124 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V7, Pls use Search Topic b4 ask question

venicelim
post Aug 28 2013, 06:36 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 28 2013, 06:35 PM)
For AMEX, it is the 4-digits.
so the last 3 digits at the back of card (behind signature) is no use one?
SUSDavid83
post Aug 28 2013, 06:47 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Aug 28 2013, 06:36 PM)
so the last 3 digits at the back of card (behind signature) is no use one?
For the mean time and most of the online transaction, the answer is NO USE.
samuraikacang
post Aug 28 2013, 06:54 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

I always make sure I walk to the counter to pay even during karaoke session.
raul88
post Aug 28 2013, 06:56 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 28 2013, 06:35 PM)
For AMEX, it is the 4-digits.
walao
but i notice most receipt that i get
be it from petrol, dining or groceries transaction

they always display the last 3 or 4 digits
sweat.gif
for example
thank you for using your maybank amex
xxxxxxxxxxxx7841

if the last 4 digits are the most important one
why they censored the front number instead of the last 4
it doesnt make any sense

as they also will have their shop receipt and we get one customer recepit
whats the point?
samuraikacang
post Aug 28 2013, 06:59 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 28 2013, 06:56 PM)
walao
but i notice most receipt that i get
be it from petrol, dining or groceries transaction

they always display the last 3 or 4 digits
sweat.gif
for example
thank you for using your maybank amex
xxxxxxxxxxxx7841

if the last 4 digits are the most important one
why they censored the front number instead of the last 4
it doesnt make any sense

as they also will have their shop receipt and we get one customer recepit
whats the point?
its not the amex no.

check your card above the last 4 digit or the amex logo there is another set of 4 digits
raul88
post Aug 28 2013, 07:06 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 28 2013, 06:59 PM)
its not the amex no.

check your card above the last 4 digit or the amex logo there is another set of 4 digits
hmm
i hope nothing happened today
i hope that waiter doesnt try to pull any stunt

now to sum up security measure that i need to do/already done

1. cover the 4 digits number with tape
2. only pay/present your card at counter
3. set sms limit to rm1 (checked)
4. make sure maybank2u website address is correct before log in
5. do not respond to any email/call asking details of cc

Human Nature
post Aug 28 2013, 07:09 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 28 2013, 07:06 PM)
hmm
i hope nothing happened today
i hope that waiter doesnt try to pull any stunt

now to sum up security measure that i need to do/already done

1. cover the 4 digits number with tape
2. only pay/present your card at counter
3. set sms limit to rm1 (checked)
4. make sure maybank2u website address is correct before log in
5. do not respond to any email/call asking details of cc
thumbup.gif
Remember to save the CS hotline on your phone too
tishaban
post Aug 28 2013, 09:46 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Aug 28 2013, 06:24 PM)
I just received my card last week.
a question here: why is it 4 digits at the front side?
I thought CVV is usually at the back of there card, behind your signature there?
What's difference for Amex? I saw at back got numbers too. icon_question.gif
Amex has always had their 4-digit CVV on the front. Their cards start with the number 3 too (as opposed to 4 for Visa, 5 for Mastercard). It's a different product.

onthefly
post Aug 28 2013, 10:10 PM

1,315 posts

what the procedure like if i want to increase my credit limit?
how long does it take ?
sj0217
post Aug 28 2013, 11:23 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Aug 28 2013, 10:10 PM)
what the procedure like if i want to increase my credit limit?
how long does it take ?
Three months payslip is required and please allow 3-5 working days to be process.

You can submit it by walk-in card centre
edwardccg
post Aug 29 2013, 10:19 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 28 2013, 06:59 PM)
its not the amex no.

oh, that 4 digit on top of AMEX logo, i just thought it is no use. I only cover the 3 digit number at the back

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 28 2013, 09:46 PM)
Amex has always had their 4-digit CVV on the front. Their cards start with the number 3 too (as opposed to 4 for Visa, 5 for Mastercard). It's a different product.
the 4 digit number on top of AMEX logo is AMEX CVV number? then what about the 3 digit number at the back of card?

**update:
check with my friend's amex card, we have the same number for the 4 digit on top of AMEX logo. I thought this kind of number is different?

This post has been edited by edwardccg: Aug 29 2013, 10:30 AM
zenquix
post Aug 29 2013, 10:50 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Aug 29 2013, 10:19 AM)
oh, that 4 digit on top of AMEX logo, i just thought it is no use. I only cover the 3 digit number at the back
the 4 digit number on top of AMEX logo is AMEX CVV number? then what about the 3 digit number at the back of card?
**update:
check with my friend's amex card, we have the same number for the 4 digit on top of AMEX logo. I thought this kind of number is different?
it is printed on the card and not a sticker... should not surprise you in the current lowest cost manufacturing environment. IMO might be safer to have embossed it but I am guessing printed on the card is the standard for Amex everywhere
BRY7
post Aug 29 2013, 11:04 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

**update:
theres millions of cards out there, its just a coincidence that the CVV of your friend and yours is the same
zenquix
post Aug 29 2013, 11:07 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Aug 29 2013, 11:04 AM)
theres millions of cards out there, its just a coincidence that the CVV of your friend and yours is the same
his complaint is the CID, and not the CVV. You will be surprised how many have the same.
Human Nature
post Aug 29 2013, 11:11 AM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 29 2013, 10:50 AM)
it is printed on the card and not a sticker... should not surprise you in the current lowest cost manufacturing environment. IMO might be safer to have embossed it but I am guessing printed on the card is the standard for Amex everywhere
Hi, am curious. Why is it safer to have it embossed?
BRY7
post Aug 29 2013, 11:11 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

**update:
zenquix, i was referring to the above that is highlighted in bold
zenquix
post Aug 29 2013, 11:13 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 29 2013, 11:11 AM)
Hi, am curious. Why is it safer to have it embossed?
embossing allows it to be changed and not fixed at the point of manufacturing
zenquix
post Aug 29 2013, 11:19 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Aug 29 2013, 11:11 AM)
zenquix, i was referring to the above that is highlighted in bold
yes I am aware. That is called the CID. CVV is the three numbers at the back and not used by Amex.

http://www.medword.com/MedwordStore/Answers/why-cvv.html

You might be surprised, if you asked friends who applied for the card around the same time as you, they will have the same number, Simply because it is printed when the card is manufactured. Example all first batch cards have the same number (mine was frauded abt a year ago).

furthermore the first 6/7 numbers of the card is the same for everyone.. because it ids the card family and issuing bank. Those with both a MBB2 Amex and a legacy Amex charge/credit card can check. I noticed it when i had the amex gold CC previously (since cancelled)
unknowmaster
post Aug 29 2013, 11:48 AM

376 posts

After 1 month, maybank rejected my Visa Infinite application >.<!
edwardccg
post Aug 29 2013, 11:56 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 29 2013, 11:19 AM)
yes I am aware. That is called the CID. CVV is the three numbers at the back and not used by Amex.

http://www.medword.com/MedwordStore/Answers/why-cvv.html

You might be surprised, if you asked friends who applied for the card around the same time as you, they will have the same number, Simply because it is printed when the card is manufactured. Example all first batch cards have the same number (mine was frauded abt a year ago).

furthermore the first 6/7 numbers of the card is the same for everyone.. because it ids the card family and issuing bank. Those with both a MBB2 Amex and a legacy Amex charge/credit card can check. I noticed it when i had the amex gold CC previously (since cancelled)
biggrin.gif thanks for the clarification

and is true, we applied the card in same month, same branch some more smile.gif

then i need to get another sticker to cover it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by edwardccg: Aug 29 2013, 11:57 AM

124 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:51 PM