Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

nexus2238
post Sep 24 2013, 02:29 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 24 2013, 02:20 PM)
"actually the 5470 is able to upgrade to 8GB but the window can't detect it, so there is no point to upgrade as it will be waste of money"

i got this directly from their Dell agent  rclxub.gif

his reason is that "it's just that the 5460 & 5470 is built in this way as this is the limitation for it"; "if your peers has 5460 that can support 8GB then he is lucky for it"  doh.gif

sifu any idea if he's BS-ing?
Vostro 5470 definitely support 8GB RAM lah smile.gif
Ask the agent to read Dell spec book laugh.gif
http://www.dell.com/my/p/vostro-5470/pd.as...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn
click on the tech spec tab.
1 RAM slot, need 1 stick of 8GB RAM, so you end up with a spare 4GB RAM stick.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 24 2013, 02:43 PM
suadrif
post Sep 24 2013, 02:29 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 24 2013, 02:20 PM)
"actually the 5470 is able to upgrade to 8GB but the window can't detect it, so there is no point to upgrade as it will be waste of money"

i got this directly from their Dell agent  rclxub.gif

his reason is that "it's just that the 5460 & 5470 is built in this way as this is the limitation for it"; "if your peers has 5460 that can support 8GB then he is lucky for it"  doh.gif

sifu any idea if he's BS-ing?
confirmed by devour and few other user, they can use 8gb
nexus2238
post Sep 24 2013, 02:39 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 24 2013, 02:00 PM)
Guys, i'm still hovering around for a laptop. previously i was looking at vostro 4560, then 4570.

Then recently found samsung ativ book 9 lite @ RM1999. altho it comes with amd quad processor, it also includes 128 ssd. batt life is also supposedly better at 4-4.5 hours. weight 1.44kg. startup 8 sec, snooze wakeup 2 sec.
Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8

Yes, very appealing in look and in spec thumbup.gif

Buyers need to know the spin:
1. don't get BS by the quad core. That A6 can barely hang with i3 tongue.gif (performance per core by AMD is low)
2. Any laptop that spec with SSD (even if we upgrade SSD aftermarket) can hit those start-up / wake-up time easily.

This machine is very appealing to those who use laptop for web surfing, music, video, MS Office, light photoshop thumbup.gif
WhatMan
post Sep 24 2013, 02:39 PM

1,623 posts

Mind boggling if cannot detect 8GB. Got the slot for what then?
KyriosxX
post Sep 24 2013, 03:15 PM

120 posts

wow got this offer by the agent

vostro 5470 , i5 with 3 years onsite warranty; home and business 2013 only RM2,750.

Worth getting?
bearbear
post Sep 24 2013, 03:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

On Dell website

I5-4200U / 4GB / 500GB / GT 740M 2GB / W8SL - RM2249

Warranty upgrade is RM249
KyriosxX
post Sep 24 2013, 03:33 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 24 2013, 03:30 PM)
On Dell website

I5-4200U / 4GB / 500GB / GT 740M 2GB / W8SL - RM2249

Warranty upgrade is RM249
Yes but i am getting microsoft office home and buss 2013 laugh.gif
bearbear
post Sep 24 2013, 03:58 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 24 2013, 03:33 PM)
Yes but i am getting microsoft office home and buss 2013  laugh.gif
yes sir, you answered yourself biggrin.gif
suadrif
post Sep 24 2013, 05:34 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 24 2013, 02:39 PM)
Mind boggling if cannot detect 8GB. Got the slot for what then?
vostro 5460 and 5470 only got 1 slot
i think max can go only 8gb nod.gif
WhatMan
post Sep 24 2013, 05:42 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 24 2013, 05:34 PM)
vostro 5460 and 5470 only got 1 slot
i think max can go only 8gb  nod.gif
8GB is good enough, even 4GB is okay with me. Its not like we're going to run uber gaming rig.

I've decided to wait till early next month to purchase a laptop. Word has it that the new aluminium Inspiron lappy will be out that time, so don't want to be regret for not waiting just a little bit longer.
lambethwalk
post Sep 24 2013, 06:34 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 24 2013, 02:39 PM)
Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8

Yes, very appealing in look and in spec  thumbup.gif

Buyers need to know the spin:
1. don't get BS by the quad core. That A6 can barely hang with i3 tongue.gif (performance per core by AMD is low)
2. Any laptop that spec with SSD (even if we upgrade SSD aftermarket) can hit those start-up / wake-up time easily.

This machine is very appealing to those who use laptop for web surfing, music, video, MS Office, light photoshop  thumbup.gif
means can rival 5470/5460 right? price is even cheaper.
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 09:53 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 24 2013, 06:34 PM)
means can rival 5470/5460 right? price is even cheaper.
As I mentioned, be aware what the Book 9 is good for and what it is not capable of, and buyers should be very happy with the Book 9.
the 5470 with i3/i5 + GT740M will have more raw processing power.
The Book 9 come with SSD, very responsive right off the block (but 5470, once user upgrade HDD to SSD, could match it), users generally like that very much.
And I always like the matte screen in Samsung models thumbup.gif

I'm a bit concern about the battery running time of the Book 9 since it is spec with a 2 cell (30 Wh) battery, (5470 is spec with 3 cell 48 Wh) hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 25 2013, 09:54 AM
storm88
post Sep 25 2013, 11:17 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 23 2013, 08:53 PM)
The price list in LYN is at the same old place, the menu bar  hmm.gif
http://www.lowyat.net/

8GB DDR3L RAM is ~ RM250-300. (btw, just make sure you said 1.35V)
SSD 128GB is ~ RM300-350.

I'll think the SSD will give you a bigger boost in user experience compared to more RAM. Not just boot time, but generally all the file and data access / saving (consider your Excel file size, make a difference when you open and save the files), page file (if user don't disable), all become a lot snappier.
But yes, SSD price is falling fast. Now I generally go for 256GB SSD at ~ RM600. 2 years ago that wouldn't get a good 64GB SSD. In 5 years, I fully expect the same RM600 will get us a 1TB SSD  thumbup.gif
DDR3L 1600MHz my price as follow:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=494...&type=3&theater
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM

743 posts

Okay..now I have a problem...it seems like dell do not provide the OS cd for the laptop...

1. So if I would want to reformat my laptop..the only way is through BIOS factory image reset?

2. So if I format my computer using lets say..win xp / win 7...meaning my ori windows 8 that came with it is lost forever?

3. As what dell chat told me..I'm not able to simply just download the same edition of windows and use the windows key that came with my original

So what options do I have...if I want a clean install...and let's say adjust my HDD partitions to my preference?
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2013, 12:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM)
Okay..now I have a problem...it seems like dell do not provide the OS cd for the laptop...

1. So if I would want to reformat my laptop..the only way is through BIOS factory image reset?

2. So if I format my computer using lets say..win xp / win 7...meaning my ori windows 8 that came with it is lost forever?

3. As what dell chat told me..I'm not able to simply just download the same edition of windows and use the windows key that came with my original

So what options do I have...if I want a clean install...and let's say adjust my HDD partitions to my preference?
Just stick to factory restore? By doing that you will get everything as it is when u first get the notebook. You will still have all your windows and drivers apart from stuffs you installed yourself into the notebook (so do backup your stuffs laugh.gif)

Unlike earlier generations of Windows, W7 and W8 allow very easy partitioning of HDD right? hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 12:24 PM

4,196 posts

OS Media Kit - Ask (nicely), and you shall get (for free smile.gif )

2. If you really want XP (but why? biggrin.gif ), run virtual machine. Or if you can wait, wait till W8.1 come out (mid Oct13), can boot directly to desktop (bypass Modern UI), so you will not miss W7 tongue.gif

3. W8 key is in the UEFI (BIOS), not something for you to key in. iinm, currently there is no ISO download for W8 from digital river.
suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 12:35 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

it is much easier to do factory reset nowadays since all the drivers are included in the image.
plus, u get it done with single button.
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:24 PM)
OS Media Kit - Ask (nicely), and you shall get (for free smile.gif )

2. If you really want XP (but why?  biggrin.gif ), run virtual machine. Or if you can wait, wait till W8.1 come out (mid Oct13), can boot directly to desktop (bypass Modern UI), so you will not miss W7 tongue.gif

3. W8 key is in the UEFI (BIOS), not something for you to key in. iinm, currently there is no ISO download for W8 from digital river.
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:38 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 12:35 PM)
it is much easier to do factory reset nowadays since all the drivers are included in the image.
plus, u get it done with single button.
Haha..looks like I'm still living in year 2009...windows xp..haha...

Thanks alot bros..
SUSHuman10
post Sep 25 2013, 12:39 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM)
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
You also purchased the copy of Win8 together with your 5470.

So you are free to reformat it back infinitely using the same key on your 5470 if you wish to.

This post has been edited by Human10: Sep 25 2013, 12:40 PM

55 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:55 AM