24 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Campro Engine Good or Not?

kcng
post Mar 17 2007, 11:22 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Mar 17 2007, 11:02 PM)
the engine horse power and ppl will respect.
my dad's car has 500HP on wheels...
now respect...
doh.gif

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Mar 17 2007, 11:13 PM)
An Idiot driver can break the timing belt? Totally disagree with a new car somemore. My bet would go to the "high tech" engine itself.  whistling.gif
ever heard of manufacturer defects ?
u sure your "MIVEC" is 100% defects free ?
Vervain
post Mar 17 2007, 11:58 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

altis got timing chain. now try breaking it
thunderbird
post Mar 18 2007, 01:25 AM

SO what?
1,811 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 17 2007, 11:22 PM)
my dad's car has 500HP on wheels...
now respect...
doh.gif
ever heard of manufacturer defects ?
u sure your "MIVEC" is 100% defects free ?
Ya ya, ur dad has a 500hp car. my GrandPa has 501hp. doh.gif

So, who's next after u bring out ur papa?

Not 100% but at least a lot more better than vanilla dohc engine. whistling.gif

eng98
post Mar 18 2007, 01:52 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

i dun really believe the belt break so easily..since campro is using 1 belt system.... but campro engine the belt tensioner always got fault.. damm jia lat
munky
post Mar 18 2007, 02:26 AM

1,971 posts

conclusion : engineers > marketing ppl tongue.gif

kcng
post Mar 18 2007, 10:41 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Mar 18 2007, 01:25 AM)
Ya ya, ur dad has a 500hp car. my GrandPa has 501hp.  doh.gif

So, who's next after u bring out ur papa?

Not 100% but at least a lot more better than vanilla dohc engine.  whistling.gif
bring out my mom ?
doh.gif doh.gif
sarcasm fail......
doh.gif doh.gif
rolleyes.gif

if not 100% then also can break
rolleyes.gif

until then, another noob in da house
rolleyes.gif

and what is your define better is?
rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kcng: Mar 18 2007, 10:44 AM
tokdukun
post Mar 28 2007, 09:57 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Mar 17 2007, 11:02 PM)
Toyota is the most successful car company in the world. Logic would lead one to believe that they would include driving pleasure into their products, otherwise they would go bust.

If Gen2 gives a better driving experience than Toyota, then it should have even quicker throttle response at low gears, more torque, yet still shines at higher speeds. Because most driving done is city driving, who would appreciate "sluggish" performance at each junction or traffic light?

Even my friend who thrash his 10yr old car at the Sepang circuit hasn't broken his timing belt. What exactly did your friend do to break his timing belt?
It's nt sluggish, it's just that it gets better at a higher gear, I can feel it somehow.
I've driven the Vios, n my opinion is, in terms of driving, it felt more boring than my dad's Waja yawn.gif

Let me tell you the detail:
1. He once drive fast at a bumper, when he was landing, he broke the radiator of the car!! He then go service at some place I dunno, bt it's nt a Proton dealer. Little did he realised the engine was "sabotaged" by the mechanic.

2. A few hundred km later, that's when the timing belt snap. He sent to Proton CoE at USJ4 for service for over a month, n the Proton guy told him abt that some kinda modification hv been done to the car, whichever exactly, I can't remember, bt it's believed to be the cause for the belt to give way.

I hv no idea what action he took next, I didn't even bother to find out the details, sory, bt since then, he regretted nt listening to my advice of gettin a 2nd hand Jap saloon. Poor guy........
pacer
post Mar 28 2007, 10:05 PM

618 posts

timing belt snap is not common on a proton, unless of course u have used chepo belts in the first place. ori campro belts are from MITSUBOSHI.. they are really reliable. even cars in MME race use them...

maybe ur friends car had some defect, but then which car company does not, even rolls royce also got ppl complain LOL...

btw, what did ur friend mod until warranty void, seems serious. Proton are quite linient in warranty terms compared to other manufacturers, they only void warranty on the areas u mod compared to some where the void the whole car warranty
tokdukun
post Mar 28 2007, 11:02 PM

376 posts

Rly ah? Hm.....that faggot.....long time nvr contact edi.......too bz wit his gf. hmph.

Despite this mishap, I dun blame this incident on Proton, it's rather cuz he got conned by a greedy mechanic. Bt a trivia: on the 1st day, he took us out for an outing. Guess what? The driver's door was too hard to open, he pushed harder, then can open, but.........it then cannot be opened from the outside!! So we had to open his door for him, lol.

It's nt our 1st encounter though. The week before, we checked out the (then) newly launched Savvy at Glenmarie. The Gen2 on display there cannot open the rear left door, then I keep on telling him "Jgn beli Gen2, ni hah, ko beli nanti jadi camni la.....", true enuf, it happened.........

This post has been edited by tokdukun: Mar 28 2007, 11:05 PM
pacer
post Mar 28 2007, 11:08 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 28 2007, 11:02 PM)
Rly ah? Hm.....that *******.....long time nvr contact edi.......too bz wit his gf. hmph.

Despite this mishap, I dun blame this incident on Proton, it's rather cuz he got conned by a greedy mechanic. Bt a trivia: on the 1st day, he took us out for an outing. Guess what? The driver's door was too hard to open, he pushed harder, then can open, but.........it then cannot be opened from the outside!! So we had to open his door for him, lol.

It's nt our 1st encounter though. The week before, we checked out the (then) newly launched Savvy at Glenmarie. The Gen2 on display there cannot open the rear left door, then I keep on telling him "Jgn beli Gen2, ni hah, ko beli nanti jadi camni la.....", My mouth dam masin..........
haha, he must be damn pissed off at you.... LOL
proton QC is hopeless la, even mine also all doors misalign.., but to be fair i took the car from the stockyard so they didnt do a PDI for me... anyway its just the alighment.

my gen2 has been problem free for me so far for the past 1.5 yrs, well other than the O2 sensor kong and a bodywork problem that was solved after some time, thats about it... other than that its just normal servicing, and after mods its still feels better... smile.gif
tokdukun
post Mar 29 2007, 01:28 AM

376 posts

Hm........guess so, my curse for nt listening to me, muahahahaha.

I read in Paul Tan some time back, u need to manually re-align the door thing......that thing, dunno what's it called edi, cuz the staff stupid never put properly, so owner himself hv to DIY. What kind of mental lah..........build car half finished. sigh.......
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 29 2007, 01:46 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

campro engine is build to last and it is actually build to meet the racing spec.
one of the proton engineer told my brother before .
tokdukun
post Mar 29 2007, 02:27 AM

376 posts

I thought so.....use to remember when last time Proton promoting Gen2, said the engine tested how many terrains in how many countries over thousands n thousands of miles, blablabla, bt all I know is that the Campro certainly hv the potential. Just that atm, it's "naked". Give it some VTEC or w/e, it can definitely be better.

It isn't that bad in fc too. Bt then again, this is extremely dependant on driving style n condition.....if wanna ultra kedekut, then no air cond, constant 90km/h all the time, dun press brake at all, that's torture..........n life threathening
kcng
post Mar 29 2007, 09:57 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 29 2007, 02:27 AM)
I thought so.....use to remember when last time Proton promoting Gen2, said the engine tested how many terrains in how many countries over thousands n thousands of miles, blablabla, bt all I know is that the Campro certainly hv the potential. Just that atm, it's "naked". Give it some VTEC or w/e, it can definitely be better.

It isn't that bad in fc too. Bt then again, this is extremely dependant on driving style n condition.....if wanna ultra kedekut, then no air cond, constant 90km/h all the time, dun press brake at all, that's torture..........n life threathening
all cars also same la....

u main pedal to the metal, what ever fuel-saving tech your engine have also useless la
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

u drive normal, FC will be good....
u drive ganas, please la.... how to get good FC ?
doh.gif doh.gif

my previous civic, RM90 go 300 km only.... so i need to bash my i-vtec ?
doh.gif
CFS
post Mar 29 2007, 06:34 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jun 14 2006, 11:46 AM)
Actually, i think supercharging the 1.6 is a good move. The waja needs more torque to handle its chassis. Not sure the FC increase will be justified tho.
wa taking me almost 2hours to read through 20pages now oso abit pening lolz....supercharging it? can oni 1 penang lang do it b4 haha...which is electric supercharger....belt driven? impossible unless change the whole chassis mounting....the belt area is too near to the left side no place to put supercharger there....speedwork turbo charged car? saw it as well...haha do u know they blew a couple of engine when trying to boost till 1.5bar lolz....anyway i not sure abt current ler...haha btw i luv the super sixteen campro lolz...200hp lolz...haha wish dat engine was in my car.....haha but surely cannot be daily driven haha...agree i driven honda *b16b & b18c* as well...when vtec open wahlao u can see petrol drinking....haha but who cares power is there lolz....
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 29 2007, 06:57 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

the i-VTEC or VTEC is actually not like gaining power at low FC .
the reason is it is actuallty activating the VTEC to allow more air enters the combustion , if not mistaken , more lean combustion hence more fuel will be injected .
just a normal 5K and VTEC 5K , VTEC 5K will have higher power whilst normal 5K rpm will be slightly lower .

at the same time , why bashing campro or supporting campro ?
it is just an engine . the problem with the engine is solved , well , you can compare Campro with hyundai's own first RnD engine last few years , high FC , low power ... but now hyundai is better in terms of that.
and why compare VTEC and Campro ? the main reason behind this comparision is to compare about technology developement . the easiest is to compare Campro with the Hyundai engine , hyundai is now mass producing CVVT engine whilst campro is still struggling .
ya , proton has the technology to produce CPS engine , but what the heck if they have the techonology but yet they cannot produce it into production . it is like having a DAD who is an automotive engineer but his own car is like a car from a junk yard . and for sure , CPS on gen2 has been discussed years back . and there are rumour that it will come out in 2005 , then 2006 then mid-2007 . it is endless ...
well , i dont bash proton or support proton for no valid reason . Campro is an engien which is good for normal usage , especially highway driving . it is good in the sense that it is normal . but when you look into the current developement of the cars around , ppl are leaping forward , while we are still using non-VVT engine . it isn't really something which can be argue .
maybe proton supporter will say that 'myvi DVVT doesn't brings out low FC also!' ... ya , it might not give out low FC , but in the other way , it brought out the full potential from the engine , where most of the rpm level are smooth to be run at . the easiest is to take as comparision is the non-DVVT kembara and the new DVVT kembara . two similar capacity engine , but hell lot difference in driving .
if proton were to put the VVT technology into the campro , it will solve it's low end power and the current high-end rpm power will be maximize .

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Mar 29 2007, 07:01 PM
kcng
post Mar 29 2007, 07:21 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

now how exactly do people define lack of low end power ?
car cannot move ?
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 29 2007, 07:53 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

campro is an evidence that there is lack of low end power .
you are basically asking the same thing that ,

"now how ppl define bad handling ?
car cannot take corner?"

Added on March 29, 2007, 7:57 pmwell, i got both gen2 and waja in my house.
gen2 is definately bad in low end power . the power from 1000-3000 is kinda dip .. you floor your pedal is like you are not flooring the pedal at all , the only uumph comes in at 3500rpm .
to get proper spec on lack of low end power, go take the dyno chart from paultan.org .

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Mar 29 2007, 07:57 PM
tokdukun
post Mar 29 2007, 08:33 PM

376 posts

Yeah, the torque curve is very weird for the Campro.....bt past 3k rpm, it becomes alive, muahahahaha.

There's the issue of reliability as well in making the engine. Obviously, that is something Proton cannot seek Lotus, cuz Lotus themselves are Lots Of Trouble Usually Serious, so the engineers hv to work very hard.

Proton is, no doubt behind the schedule, bt considering important keys to make sure the engine is as reliable at 160,000km as it was from the start, that is something that requires a lot of work and time. They've probably succeeded in making them so w/o the CPS, bt by adding the CPS, they've gotta more thousands of miles of testing n all, lots of $$$, which is tricky considering their current dire condition, n if it didn't work, they've to change the design etcetcetc.

To boost the engine, the simplest way is of course to supercharge or turbocharge the engine or remap ECU or w/e, bt it won't become easy for the people who had to give 5-year warranty. They already are in the red for the past 3 quarter years, they can't afford to make any mistake with the Campro wit CPS.
pacer
post Mar 29 2007, 08:56 PM

618 posts

i really dont see the problem with campro, yes torque is a bit low in the lower rpm but then is that a real issue???

i have had a waja 4g18 b4 this and now a gen2. i dont see the issue if u know how to harness the power of the engine. different engine design has different character.

u dont go high revving a diesel engine. you dont see people compaling that diesel has low HP.

the campro is a high revving engine and that is the main character, if u want low end torqe buy a savvy smile.gif

24 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:55 AM