128 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

humblebro
post Jul 12 2013, 11:01 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 11 2013, 05:20 PM)
Errkkk ... bro .. insyaallah. Now aiming for 7 digit annual salary for my next opportunity ... hopefully everything goes well.
7-digit is like, million?!? WoW!! Unbelievable..!!
Tell me one thing bro, how shd we climb the ladder? We perform very well and impress our bosses? Or can we just work like 'so-so' and claim that we worked very hard during appraisals? My point is, will someone really notice if you are doing good job and will you be rewarded fairly?
pandikar
post Jul 12 2013, 11:16 PM

229 posts

Errkkk ... bro .. insyaallah. Now aiming for 7 digit annual salary for my next opportunity ... hopefully everything goes well.
Bro Azraeil, are you coming back to Msia for that luxurious 7-digit annual salary? smile.gif

Ps: how's ramadhan over there this year bro? fasting time got longer & longer eh?
x0x
post Jul 12 2013, 11:32 PM

92 posts

7 digit USD or MYR ? Insane bro, only experienced expat rate can achieve this..how long u've been workin
E Crew
post Jul 13 2013, 12:26 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 13 2013, 12:16 AM)
Bro Azraeil, are you coming back to Msia for that luxurious 7-digit annual salary? smile.gif

Ps: how's ramadhan over there this year bro? fasting time got longer & longer eh?
where is he right now ? blink.gif
camel_active
post Jul 13 2013, 09:22 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(fird1289 @ Jul 9 2013, 04:19 PM)
One quick question, can graduate from computer engineering join oil and gas field? I'm really interested in this field but I'm from computer engineering background. Dunno whether they accept it or not sad.gif
yup..can..my senior project controller's background is computer engineering..
skinnyboy
post Jul 13 2013, 01:18 PM

248 posts

i heard from a manager from oil and gas company that they normally hire mechanical, material, process engineer... i am studying cad/cam... and he said when work in this field, almost start from 0 knowledge which mean gonna suffer from the beginning? one last thing... any relevant subject is mostly used in this field?
mhyug
post Jul 13 2013, 02:47 PM

1,551 posts

define "suffer". and then you may have a better chance.

abgkik
post Jul 13 2013, 09:32 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Jul 13 2013, 12:26 AM)
where is he right now ?  blink.gif
Saudi... If I'm not mistaken.. hmm.gif
In my view.. Cross border is one of a way to achieve good income..
Example: your skill set in Singapore market may around SGD 15k, but in Malaysia maybe around RM 18-20k only.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jul 13 2013, 09:49 PM
abgkik
post Jul 13 2013, 09:41 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 12 2013, 11:01 PM)
Tell me one thing bro, how shd we climb the ladder? We perform very well and impress our bosses? Or can we just work like 'so-so' and claim that we worked very hard during appraisals? My point is, will someone really notice if you are doing good job and will you be rewarded fairly?
Demand with your proven skill.. wink.gif become talent and asset of the project or team or company.. Become someone that'll be hard to be replaced.. High earner in oil & gas industry is always in demand in the market.. They all are like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Safee Salee in the world of soccer.. sweat.gif
humblebro
post Jul 14 2013, 07:14 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 13 2013, 09:41 PM)
Demand with your proven skill..  wink.gif become talent and asset of the project or team or company.. Become someone that'll be hard to be replaced.. High earner in oil & gas industry is always in demand in the market.. They all are like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Safee Salee in the world of soccer..  sweat.gif
Nobody is indispensable, right? And how can you be more important than the other colleagues? Proven skill is also something that is very subjective I guess.. You may think that you have all the assets but in reality, you may be only one tenth... sad.gif (takut syiok sendiri lorr... Haha)

Abgkik, u earn close to 7-digits too? Awesome..
azerroes
post Jul 14 2013, 07:26 AM

No sorcery lies beyond my grasp
1,105 posts

seeing the discussion among you guys is really sweat.gif

right now i still struggling to get permanent position in petronas sweat.gif
thesnake
post Jul 14 2013, 10:29 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(azerroes @ Jul 14 2013, 07:26 AM)
seeing the discussion among you guys is really sweat.gif

right now i still struggling to get permanent position in petronas sweat.gif
why only aim for petronas? If not for my scholarship bonding obligation, I would have migrated long ago, now just getting exp and skillset for a few years first. Then fly like bro azeril flex.gif
TSazraeil
post Jul 14 2013, 12:22 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 12 2013, 06:16 PM)

No, moving to one of the biggest Independent oil company in its region. It was an upward promotion (in terms of salary and also in terms of position), it's a smaller company as compared to where I am now and my models would make better and faster impact. So basically moving from a VLCC to a more nimble Luxury Yatch blush.gif

I always have a principle that you only move when the package is 30-40% higher than what you are currently getting ... anyway, need to do medical and employment visa first. Once that is done, then it's a done deal.

Ramadhan here is long, breaking fast is at 6:30PM so not too bad but sahur is at 2:30AM because Subuh is at 3:20AM so you get really groggy in the morning because trying to wake up after sahur and subuh is not easy. Office hour is from 7AM to 1Pm so the wife is happy as I get to help her in the kitchen while she's preparing the buka puasa menu.
TSazraeil
post Jul 14 2013, 12:22 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(x0x @ Jul 12 2013, 06:32 PM)
7 digit USD or MYR ? Insane bro, only experienced expat rate can achieve this..how long u've been workin
This will be my 16th year in the industry.
ma_hard
post Jul 14 2013, 12:24 PM

24 posts

How to apply for jobs in oil & gas?

Any sifu can gv me some advice?
TSazraeil
post Jul 14 2013, 12:26 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 12 2013, 06:01 PM)
If you impress the bosses, the most you can get is a higher increment and maybe a faster promotion but your worth will only be seen in that company,those who works hard all the time and have a good attitude in taking new challenges would have gained the experiences and will be more valuable as his/her time in the industry increase. Other companies will value him more and will pay a good ransom to poach him away. You cannot cheat your way thorugh the industry. Other people or other companies will know your experience levels.
abgkik
post Jul 14 2013, 12:41 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Jul 14 2013, 07:14 AM)
Nobody is indispensable, right? And how can you be more important than the other colleagues? Proven skill is also something that is very subjective I guess.. You may think that you have all the assets but in reality, you may be only one tenth... sad.gif (takut syiok sendiri lorr... Haha)

Abgkik, u earn close to 7-digits too? Awesome..
Aiyooo.. Who ask you to be more important than other colleagues? doh.gif

skinnyboy
post Jul 14 2013, 12:57 PM

248 posts

is it cad/cam engineering can apply oil & gas?if so, which department more suitable for me? smile.gif
humblebro
post Jul 14 2013, 02:15 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 14 2013, 12:26 PM)
If you impress the bosses, the most you can get is a higher increment and maybe a faster promotion but your worth will only be seen in that company,those who works hard all the time and have a good attitude in taking new challenges would have gained the experiences and will be more valuable as his/her time in the industry increase. Other companies will value him more and will pay a good ransom to poach him away. You cannot cheat your way thorugh the industry. Other people or other companies will know your experience levels.
Thanks bro, inspirational...
humblebro
post Jul 14 2013, 02:18 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 14 2013, 12:41 PM)
Aiyooo.. Who ask you to be more important than other colleagues?  doh.gif
Ooo.. I thought that was the meaning of "hard to be replaced"... smile.gif

128 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled