128 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

humblebro
post Jul 15 2013, 07:09 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 15 2013, 03:14 PM)
it's hassle for some employers to get experienced, hands on, certain skill set and knowledgeable worker, understand of others work style, used to company working environment.. So they prefer to retain the employee (who would like to resign).. So the best solution is by counter offer 30-40% from new offer.. If new salary offer is about 40%, and counter offer is 30%.. your new salary is actually about 80% higher than the old salary.. brows.gif

I'm always looking for 30-40% min adjustment to jump...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Damn, you are good! Should write a book "shortcut to get high pay"... wink.gif bravo bro... I read an article today, "Performance matters, Impression don't".. Any comment? Why an employer needs to counter offer if an employee is well proven as a performer? Why wait till he/she resigns? That'll look bad on both parties. Don't u think?
nash9701
post Jul 15 2013, 10:48 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 15 2013, 03:14 PM)
it's hassle for some employers to get experienced, hands on, certain skill set and knowledgeable worker, understand of others work style, used to company working environment.. So they prefer to retain the employee (who would like to resign).. So the best solution is by counter offer 30-40% from new offer.. If new salary offer is about 40%, and counter offer is 30%.. your new salary is actually about 80% higher than the old salary.. brows.gif

I'm always looking for 30-40% min adjustment to jump...  icon_rolleyes.gif
If current company counter offer 30% but the new company you want to jump is one of the "big sisters" with 10%-20% increment, which one you will choose?

(^__^)
H.K. Lee
post Jul 15 2013, 11:33 PM

159 posts

To all sifu,

How is the OnG industry in sabah? is it booming? any opportunity?..
mangoman
post Jul 15 2013, 11:33 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

There is a saying that, "Be loyal to your company but never die for a company". smile.gif
mhyug
post Jul 15 2013, 11:34 PM

1,551 posts

huaaa were jumping these past few post hehehe.

anyway thats the theme we get in the v5. cant tell how tranquil is now after i made my 1st jump. work is still hard, greasy and everything else but the heart is content and when i get back home there is a fulfillment about it. smile.gif

klein
post Jul 16 2013, 06:28 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 15 2013, 06:59 PM)
Sounds like it's happening or happened to you abgkik? wink.gif
You must be the "hard to be replaced" one...
jilat jangan x jilat
humblebro
post Jul 16 2013, 07:22 AM

47 posts

Here's a good article:

http://www.careerealism.com/work-ethic-make-more-money/
abgkik
post Jul 16 2013, 08:51 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 15 2013, 06:59 PM)
Sounds like it's happening or happened to you abgkik? wink.gif
You must be the "hard to be replaced" one...
I'm kuli only... office boy.. it's happen everywhere...

you need to know what is "hard to be replaced" term.. this term apply to good drilling engineer, that is why one of my friend salary is USD 1000/day.. wink.gif

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 15 2013, 07:09 PM)
Damn, you are good! Should write a book "shortcut to get high pay"... wink.gif bravo bro... I read an article today, "Performance matters, Impression don't".. Any comment? Why an employer needs to counter offer if an employee is well proven as a performer? Why wait till he/she resigns? That'll look bad on both parties. Don't u think?
bro.. it is not shortcut to get high pay.. it is market rate.. promotion for well proven performer does not mean they will receive 'market rate' salary.. sometimes you no need to resign, you just need to highlight about it if you have balls..

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jul 15 2013, 10:48 PM)
If current company counter offer 30% but the new company you want to jump is one of the "big sisters" with 10%-20% increment, which one you will choose?

(^__^)
Depends on individual.. example: maybe in next 10 years, if the offer come from KL and I want to settle down, have more time with wife and kids.. I will choose new company.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jul 16 2013, 09:11 AM
DuFfz
post Jul 16 2013, 10:18 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jul 12 2013, 08:30 PM)
Just want to share this info from my friend. DO NOT PM ME ABOUT DETAILS. TQ
Thanks for the info bro.. icon_rolleyes.gif
codefuturama
post Jul 16 2013, 11:34 AM

80 posts

Hye all pros.

Just want to get some expert views. Recently I received an offer from MMHE for graduate trainee programme. Should I accept this offer or wait for other opportunity? I am a little bit nervous in making my first step in this industry. My career goal is to join drilling later in my career.

Thx!
abgkik
post Jul 16 2013, 12:27 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(codefuturama @ Jul 16 2013, 11:34 AM)
Hye all pros.

Just want to get some expert views. Recently I received an offer from MMHE for graduate trainee programme. Should I accept this offer or wait for other opportunity? I am a little bit nervous in making my first step in this industry. My career goal is to join drilling later in my career.

Thx!
You still can pursue your drilling job while working.. however, kindly check the employment contract, maybe there is clause mentioned on 'bond'
abgkik
post Jul 16 2013, 12:28 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Jul 16 2013, 06:28 AM)
jilat jangan x jilat
Fasting month.. cannot simply jilat... laugh.gif laugh.gif
codefuturama
post Jul 16 2013, 12:41 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 16 2013, 12:27 PM)
You still can pursue your drilling job while working.. however, kindly check the employment contract, maybe there is clause mentioned on 'bond'
There are 20 months training programme. If successfully completed the training with excellent record, then will be bonded for two years. Is it a go? Currently I am also waiting for interview result from SK. Think I performed well in the interview. Plus, the interviewer mentioned that I may join other department such as drilling after one year working. Should I wait or just go with MMHE?

Thx! smile.gif
abgkik
post Jul 16 2013, 12:54 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(codefuturama @ Jul 16 2013, 12:41 PM)
There are 20 months training programme. If successfully completed the training with excellent record, then will be bonded for two years. Is it a go? Currently I am also waiting for interview result from SK. Think I performed well in the interview. Plus, the interviewer mentioned that I may join other department such as drilling after one year working. Should I wait or just go with MMHE?

Thx! smile.gif
As long you can resign without penalty during 20 months training programme should be fine. Check on notification period of resignation. Your training with monthly salary right?

NaShRiCk
post Jul 16 2013, 02:49 PM

252 posts

Hi. I'm going to graduate soon by June 2014 with a degree in Geomatic Engineering. I would like to involved working in O&G industry. From my knowledge, my field in O&G industry is related to survey, mapping and navigating. So can u advice me the route I should take to apply for O&G company.

My target is to work with Western Gecko under SLB.. But I think next year there's no job opening I must say.

This post has been edited by NaShRiCk: Jul 16 2013, 02:51 PM
TSazraeil
post Jul 16 2013, 03:06 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Jul 16 2013, 09:49 AM)
Hi. I'm going to graduate soon by June 2014 with a degree in Geomatic Engineering. I would like to involved working in O&G industry. From my knowledge, my field in O&G industry is related to survey, mapping and navigating. So can u advice me the route I should take to apply for O&G company.

My target is to work with Western Gecko under SLB.. But I think next year there's no job opening I must say.
It should be Western Geco by the way, a Gecko is a lizard .... blush.gif

You can work in the operators as well such a Petronas, Shell or Exxon because there are not a lot of people doing Geomatics and yes, the companies need Geomatics specialist to monitor the vendors such as Western Geco, Polaris, CGG veritas are doing a proper job of seismic acquisition. You also may need to come up with the seismic acquisition plans and programs. Lots of opportunities.
NaShRiCk
post Jul 16 2013, 03:15 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 16 2013, 03:06 PM)
It should be Western Geco by the way, a Gecko is a lizard ....  blush.gif

You can work in the operators as well such a Petronas, Shell or Exxon because there are not a lot of people doing Geomatics and yes, the companies need Geomatics specialist to monitor the vendors such as Western Geco, Polaris, CGG veritas are doing a proper job of seismic acquisition. You also may need to come up with the seismic acquisition plans and programs. Lots of opportunities.
Sorry for my error. Anyway thank you for your comment and advice..
How about the interview conducted by them. Can you explain more about it to me. Their regular questions and activities to candidates.
As far as I know, one question they will ask is that would i use the same plate that were used to served bacon. tq
TSazraeil
post Jul 16 2013, 03:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Jul 16 2013, 10:15 AM)
Sorry for my error. Anyway thank you for your comment and advice..
How about the interview conducted by them. Can you explain more about it to me. Their regular questions and activities to candidates.
As far as I know, one question they will ask is that would i use the same plate that were used to served bacon. tq
Seriously, if you berkira about this kind of thing, then maybe you'll have issues working internationally.
NaShRiCk
post Jul 16 2013, 04:00 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 16 2013, 03:55 PM)
Seriously, if you berkira about this kind of thing, then maybe you'll have issues working internationally.
Haha.. no lah bro. im fine with it.. i just want to know the perfect answers for it.. and what other question they may ask.. smile.gif
TSazraeil
post Jul 16 2013, 04:14 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Jul 16 2013, 11:00 AM)
Haha.. no lah bro. im fine with it.. i just want to know the perfect answers for it.. and what other question they may ask.. smile.gif
I would expect (if they do ask ... though I wonder why they would ask these kind of questions) would a big NO. No, I have no issues.

128 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:29 PM