98 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

Proton Suprima S

chemistry101
post Sep 10 2013, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 10 2013, 10:59 PM)
I wonder why since Proton went for the electronic boot release, they didn't also put a button on the hatch itself like Contis and certain Japanese cars.

Even the Myvi have a (cable operated) latch on the hatch so that users can open the boot without having to use the remote or open the driver side door.

Just a personal preference. Probably if Proton did that they will be bashed as well when ppl complain the boot will then be able to be opened from the outside....
You got the point ! biggrin.gif
dtna7
post Sep 10 2013, 11:34 PM

456 posts

I wonder why since Proton went for the electronic boot release, they didn't also put a button on the hatch itself like Contis and certain Japanese cars.

Even the Myvi have a (cable operated) latch on the hatch so that users can open the boot without having to use the remote or open the driver side door.

Just a personal preference. Probably if Proton did that they will be bashed as well when ppl complain the boot will then be able to be opened from the outside....
QUOTE(chemistry101 @ Sep 10 2013, 11:31 PM)
You got the point !  biggrin.gif
This is not rocket science. It's been there for ages.

Go check out how it works at other cars and you'd realize how futile the defensive stance you're trying to build for Proton. doh.gif
dares
post Sep 10 2013, 11:40 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Sep 10 2013, 11:34 PM)
This is not rocket science. It's been there for ages.

Go check out how it works at other cars and you'd realize how futile the defensive stance you're trying to build for Proton.  doh.gif
What defensive stance? what are you implying?

I was not defending Proton for not implementing the boot release latch on the hatch itself, if that's what you're thinking.

I was wondering why they didn't, that's all.
abot84
post Sep 10 2013, 11:50 PM

To cut cost? Since you have already enough options to open the boot (key fob and driver side switch). And the scenario where you have to open the boot through the rear seats are quite rare (your battery won't die on you every other day unless you're an idiot who leaves the lights on all the time). Also I may have read somewhere about people bashing Proton for using old school boot release and wanted electronic for the "premium-ness". Proton can never win sweat.gif

Btw, my boot is a bit hard to open even after I released it (by both key fob and switch). It was easier the first couple of days. Now I had to push the key fob button and pull the boot at the same time. Need to get SC have a look at it during 1k service. Hmm..this is the kind of fit and finish issues Proton really need to work on. You can't just compete with other global automakers with performance and ride and handling alone. At the end of the day overall user experience including the small things matters a lot.
Volt
post Sep 11 2013, 04:02 AM

Battery Low
671 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Sep 9 2013, 08:23 PM)
handling goes with stability c'mon.  doh.gif
unless you car is just gonna go straight all the way. try manoeuvring a heavy car that has crappy suspension and prove to me how stable you can be in that car.

A lot of factors goes into a good handling car, hence more stable.
and by saying heavy = more stable is just pure ignorant claim.

I rest my case.
lol im just saying this because i usually drove a Hiace at my workplace and when speeding with load, the driving felt more solid. I was surprise how easy to achieve 140kmp when there is load inside the van. but the down side of this is the handling, it take a lil bit effort to take tight corners because the steering felt heavy.

So why did i said that heavy = more stable is true, because you wont feel floating if you drive fast. hence make the ride more stable.

mat79
post Sep 11 2013, 09:39 AM

1,011 posts

about the hard to open boot, im deeply sory to hear that. dunno whether its related with adjustment made to the latch due to open boot problem bfore(yup,they take action on complaint), or just a simple reallignment or grease needed.

but i do agree,a big agree on this aint supposed to happened,n prtn shud take the blame.

on latch or button or keyhole to open boot,i have to agree that many other cars have better implementation including using sensors n etc. but to reduce cost,at the same time giving a bit sense of premium,and at the same time to fullfil Thatcham insurance uk safety intrussion requirements for euro market, thats why no keyhole or button being put. and it did actually given high rating by thatcham insurance on that matter.

to reduce cost,give a bit sense of premium n still fullfil the requirement,its something that hard to do. the easiest way n cheapest,use keyhole,but that is consider moderate by thatcham standard, use sensors with button, a bit high in cost,put in latch,easily to open by anyone,not fullfil the requirement.

but personal preference,button on the dash,rather pull button inside door pocket. but thats mean need to change the lower part of dash design a bit,maybe cost a bit higher compare to current placement.
kukakoko
post Sep 11 2013, 02:18 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Sep 11 2013, 09:39 AM)
about the hard to open boot, im deeply sory to hear that. dunno whether its related with adjustment made to the latch due to open boot problem bfore(yup,they take action on complaint), or just a simple reallignment or grease needed.

but i do agree,a big agree on this aint supposed to happened,n prtn shud take the blame.

on latch or button or keyhole to open boot,i have to agree that many other cars have better implementation including using sensors n etc. but to reduce cost,at the same time giving a bit sense of premium,and at the same time to fullfil Thatcham insurance uk safety intrussion requirements for euro market, thats why no keyhole or button being put. and it did actually given high rating by thatcham insurance on that matter.

to reduce cost,give a bit sense of premium n still fullfil the requirement,its something that hard to do. the easiest way n cheapest,use keyhole,but that is consider moderate by thatcham standard, use sensorsĀ  with button, a bit high in cost,put in latch,easily to open by anyone,not fullfil the requirement.

but personal preference,button on the dash,rather pull button inside door pocket. but thats mean need to change the lower part of dash design a bit,maybe cost a bit higher compare to current placement.
so suprima already went to UK for thatcham evaluation ?

This post has been edited by kukakoko: Sep 11 2013, 02:19 PM
EP6CDTM
post Sep 11 2013, 05:43 PM

14 posts

my new car has no button or keyhole to open the bonnet too tongue.gif
Max
post Sep 11 2013, 06:27 PM

1,705 posts

button inside side pocket to prevent kids from pressing it?
mat79
post Sep 11 2013, 06:31 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(kukakoko @ Sep 11 2013, 02:18 PM)
so suprima already went to UK for thatcham evaluation ?
yup,they had also send it to mira uk 4 crashtest,compare idiada last time.
petrofsky77
post Sep 11 2013, 07:07 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

Dunno what the fuss is all about with electronic boot release switch. Yeah i admit it needs some time to get used to (before i was used to cable release so when you pull the lever there is some tension on the lever until u hear the 'thuck' sound indicating that the boot is now open). On the SS, I have tried it, and even though there is no physical tension on the switch, you will have to keep on pressing it until the 'thuck' sound is heard. Same concept, different methods. My current car does not have any boot release lever inside the car at all.
AmenoJaku
post Sep 11 2013, 07:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Sep 11 2013, 07:07 PM)
My current car does not have any boot release lever inside the car at all.
Let me guess. A VW?
dares
post Sep 11 2013, 08:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Sep 11 2013, 07:18 PM)
Let me guess. A VW?
Myvi also unsure.gif
travelmate2440
post Sep 11 2013, 10:47 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 11 2013, 08:14 PM)
Myvi also  unsure.gif
hehehehehe.... lu tak baik ah, Daris.
petrofsky77
post Sep 11 2013, 11:05 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Sep 11 2013, 07:18 PM)
Let me guess. A VW?
QUOTE(dares @ Sep 11 2013, 08:14 PM)
Myvi also  unsure.gif
Where got money to go an buy VW. Using Nissan only lah ...
mrhaz
post Sep 12 2013, 10:02 AM

283 posts

so any official suprima owners tered yet?

TSruffstuff
post Sep 12 2013, 10:44 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(mrhaz @ Sep 12 2013, 10:02 AM)
so any official suprima owners tered yet?
I think got one thread in car clubs.
----------

Anyway, why no 17" for Suprima S?

R3 limited edition.

15 "(RM1860) & 16" (RM2110).
mrhaz
post Sep 12 2013, 12:04 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 12 2013, 10:44 AM)
I think got one thread in car clubs.
----------
Anyway, why no 17" for Suprima S?

15 "(RM1860) & 16" (RM2110).
i believe they will come with 17" and 18" soon brows.gif

~Rogue~
post Sep 12 2013, 12:37 PM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

still waiting for my car plate number ><
mrhaz