335 posts

QUOTE(zennan83 @ Jul 27 2013, 10:43 AM)
New ARCHITECTURE set: 21050

full of white bricks lol~ anyone? laugh.gif
Nice set, but with this set can I build this? brows.gif

I think there is a slight possibility since there is this "Slope 45 2 x 2 Double Convex" piece which I can use for the corners. shocking.gif I wonder how much this set will cost once it reaches here. Architecture sets are expensive but come with nice box and booklet. Tempted to get 1 architecture set but it is sooo expensive.

Now for some vintage sets: The grandfather of the Fire Brigade: 6385 Fire House. Comes with 2 fireman and 1 women which usually stay back in the office and oversee the operation of the station.

The back is open.

The office is not that empty with 2 telephones and 2 computers.

Ever wonder how does the Fire Brigade looks like next to its grandfather?

paanjang16
post Jul 29 2013, 11:55 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(elementz @ Jul 29 2013, 11:33 PM)
Here's the update as promised..

Spoiler for big image.. If small can't read the wordings.. Sorry for any inconvenience.. unsure.gif

All together got 7 displays..

Display 1 - The Garbage Masher

Display 2 (Didn't get a picture due to the crowd.. It's basically a light saber duel between Darth Vader and Obi Wan if i'm not mistaken..  tongue.gif )

Display 3 - Superlaser Control Room

Display 4 - The Death Star Is Operational

Display 5 - Superlaser Tube (Can't see anything but reflection of my camera.. So better no need post..  tongue.gif )

Display 6 - The Death Star Trench Run

Display 7 - The Emperor's Downfall (This is the display posted by ryucando)

Am I the only here who feel that the Star Wars display at LLM is a huge letdown judging from the photos?

Does LLM know that our weather is hot and humid and putting a display like that OUTDOORS is inviting disaster? Like the trash compactor display, due to the humidity got condensation inside. Plus there is no shade at all from the sun and rain. doh.gif

When I heard there is a Star Wars display, I was expecting something like this http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2012/04/star-...goland-windsor/.
paanjang16
post Jul 31 2013, 10:02 PM

335 posts

Just COD with one seller just now... I think my wishlist for 2013 is nearly complete with this haul. sweat.gif

It is none other than....

My haul for this few months so far.... non including the Chima, Palace Cinema and Mearsk train and creator hauls during the early part of the year. Some I have yet to open the box sweat.gif

paanjang16
post Aug 3 2013, 04:54 PM

335 posts

Opened my Mk2 box already. The box is pack to the brim sweat.gif Imagine the box same size as the modular building but with 2600 parts, or which 10 of them are rubber tires, 1 battery box, 1 motor and 6 instruction manuals.

Now building the chassis of the crane which came in 15 bags labelled no. 1 shocking.gif . I think by tonight will be done with the chassis. Tomorrow will be the crane structure itself and completion, depending on my pace.
paanjang16
post Aug 4 2013, 02:24 AM

335 posts

After about 6 to 7 hours I think, I only left the boom and last booklet. It is HUGE! Much bigger than the 8258 I build last time. But slightly easier since got numbered bags where-else 8258 has no numbered bags.

To continue tomorrow morning. yawn.gif

paanjang16
post Aug 4 2013, 10:14 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Aug 4 2013, 09:01 AM)
I guess someone cannot tahan considering someone said gonna brick it during Raya... tongue.gif
Raya time I want to maybe build the haunted house and retake my modular buildings again, so may not have time to build this MK2. Also, the poison was too great as well. sweat.gif

So great in fact Iwoke up earlier than usual on a Sunday to complete it. As always with building large technic sets, my fingers hurt after pressing all those technic pins. icon_question.gif

So here you have it, fully completed and running! There were a couple of errors like using a grey beam instead of black, wrongly applied a sticker and inserting the technic pin the wrong way. Only found out after I finish the section and it is too much to dissemble to undo the mistake. But so long it does not hurt the operation of the crane I just let it be.

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Aug 4 2013, 09:10 AM)
Last 2 days went to LLM because I want to try Iftar there, to see SW miniland & the night view...
Unfortunately, they didn't light up on that Friday night...pfffttt...However, the buffet was great considering its only RM45 for the annual pass member.
I think they should do lunch as well for weekends only.

Anyway...just bought few stuff. Mostly for the kids... biggrin.gif

I see the variety of stuff sold in LLM has improved tremendously compared to the last time I was there. So many stuff now!

paanjang16
post Aug 4 2013, 05:40 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(capm @ Aug 4 2013, 12:46 PM)
Any taikun here got 10189 Taj Mahal? How big is the build?
From what I have heard, very very repetitive. Not surprising since there are 4 similar minarets, a large 4 sided base and the way the building is actually is.

QUOTE(ilfort @ Aug 4 2013, 02:02 PM)
yes bro, join HT. Lol and Sideshow. Hahaha
Hot Toys don't really interest me that much... they look like overpriced highly detailed dolls. Then they seem to occupy an even larger space than Lego, atleast Lego can dissemble. Then got too many variants icon_question.gif

Still not kena poison by Hot Toys yet hahah.
paanjang16
post Aug 7 2013, 06:22 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 7 2013, 02:41 PM)
Houston, we have a problem

One-to-one direct copy from LEGO theme?
I bought one KO Ninja Ice dragon set to compare with my original Ninjago Ice dragon set. The similarities are almost the same except that the Lego version has superior quality. In other words, this particular KO brand sucks! I made a video review some time back to compare the 2.

At first glance the KO and the ori has very little difference!

Then there is this Enlighten set which is vey similar to another set that Lego has produced.

QUOTE(bloodghost @ Aug 7 2013, 04:11 PM)
they got MKII too, after less rm810!

http://brickbastion.com/store/mobile-crane-p-779.html
Wah, official one already arrived! thumbup.gif But the RRP is RM 899.00. sweat.gif
paanjang16
post Aug 7 2013, 11:56 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Aurora @ Aug 7 2013, 07:26 PM)

never owned a KO set before. Does it has lego logo on the stud as well?

A little competition isn't bad, they just have to come up with new part design, new color, keep up quality (less color variation on pieces), more unique design/parts per package. Printed parts, anyone? biggrin.gif
I owned a few KO sets such as Enlighten, Sluban, Star Diamond and the brand of bricks for the KO Ice Dragon. So far the ones with the best quality is Star Diamond, followed by Sluban, Enlighten and other brands. Only Star Diamond has the "STAR" word in the stud, the rest do not have.

For Sluban the quality was actually OK. Some of the designs are original like this middle school set that they have produced. Prior to the Friends middle school set there wasn't any Lego City school being produced by Lego.

Enlighten while there are some original and attractive designs their brick quality is still far from perfect. In the off-road fire truck set one or two of the bricks have sharp flashing on the bricks. Then of course Enlighten will do sets which Lego will never do like a tank with suspension! But the quality was a letdown; got missing bricks and imperfect bricks.

Then there is this Enlighten pirate ship.... it came with all the bricks, but one or two bricks have sharp edges. But then got chrome weapons and the fact it is a black sea barracuda which Lego has not produced anymore!

As for competition from this KO bricks, I think it is fantastic that we have these got KO bricks to keep Lego at its feet.

This post has been edited by paanjang16: Aug 7 2013, 11:56 PM
paanjang16
post Aug 11 2013, 01:03 AM

335 posts

Some photos I took just now

MK2 crane. It is wayyyyy bigger than I had anticipated.

Haunted house. Very nice with glow in the dark figures!

paanjang16
post Aug 11 2013, 07:22 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(photoshutterz @ Aug 11 2013, 10:29 AM)
Nice setb
wonder how long u took to complete the MKII... tongue.gif
Took 1 and a half days to build it, approx 9 hours to build. If start in the morning can finish in 1 day.

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 11 2013, 02:18 PM)
pic spam!

The alternate model for the 8070 looks cooler than the main model. The best part is the automatic roof!

If you want to build construction vehicles there is a whole range of vehicles to collect sweat.gif cranes, backhoes, wheel loader, bulldozer, dump truck etc. So better to stick to technic flagships only.

QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 11 2013, 04:13 PM)
I've been doing this over the long weekend.
Done a V6 engine mod onto my 9398 rockcrawler.
[attachmentid=3577377]
[attachmentid=3577383]

By using 3 universal axle joint to transfer the rotation power from the front motor, to a gear on the chassis. The gear from the V6 engine can then be detached when the chassis is flipped up.
[attachmentid=3577379][attachmentid=3577381][attachmentid=3577382]

Comments are welcomed smile.gif
Nice! Very "hot rod" like!

Old photo of my other Technic collection, 8448, 8258, 8053 and 8275. Three of them were dissembled long ago and the red car is in its alternate mode. Tempted to rebuild the 8053 to put it side by side with my 42009.
paanjang16
post Aug 13 2013, 07:52 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Aug 13 2013, 12:04 PM)
Hey guys I'm currently in America now. If any of you wants/ needs lego set from America, do PM me. I'll charge only an additional $12 on the retail price. Current credit card conversion is $1=RM3.32.  Subject to availability of space and weight and if I can find them.

Do let me know asap as I will be hunting some lego for myself in the next few days in New York. Last date for orders 16.8.2013. Btw, receipt will be provided to prove retail price. Thanks.
wow, you're going to go to this Lego Store at Rockefeller Center? drool.gif
http://stores.lego.com/en-us/stores/us/rockefeller-center

The only thing I can think of getting from there is the New York minifig key chain http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=853309-1 laugh.gif Also got the yellow cab polybag, but polybag is not my kind of stuff http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=40025-1

Then if can find 21050 Architecture Studio I may be tempted to get it.
paanjang16
post Aug 16 2013, 01:39 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:13 PM)
hmm clearer picture.. green thingy.. the shaft will bend when the boom is lift up =x, the gears will detached like the one on red, have to push the red gear back to position.. so that the boom can extend.. any idea what did I do wrong X_X
[attachmentid=3584262]
[attachmentid=3584263]
Like someone else mentioned, you seem to have wrongly positioned the yellow technic beam. The black axle should not bend like in the photo. Instead it should be going straight like the photo attached.

paanjang16
post Aug 18 2013, 01:15 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Aug 18 2013, 12:47 AM)
10236 Ewok village review out.

http://www.fbtb.net/2013/08/16/yub-nub-rev...6-ewok-village/

Aye or nay?? hmm.gif Mr. Alby sudah order ka?
Both the Ewok village and Sydney Opera House has been released for VIP members. The Opera House looks tempting... sweat.gif any Taikun here already ordered the Opera House I wonder?

0.0585sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:36 PM