130 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

Reckoning
post Oct 9 2013, 02:51 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:41 PM)
If u shoot sports, D700 will be a better choice... thumbup.gif
Im wedding only/ and sometime landscape. mcm nak sgt buy the d800. laugh.gif let me calculate all first
cawan
post Oct 9 2013, 02:55 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 02:03 PM)
Since D90 is a crop-sensor body.
50mm is more or less like a 75mm, which can be very, very tight for street shots. Especially those cramped ones in Japan. 50mm is more suitable for portraits usually

35mm is around 50mm for your D90, so its actually more suitable for your street photography use, though still a little bit too "long range" for some  laugh.gif

It depends on your shooting style, some prefer getting really, really close. While others love being those sniping types  laugh.gif
notworthy.gif
TSAgito666
post Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 12:09 PM)
I've never sent lens for fungus cleaning so can't really comment sad.gif
But have you considered calling and rushing?  hmm.gif

It helps in the computing world lol, some Malaysian-based SC need to push one haha  sweat.gif
last time went straight to KLCC and ask for check status, they said this week will confirm...well after this week then i go nag again....
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:40 PM)
Get Nikon trinity lens... Confirm can laugh.gif
Confirm can pokkai haha rclxm9.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 02:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
last time went straight to KLCC and ask for check status, they said this week will confirm...well after this week then i go nag again....
Eh? How come wanna purposely go there? Just call more convenient right? sad.gif
Hope they will fix for you quick
jepertine90
post Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

legendary holy trinity
TSAgito666
post Oct 9 2013, 03:05 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 02:57 PM)
Eh? How come wanna purposely go there? Just call more convenient right?  sad.gif
Hope they will fix for you quick
i work in MCA building so i walk there only laugh.gif
that's why i first thought is send to KLCC instead BTS... (that time)

cawan
post Oct 9 2013, 03:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
Confirm can pokkai haha  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM)
legendary holy trinity
emmm, maybe standard prime lens is enough with aperture size

money money money
celciuz
post Oct 9 2013, 03:52 PM

14,037 posts

Another thing to note is the diffraction limit for D800 vs. D700. If I remember correctly, D800 is at f/8, D700 at f/16. (I could be wrong... but its around there).

Also to add on, D800 and D7000 is pretty similar pixel density. Oh yes the new D7100, 24MP DX? I wonder what's their diffraction limit like... f/5.6 maybe?
Pro3363
post Oct 9 2013, 04:44 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Reckoning @ Oct 9 2013, 02:51 PM)
Im wedding only/ and sometime landscape. mcm nak sgt buy the d800.  laugh.gif let me calculate all first
If u have 24-70/ 70-200, why not get the D800... drool.gif
Pro3363
post Oct 9 2013, 04:46 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
Confirm can pokkai haha  rclxm9.gif
U can get it bro laugh.gif U already have 24-70... Then during year end, u buy 70-200 and next year buy 14-24... laugh.gif

But to be honest, I dont really like the 14-24... I prefer the 16-35 whistling.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 05:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 04:46 PM)
U can get it bro laugh.gif  U already have 24-70... Then during year end, u buy 70-200 and next year buy 14-24... laugh.gif

But to be honest, I dont really like the 14-24... I prefer the 16-35 whistling.gif
I don't think so haha, just because its holy trinity doesn't mean they are must haves laugh.gif
I'm already complaining so much about the weight with only the 24-70 LOL, I'll die if I get the other two XD
I'm getting a 105mm macro lens and that's it for my setup laugh.gif

Don't really fancy shooting landscapes so don't really need a very good wide angle lens; and I think I can live with not having super long range lenses too haha laugh.gif

AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 05:08 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
That's why its best to buy from trusted sellers nod.gif
You can also check the shutter count if you want to see if its used nod.gif

But whether the seller tampers with the sealed sticker or not really depends on how trustworthy that seller is lo hmm.gif

For Nikon, I usually deal with Yannick Camera: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yannick-Came...7834827?fref=ts

Can look for digitalfm14 and CreativePhoto in Garage Sales too  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok thanks.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 9 2013, 01:43 PM)
This is approaching the paranoid level already I think, most camera shops are air conditioned, hardly a suitable environment for fungus la, even with the lens/body exposed for some time.  doh.gif

I think with open box units you should be more worried about ex-prospective buyers abusing the lens in store, but then again most lenses are made to last, not get messed up with 5 minutes of handling.
Ya, Im actually quite paranoid on certain things especially since Im still very new to photography. Well, one of the many reasons is that Im still a student, therefore, money is kinda hard to come by =).

Do you guys meet up in groups and head for a photoshooting quest?
gunzerdude
post Oct 9 2013, 05:18 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 05:08 PM)
Ok thanks.
Ya, Im actually quite paranoid on certain things especially since Im still very new to photography. Well, one of the many reasons is that Im still a student, therefore, money is kinda hard to come by =).

I'm a student like you also, and yes, money is also hard to accumulate for my side too.

Anyways, no-need to be so paranoid about fungus in newly purchased lenses and bodies lah. Even if you get them vacuum-packed, you're still gonna expose them to open air anyway, so what's the point?

Fungus spores are everywhere, cannot be avoided one. Your responsibility is just to store them in a dry environment so these spores won't germinate.

As for your father's off-the-shelf purchase, as long as the camera's outlook is fine and shutter count isn't much, you'll be good to go. thumbup.gif
jchue73
post Oct 9 2013, 05:36 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:41 PM)
If u shoot sports, D700 will be a better choice... thumbup.gif
With MB-D10 battery grip, yes.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 9 2013, 03:52 PM)
Another thing to note is the diffraction limit for D800 vs. D700. If I remember correctly, D800 is at f/8, D700 at f/16. (I could be wrong... but its around there).

Also to add on, D800 and D7000 is pretty similar pixel density. Oh yes the new D7100, 24MP DX? I wonder what's their diffraction limit like... f/5.6 maybe?
I think we only need to worry about diffraction when shooting landscape. But even then on wide angles, f/8 will already get you everything is focus.

If really on the limit of DoF like say on macro subjects, use focus stacking. Nowadays with Camranger and Ipad, you have a nice way of viewing on a big screen while selecting / shooting different focus points and best part without touching / moving your camera setup for perfect stacking.

For bright day time sports when using slow shutter speed, no choice but to invest in a 2 or 3 stop ND filter.

U can get it bro laugh.gif  U already have 24-70... Then during year end, u buy 70-200 and next year buy 14-24... laugh.gif
Can get all at one go what... whistling.gif Painful but only one time. biggrin.gif

But to be honest, I dont really like the 14-24... I prefer the 16-35
Why? No filter?

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 05:03 PM)
I don't think so haha, just because its holy trinity doesn't mean they are must haves  laugh.gif
I'm already complaining so much about the weight with only the 24-70 LOL, I'll die if I get the other two XD
I'm getting a 105mm macro lens and that's it for my setup 

Don't really fancy shooting landscapes so don't really need a very good wide angle lens; and I think I can live with not having super long range lenses too haha laugh.gif
Just get f/1.4 trinity. biggrin.gif

24mm f/1.4
35mm f/1.4
85mm f/1.4

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 06:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 05:08 PM)
Ok thanks.

gunzerdude sifu is right nod.gif Noneed to be too paranoid, just get a camera and shoot~ it will definitely open up your world thumbup.gif
Still, its good to know that you are doing your research and asking first rather than blindly buying rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 05:36 PM)
Just get f/1.4 trinity.  biggrin.gif

24mm f/1.4
35mm f/1.4
85mm f/1.4
85mm F1.4 gooding yo! wub.gif wub.gif
But no money for these goodies haha
I'd better just invest in a mirrorless to save my back laugh.gif
celciuz
post Oct 9 2013, 06:13 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 05:36 PM)
With MB-D10 battery grip, yes.
I think we only need to worry about diffraction when shooting landscape. But even then on wide angles, f/8 will already get you everything is focus.

If really on the limit of DoF like say on macro subjects, use focus stacking. Nowadays with Camranger and Ipad, you have a nice way of viewing on a big screen while selecting / shooting different focus points and best part without touching / moving your camera setup for perfect stacking.

For bright day time sports when using slow shutter speed, no choice but to invest in a 2 or 3 stop ND filter.
Can get all at one go what...  whistling.gif  Painful but only one time.  biggrin.gif
Why? No filter?
Just get f/1.4 trinity.  biggrin.gif

24mm f/1.4
35mm f/1.4
85mm f/1.4
That's the part I butthurt the most sad.gif My panning shots at Sepang haih. 70200+TC2+CPL can make the AF hunt at times already :S.
Andy214
post Oct 9 2013, 06:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
They already repair? I thought suppose to call you and tell you how much before they proceed?

If straight clean for you, what if the charges are exhorbitant?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 9 2013, 06:21 PM
jchue73
post Oct 9 2013, 06:22 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 06:11 PM)
85mm F1.4 gooding yo!  wub.gif  wub.gif 
But no money for these goodies haha
I'd better just invest in a mirrorless to save my back  laugh.gif
Don't know about you but mirrorless quality still leaves me wanting more. sad.gif Especially after paying so much for it.

If really want to save the back, I would rather forgo everything and simply rely on a cili padi like the Sony RX100. Really light weight and relatively superb performance from a small sensor.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 9 2013, 06:13 PM)
That's the part I butthurt the most sad.gif My panning shots at Sepang haih. 70200+TC2+CPL can make the AF hunt at times already :S.
Unfortunately, there's no free lunch with the TC2 especially on a zoom. You get decent performance when paired with primes like the 200, 300 etc.

Another option for long lens is to go for the new AF-S 80-400mm. Focus is quite fast. Apparently performs better than 70-200mm + TC2. But it's a whopping RM 7k plus. sweat.gif

I believe Albert posts some samples of it from time to time.
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 06:22 PM)
Don't know about you but mirrorless quality still leaves me wanting more. sad.gif Especially after paying so much for it.

If really want to save the back, I would rather forgo everything and simply rely on a cili padi like the Sony RX100. Really light weight and relatively superb performance from a small sensor.

I understand what you mean man laugh.gif
For me, its very hard to use back lower-end compacts after trying out FF tongue.gif Even though the shot can be decent, I always feel that it could be much better with a mirrorless, DX or FF! haha T____T

Played around with an NEX3 and NEX5 before and I think they're still okay la haha, still beats breaking my back haha~
The Sony RX100 or its successor seemed pretty gooding, even so when paired to an underwater casing for underwater shots drool.gif
But at the moment I'm more poisoned by Fujifilm mirrorless cameras~~
I hope Nikon up their mirrorless camera lineups soon hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 9 2013, 06:31 PM

130 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:44 PM