Campro Engine Good or Not?

ulet
post May 12 2006, 06:40 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ May 1 2006, 12:08 AM)
its by proton with lotus help... most lotus car doesnt use their own engines... so judge urself  rclxms.gif

did someone says Campro is way better than VTEC??? if this happens, Honda malaysia sure bankrup d... lolz  blush.gif
yup, lotus dont create engine because they r niche market. they tried once but it is a failure becoz their market is so little and it is not worth it to pay all the r&d.
BUT their technology in engine is being bought by other car company like volvo, porsche and summore tht i dunno.
variocam in porsche is technology from lotus same with cps n vim in latest volvo 3.0 engine. this cps n vim is the same proton wanna put in their campro.
ulet
post May 13 2006, 09:52 PM

1,704 posts

the reason of not applying CPS n VIM in campro it simple. proton just cannot produce enough engine to cover up the cost back ! if they put the CPS n VIM in campro, they will be losing money every single campro engine they produce with the tech.
example,at the moment only gen 2 n waja using campro engine.
based on february report waja 1.6 is 2258 and gen2 1.6 is 1064.
roughly we take combine of waja n gen2 is 4000 unit a month.
4000 X 12 months is only 48 000 units a year.
tht simply not enough and at the moment, proton will take a long time just to recover the campro R&D money.
so do u think they will put CPS n VIM n lose more money ? unless they can put all the cars with campro. then i guess enough to recover the money back.
ulet
post May 14 2006, 08:39 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ May 14 2006, 01:40 AM)
something to add-on ..

Since they already spend the money to R&D the Cam Profiling system... means the product actually exist ... then why not included it ?? if the not include .. their R&D is totally wasted... better still dont do R&D..???

Take Honda as an Example... honda sell both with VTec and without VTeC ... those without V-TEc is cheaper than those with VTEC. WHy not Gen2 comes with this OPTION?? since as u said .. the CPS is already working juz not implemented into the CAR only.. i believe .. if add thousand to get a Camprofiling system .. sure still got ppl buy one.. summore they dun sell it .. they totally EARN nothing at all!

get wat i mean  whistling.gif

btw, do remember.. the Campro engine was suppost to fit in the WAJA first.. b4 the Gen2... its because of Camprofiling .. it has been delay.. and yet . fit to a GEN2 without Profiling and sell it .. and now fit to WAJA .. still without profiling..

how much was a gen2?? around 55k rite?? .. i believe.. if they add CAMPRO (as stated by u that its already working .. juz my 2 cent) ... and they sell it for RM60k .. there will still plenty of ppl buy it ... true or not?
options... it something that proton wont do in the future for us.
they dont give us options to put airbags in the car even though oversea like UK got the options to install side airbags.
UK proton cars also got abs, ebd, traction controls. here in msia, for it to be options is also dont have. from all the talk i get from the engineers, it is all becoz of the stupid proton marketing department. they the 1 decide it.

btw, for CPS n VIM to be an options, is not a choice.
becoz in manufacturing world, there is no such thing as options coz to do some n not to do is actually losing money bigger than implement it to all the engines. and summore u must guarantee the order constant all the times.
thts y, even though proton is not selling very good, the factory still produce the car like normal becoz they will keep receiving supply. it is in the contract.

ok, for campro to be implement 1st in WAJA, im not sure about the truthfulness of this news coz there is no black n white news about it. to implement in the waja, they have to do R&D all over again.
btw, do u know why waja campro dont have airbags ? is becoz they need to do crash test again becoz the characteristic of the impact already change. n to do it need money.

ur last statement, even though if they add campro in gen2 n selling for 60k they will still lose money coz the figures of gen2 + waja campro is just not enough in the manufacturing world !!! i forgot aedi where i read but they need to sell around 200,000 cars a year with the same engine for how many years(forgot) just to recover the R&D for the engine !(i totally forgot where i got the figures but this topic hot during 1st proton implement the campro)
thats y u see the same engine is being used for a few generation of cars.
ulet
post May 16 2006, 07:12 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nx7010 @ May 16 2006, 03:22 AM)
uhmmm if not mistaken the 5 valve per cylinder head design is also not entirely developed by toyota.

design is by yamaha... that's why u see the yamaha R1 and all also using 5 valve per cylinder in their bikes...

huh ????? sweat.gif
btw, the 5 valves per cylinder design is pioneer by bugatti.
then followed by others.
ulet
post May 16 2006, 03:24 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 16 2006, 01:34 PM)
so dude, explain to me why i got a near flat power curve on the latest batch of Gen2????

you don't see the mechanical there, you can only get it when you turn a PDT 2000 on. or a overhaul, dude.

Too much bashers and these ppl filtered out all the necessary infos for the new comer. can't you all just answer the question? why da hell must all the bashers add all the unnecessary statement? this is unethical!
im not a basher. i can says im a proud supporter of proton but for u to says u get a flat power curve in latest gen2 engine.... is either ur engine is special made from proton or the dyno machine got something wrong.

our current campro engine doesnt come with CPS or VIM. is just a normal 4-valves DOHC engine with aggrasive camshaft. u can email proton n ask about it but if ur engine really can get flat power curve across the RPM.... u better sell back ur engine to proton with much much higher price so they can dissect it back n learn how the hell it can get flat power curve across the RPM without sumthing like CPS, VIM, VVTI, I-VTEC, Vario-Cam, Double vanos.. etc etc.
ulet
post May 17 2006, 11:26 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 17 2006, 08:33 AM)
Oh, the flat curve is after a proper tuning somewhere outside the Klang valley, and I do sure I seen something on PDT2000 which resembles the VIM setting. prove me wrong my explain all the content in PDT.

Will post the chart in near future. but not now.

Why should I trade my engine out? I can't keep it myself? Your statement doesn't make any sense to me.
sorry if the sentence sell it back to proton at much much higher price doesnt make sense to u. let me make it simple.

to develop a technology like CPS, VIM, VVTI, I-VTEC, Double Vanos n etc etc... u need millions of RM/dollars/EURO/(billions of YEN).

so basically if u really can get flat power curve across the rpm without those technology, u have a goldmine... diamond mine more correct in ur engine !

so meaning u can sell back to proton n show the flat power curve without the techs n they willing to buy for millions also coz they can skip the R&D time and no need to add manufacturing cost.

does it make common sense now ?
ulet
post May 19 2006, 01:09 PM

1,704 posts

fight until dunnow hen also not finish.
wait ar, i send email to proton today n they should reply to me by monday.
monday i will post the email here.
then we can know whether latest gen2 engine got VIM or CPS or got BOTH.
but highly doubt they have VIM or CPS.
ulet
post May 22 2006, 07:25 AM

1,704 posts

i've been waiting for navigator to post his dyno chart.
where r u navigator ?
ulet
post May 28 2006, 08:35 PM

1,704 posts

navigator been missing
hmm..... laugh.gif
ulet
post May 30 2006, 07:45 PM

1,704 posts

ok guys, honest here.
i want to know who kidnap navigator ? he been missing since 19th may.
who kidnap him for the purpose of getting his Gen2 Flat Power Curve Equip With VIM ??
i know u wanna make big buck from his engine but wait for him to post his Gen2 engine flat power curve dynochart 1st lahh
hehehehehehe tongue.gif
ulet
post Jun 6 2006, 02:04 PM

1,704 posts

where is the photo navigator ?
ulet
post Jun 7 2006, 08:29 PM

1,704 posts

where is mr navigator with his VIM equip CAMPRO engine. im not here to bash to clarify with him. there is no VIM in current CAMPRO engine.
this my e-mail i sent n received from proton itself.

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Tuesday, June 06, 2006 3:07 PM
To: I.CARE CENTRE PROTON EDAR
Subject: a few questions

Dear Proton,

i would like to know, for your current CAMPRO engine which is in Gen2 and Waja now. Is it equip with VIM? or is it just normal DOHC 4 cylinder engine with aggrasive camshaft?
in an online forum(lowyat.net forum) , i am now having a tongue fight with another forummer because he insist that the current Campro engine(which he have now) is equip with VIM and get a flat power curve. is that possible for the current Campro engine? as far as i know, current campro engine is not equip with VIM and CPS yet.

Thank You

n Proton replied

Dear Mr Ikmal,

Yes , currently the Campro engine is not equipped with VIM and CPS yet.  No news on it till date, whether it would be available or not.

Best Regards,
DEVAN
i.care Centre
Proton Edar
1-300-880-888(  General Enquiry  )
1-800-888-398(24Hour Assistance)

ulet
post Jun 8 2006, 02:15 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(scripted @ Jun 8 2006, 01:38 AM)
Im told that campro stands for this tongue.gif
maCAM PROfessional
Lameeeeee..... whistling.gif
ulet
post Jun 8 2006, 10:41 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jun 8 2006, 09:05 AM)
Thank you. This ends the whole navigator shebang. Sorry to break it to you campro supporters, but VIM and Cam Profiling will be a long way before you'll see it in real engines. For now, you just gotta live with the peculiar torque curve.
see it in Proton engine... maybe some time but VIM and CPS is already in engine. in Volvo engine though, in their latest S80 3200cc engine.
ulet
post Jun 8 2006, 11:28 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 8 2006, 11:14 AM)
refering to "i'm not the one driving recklessly to test my car" that's all
QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 8 2006, 11:16 AM)
sorry, basher's quote are ignored. I won't trust a word of bashers. I only believe machines and actual result. there's one car overheated after tuning by using premix collant and ok after a full coolant flush
no apologize for gave other wrong info that Campro engine is equip with VIM and can achieve flat power curve ??
btw, that is not the words from basher, it is the words from proton itself.
ulet
post Jun 11 2006, 08:00 AM

1,704 posts

i think lotus elise should dump the old k-rover engine.
it should change to 1.6campro supercharge + turbocharge.
ulet
post Jun 11 2006, 11:24 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jun 11 2006, 10:07 AM)
Lotus already dumped the old rover engine and used a Toyota unit.
i think they still used the old rover engine for UK market but for US makret, they change it to toyota engine.
not right ka ?
ulet
post Jun 11 2006, 11:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 11 2006, 10:16 AM)
2) Dude, I tot someone had shown the Dyno Chart before me?

What the hell is this?????
dude, that chart we dont know what he did to the car. he might already change straight pipe, 4-2-1, extractor, better flow air filter and bla bla.
but for u, u said is just by tuning it and can achieve that.
that we cannot believe !
if u can achieve tht by tuning only, why proton dont use it ? all this time their campro engine is get bash by people in msia market or oversea market for their lack of low end torque.
ulet
post Jun 14 2006, 01:07 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(FunctionX @ Jun 14 2006, 12:39 PM)
I'm still wondering why they didn't opt for turbocharger instead.
cost vs complexity factor ?
supercharger is much more easier in maintanence.
summore campro engine lack of low end torque and they try to eliminate it by putting supercharger. if put turbocharger, it need time before the turbocharger kick in and usually start at 2000rpm and above. supercharger start from the lowest RPM but end early.
ulet
post Jun 15 2006, 07:52 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 15 2006, 07:23 AM)
dude, if you ever know a campro, you'll know, this chart is not done by modification!

even it is, the figure here shown can only be spark plug and filter element only! If u think I'm bluffing, Plz Visit Speedworks @ J.222 PJ, they have a complete chart on Gen2 Improvement for every modification. Currently their highest stage is Campro Turbo which so far achieved 194BHP and it's not yet fine tuned.

Now this start to question me, whenever you ppl said how expert are you all on campro, but you ppl not even know what is PDT????
Dude, filter element (open pod + enclose heat shield + CAI) already can give extra 5-8HP lah ! yes, we never says campro cannot achieve high figure or flat power curve without modification but what we TOTALLY DISAGREE is u can achieve FLAT POWER CURVE by just tuning it(play with the standard ECU) !

0.0240sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:14 AM