Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

codefuturama
post Jul 16 2013, 04:38 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 16 2013, 12:54 PM)
As long you can resign without penalty during 20 months training programme should be fine. Check on notification period of resignation. Your training with monthly salary right?
Yes with monthly salary. What do you think of the experience gained during that period knowing that the company main business is fabrication? Will it be relevant especially if I want to jump ship to a company who actually do drilling?

Thx! smile.gif
klein
post Jul 16 2013, 05:43 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(codefuturama @ Jul 16 2013, 04:38 PM)
Yes with monthly salary. What do you think of the experience gained during that period knowing that the company main business is fabrication? Will it be relevant especially if I want to jump ship to a company who actually do drilling?

Thx!  smile.gif
It is very simple. If you do not have any offer and you are desperate for money, then take it. But do take note of the terms n conditions if you do resign during the training period. If you can afford to wait for ur interview result or desired offer, then wait la. Zzz.
meonkutu11
post Jul 16 2013, 06:32 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(codefuturama @ Jul 16 2013, 12:41 PM)
There are 20 months training programme. If successfully completed the training with excellent record, then will be bonded for two years. Is it a go? Currently I am also waiting for interview result from SK. Think I performed well in the interview. Plus, the interviewer mentioned that I may join other department such as drilling after one year working. Should I wait or just go with MMHE?

Thx! smile.gif
MMHE basically doing new building, repairs and conversion projects. Vessels and/or offshore platform (jacket and topside). I believe you will be familiarize yourself with the fabrication/construction process during the 20months tenure in MMHE. And I guess SK (SapuKencang, if i'm right) also have Kencana HL which they fabricate/construct their own drilling rigs. I think the drilling division is called KMD (or SKD). So, I dont know if they offer you on the drilling operation side BUT if you join their project team for the rig contruction (myb as a client rep), the knowledge that you gained in MMHE would be valueable for you.

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Jul 16 2013, 06:44 PM
twineffect
post Jul 16 2013, 09:25 PM

Guys, my elder brother planning to quit the Energy industry and join Oil & Gas. Hes into his 5th year as GT commissioning engineer and recently he received offer to be a Senior but his planning is to return to Malaysia and settle down. Hes aiming for Engineering Firm or Operator.

Question is where does he belong to in the OnG field? Can he join the field with his 5 years in commissioning?

I cant wait for his return, it has been too long.

This post has been edited by twineffect: Jul 16 2013, 09:26 PM
papoyapoy
post Jul 16 2013, 11:24 PM

Hi all.

I am a recent MEng Mechanical Engineering Graduate.

Did my internship with EMEPMI upstream function. Project office based at Ranhill Worley. So got a good exposure working with Client and Consultant. I know client pay handsome, in meeting consultant always kena marah kaw2. But I observed, your learning curve is steep as u join consultant / service provider which is something I think I want to have when I begin my career.

Currently I got 3 options

1. Got an offer as Associate Engineer with EMEPMI - Upstream, Surprisingly excellent pay for fresh grad
2. Offered a Graduate Engineer position with Petronas - Not sure which dept yet, but have a feeling kena masuk Downstream due to Rapid project taking off later, interviewed my seniors started working for Petronas last year, pays lower than XOM.
3. Got invitation to attend SRD with Shell - Asked for Upstream function, salary wise fresh grad I don't know.

I am tempted to accept XOM's offer and reject SRD from Shell and Petronas. Shell is taking so long to arrange interviews and whatnots due to high volume application. At this time being I think its smart to secure a job first rather than taking risk going to SRD and god forbids, fail.

To be honest what I really want is to join SLB. Get sent to remote places, sleep deprived, work my butt off and learn as much as I could while I'm young and adventurous. But SLB has yet to respond cry.gif

Need some insights from you pro people to help me make my decision. Should I settle with what I have or try even harder? By any chance anyone have contacts within SLB and dont mind sharing , I'd be glad.

Terima kasih.

nash9701
post Jul 17 2013, 12:44 AM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(twineffect @ Jul 16 2013, 09:25 PM)
Guys, my elder brother planning to quit the Energy industry and join Oil & Gas. Hes into his 5th year as GT commissioning engineer and recently he received offer to be a Senior but his planning is to return to Malaysia and settle down. Hes aiming for Engineering Firm or Operator.

Question is where does he belong to in the OnG field? Can he join the field with his 5 years in commissioning?

I cant wait for his return, it has been too long.
Got Honeywell, Siemens etc. Last my friend working with Alstom, always travelling (salary 5 digit), now settle down in KL with Siemens due to family, or perhaps can join client side...

(^__^)
nash9701
post Jul 17 2013, 12:53 AM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(papoyapoy @ Jul 16 2013, 11:24 PM)
Hi all.

Did my internship with EMEPMI upstream function. Project office based at Ranhill Worley. So got a good exposure working with Client and Consultant. I know client pay handsome, in meeting consultant always kena marah kaw2. But I observed, your learning curve is steep as u join consultant / service provider which is something I think I want to have when I begin my career. 

1. Got an offer as Associate Engineer with EMEPMI - Upstream, Surprisingly excellent pay for fresh grad
2. Offered a Graduate Engineer position with Petronas - Not sure which dept yet, but have a feeling kena masuk Downstream due to Rapid project taking off later, interviewed my seniors started working for Petronas last year, pays lower than XOM.
3. Got invitation to attend SRD with Shell - Asked for Upstream function, salary wise fresh grad I don't know. 
I am tempted to accept XOM's offer and reject SRD from Shell and Petronas. Shell is taking so long to arrange interviews and whatnots due to high volume application. At this time being I think its smart to secure a job first rather than taking risk going to SRD and god forbids, fail.

To be honest what I really want is to join SLB. Get sent to remote places, sleep deprived, work my butt off and learn as much as I could while I'm young and adventurous. But SLB has yet to respond  cry.gif 
Need some insights from you pro people to help me make my decision. Should I settle with what I have or try even harder? By any chance anyone have contacts within SLB and dont mind sharing , I'd be glad.
Terima kasih.
Sometimes you can't get everything u want at same time, perhaps u need to grab first whichever good for you...Exxon also good place to work with all standards, requirement etc. to adapt, if you like consultant, perhaps you can join EMRE after that, you can have worldwide network. Got experience, then can jump other places...

(^__^)
abgkik
post Jul 17 2013, 06:23 AM

2,140 posts

To be honest what I really want is to join SLB. Get sent to remote places, sleep deprived, work my butt off and learn as much as I could while I'm young and adventurous. But SLB has yet to respond  cry.gif 
Terima kasih.
Your case is similar to bro codefuturama... We can't predict the future.. IMO, work what u have now while looking for your dream career.. wink.gif

echobrainproject
post Jul 17 2013, 07:38 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Jul 16 2013, 04:00 PM)
Haha.. no lah bro. im fine with it.. i just want to know the perfect answers for it.. and what other question they may ask.. smile.gif
just to add on to what azraeil said.

why expect to give a 'perfect' answer?Most people think interviews are like school exams with a fixed answer. I blame our education system.
Interviews are to gauge you, and that question is not a technical question hence its to find out your values and your stand. Why dont you answer based on your values and your stand?

If I were Muslim and if I believe in the answer No, I would say No. If they were to tell me my opportunities might be affected because of the answer No, I would simply thank them for their concern for my wellbeing but tell them I do not see their worry as it is a small manageable issue in which I can find a way around. I'll bring one small plate in my backpack wherever I go. Problem solved. (Just because that is what I would be doing anyways. I believe in executing what you promise).

Thats the working world. There are bound to be problems, many small ones that takes our focus away from the main issue. Solve it, solve it for yourself, solve it for your colleagues, solve it for your boss.

side note: whoa they have BACON?!
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 09:20 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 14 2013, 12:26 PM)
If you impress the bosses, the most you can get is a higher increment and maybe a faster promotion but your worth will only be seen in that company,those who works hard all the time and have a good attitude in taking new challenges would have gained the experiences and will be more valuable as his/her time in the industry increase. Other companies will value him more and will pay a good ransom to poach him away. You cannot cheat your way thorugh the industry. Other people or other companies will know your experience levels.
Huh bro, I thot u already make the move... U r still young, with not much baggage around... so very mobile.
When people know what they are doing (like you), they will be very marketable. Of course the omptih can bullshit his way through and still idiots listen and take them... but with us, the majority of us really need the skill to move around. Go for that million cash in hand bro... Err... even now if you take all the benefits you got into consideration in your current co,u already got a 7 digit salary annually.... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Beckupp: Aug 14 2013, 06:08 AM
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 09:28 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(kripton888 @ Jul 15 2013, 11:55 AM)
any petrophysicist here?

how is the career like as a petrophysicist..i've no idea about it i just got off the phone and they said my position is petrophysicist. btw I'm PE fresh grad

how is the job nature and prospect in the ong industry.

appreciate ur info's sifuz
I call it a witch doctor...
Hmmm... at times, you can manipulate data to suit whatever you want to make believe... he he he...
U can interpret log signatures that look like oil into water, and water into oil... of course with justification....
And if u work around in the industry, u will see things that make u wonder...

But if you have proper experience and training, you will be in demand too... just like bro azrael

This post has been edited by Beckupp: Aug 14 2013, 06:09 AM
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 09:41 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jul 17 2013, 07:38 AM)

side note: whoa they have BACON?!
Common at the rigsite of many countries maaa....
What to do... got to live with it
So whne I have no choice, go to the rig and do not think of other things that they bake on the hot plate...
In this situation, if u think about all the non halal things u will never be able to eat...
At the rigsite, it is not something u can do...
It will involve safety...
U cant puasa all times and u need energy there...
W no energy, u might expose urself to danger and do not think safety at the rig is something u can take easy...

Find something that seems halal rclxub.gif
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 09:59 AM

111 posts

Hi all.

If I were u, I will go w XOM.. in the upstream dept... well, I believe if u want to look for better $, that is where it is compare to downstream.... Besides U were there too before... so at least u know somewhat on what to expect while there....

SLB will definitely gives u more $... and it seems that u are willing to work ur butts off without rest.. he he he... while young, u can do that...

But its ok to start off either in the service company side or operators...
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:06 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 15 2013, 03:14 PM)
it's hassle for some employers to get experienced, hands on, certain skill set and knowledgeable worker, understand of others work style, used to company working environment.. So they prefer to retain the employee (who would like to resign).. So the best solution is by counter offer 30-40% from new offer.. If new salary offer is about 40%, and counter offer is 30%.. your new salary is actually about 80% higher than the old salary.. brows.gif

I'm always looking for 30-40% min adjustment to jump...  icon_rolleyes.gif
This is what we think they would do logically...
But it is not what some are really doing.... 'They' dont seem to care about the 'oldies'...
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:13 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(codefuturama @ Jul 16 2013, 04:38 PM)

Thx!  smile.gif
Even tho the main business is fabrication, do they actually have drilling dept?
And the training u will receive will be on what? What relevance does it have to drilling?
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:15 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jul 14 2013, 10:29 AM)
why only aim for petronas? If not for my scholarship bonding obligation, I would have migrated long ago, now just getting exp and skillset for a few years first. Then fly like bro azeril  flex.gif
That's the way to go... whistling.gif
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:20 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Hawarizmi @ Jul 9 2013, 05:44 PM)
anyone heard of DHI Services ? mud-logger & formation evaluation client based company. any feedback or share on working environment there ?
Direct Hydrocarbon Indicator service....
Mud logger is one of the very important services to have at the rig but have the lowest pay...

Feedback on the service company working environment? Is that what u want?
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:25 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 10 2013, 12:50 PM)

Jet-lag lah ... just got back from taking the family for a short vacation in London .... British summer is cold (14C when I arrived .... what kind of summer is that .... got better at the end though).
Huh, I thot u wud prefer that that the heat...
It seems that you enjoy the heat more... he he he...
42 to 50 deg C??? notworthy.gif
Beckupp
post Jul 17 2013, 10:30 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Jul 1 2013, 11:35 PM)
Since it's so specific to only oil and gas industry and sounds like company's assets...just wondering are they more highly paid comparing to mechanical engineer?  hmm.gif

As far as I know.. yes
codefuturama
post Jul 17 2013, 10:33 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Beckupp @ Jul 17 2013, 10:13 AM)
Even tho the main business is fabrication, do they actually have drilling dept?
And the training u will receive will be on what?  What relevance does it have to drilling?
I believe it doesn't have anything to do with drilling. Probably going into fabrication tech and some project management. Think I already come into conclusion on this matter. Thanks all pros! biggrin.gif

128 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:02 AM