAY NO TO VOLKSWAGEN KERETA RAKYAT JELATA. it's like a proton sold at same price with honda accord.
Merc and BMW are taxis in Europe. I was on a project in Amsterdam and took a relatively new Merc taxi to airport.

In US and Australia VW is priced premium over other cars, so it's not only Malaysia.

I own a 2010 Golf GTI Mk 6 with 100kms on it - i just love it. Faster than most BMW and Mercs in stock standard configuration. 200km/h on MEX - rock solid cruising. Ppl seldom post the good stuff, so i'm sharing my bit here. Once you drive continental car (Renault, Citroen, Fiat, VW, etc) it is just so different from a Honda. I owned 2.

Like with ALL cars, there will be a percentage of defects and i sympathise with the TS, it's no fun when you have a car with a defect and worse - an official dealer who is not competent enough to fix it or ask around their global network. You'll get other brands bitching about it and that's normal.

I believe if VM MY read this and improve on enabling their dealer network, customer satisfaction will jump.Sorry to hear your story TS - feel for you man

ps: Rocco (Scirocco) Girl will have lots of fun. Envy her.

pps: check out this Car 0-100 kmh List

This post has been edited by cysun: Feb 22 2016, 07:25 PM
6UE5T
post Feb 22 2016, 07:37 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(cysun @ Feb 22 2016, 07:19 PM)
Merc and BMW are taxis in Europe. I was on a project in Amsterdam and took a relatively new Merc taxi to airport.

In US and Australia VW is priced premium over other cars, so it's not only Malaysia.

I own a 2010 Golf GTI Mk 6 with 100kms on it - i just love it. Faster than most BMW and Mercs in stock standard configuration. 200km/h on MEX - rock solid cruising. Ppl seldom post the good stuff, so i'm sharing my bit here. Once you drive continental car (Renault, Citroen, Fiat, VW, etc) it is just so different from a Honda. I owned 2.

Like with ALL cars, there will be a percentage of defects and i sympathise with the TS, it's no fun when you have a car with a defect and worse - an official dealer who is not competent enough to fix it or ask around their global network.  You'll get other brands bitching about it and that's normal.

I believe if VM MY read this and improve on enabling their dealer network, customer satisfaction will jump.Sorry to hear your story TS - feel for you man

ps: Rocco (Scirocco) Girl will have lots of fun. Envy her.

pps: check out this Car 0-100 kmh List
Question is how much of a defect percentage happens with VW here? Based on numerous complaints that have been going around plus the huge drop in RV for used VWs, that percentage seems higher than other brands, no? Actually car defects is not so bad if the SC/brand distributors are responsible and capable enough to provide a good service but here seems a double jeopardy, isn't it?
kluseng
post Feb 22 2016, 07:43 PM

473 posts

Given that aftersales service of most Conti cars are BAD, is it better to buy a second hand Conti, say <3 years old at half the price and service/repair it outside? Most outside specialists are better at troubleshooting than official SCs and ar quicker to get your car back on the road. There's no warranty but why do you need useless hard to claim warranty for? You already save a bundle of cash to offset the risk and there is no need to deal with vomit inducing SCs.

post Feb 23 2016, 08:43 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Feb 22 2016, 07:43 PM)
Given that aftersales service of most Conti cars are BAD, is it better to buy a second hand Conti, say <3 years old at half the price and service/repair it outside? Most outside specialists are better at troubleshooting than official SCs and ar quicker to get your car back on the road. There's no warranty but why do you need useless hard to claim warranty for? You already save a bundle of cash to offset the risk and there is no need to deal with vomit inducing SCs.
I guess it is wise to do so if u have a deep enough pocket.
andrekua2
post Feb 23 2016, 08:53 AM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Feb 22 2016, 05:22 PM)
i am driving a Renault currently... so far the experience has been above average... not all conti cars have the same bad after sales services... but in reality yea... most of the continental cars brand's after sales services has bad reputation....  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
In Malaysia, its all about Malaysian attitude.

I drive a Sonata also had headache. A/C was lemon since day 1 but SC keep insisting it was designed to be fuel saving. I finally got my compressor replacement after I wrote to Hyundai Korea. However this was a small problem compared to TS.

Still, in Malaysia, all these crony dealership, you sort of expect their half baked knowledge about cars, especially one that is complex and full of electronics. All they do is plug in the computer and tell you the error code. They dare not to touch anything else. Everything is SOP.

Hence that is why I still prefer Japanese/Korean. Not much electronics...
The Net Surfer
post Feb 23 2016, 08:56 AM

332 posts

TLDR...
sounds like an international brand spoiled by the local management.
kluseng
post Feb 23 2016, 09:50 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Feb 23 2016, 08:43 AM)
I guess it is wise to do so if u have a deep enough pocket.
What do you mean if you have deep enough pocket? Buying second hand is much cheaper than buying new and you can also get loan for 2nd hand cars. As for maintenance issues you already saved a bundle so accept the risks. You can minimize the risk of getting a lemon car by choosing carefully.

kluseng
post Feb 23 2016, 09:56 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 23 2016, 08:53 AM)
In Malaysia, its all about Malaysian attitude.

I drive a Sonata also had headache. A/C was lemon since day 1 but SC keep insisting it was designed to be fuel saving. I finally got my compressor replacement after I wrote to Hyundai Korea. However this was a small problem compared to TS.

Still, in Malaysia, all these crony dealership, you sort of expect their half baked knowledge about cars, especially one that is complex and full of electronics. All they do is plug in the computer and tell you the error code. They dare not to touch anything else. Everything is SOP.

Hence that is why I still prefer Japanese/Korean. Not much electronics...
That is the problem with some dealerships with insincere warranties. They may know the actual problem but refuse to pinpoint it to save on making good on the warranty. They may diagnose other unrelated things like battery, brake pads and rotors which the owner has to pay for. The problem isn't fixed so it comes up again. This was probably what happened to TS.

burn22
post Feb 23 2016, 12:56 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Oct 3 2013, 11:15 AM)
If i were you, ill write to their HQ, letting them know how incompetant the Malaysian VW is running .
agreed!
should make a report directly to international HQ...
demetry
post Feb 23 2016, 01:29 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Feb 23 2016, 12:56 PM)
agreed!
should make a report directly to international HQ...
Some ppl did that already. No use. Drb hicom is the only franchisee holder in market.
cysun
post Feb 23 2016, 02:50 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 18 2013, 10:06 PM)

+10! thumbup.gif
aaron1717
post Feb 23 2016, 02:57 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(cysun @ Feb 23 2016, 02:50 PM)
+10! thumbup.gif
to be frank... almost everyone who bought a car would also like to fully utilized the free service and warranty period.... the enjoyment for most owners are there... but once recurring breakdown happen... and you need to fork out extra cash to fix bcuz the free service and warranty which they promised at first not able to help u... it still certainly very disappointing... most of the owners really hope that they can enjoy the car as well as the after sales services which doesn't need to be perfect... just be more responsible on your job... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
phas3r
post Feb 23 2016, 04:12 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(cysun @ Feb 23 2016, 02:50 PM)
+10! thumbup.gif
Next month 7 yrs 154k km and as nice as ever lol
Even drove to krabi for a total of 17xxkm
Just some coilpack misfire, settle within 5minutes of change
kfchoo
post Feb 24 2016, 06:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 22 2016, 05:20 PM)
Have you read the tread starter first post here? It's sharing his nightmare experience with that same workshop lor!
The thread was posted in year 2013. I wonder currently is there any improvement or any other recommended SC in Penang. wink.gif
6UE5T
post Feb 25 2016, 01:23 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kfchoo @ Feb 24 2016, 06:51 PM)
The thread was posted in year 2013. I wonder currently is there any improvement or any other recommended SC in Penang. wink.gif
Hahaha you can try it out to find out but if I already heard such extremely bad experience, I doubt that they can change drastically.
Ginny88
post Feb 25 2016, 01:30 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 25 2016, 01:23 PM)
Hahaha you can try it out to find out but if I already heard such extremely bad experience, I doubt that they can change drastically.
It's only been less than 2.5 years since TS's bitter experience so I doubt their standard and culture can change much. The distributor is either incompetent or dodgy with warranty and it usually stems from the boss's attitude.

kfchoo
post Feb 25 2016, 07:40 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Feb 25 2016, 01:30 PM)
It's only been less than 2.5 years since TS's bitter experience so I doubt their standard and culture can change much. The distributor is either incompetent or dodgy with warranty and it usually stems from the boss's attitude.
cry.gif sound no hope at all. Thanks guys for paying attention to my query. Have a good year ahead.
henryweetm
post Dec 14 2019, 10:25 PM

Thanks for this. Was about to get a Volkswagen.
jnesam
post Jan 21 2021, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(henryweetm @ Dec 14 2019, 10:25 PM)
Thanks for this. Was about to get a Volkswagen.
Lucky for u. I own a Jetta 2018. Worst service and maintenance. Troubleshoot unbelievable. They change one by one and nothing is solved till now. I will advice u to stay away from VW. NOT up to par. I will juat send u some intro after their repair ya. From bad to worse.... more proof in pc.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jnesam
post Jan 21 2021, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(jnesam @ Jan 21 2021, 04:33 PM)
Lucky for u. I own a Jetta 2018. Worst service and maintenance. Troubleshoot unbelievable. They change one by one and nothing is solved till now. I will advice u to stay away from VW. NOT up to par. I will juat send u some intro after their repair ya. From bad to worse.... more proof in pc.
Trust me i had nightmare send the car a dozen times till now. They gave me new problems and unresolved old issues. The unit was faulty since bought
jnesam
post Jan 21 2021, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(jnesam @ Jan 21 2021, 04:35 PM)
Trust me i had nightmare send the car a dozen times till now. They gave me new problems and unresolved old issues. The unit was faulty since bought
From Goh Brothers Ipoh and Hartamas KL
abubin
post Jan 21 2021, 05:45 PM

10,429 posts

Many horror stories from VW. Personally I know someone who also had problem with VW SC. They are really not up to standard. Their pomens are mostly substandard and does not know how to resolve issues. Just main tembak style only.

If not mistaken, VW is under Hicom, right?
Icehart
post Jan 21 2021, 06:35 PM

14,901 posts

How is VW GTI overall? From owner's group seems like a good car with low maintenance cost.
abubin
post Jan 22 2021, 11:44 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 21 2021, 06:35 PM)
How is VW GTI overall? From owner's group seems like a good car with low maintenance cost.
The car is good but pray that you don't have issue with it cause the service will be lousy or they will not be able to find and fix the problem.
Donidoni
post Jan 22 2021, 11:52 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 21 2021, 06:35 PM)
If you really want a conti car, just stick to Benz or Beemer.
twincharger07
post Jan 23 2021, 11:09 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(jnesam @ Jan 21 2021, 04:33 PM)
You bought your car in 2018? but the horror story of VW already started as early as 2013... you didn't get the warning sign ah..
Don't know why ppl still want to buy them after several stories where told many years ago...
RalphRatedR
post Jan 23 2021, 07:02 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 21 2021, 05:45 PM)
Many horror stories from VW. Personally I know someone who also had problem with VW SC. They are really not up to standard. Their pomens are mostly substandard and does not know how to resolve issues. Just main tembak style only.

If not mistaken, VW is under Hicom, right?
Not under DRB-Hicom anymore. Porsche Salzburg now. No idea if they still keep those lousy pomens.
babygrand123
post Jan 23 2021, 08:32 PM

672 posts

But this Guy his Jetta super reliable and no major issue overall oh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbm6_kTS6es
ExCrIpT
post Jan 23 2021, 08:42 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Jan 23 2021, 08:32 PM)
Some ppl are just plain lucky i guess, i have a friend who's trying golf gti mk5 for 10 years and hardly any issues except wear and tear
twincharger07
post Jan 23 2021, 11:07 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Jan 23 2021, 08:32 PM)
Depends ppl want to take the chance or not. This guy makes car videos, obviously he understands the risk and he knows it requires a lot of preventive maintenance. If you follow this youtube channel, they list down all the possible issues of continental cars and the potential bills. Those are in thousands of ringgit of repairs, and he still claimed "not expensive"..

Some times it's not about the money, but the mental stress to figure out what's wrong, how do we know SC are just BS us and tell us to replace everything but it's actually just a simple repair, and also the time spent to visit multiple workshop to hunt for reasonable price and getting few opinions before deciding on the repair.
littlefire
post Jan 25 2021, 10:01 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jan 24 2021, 12:07 AM)
Depends ppl want to take the chance or not. This guy makes car videos, obviously he understands the risk and he knows it requires a lot of preventive maintenance. If you follow this youtube channel, they list down all the possible issues of continental cars and the potential bills. Those are in thousands of ringgit of repairs, and he still claimed "not expensive"..

Some times it's not about the money, but the mental stress to figure out what's wrong, how do we know SC are just BS us and tell us to replace everything but it's actually just a simple repair, and also the time spent to visit multiple workshop to hunt for reasonable price and getting few opinions before deciding on the repair.
Agreed. If you want to own or drive a continental. You need to know what is preventive maintenance and also get a good mechanic to help find the root cause and fix if anything went wrong. A lot of workshop & SC nowadays just want to earn easy money so just replace everything laa.. laugh.gif

Still the mindset of a lot of people tend to think that continental cars are unreliable is a bit untrue, if you really follow their maintenance schedule and change all the recommendation parts in time usually it can still be reliable; just when people start to compare maintenance cost with Japanese/Asian cars they complain of high cost but never compare the specs, safety, NVH & technology given...

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 25 2021, 10:08 AM
Donidoni
post Jan 25 2021, 10:45 PM

169 posts

Sales figure is a solid indication. VW showrooms are closing one by one here. No matter how the VW owners claim their cars so reliable, the sales figure never lie.
Jason
post Jan 26 2021, 06:04 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jan 23 2021, 08:42 PM)
Some ppl are just plain lucky i guess, i have a friend who's trying golf gti mk5 for 10 years and hardly any issues except wear and tear
Yes. That YouTube guy is the exception. Not the rule.

The question is, do you feel lucky? If yes, buy it. Otherwise why risk it? It costs money, not free.

When the VW car has no problems, it’s really solid, befitting it’s German heritage, even the ones not made in Deutschland. DSG is quick and thrilling with its bang bang bang upshifts.

At the end of the day, money talks, bull poop walks. Like the other guy said, look at VW Malaysia sales.
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2021, 12:19 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Depends on branch i guess. Im having good exp with Juru branch. Replaced my stock spring to sport spring immediately after drove out from show room. They still help me fix the absorber even the warranty for suspension is obviously voided.
Donidoni
post Feb 15 2021, 02:22 PM

169 posts

Recent case in court on faulty cars:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...faulty-new-car/
SKYjack
post Feb 16 2021, 09:27 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 25 2021, 10:01 AM)
Agreed. If you want to own or drive a continental. You need to know what is preventive maintenance and also get a good mechanic to help find the root cause and fix if anything went wrong. A lot of workshop & SC nowadays just want to earn easy money so just replace everything laa..  laugh.gif

Still the mindset of a lot of people tend to think that continental cars are unreliable is a bit untrue, if you really follow their maintenance schedule and change all the recommendation parts in time usually it can still be reliable; just when people start to compare maintenance cost with Japanese/Asian cars they complain of high cost but never compare the specs, safety, NVH & technology given...
I agree on this 100%. To own Contis, must understand preventive maintenance & have a good mechanic. The biggest mistake made by most ppl is to rely soley on SC. Once an issue is not solved, they comment Contis are not reliable!

I have two contis, BMW 630i & Peugeot 408thp. Bimmer is 14years old & Peugeot 8 years. No issues with both cars!

BTW I am intending to replace my 408thp with either X1 or 3008. It certainly wount be a Jab model!

As mentioned by littlefire, just change mindset on maintenance practice!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 16 2021, 09:36 AM
littlefire
post Feb 16 2021, 09:35 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Donidoni @ Feb 15 2021, 03:22 PM)
The car stuck in SC for more than 3 years? If i am the owner for sure gonna sue for it..
abubin
post Feb 16 2021, 06:00 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 16 2021, 09:35 AM)
The car stuck in SC for more than 3 years? If i am the owner for sure gonna sue for it..
same issue, lack of expertise in Malaysia. New company take over but still retain all the useless staffs.

0.2617sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:56 AM