Campro Engine Good or Not?

dstl1128
post Jun 16 2006, 12:00 PM

4,464 posts

About same concept as VVTi.

CPS are suppose to be like VTEC, the cam profiling as in cam lifting. VVTi are cam phasing, but still absent in current Campro. There are report saying Volvo used it (the Lotus Campro engine with Campro)? But I really have hard time googling for it. Anyone have links?

And VIM are suppose to be like TVIS of 4AGE in which Toyota later get rid of it on its latest generations.

http://www.proton.com/innovation/rnd/campro.php

Reality is that all the real-life Proton Campro engine (fitted in Gen2 and Waja) shows mediocre torque in the low-end which is entire against the claim in the Proton site. Until Proton does have it, it is just brochure grade information.

ulet
post Jun 16 2006, 12:07 PM

1,704 posts

check for latest volvo s80 engine.
the engine is 3200cc straight 6.
eone
post Jun 16 2006, 01:10 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jun 16 2006, 08:01 AM)
So far, Campro have not proven itself to be popular within the modding circuit (other than within those fanatical Gen2 people who even go as far to claim their Gen2 beats Skylines and Evos on the street), and there must be a reason to it.
yo man, last time i drove my lil bro's evo7 puma edition (rally tuned), even waja can outspeed it doh.gif..

now he's using a dc5, also loose to me ^^, maybe he ain't got skill enough
soggie
post Jun 16 2006, 01:54 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Jun 16 2006, 01:10 PM)
yo man, last time i drove my lil bro's evo7 puma edition (rally tuned), even waja can outspeed it doh.gif..

First thing is, all Japanese cars (integra, evo... yada yada) have a speed cut at 180 kmph. Waja does not have it. THerefore you just need to push to 190 and you'll win. I assume your "race" is done on the highway, fifth gear, fighting for top speed. Take the evo 7 and waja down to sepang, let some good driver drive both cars, and then the real results will show.
dstl1128
post Jun 16 2006, 02:00 PM

4,464 posts

*repeated post*

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jun 16 2006, 02:02 PM
dstl1128
post Jun 16 2006, 02:01 PM

4,464 posts

yo man, last time i drove my lil bro's evo7 puma edition (rally tuned), even waja can outspeed it ..

Maybe your lil bro rev cut or limit cut that evo7 just in case you just don't know how to control and trash his baby.

As a lil bro, maybe he also give face to you, "cheh this challenge is unfair everybody already know waja cannot win dc5 so i giv my bro hi little bit let him win".
mockv1per
post Jun 16 2006, 02:22 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jun 16 2006, 12:00 PM)
CPS are suppose to be like VTEC, the cam profiling as in cam lifting. VVTi are cam phasing, but still absent in current Campro. There are report saying Volvo used it (the Lotus Campro engine with Campro)? But I really have hard time googling for it. Anyone have links?

And VIM are suppose to be like TVIS of 4AGE in which Toyota later get rid of it on its latest generations.
Reality is that all the real-life Proton Campro engine (fitted in Gen2 and Waja) shows mediocre torque in the low-end which is entire against the claim in the Proton site. Until Proton does have it, it is just brochure grade information.

The valvetrain features VCT (Variable Cam Timing) and CPS (Cam Profile Switching) on the inlet side - two key elements in providing the engine with excellent driveability and flexibility.

CPS (Cam Profile Switching) means that the camshaft is designed such that the inlet valves are lifted to two different heights depending on engine speed and load.

In normal driving, with normal throttle opening and low engine revs, fuel consumption is modest at the same time as torque is sufficient to provide good driveability.

In more enthusiastic driving involving full throttle opening and high engine revs, the engine responds instantly to the accelerator and provides a massive thrust of power, both at low and at high speeds.

"In principle, Cam Profile Switching creates two engines in one," explains Derek Crabb. "We can unite widely differing demands on one and the same engine and easily meet the requirements of customers with entirely different wishes. For instance, we can equally easily satisfy customers who prioritise performance as well as those who are more interested in driving comfort and fuel economy."

VIS (Variable Intake System) has been equipped with two throttle flap valves which adjust the intake manifold volume to suit the current driving situation. This results in a uniformly high and broad torque curve.

"Through precise interplay with the flap valves we actually get three different torque curves that are integrated with one another," says Derek Crabb. "Consequently, we can exploit the engine's capacity to the maximum and extract the highest possible power throughout the rev range. The result is alert response to the accelerator pedal at both low and high speeds, with both generous power and good driveability."

source: http://www.volvocars.com/corporation/NewsE...E556B4BBECBB%7D
eone
post Jun 16 2006, 02:40 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jun 16 2006, 01:54 PM)
First thing is, all Japanese cars (integra, evo... yada yada) have a speed cut at 180 kmph. Waja does not have it. THerefore you just need to push to 190 and you'll win. I assume your "race" is done on the highway, fifth gear, fighting for top speed. Take the evo 7 and waja down to sepang, let some good driver drive both cars, and then the real results will show.
yeah, i know that, just to say that evo is beaten kaw kaw.. really hate when seeing that waja overtake me, siap gelak2 time diaorng overtake me, siot tull
soggie
post Jun 16 2006, 04:35 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Jun 16 2006, 02:40 PM)
yeah, i know that, just to say that evo is beaten kaw kaw.. really hate when seeing that waja overtake me, siap gelak2 time diaorng overtake me, siot tull
I own a Waja and a Satria GTi with an Evo 2 engine inside it, and I am extremely sure the Waja is no match for Evo 7 when going from 110 to 180 (speed cut for Evo). It'll surprise you how easy it is for a turbocharged engine to push the car in high speeds to even higher speeds, especially for a properly maintained one (not like mine, jerking on WOT tongue.gif). But that's just on top speed. Would love to see them duke it out in Sepang.
pacer
post Jun 17 2006, 01:38 AM

618 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

My first post in this thread after an agonizing 18 pages... haha

First of all, THE Campro DOES NOT HAVE CPS AND VIM... like everybody in this world knows EXCEPT NAVIGATOR blink.gif

I would also like to point out, if the campro engine can achive 160+hp during testing, then tell me why the R3 guys didnt utilise this during their recent rally project car which produce ard 140-150hp?

Abt the throttle body thingy, the Campro engine is controlled by a "Drive By Wire" throttle. that means that the accelerator padal and the throttle body is conected by a wire (through a computer box (EMS)) and not a cable.

About the flat throttle curve. Yes, it is possible, but not through tuning only. it can be done through proper calculations on the camshaft profiling (like the one done on the R3 car). Didnt think they would be crazy enuf to use the stock torque curve would you?

Abt hijauan, I have known a few ppl who has tuned this car there. What i wanna say may offend but... DEAL WITH IT!
Ask any layman after they change engine oil, gear oil, coolant, new tuning (will go into that later), and of course some services, how will the car feel?
The answer.... of course more powerful.
With the added help of X1R which is a friction reducer, i am sure the engine will be more willing to rev. So pls be the judge on this tuning method.

And speaking of tuning, the PDT2000 is a tuning gadget for the EMS system for the Campro engine. But being able to use one before, i would like to point out that other than recalibrating the throttle position, the idle timing, security codes, airbags
function and abs.(apart from fault codes)... the gadget can only display relavent parameters about the engine... so i still dunno how hijauan can TUNE the EMS. The EMS can only be tuned if u have a developers unit from siemens.

Being a Gen2 owner myself. i would like to say this engine is nothing fantastic. Yes, it is powerful (mine is moded of couse but i will not talk about it here), responsive.... but only in the higher range (3500-6500). yes it can go 210km/h... but not fairly easily. 4th gear can make 190 though.

About the car (nothing to be proud of,interior quality sucks)
Why i bough the car.... the handling rocks... thumbup.gif

So plsssss. don bash me ok sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pacer: Jun 17 2006, 01:39 AM
imperialrealcs
post Jun 17 2006, 02:33 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(pacer @ Jun 17 2006, 01:38 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

My first post in this thread after an agonizing 18 pages... haha

First of all, THE Campro DOES NOT HAVE CPS AND VIM... like everybody in this world knows EXCEPT NAVIGATOR  blink.gif

I would also like to point out, if the campro engine can achive 160+hp during testing, then tell me why the R3 guys didnt utilise this during their recent rally project car which produce ard 140-150hp?

Abt the throttle body thingy, the Campro engine is controlled by a "Drive By Wire" throttle. that means that the accelerator padal and the throttle body is conected by a wire (through a computer box (EMS)) and not a cable.

About the flat throttle curve. Yes, it is possible, but not through tuning only. it can be done through proper calculations on the camshaft profiling (like the one done on the R3 car). Didnt think they would be crazy enuf to use the stock torque curve would you?

Abt hijauan, I have known a few ppl who has tuned this car there. What i wanna say may offend but... DEAL WITH IT!
Ask any layman after they change engine oil, gear oil, coolant, new tuning (will go into that later), and of course some services, how will the car feel?
The answer.... of course more powerful.
With the added help of X1R which is a friction reducer, i am sure the engine will be more willing to rev. So pls be the judge on this tuning method.

And speaking of tuning, the PDT2000 is a tuning gadget for the EMS system for the Campro engine. But being able to use one before, i would like to point out that other than recalibrating the throttle position, the idle timing, security codes, airbags
function and abs.(apart from fault codes)... the gadget can only display relavent parameters about the engine... so i still dunno how hijauan can TUNE the EMS. The EMS can only be tuned if u have a developers unit from siemens.

Being a Gen2 owner myself. i would like to say this engine is nothing fantastic. Yes, it is powerful (mine is moded of couse but i will not talk about it here), responsive.... but only in the higher range (3500-6500). yes it can go 210km/h... but not fairly easily. 4th gear can make 190 though.

About the car (nothing to be proud of,interior quality sucks)
Why i bough the car.... the handling rocks... thumbup.gif

So plsssss. don bash me ok sweat.gif
wah, SRM white paper wrote max speed 195kmh nia for 1.6manual.. ur car faster than SRM rclxms.gif
soggie
post Jun 17 2006, 10:06 AM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Well I stand corrected on the throttle body issue. But I'm still waiting for navigator to come out with his explanation on how to simulate the VIM. That's one bullcrap I'd like to get cleared.
kcng
post Jun 17 2006, 10:20 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

Its about 5 days already....
How ?
Still waiting for dyno chart too...

OT : Soggie, I race with your car with my bicycle okie ? see who reach 10km/h first... tongue.gif biggrin.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Jun 17 2006, 04:51 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 17 2006, 10:20 AM)
How ?

OT : Soggie, I race with your car with my bicycle okie ? see who reach 10km/h first...  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
ur bicycle comes with SPEEDO ?? laugh.gif
shinjite
post Jun 17 2006, 06:13 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Maybe his bike equipeed with NoS XD
K3nnYkl82
post Jun 17 2006, 07:45 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 17 2006, 06:13 PM)
Cheh!! .. nothing to be proud off... NOS need to be refill..
my bicycle comes with VIM and CPS .. tongue.gif

u guys car's throttle body drive using cable .. or wire .. mine DIRECT use my leg .. tongue.gif

As for the COolant... my bicycle dun use any.. mineral water, soft drinks, liquir will do .. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Jun 17 2006, 07:46 PM
kcng
post Jun 18 2006, 01:12 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jun 17 2006, 05:51 PM)
ur bicycle comes with SPEEDO ??  laugh.gif
QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 17 2006, 07:13 PM)
QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jun 17 2006, 08:45 PM)
Cheh!! .. nothing to be proud off... NOS need to be refill..
my bicycle comes with VIM and CPS ..  tongue.gif

u guys car's throttle body drive using cable .. or wire .. mine DIRECT use my leg .. tongue.gif

As for the COolant... my bicycle dun use any.. mineral water, soft drinks, liquir will do .. tongue.gif
wah....
vmad.gif sign0006.gif sign0006.gif

i asking soggie only ler... not u both
whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
u both sign0006.gif sign0006.gif

lol...

anyway i am still waiting for the chart...
sighs...
soggie
post Jun 18 2006, 12:48 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 17 2006, 10:20 AM)
How ?

OT : Soggie, I race with your car with my bicycle okie ? see who reach 10km/h first...  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
Can, no prob. Since its a bicycle vs car match, engines are not allowed. So I'll open the door and use my leg to move. tongue.gif Come lar, see who reaches 10km/h first!

PS: Anybody wanna sponsor me good shoes with good traction? laugh.gif
keith_hjinhoh
post Jun 18 2006, 12:52 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

Oh well, any previous Gen2 owner here? How's the fc of Gen2 Campro for 1.6?
gigsvoo
post Jun 18 2006, 01:09 PM

76 posts

i try to make this short, it is the fact that DOHC hardly get good torque by design, while SOHC will perform better in that area.

i owned a SOHC 12V G4EB3 engine car in 1.5L displacement and also a DOHC 16V SP4H engine in 1.6L displacement, both with almost the same mod except the later does not use synthetic oil and iridium plugs and 3" CAI compared with the previous one, my SOHC can tapao the DOHC in low end. one simple example is driving up and down my apartment car park.

anothe example is to achieve 0-100km/h test. the SOHC can achieve 11.2 secs but the DOHC needs 12 secs.

so in joining the bashing and proofing rally, i would say Campro (they named it, or maybe i shall say Gen2 engine) is just a plan vanilla DOHC 16V 1.6L displacement engine, AND READ ME LIPS CAREFULLY.... UNLESS IT IS PERFECTLY TUNED. (DISCLAIMER RESERVED).

so, there is nothing more to be argue here, its all about the fact of money. my SOHC cost me RM6XK++ while DOHC cost me RM5XK++.

if wanna talk about FC, DOHC give me better FC becoz its a MT, but SOHC ones also not bad. both cars in the margin of RM50 runs around 300-360km before the next pump.

if wanna talk about handling, SOHC car can tapao my DOHC car, my cornering plus steerling responsiveness and turning ratio can tapao the DOHC in any way.

if wanna talk about interior design, my SOHC also can tapao the DOHC in any aspect.

if wanna talk about safety, lagi no need to talk, my SOHC achieve 5 stars front, 4 stars rear under USA NCHTUSA (what-so-ever abbrv) while my DOHC can easily being dented using my right foot lean against.

if wanna talk about spacious, my SOHC although have a smaller size of car, but interior spaces is larger, at least to put my head as i m topped 180cm in height. i can easily rest my balls comfortable during a long drive using SOHC.

so, you might ask me, if DOHC sux my balls under my dig, what i buy the DOHC? well, there are numerous reasons:

1. the DOHC is cheap for 1.6L displacement engine.

2. the DOHC spare parts are easier to find

3. the DOHC gives me MT and better FC

4. the DOHC just take me from point A to point B, i never tend to do dyno to showcase or race at F1.

5. the DOHC makes me think i am Schumacher or Karanjit Singh although my balls are not up to that par.

SO, MY PERSONAL CONCLUSIONS ARE:

- THESE ARE MY OWN SHARING, USING MY OWN CARS, MY OWN TUNING, MY OWN BASHING, SO I DUN START A FLAME HERE. SO IF ANYONE WANTED TO COMPARE CARS OR ENGINE, YOU BETTER HAVE ALL OF THEM IN UR GARAGE, THEORY, BOOKS, STUDIES, CERTIFICATIONS OR EVEN YOUR DAD'S COMMENTS STILL AS NOT GOOD ENUF FOR LOOKING AT UR OWN BALLS UNDER YOUR PANTS.

- I DO NOT THINK THAT THERE IS A UNIVERSAL, 100% CUN GUIDE TO DETERMINE WHOS IS GOOD AND WHOS BAD

- I ALSO BELIEVE EVERY DECISION MADE OF OUR FELLOWS MEMBERS HERE ARE GIVEN JUDGEMENT AND JUSTIFICATION "ON THAT MOMENT" OF TIME BASED ON THE AMOUNT OF INFORMATION ON HAND, I ALSO REGRET TO DO THIS MOD THAT MOD AFTER SOME TIME, WHY? BECAUSE TIME PASSED, PEOPLE CHANGED, MY BALLS DIFFERENT

- FROM TIME TO TIME WE DRIVE IN DIFFERENT TRAFFIC CONDITIONS, DIFFERENT ROUTE, DIFFERENT EMOTIONS ON THE ROAD, SO THERE IS NO GOLDEN RULES THAT GOVERNS ALL OUR READINGS AND FEELINGS ARE CONSISTENT AND ROBOMATICALLY RECORDED, ITS ALL IN OUR HEAD AND OUR BRAINS.

SO FELLAS, I GUESS IT IS NOT THAT IMPORTANT ANYMORE TO ASK SOMEONE TO SHOW THEIR DYNO OR THEIR BALLS, IT MAKES NO POINTS AND NO ONE WILL BE HONOURED A GRAMMY OR NOBEL PRIZE AFTERALL, IF WE ARE CONSIDERING NEWBIES IN THIS FORUM OR NEWBIES TO CAR UNDERSTANDING, I GUESS THEY ALL HAVE THEIR OWN BALLS UNDER THEIR PANTS, WE DO NOT NEED TO MEASURE THEIR BALLS SIZE USING OUR MEASUREMENT TAPES, LET THEM DO THE JUSTIFICATION, END OF THE DAY THEY CAN'T BLAMED ANYONE AND NO ONE IS GOING TO HOLD THEIR BALLS IF THEY FALLS, RIGHT?

ok, i had written enough, my hands are tired and my brain is shutting down after read this crazy topic for over 20 pages long, i start to unconcious now, so you guys can bash me now... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

24 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:30 AM