The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 04:06 AM

136 posts

Hi guys,

I wanna know, how do you guys actually buy lens?? I know I know, its a very retarded question. But I do need your personal opinion on this.

If I go buy a new lens from places such as shop lots or shopping centres/original Nikon shop, LowYat Plaza or etc. How you know it is really new?

For example, fungus doesn't really grow that fast right? And these shops, do they keep their lens in drybox or anything or do they just like take it off the shelf/display/storeroom which they do not keep in drybox and just sell it to us. I know that it will definitely look perfect on the spot, but what if it is already in the process of growing fungus or the microorganism has already started attacking the lens but cant be seen with the naked eye.

Hypothetically speaking as where we bought the lens on 1st day, then straight away already keep in the drybox, yet it still grow fungus. Then how?

Have any of you face such problems? Because today when I ask a camera shop about warranty, he said even with warranty, they do not cover fungus. Since Malaysia weather is quite humid.

I just want to be a cautious and smart consumer. Well, I think you all know that Malaysian policies are quite different compared to other countries.

Thanks =)

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Oct 9 2013, 04:14 AM
AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 12:20 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 10:09 AM)
I don't think new lenses will have any problems with fungal contamination since they are perfectly sealed right out-of-factory without exposure to any external environments.
For fungi to grow, the lens have to be exposed to fungal spores (which are everywhere in the air), followed by good growing conditions (humidity) for growth  hmm.gif
So the plastic that covers over the lens is sealed tight preventing air from going in?? What if open box and it is already exposed and they say its like that

AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 01:15 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 12:23 PM)
I'm not sure whether its the same for cameras. But in notebooks, the box will come with a sealed sticker, once torn, its considered opened  hmm.gif

I think there's no real need to worry so much when you buy from reputable sellers  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hmmm... Im bit skeptical. Imagine they just take it right off the shelf and put it in the box and sell it to you. isn't that already exposed to open air for quite some time already? My dad bought a D90 right off the display shelf, and I was like WHAT and so happen it was the last unit. Because can say we dont know how long it has already been exposed right or whether they got properly stored it or anything.

Btw, who are the recommended sellers for Nikon stuff??

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Oct 9 2013, 01:19 PM
AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 05:08 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
That's why its best to buy from trusted sellers nod.gif
You can also check the shutter count if you want to see if its used nod.gif

But whether the seller tampers with the sealed sticker or not really depends on how trustworthy that seller is lo hmm.gif

For Nikon, I usually deal with Yannick Camera: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yannick-Came...7834827?fref=ts

Can look for digitalfm14 and CreativePhoto in Garage Sales too  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok thanks.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 9 2013, 01:43 PM)
This is approaching the paranoid level already I think, most camera shops are air conditioned, hardly a suitable environment for fungus la, even with the lens/body exposed for some time.  doh.gif

I think with open box units you should be more worried about ex-prospective buyers abusing the lens in store, but then again most lenses are made to last, not get messed up with 5 minutes of handling.
Ya, Im actually quite paranoid on certain things especially since Im still very new to photography. Well, one of the many reasons is that Im still a student, therefore, money is kinda hard to come by =).

Do you guys meet up in groups and head for a photoshooting quest?
AuraSapphire
post Oct 9 2013, 06:45 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM)
I understand what you mean man laugh.gif
For me, its very hard to use back lower-end compacts after trying out FF  tongue.gif Even though the shot can be decent, I always feel that it could be much better with a mirrorless, DX or FF! haha T____T

Played around with an NEX3 and NEX5 before and I think they're still okay la haha, still beats breaking my back haha~
The Sony RX100 or its successor seemed pretty gooding, even so when paired to an underwater casing for underwater shots  drool.gif
But at the moment I'm more poisoned by Fujifilm mirrorless cameras~~
I hope Nikon up their mirrorless camera lineups soon  hmm.gif
Heard that my dad said my neighbour is using a Fujiflim xe-1, he says so far its the best for him when it comes to white balance and colour is great for him
AuraSapphire
post Oct 28 2013, 12:19 AM

136 posts

hey guys, quick question, what do you guys use for your cleaning kit?? Is just a lenspen enough or do I need to get proper set of cleaning kit?

AuraSapphire
post Oct 31 2013, 03:25 PM

136 posts

Ehh, may I ask, usually people send lens for cleaning right?? Is it because of fungus or do they not trust themselves cleaning the lens?

AuraSapphire
post Oct 31 2013, 03:37 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 31 2013, 03:27 PM)
Normally fungus.
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 31 2013, 03:27 PM)
Do you have the confidence to open up a lens by yourself to clean it??  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Jokes aside, yeah, mostly they send is for cleaning out dust or fungus.
I see I see, thanks. So lets say if I were to buy a 2nd hand lens. And the owner has sent for cleaning before. Is it still ok to buy?? I mean like, is the optical quality still ok and all?? Since the fungus has been there before, it has already damaged the coating right? Or not necessarily so?

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Oct 31 2013, 03:38 PM
AuraSapphire
post Oct 31 2013, 04:01 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 31 2013, 03:48 PM)
Depends on whether the lens is actually sent for fungus cleaning or not. After that is finding out the extent of the fungus growth and whether the cleaning has severely affected the coating.

Minor cleanings won't affect the coating in a noticeable way but if the fungus has taken hold the cleaning process will probably remove the coating as well.
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 31 2013, 03:55 PM)
i rememver the slip for my 70-300 fungus cleaning description is...
"cleaned fungus, have stains "

by the way, the KLCC one slip don't have report detail of my item condition ...hmm...
i basically like got a full report detail of my item where got fixed and where need to take attention, like my D70s i go peek their report paper got list down

"scratched body, USB port got rust"

but my 24-70 have only "normal service done" on the slip, duno that fungus is minor or major... sweat.gif

by the way how to check flaws on the glass especially just done cleaning?
Then in such cases, it is safe to say better avoid it?? How do you guys feel about the AF-D 80-200mm?? Im quite on a tight budget or the Tamron 70-200mm VC (Import) set is better?? Mind sharing your opinions?? I would actually get a Nikon 70-200mm VRII but that just cost way too much for me XD.. haha

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Oct 31 2013, 04:02 PM
AuraSapphire
post Oct 31 2013, 08:29 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Oct 31 2013, 04:10 PM)
nikon 70-200mm f4 VRIII le?

this lens still in my wish list  drool.gif
That lens still cost like 4k right?? Can get Sigma or Tamron 2.8 import set right?

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 31 2013, 04:12 PM)
The AFD is a really nice lens, bloody fast AF even with a D7000. Of course, without VC you might have some trouble with it in low light la  brows.gif

The Tamron VC on the other hand is really fast, AF speed on par with Nikon's VRII except for some slight hesitation with focus activation (usually happens in low light, tested with my D7000 last time)

Best bet would be to save up for the one you really want though.  icon_idea.gif
I see I see, Haha.. to save up for the VRII, its gonna like take 10 months of not eating . Hahah.

QUOTE(seather @ Oct 31 2013, 04:22 PM)
tested a 2nd hand AFD 80-200mm once.. i can say the optics are on par with the latest 70-200 VR2...

plus it is solidly built even better than the VR2...  (n for RM2.5k it is quite a steal)

i suspect my VR2 will die 1st or about the same time with this lens...  sweat.gif
Maybe not. I think sometimes just see luck whether you get the good ones ya?

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 31 2013, 05:06 PM)
80200 two touch is a tank laugh.gif

If you can find the AF-S version even better smile.gif
Ya, I saw kenrock review say that its built is very solid. But Kenrock recommend that you use the AFD rather than the AFS version saying that he AFD version is stronger built.
AuraSapphire
post Oct 31 2013, 11:36 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 31 2013, 11:04 PM)
Me me, I have the 80-200 AFD two touch, the optics are nice, and the built quality is, well like others have mentioned, built like a tank, albeit a little soft at 2.8, AF is quite nice too with D7000, hunts a bit la when the light is really low, but I think that's D7000's AF problem.

Cons: Too heavy, a bit CA wide open in high contrast area(easily fixable in PP though), hmmm I think that's about it.. It's really a bargain for the price now, considering that it used to be a pro lens in its times, for beginners like us its more than enough.

I'm letting mine go, feel free to check my thread in my siggy below if you're interested =p Prefer primes myself, noticed that I always stick to 80mm n walking around in that FL and ends up stressing myself, no point carry that heavy tank around but don't utilize it fully.  tongue.gif
Wow, very good price indeed. But kind skeptical about shipping camera lens. Feels like no matter how well it is packaged, theres sure some way it might get screwed up XD. haha
AuraSapphire
post Nov 1 2013, 11:33 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 1 2013, 11:01 AM)
So u mean our camera and lenses that ship from japan or thailand will be screw up no matter how well pack? tongue.gif
hahahah... That might be a different case XD.. haha.. If you put it that way, kinda sounds like so safe XD
AuraSapphire
post Nov 1 2013, 09:23 PM

136 posts

hi guys, do you have like gatherings where you go out to snap photos?? Kinda interested XD .. My shots are terrible.. hahaha. need to learn from many sifus here
AuraSapphire
post Nov 2 2013, 01:24 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 1 2013, 09:24 PM)
maybe wait for december CF event then got little yam cha session?  unsure.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 1 2013, 09:31 PM)
, on Flickr

From last year tongue.gif
I see I see. KL group or ?? Do let me know =). Very interested to trying shooting in a group.
AuraSapphire
post Nov 3 2013, 08:23 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 3 2013, 05:23 PM)
Well, I still prefer the 50mm + extension tube combo more than the dedicated macro lens, especially for small insects  laugh.gif
Good thing about macro is that it can be really cheap to start learning happy.gif
Wow, those are very awesome shots. What settings do you use?? i always ponder how do you guys get such beautiful and bright image with nice tones of colours.

May I ask? What is the feeling when you use a actual macro lens and lens + macro extension tube?? Any much difference?

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Nov 3 2013, 08:25 PM
AuraSapphire
post Nov 4 2013, 01:57 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 3 2013, 10:58 PM)
I shoot with ISO400, 1/250, F16 with flash fired at (1/32) for almost all of my shots. Will adjust ISO or distance of flashgun according to need, but that's about it laugh.gif
I suppose the best way to get better shots is to go out into gardens or forests to look for more interesting subjects (just like how portraits need lengloi models tongue.gif). People love to see something more refreshing I suppose tongue.gif

As for the dedicated macro lens (assuming 105mm here) vs 50mm + ET, it depends on what you are shooting~ If you love to shoot small, moving subjects like jumping spiders, the 50mm + ET is a much better choice (assuming the spider is not super alert; luckily most salticids aren't XD) since you can get much closer, and you can see clearer through your viewfinder whether the subject (usually the eyes) are in focus or not before you fire nod.gif

The 105mm's advantage is that it can be used to produce 1:1 shots relatively farther away from the subject, which can also be a big drawback when you are shooting something small (even worse when its moving), since you cannot tell what is in focus since the subject is already too small to start with laugh.gif

My hit rate for a 50mm + ET is almost 80% or higher... as for the 105mm.. LOL, let's just say I need more practice XD
You are still so young bro, save slowly and keep shooting, and you'll be upgrading in no time happy.gif
Enjoy the process, that's more important!  notworthy.gif
Try Foto-Shangri La at SS14? The one beside KFC.
Their prices ( digitalfm14 in Garage Sales) are often the cheapest in town, perhaps can try from there  laugh.gif
feels like I need you teach me to do it XD. I was also planning to buy the Meike ET to try out macro. Does it matter much getting the kenko one? No right?
AuraSapphire
post Nov 4 2013, 06:12 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 4 2013, 04:08 PM)
Ops, thanks for the correction man, appreciate it!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Wah, great find! Bathing also can see this kind of damselfly  wub.gif
Looks like a female Agriocnemis pygmaea (Wandering Wisp). I've yet to see one  laugh.gif
Feel free to ask if you have any questions, will try to help  icon_rolleyes.gif

gunzerdude sifu is right, it depends on which lens you intend to pair with your ET. If its something heavy (say 700g-1kg), might be worth investing in Meike or Kenko nod.gif If you're only pairing it with a 50mm (which is an extremely good combo for the price), then cheap extension tubes will do icon_rolleyes.gif

My Kenko ET worked well at Autofocusing with the 105mm as opposed to the 50mm, but still, I'd still prefer manual focusing most of the time  tongue.gif
Thanks =). Appreciate the help offered =).

Off topic, I will take a wild guess of Pool E ...ahahaahaha .. most far fetch price
AuraSapphire
post Nov 8 2013, 10:45 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 8 2013, 10:09 PM)
for you all MACRO kaki.... show you my SIFU  photo... http://www.flickr.com/photos/alextkt/10735945076/ hahahaha my sifu for portraiture and everything else except macro.. cos I got no patience smile.gif
For me, I think its so close that its kinda hard to see that its a fly. IMHO.

Anyway, very nice shot =) indeed. What setup he uses??
AuraSapphire
post Nov 8 2013, 11:14 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Nov 8 2013, 07:57 PM)
Fuhhhhhh, complete newbie buying a D7100, wish I was that confident in myself when I started out, then would have saved quite alot from less upgrading already laugh.gif
haha, I wished my dad would have gotten something slightly newer than D90, maybe like D7000 perhaps. But then again, 9 months ago I wasnt so interested in photography yet XD.
AuraSapphire
post Nov 9 2013, 01:45 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Nov 9 2013, 12:08 AM)
That's one of the reasons I'm horrified  laugh.gif Never thought the sucker is shaped like a heart  rolleyes.gif

Some of the things in those album I've done before, but the difference in quality is far from it la, especially the level of magnification as well.

Wonder how many times lifesize he's working with, as well as the amount of photos needed to stack so that everything is in focus. 5X you're already barely getting anything in focus even at stupid small apertures.
Im actually quite horrified too. Somethings I dont think its wise to get that up close

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 9 2013, 12:13 AM)
hehehe... I think he said around 20x ? cant recall.. long time no yumcha with him after his BB born..

he has been shooting macro ever since I know him .. . . around 2007..

this series i like most... http://www.flickr.com/photos/alextkt/5483580993/
Nice shot but its kinda scary for me XD.. He setup is also damn pro la XD. hahahaha.. There are so many levels of macrography eh?

0.0640sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:51 PM