126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V14

Lego_Jason
post Aug 16 2013, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 16 2013, 11:21 AM)
If you use non-rechargeables, the depleted batteries are still good enough for other devices like alarm clocks, remote controls (tv, aircond, etc.), and even LED-torchlights. But then, you will have a lot of these batteries, and you can MOC like this:  rolleyes.gif

That is why I opt for re-chargeables, but due to lower voltage, I need to put in 7-8x instead of 6x. Hence, my MOC on battery pack couple of months ago.
Now, I want to use 9V DC adapter, since some of the stuff don't run far, like the excavators.

test-meter can get anywhere, normally I goto Pasar Road, Pudu in KL. Branded one is like Fluke. Yes, those with two cables, normally black and red.

Test meter quite useful, can test many things. AC or DC voltage. from 0.xxx to 1000V, even for cheapo ones.
Can test Amp, Ohm resistance, simple broken cable test, etc. Can use for home electrical also (don't simply plug into the 240V AC if don't know what you want to test  tongue.gif  )

When motor run slow, I just recharge the whole 6-8x lots of batteries. Quite conclusive on low-batt most of the time.
Very rare I check it often. But sometimes useful to isolate out a single faulty/flat battery, as it can cause the entire battery pack problem.
icon_rolleyes.gif
For general usage around the house and for your toys don't need to get Fluke, the price will make you faint! haha! rclxub.gif

Lately I tried a very cheap brand "UNI-T", a digital multimeter cost me RM52. tongue.gif So far so good...

Yeah, don't go poking those probes into 240V AC if you don't know what you're doing! laugh.gif

However, battery voltage is only a general indicator of the battery's state of charge. Voltage cannot tell you the battery's "health status", ie. its ability to store the charge. For that the simple way is to get a smart charger and analyzer, I've been using this brand for many years and I am led to believe it is one of the best around...

Maha PowerEx MH-C9000 Battery Charger and Analyzer

This is sold by Shashinki, a local online seller of photographic gears. Very established and reliable, DSLR kaki will know of them. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 16 2013, 11:38 AM
tanghm
post Aug 16 2013, 11:57 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:13 PM)
hmm clearer picture.. green thingy.. the shaft will bend when the boom is lift up =x, the gears will detached like the one on red, have to push the red gear back to position.. so that the boom can extend.. any idea what did I do wrong X_X
[attachmentid=3584262]
[attachmentid=3584263]
I dont have a 42009 but from the picture you shown and the online assembly guide I'm looking at right now, it looks like the beam is incorrectly installed.

Check the part highlighted in red from Book 6 Step 53

The black axle is not supposed to be bend like that, in fact no axle should be bent at all.
vey99
post Aug 16 2013, 12:17 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

where got selled 10228 Haunted House?
i wanna buy one...
cute_boboi
post Aug 16 2013, 12:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 16 2013, 11:37 AM)
For general usage around the house and for your toys don't need to get Fluke, the price will make you faint! haha! rclxub.gif

Lately I tried a very cheap brand "UNI-T", a digital multimeter cost me RM52. tongue.gif So far so good...

Yeah, don't go poking those probes into 240V AC if you don't know what you're doing! laugh.gif

However, battery voltage is only a general indicator of the battery's state of charge. Voltage cannot tell you the battery's "health status", ie. its ability to store the charge. For that the simple way is to get a smart charger and analyzer, I've been using this brand for many years and I am led to believe it is one of the best around...

This is sold by Shashinki, a local online seller of photographic gears. Very established and reliable, DSLR kaki will know of them. nod.gif
LOL ... I don't have Fluke either tongue.gif been dreaming of owning one, but over-kill. I'm using cheapo China-brand digital test-meter <RM50 only rolleyes.gif As long can give me some readings, not for commercial use, is ok already.

Nice, will check out the charger. Bulk-CS anyone ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 16 2013, 11:57 AM)
I dont have a 42009 but from the picture you shown and the online assembly guide I'm looking at right now, it looks like the beam is incorrectly installed.

Check the part highlighted in red from Book 6 Step 53

The black axle is not supposed to be bend like that, in fact no axle should be bent at all.
You did the homework for him thumbup.gif
As I suspected in my earlier reply to him.
icon_rolleyes.gif

faish888
post Aug 16 2013, 12:29 PM

A few new hauls... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by faish888: Aug 16 2013, 12:30 PM
hades4eve
post Aug 16 2013, 12:29 PM

193 posts

Will GP 2700mAh better than this? I used before GP brand and its quite good for high powered drainage electrical stuff..

This post has been edited by hades4eve: Aug 16 2013, 12:41 PM
Lego_Jason
post Aug 16 2013, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 16 2013, 12:21 PM)
LOL ... I don't have Fluke either  tongue.gif been dreaming of owning one, but over-kill. I'm using cheapo China-brand digital test-meter <RM50 only  rolleyes.gif  As long can give me some readings, not for commercial use, is ok already.

Nice, will check out the charger. Bulk-CS anyone ?  tongue.gif
You did the homework for him  thumbup.gif 
icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha! Yeah I also dream of owning a Fluke but really overkill! doh.gif

No need to do CS la for the charger, just order direct from Shashinki. Free shipping above RM50. icon_rolleyes.gif

Their service is pretty good (don't know if it's still the same now), my current charger is actually a replacement. The first one malfunction after a few months, I suspect it was due to my sister's batteries which exploded after I left it to charge overnight. tongue.gif (She was using cheapo batteries) Wrote to Shashinki and they sent me a replacement, no questions asked. I sent the faulty charger back to them at their cost.

This is a very good charger, give it a try. Only thing I miss here is the ability to charge C. D and 9V batteries but since AA and AAA covers most devices I survive so far with those AA to C/D size adapters if ever needed. nod.gif

Their Maha brand batteries are not bad either, I feel that it is 'stronger' than Eneloops but overall I still love the cool white and colourful Eneloops. laugh.gif
wintzen
post Aug 16 2013, 12:38 PM

1,416 posts

Latest in BBT Gardens, tinggal 1 AA and 1 Winter Village Cottage. Lotsa Horizon Express though.
Lego_Jason
post Aug 16 2013, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(faish888 @ Aug 16 2013, 12:29 PM)

Uber yummy haul! rclxms.gif

Pls pm me price of Iron Man polybag, was planning to import but might as well save me the trouble... haha!

And I see Modular Buildings! drool.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 16 2013, 12:29 PM)
Will GP 2400mAh better than this? I used before GP brand and its quite good for high powered drainage electrical stuff..
No offense but GP so so only... If you want real battery performance check out Eneloop and Maha. Many more brands out there that are way better than GP... icon_rolleyes.gif

With GP you get very good performance when the battery is fully charge but that tapers off... With Eneloop the performance is more consistent.

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 16 2013, 12:46 PM
paanjang16
post Aug 16 2013, 01:39 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:13 PM)
hmm clearer picture.. green thingy.. the shaft will bend when the boom is lift up =x, the gears will detached like the one on red, have to push the red gear back to position.. so that the boom can extend.. any idea what did I do wrong X_X
[attachmentid=3584262]
[attachmentid=3584263]
Like someone else mentioned, you seem to have wrongly positioned the yellow technic beam. The black axle should not bend like in the photo. Instead it should be going straight like the photo attached.

aba9785
post Aug 16 2013, 01:59 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

i like maha charger but sort of prefer eneloop battery...
the eneloop should of outperform my maha in dslr speedlight usage...
but i think both should perform well in lego

QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 16 2013, 12:17 PM)
where got selled 10228 Haunted House?
i wanna buy one...
brickbastion whistling.gif

Will GP 2700mAh better than this? I used before GP brand and its quite good for high powered drainage electrical stuff..
the GP is good when u wanna use it right away charge
the maha powerex n eneloop is the low self discharge type...
where it still contain 80% after few month
zemperor
post Aug 16 2013, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 15 2013, 11:02 PM)
MOC ar?
haha... no lah...
just buy it for RM60 if not mistaken...
or maybe that 'thing' not a garage, is a casing...
sorry for any misunderstanding...

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 15 2013, 11:25 PM)
both can be spinned easily, just that the red part always run out of place have to adjust back everytime the boom goes up and down
QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 16 2013, 12:08 AM)
I can see in the photo there is a very noticeable bend in your black axle. Is it supposed to be like that? I have not build my set but I doubt Lego intend for the axle to be like this in their original design... Better watch out, my daughter broke an axle like this when she was only 3yrs old.
QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Aug 16 2013, 01:39 PM)
Like someone else mentioned, you seem to have wrongly positioned the yellow technic beam. The black axle should not bend like in the photo. Instead it should be going straight like the photo attached.
a lot of technic taikun here to help...
maybe there is somewhere wrong at the connection between the crane and the body(the part build with book 4-5)

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 16 2013, 11:21 AM)
If you use non-rechargeables, the depleted batteries are still good enough for other devices like alarm clocks, remote controls (tv, aircond, etc.), and even LED-torchlights. But then, you will have a lot of these batteries, and you can MOC like this:

That is why I opt for re-chargeables, but due to lower voltage, I need to put in 7-8x instead of 6x. Hence, my MOC on battery pack couple of months ago.
Now, I want to use 9V DC adapter, since some of the stuff don't run far, like the excavators.

test-meter can get anywhere, normally I goto Pasar Road, Pudu in KL. Branded one is like Fluke. Yes, those with two cables, normally black and red.

Test meter quite useful, can test many things. AC or DC voltage. from 0.xxx to 1000V, even for cheapo ones.
Can test Amp, Ohm resistance, simple broken cable test, etc. Can use for home electrical also (don't simply plug into the 240V AC if don't know what you want to test)

When motor run slow, I just recharge the whole 6-8x lots of batteries. Quite conclusive on low-batt most of the time.
Very rare I check it often. But sometimes useful to isolate out a single faulty/flat battery, as it can cause the entire battery pack problem.
For general usage around the house and for your toys don't need to get Fluke, the price will make you faint! haha!

Yeah, don't go poking those probes into 240V AC if you don't know what you're doing!

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 16 2013, 12:21 PM)
LOL ... I don't have Fluke either  tongue.gif been dreaming of owning one, but over-kill. I'm using cheapo China-brand digital test-meter <RM50 only  rolleyes.gif  As long can give me some readings, not for commercial use, is ok already.

Nice, will check out the charger. Bulk-CS anyone ?
You did the homework for him
QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 16 2013, 12:37 PM)
Haha! Yeah I also dream of  owning a Fluke but really overkill!

No need to do CS la for the charger, just order direct from Shashinki. Free shipping above RM50.

Their service is pretty good (don't know if it's still the same now), my current charger is actually a replacement. The first one malfunction after a few months, I suspect it was due to my sister's batteries which exploded after I left it to charge overnight. tongue.gif (She was using cheapo batteries) Wrote to Shashinki and they sent me a replacement, no questions asked. I sent the faulty charger back to them at their cost.

This is a very good charger, give it a try. Only thing I miss here is the ability to charge C. D and 9V batteries but since AA and AAA covers most devices I survive so far with those AA to C/D size adapters if ever needed. nod.gif

Their Maha brand batteries are not bad either, I feel that it is 'stronger' than Eneloops but overall I still love the cool white and colourful Eneloops.
QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 16 2013, 12:43 PM)
Uber yummy haul!

Pls pm me price of Iron Man polybag, was planning to import but might as well save me the trouble... haha!

And I see Modular Buildings! drool.gif  rclxms.gif
No offense but GP so so only... If you want real battery performance check out Eneloop and Maha. Many more brands out there that are way better than GP...

With GP you get very good performance when the battery is fully charge but that tapers off... With Eneloop the performance is more consistent.
thanks for all the info about batteries...
maybe i'll get my first rechargeable AA batteries in future...
Mr. Alby
post Aug 16 2013, 02:15 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Aug 16 2013, 11:13 AM)
i tot reach 20k limit? or Lego selling more than 20k sets?
QUOTE(bloodghost @ Aug 16 2013, 11:16 AM)
lol, u surf S@H every day  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Caryane @ Aug 16 2013, 11:26 AM)
Hahaha S@H is your 2nd home huh?  biggrin.gif
S@H is my playground... tongue.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 16 2013, 02:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I used GP 2500/2700 mAh before also. Yes, it is good and longer lasting after a full charge. The only disadvantage:
If you do not use the battery for 1 month, you need to do full charge of 6-8 hours (at least that long with my GP charger for 4x AA). By that time, no mood/time to play Lego already yawn.gif

That's why I'm into Sanyo Eneloop now, but max is about 2000-2200 mAh only for similiar AA battery. Good enough for me.
icon_rolleyes.gif

tanghm
post Aug 16 2013, 02:29 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I'm using Eneloop too, never charge for months already and my 9398 still crawling hahaha.
yhlee12
post Aug 16 2013, 02:35 PM

tiny build lately.. got a thing with space theme... maybe cause that's the theme i played with the most those days.. biggrin.gif

heng84
post Aug 16 2013, 02:48 PM

307 posts

Noted with thanks!! Love u guys to the max !This forum here many hawk eyes thank you so much , guess I shouldn't rush my work!! For the price of the crane is definitely worth it man! Heavy box and of course super huge after fixing them up, takes me 1 week+ to build too noob haha , the tower of orthanc only 2 days for me to siap..crane take longer cos I did many errors have to take apart n Pasang again haha

This post has been edited by heng84: Aug 16 2013, 02:55 PM
scoop7
post Aug 16 2013, 02:49 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Aug 16 2013, 02:35 PM)
tiny build lately.. got a thing with space theme... maybe cause that's the theme i played with the most those days..  biggrin.gif

nice mini mech
Lego_Jason
post Aug 16 2013, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 16 2013, 02:01 PM)
haha... no lah...
just buy it for RM60 if not mistaken...
or maybe that 'thing' not a garage, is a casing...
sorry for any misunderstanding...
a lot of technic taikun here to help...
maybe there is somewhere wrong at the connection between the crane and the body(the part build with book 4-5)
thanks for all the info about batteries...
maybe i'll get my first rechargeable AA batteries in future...
You should start using rechargeable batteries starting from today. nod.gif Do it for the sake of our environment. thumbup.gif

With the prices of low self discharge batteries now there is really no advantage in using single use batteries unless you really need the full 1.5V from each batt.

Charger is a one time cost, invest in a good one and you'll be happily charging all batteries from any brands. Don't have to match charger brands with batteries. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Aug 16 2013, 02:15 PM)
S@H is my playground... tongue.gif
You have to invite us to your playground la... such an exclusive club... whistling.gif

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 16 2013, 02:48 PM)
Noted with thanks!! Love u guys to the max !This forum here many hawk eyes thank you so much , guess I shouldn't rush my work!! For the price of the crane is definitely worth it man! Heavy box and of course super huge after fixing them up, takes me 1 week+ to build too noob haha , the tower of orthanc only 2 days for me to siap..crane take longer cos I did many errors have to take apart n Pasang again haha
You dived into the deep end if this is your first Technic set! lol! laugh.gif thumbup.gif

You can't rush through a Technic build like how you do with regular bricks... Just remember, you NEVER have to apply excessive force when connecting the pins or pieces. If you find yourself doing that and forcing things to come together then something is wrong somewhere and you should stop and check. Also make it a habit to check your build every so often, turn the gears to check for free play etc.

And axle are always going to be straight! lol! laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Seriously
post Aug 16 2013, 03:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(faish888 @ Aug 16 2013, 12:29 PM)

thanks for the base plates! rclxms.gif

126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top