V11 - Property Prices Discussion, Intelligent debates only pls

Iceman74
post Jul 10 2013, 04:17 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 10 2013, 02:13 PM)
At least for now.

When you are young you have to option to choose whether to worry or should I use the proper word, PLAN to worry? You can choose to start planning today Or else the other way round is to worry in your old age.  smile.gif Most likely during that period of time you can do nothing about it.
Indirectly you are right but there are many type of ppls "worry",
some do research & take calculate risk worry
some just follow the buying trend worry
this 2 groups of ppls are way apart in different "worry"
Btw why old age must worry?
I know quite a numbers in late 60 above are still active in investing properties, they are my sifu whistling.gif
As long you are equipped with right attitude & farsighted, you as good as any others investors
Iceman74
post Jul 10 2013, 04:20 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(cockee @ Jul 10 2013, 03:44 PM)
This is right. So we have the 5% rich and 95% poor. But if u look at the supply and pricing side, maybe 80% is only affordable for the rich.
So it becomes a game of musical chair.. the rich buying among themselves.. looking for the next fool?
haha...why always said rich ppls = fools? If they are self make rich, they will not be at musical chair anymore now tongue.gif

QUOTE(Nomos @ Jul 10 2013, 03:50 PM)
Simply put, property prices went up because of credit. Take that away or limit its accessibility and you will see what happens.

You see as car prices rose, so did the hire purchase tenure. My parents laugh at todays generation paying 9 years for a car.

These have little to do with young people earning more.

We have always had high paying professionals in the country. Its nothing new. But theyre not the majority, far from it in fact.
isn't the Gov are doing it slowly & silently now laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jul 10 2013, 04:22 PM
pantaphei
post Jul 10 2013, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(EddyLB @ Jul 10 2013, 01:53 PM)
Just to offer the other side of the POV.....

Increase in Net Wealth is only possible if an investor takes the risk. If the investor is risk averse, then he has no chance of increasing Net Wealth in property. For the risk takers, although they have to live with higher risk, but they have the chance of increasing Net Wealth (or reducing).

Eg. Investor who are willing to take the risk in 2006/7 (like paikor), then the 5 properties have already giving returns of 2-3 fold. He is multi millionaire now. But investor who chose not to drown in debt in 2006/7, he is very safe and sleeps very well at night. But he didn't get the returns from the property boom.

So, all depends on individual's risk appetite. If you ask me how is the property market now, I would say 50-50 chance of either still going up, or it will go down. Risk takers will still go for it. And risk averse investors will wait and see
Ever watch the BBC series called "Vikings"? There's a saying in that show that makes a lot of sense and it's goes something like... "only start a battle if you're sure you'll win it" ... Same applies here... At 50:50 chance of going up... I think it's best to wait and see till the odds are better... 07/08 was the time when I was sure and went in... Now I'm just waiting for the next cycle to begin... Unfortunately and obviously there are some who entered late and are now finding it difficult to realise their paper profits... I think someone mentioned it earlier as "a fool looking for a greater one" biggrin.gif
barbabas
post Jul 10 2013, 05:14 PM

40 posts

Most discussions are heading right, bravo!

But don't forget about the policy makers group.
Think again, the high price is really due to the 'real demand' or the gov policies that blessed?

Are the land really scarce in our country? All the marketing DIBS bla bla financing 90% bla bla?

Don't forget, political influence too. We learned PESTEL, no? Every factors weight equally thus the discussion must not only based on the E.

kidmad
post Jul 10 2013, 05:16 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jul 10 2013, 04:17 PM)
Indirectly you are right but there are many type of ppls "worry",
some do research & take calculate risk worry
some just follow the buying trend worry
this 2 groups of ppls are way apart in different "worry"
Btw why old age must worry?
I know quite a numbers in late 60 above are still active in investing properties, they are my sifu  whistling.gif
As long you are equipped with right attitude & farsighted, you as good as any others investors
Why old age only worry? you said it yourself. No buy property no worry so when old ady continue to rent? Old living with only your
ReenaRina
post Jul 10 2013, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(kimsong @ Jul 10 2013, 01:44 PM)
He/she renting a house for RM2K/month? I think he or she must be crazy? Why don't rent a room? Why a house? Seriously, a room at RM250/month rental is still available, and it was not far from KL. smile.gif Just don't understand  sad.gif
Hahaha i can't rent a room because i have a husband and a son living with me. Guess it must be crazy for 3 of us to live in a room biggrin.gif

kidmad
post Jul 10 2013, 06:08 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Nomos @ Jul 10 2013, 03:50 PM)
Simply put, property prices went up because of credit. Take that away or limit its accessibility and you will see what happens.

You see as car prices rose, so did the hire purchase tenure. My parents laugh at todays generation paying 9 years for a car.

These have little to do with young people earning more.

We have always had high paying professionals in the country. Its nothing new. But theyre not the majority, far from it in fact.
Why would your parents laugh when ppl took a 9 year loan for hire purchase? I've changed 3 cars in 6 years and all of em I took 9 years. What's the problem? maybe you should enlighten me. The most I lost as compared to others would be a couple of thousand when I try to sell them back to the bank but my banking account is cash loaded I have no problem doing that. In 6 years time I did twice early settlement for my hire purchase and once for my home loan. Taking longer tenure period loan does not mean it's a stupid move to begin with. Especially when you know what exactly you can do with your money. smile.gif
ngaisteve1
post Jul 10 2013, 06:41 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Today i attended a seminar by Super Mortgage Reduction (SMR). They claim that follow their SMR plan, can save interest 50% and repayment period 50%. Anyone tried before?
agentdiary
post Jul 10 2013, 08:18 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(AmayaBumibuyer @ Jul 10 2013, 03:40 PM)
Well you mistaken in what I am trying to say here. All necessities are going up right now compared to a few years ago, food, oil etc not just properties. Not that they always go up.

And why gold went down? Because we cant eat gold and we cant live in it. But hey, gold can still go up.

That was why car price in Malaysia are still the way it is in Malaysia, expensive like hell although they are crap. Because it is a neccessity to all Malaysians except me.
U have misunderstood between pricing on normal goods and leverage assets. The later is complex and depend largely on the messy of rate and servicing it. That is why debts level and econ performance matter.

agentdiary
post Jul 10 2013, 08:21 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 10 2013, 06:08 PM)
Why would your parents laugh when ppl took a 9 year loan for hire purchase? I've changed 3 cars in 6 years and all of em I took 9 years. What's the problem? maybe you should enlighten me. The most I lost as compared to others would be a couple of thousand when I try to sell them back to the bank but my banking account is cash loaded I have no problem doing that. In 6 years time I did twice early settlement for my hire purchase and once for my home loan. Taking longer tenure period loan does not mean it's a stupid move to begin with. Especially when you know what exactly you can do with your money.  smile.gif
9 yrs? Wow. U r the victim of our poor economy.
Currently it appear normal simply bcoz of the super low intetests.

EddyLB
post Jul 10 2013, 08:23 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(pantaphei @ Jul 10 2013, 04:58 PM)
Ever watch the BBC series called "Vikings"? There's a saying in that show that makes a lot of sense and it's goes something like... "only start a battle if you're sure you'll win it" ... Same applies here... At 50:50 chance of going up... I think it's best to wait and see till the odds are better... 07/08 was the time when I was sure and went in... Now I'm just waiting for the next cycle to begin... Unfortunately and obviously there are some who entered late and are now finding it difficult to realise their paper profits... I think someone mentioned it earlier as "a fool looking for a greater one" biggrin.gif
I guess you are not the risk taker type of investor. Safe, steady, unemotional and clear sight of your objective thumbup.gif

I like risk. But not to the extend of blindly buy. Just last year, I was very bearish. But after Euro crisis became clearer, this year I have made some moves. Maybe I know how much backup I have, and I have experienced quite a few downturn before. I think the risk now is worth it for my situation.

hondaracer
post Jul 10 2013, 08:37 PM

1,614 posts

🎁🎁🎁🎉🎉🎉
From Star today

KUALA LUMPUR: A total of 100,000 houses will be built under the 1Malaysia Civil Servants' Housing Programme (PPA1M) nationwide, said Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa.
He said besides Putrajaya, the Government would identify strategic locations in the capital and major centres, including in Sabah and Sarawak, to expand the programme.

"The project will be implemented once it is approved by relevant authorities," he told reporters after opening the Parent Teacher Association Carnival and new facilities at Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan (SMK) Damansara Utama here Sunday.

He was commenting on a call from Cuepacs to the federal and state governments to provide medium-cost houses, priced RM250,000 or below, for civil servants.

Ali said the first phase of the PPA1M programme involving the construction of 10,366 houses was launched in Putrajaya by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in April.

The PPA1M provides public housing with a minimum floor area of between 1,000 and 1,500 sq ft at a price of between RM150,000 and RM300,000.

Meanwhile, Ali said the Putrajaya PPA1M had received an encouraging response with 105,000 applications received to date.

Successful buyers are only required to pay for the houses once they are completed and not while work is still in progress. - Bernama
Iceman74
post Jul 10 2013, 09:03 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 10 2013, 05:16 PM)
Why old age only worry? you said it yourself. No buy property no worry so when old ady continue to rent? Old living with only your
You really newbie in investing world. Age is just a number, depend on how well your planning is. Some ppl start invest late, some early and some very late.
Depend on the person priority in life. A person must learn how to earn $$ in order to generate most $$(the seed of investing). And that is "working" not investing at beginning.
You my friend, overdone your investing time.

Ps, If you want to know
my parent currently living in a condo that we(siblings) brought, so can live nearby with my bro & sold off theirs.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jul 10 2013, 09:06 PM
cheraspeople
post Jul 10 2013, 09:08 PM

756 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 10 2013, 06:08 PM)
Why would your parents laugh when ppl took a 9 year loan for hire purchase? I've changed 3 cars in 6 years and all of em I took 9 years. What's the problem? maybe you should enlighten me. The most I lost as compared to others would be a couple of thousand when I try to sell them back to the bank but my banking account is cash loaded I have no problem doing that. In 6 years time I did twice early settlement for my hire purchase and once for my home loan. Taking longer tenure period loan does not mean it's a stupid move to begin with. Especially when you know what exactly you can do with your money.  smile.gif
It is still not a wise choice when u take 9 yrs loan and yet only used the car for 2 years (3 cars in 6 years) but paid for 9 years interest. In fact in many cases people going for 9 years loan is because they simply can't afford higher repayment. Anyway, i won't laugh at those people because it is bad to look down on people.
Nomos
post Jul 10 2013, 09:22 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(cheraspeople @ Jul 10 2013, 09:08 PM)
It is still not a wise choice when u take 9 yrs loan and yet only used the car for 2 years (3 cars in 6 years) but paid for 9 years interest. In fact in many cases people going for 9 years loan is because they simply can't afford higher repayment. Anyway, i won't laugh at those people because it is bad to look down on people.
Nah its not laughing at people, they just find the whole situation so ridiculous yet people now accept it as the norm. Different gen - what can we say? In their time, four years was too long. Kidmad you're very fortunate to be able to settle early. I think the majority out there cant - they just move from one car loan to another.
kimsong
post Jul 10 2013, 10:13 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ReenaRina @ Jul 10 2013, 06:07 PM)
Hahaha i can't rent a room because i have a husband and a son living with me. Guess it must be crazy for 3 of us to live in a room biggrin.gif
It is still possible if you have a big room (like a master bed room) and a baby. My family and I, three of us, lived in a medium sized room for months! Back to your situation, if you have extra rooms, you may want to consider to rent them out.
Dern
post Jul 10 2013, 10:42 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jul 10 2013, 07:03 AM)
But the cheerful thg is most ddd predicted a downward adjustment of more than tat. Tats y the waiting game is nvr ending and buying game nvr started for some.
can i ask something ? and why is the "waititng game" sounds so anxious to you or all the UUU people(since all of you "already owns tonnes of properties) ? it's like you "worry for others"...as you know many people are selfish by nature, what makes you different ? ONLY property agents behave and talk "such way". or maybe these days flippers or desperate investors perhaps.... laugh.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Jul 10 2013, 10:51 PM

13,760 posts

QUOTE(Dern @ Jul 10 2013, 10:42 PM)
can i ask something ? and why is the "waititng game" sounds so anxious to you or all the UUU people(since all of you "already owns tonnes of properties) ? it's like you "worry for others"...as you know many people are selfish by nature, what makes you different ? ONLY property agents behave and talk "such way". or maybe these days flippers or desperate investors perhaps.... laugh.gif
Haha gd guess. Keep it up. Gd day boss.
Dern
post Jul 10 2013, 10:51 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Jul 10 2013, 10:05 AM)
Hmmm........ As far as I can remember.... The last 8-10 yrs (or it could be more) every yr is also peak price..... So if I'm going to or shld avoid the highest price like some ppl always like to advise, I think I still own nothing till now.....  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
that is your own problem, REALLY. this words of yours might only be applicable to you not the thousands of people out there....some who behave like your thoughts, most probably are now trapped in their own stupidity, servicing high costs og monthly installments or even better, their property got lelonged... laugh.gif

for those out there, dont let your own pride which will in time become your mistake make your life suffer. it is property agents DUTY to make you feel greeedy and think property price will never dropped and that you are stupid if you dont buy property like those "herd" of investors did. BUT, once you trapped in property price downfall, you know you cant escape for good icon_rolleyes.gif
kidmad
post Jul 10 2013, 10:53 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Nomos @ Jul 10 2013, 09:22 PM)
Nah its not laughing at people, they just find the whole situation so ridiculous yet people now accept it as the norm. Different gen - what can we say? In their time, four years was too long. Kidmad you're very fortunate to be able to settle early. I think the majority out there cant - they just move from one car loan to another.
Well put it in this way. If you know how to use your money wisely you will have some spare cash a couple of condo and a decent car at a young age. Nomos, while you might be laughing at others or maybe your parents but what if i told you that my 1st prop had gained me rm14xk which given me the chance to leverage further and use it accordingly?

Why did i took a 9 year loan instead of a 3 or 5 years? Simple.. you just need to find a way to play with the ruling BNM given you. if you tie yourself down with a loan as high as rm1.5k just for a car do you actually know your chances to obtain a loan from any bank is much lower as compared to a guy only borrow rm800 - rm1000? I have some cash left in my banking account but again.. Why should i put all of them into a CAR? Do you mean driving a BMW it's best to buy it with CASH? That's nut case.. when the loan for a BMW can go as low as 0.8 - 1.2% why don't you just get the damn loan and use your cash for better purpose?

Again those on the opposite camp sure call me chui sui la. Nah a little bit of sneak peak of what i have la.

123 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:36 PM