QUOTE(suadrif @ May 14 2013, 08:13 AM)
i wonder if this dell vostro is considered as ultrabook or not  hmm.gif
The spec with i5 ULV and mSATA SSD has ultrabook sticker smile.gif
nexus2238
post May 14 2013, 09:48 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ May 14 2013, 09:43 AM)
out of 4 model, only 1 is ultrabook rite?
so what if we purchase the cheapo unit and swap with SSD, can it consider as ultrabook?  tongue.gif
since the thickness is only 18mm, less than one inch smile.gif
and installing SSD can increase fast boot
You just don't get the Intel "ultrabook" sticker, since those are using the M CPU, not the ULV CPU, and as a result battery performance suffer a bit tongue.gif
nexus2238
post May 20 2013, 04:33 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ May 20 2013, 03:52 PM)
yeah i upgrade to 8gb ram..take out the original ram..only 1 memory slot though
so your 8G RAM is working properly? rclxms.gif
I ask because Dell's manual somehow stated the max supported RAM is only 4G, and some prospective buyers are worried that when 4G is not enough, cannot upgrade to 8G RAM stick sweat.gif
nexus2238
post May 27 2013, 04:25 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(feei703 @ May 27 2013, 03:48 PM)
hi guy may I know how to do the recovery disc ...tq
Do you mean you already has the Vostro 5460?
You can use the Dell Datasafe blah blah blah (you can find it as an app already installed) to create DVD recovery disc.
nexus2238
post May 27 2013, 04:54 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ May 27 2013, 01:36 PM)
Hi, from what I see in the dissambling video, the HDD is a slim one (7mm) I guess, is it possible to replace it with the normal size 2.5" SSD? will it fit the bracket and the bottom cover??
need owners here to confirm if it is 7mm HDD (won't be surprise it is, probably why it is only 500G (biggest capacity so far for 7mm HDD)).

If it is 7mm, you better get 7mm SATA SSD to replace the HDD. Crucial M4 (7mm), Crucial M500, Intel 320, are popular 7mm SATA SSD models.
nexus2238
post Jun 1 2013, 07:16 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ May 31 2013, 08:00 PM)
Hi all, I saw Dell online offering The Ubuntu set at RM1899. Just wanna ask can i install a Windows 7 Pro OEM version to the laptop?

Thank you smile.gif
if you have the license, by all means. Just need to make sure you get all the proper drivers.
nexus2238
post Jun 18 2013, 12:15 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Jun 15 2013, 05:16 PM)
does dell vostro 5460 support wireless display, WIDI??
as long as "any" laptop has the following (or better), it will support WIDI (if you couldn't find the software in laptop, just download from Intel website):

CPU
Sandy bridge or Ivy bridge (obviously Haswell) i3/5/7

GPU
HD4000, HD3000 (obviously those IGPU with Haswell like HD44/46/50/5200)

Wireless Card
Intel Centrino

nexus2238
post Jun 19 2013, 12:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jun 19 2013, 11:45 AM)
Is this worth considering or should i just buy a macbook air ?
when is a MBA selling at ~ RM2k? hmm.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Jun 23 2013, 08:22 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kam_4160 @ Jun 22 2013, 11:59 PM)
whistling.gif my hdd gt bad sectors, gotta claim warranty with dell next week vmad.gif
Damn poor building materials n part vmad.gif
just claim warranty lah smile.gif Dell technician will fix it at your place. tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Jun 25 2013, 08:59 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Jun 25 2013, 12:43 AM)
Whats the difference between Inspiron and Vostro anyway? Is the Vostro build quality much better and can withstand constant trips?
Difference? Branding laugh.gif
Vostro build quality is only "so so". It's supposed to be entry level "business class" machine, but Vostro 5460 doesn't look too "business" like (maybe I just have myopic view of what business class should look like sweat.gif ).
But Vostro 5460 is lighter than Inspiron 14, has 2 internal fans, come with M CPU for certain specs.

If you are those type of users who are more hamfist, then need to spend a bit more and get proper business class laptop, like Lenovo T series, Dell Latitude E6xxx, HP Elitebook. These things has (roll cage), more solid build, better shock absorption, can withstand lots of abuse, and you can opt for "complete coverage" warranty (brands will fix any damages due to any causes).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jun 25 2013, 09:01 AM
nexus2238
post Jun 25 2013, 09:06 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 24 2013, 11:28 PM)
i damn hate the speaker vmad.gif

any1 have done some fine tuning on the speaker?

btw.... kam_4160
i bought the i3 free dos version......is it all dell vostro are same motherboard?
The speakers seem to be fine from the feedback from other owners. Did you install the proper drivers for the OS you installed?

Yes, all Vostro 5460 use the same mainboard layout. But for those spec that don't come with factory mSATA SSD, booting from mSATA is not enabled in BIOS (I wonder if Dell still able to lock this after they release some BIOS flash upgrade in the future, how are they going to do it? hmm.gif )
nexus2238
post Jun 27 2013, 10:03 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 25 2013, 11:11 AM)
lol.is not fine at all

if compare it with my 2 years old asus is way beyond fine......the sound is muffler and hide under the laptop  doh.gif
As I said, what OS did you installed? iirc, a few older posts in this thread mentioned he experience different sounds from the same speaker using drivers from different OS. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jun 27 2013, 10:04 AM
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 12:35 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 7 2013, 11:59 PM)
Ultrabook? biggrin.gif
I played with my friend's V5 that he recently bought not sure why but his lappy sometimes lags for a sec or two when opening or just start up a game :/
Eg; Metro Last Light/ Firefox/ L4D2 also hangs for a while when exit. Is it due to its processor? But dosent seem the same with another friend's 14R
HDD, most probably smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 12:38 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 8 2013, 12:02 AM)
Actually wanna ask about the last question. If upgrade to SSD drive how to upgrade ah? I see that some config is with the Msata or is it all got?
If I dun want the Msata but actually replace the entire HDD with a new SSD, can I do it myself? or can ask them help us do?
And aside of that the warranty will void? Cuz already bought an 128GB SSD recently and still deciding to get a new laptop :/
I see online pics the bottom seems like no screw de wo doh.gif
Yes, you could replace the HDD with SATA SSD (you can ask re-sellers to help, or DIY by reading the instruction manual), but you need to make sure the z-height of the SSD is 7mm. Doing so, as long as you don't tear any "warranty void if broken" seal, will not void hardware warranty smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 09:47 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 8 2013, 07:25 AM)
ohhh~! just that most probably I need to clone the HDD first is it? so I can have the recovery and etc, etc.
For Dell, you could actually ASK for recovery OD when you order the laptop. Most probably they will give it to you for free smile.gif If you buy online, just ask for it during online chat.
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 05:52 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 01:20 PM)
i ordered 1 unit today, ubuntu version, i5, 630, 3 years warranty, free bluetooth headset, targus bag and wireless dell mice, rm2041. gonna buy a crucial m4 and swap hdd to external storage. is m4 good? or anyone have any other recommendation?
You may have difficulty finding Crucial M4 now, in stock are mostly Crucial M500.
Just keep in mind that you need SSD with 7mm z-height (which unfortunately rule out lots of nice/cheap models).
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 05:58 PM)
so between m500 and m4, which is better?  can point to any thread selling them?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
M500 actually is the new model by Crucial replacing M4 (if you go to Crucial website now you couldn't find M4 listed anymore tongue.gif ) So M4, if any you find right now, are probably Crucial clearing stocks)
There are merit / demerit of M500 vs M4, you could find it in some detail review in Anandtech, eg.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6884/crucial...0gb-240gb-120gb

There are plenty of reputable re-sellers in garage sales forum selling Crucial M500 thumbup.gif You can find them easily.

iinm, M500 is the most affordable (and good) 7mm SSD right now. The other good one are Samsung 830/40(P), Plextor M5P, Intel 520, which are all slightly more expensive. (And these are the 4 SSD brands I "trust" laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM)
i can sense that Dell try to clear old stock xD
Haswell is coming, sifu rclxms.gif
Which mean it is actually good time to grab some nice discount from Dell for those who don't mind some Ivy Bridge laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:20 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM)
what about this: MKNSSDCR120GB-DX7 (7mm LP for Ultrabooks) 120GB [Read : 560MB/s | Write : 515MB/s ] - RM419 - its faster, right?
Don't sweat too much with SSD speed. You probably will never notice it in normal real life usage unless you run benchmark.
Personally, my main criteria has always been consistency in speed / performance, and stable firmware.
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 04:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 18 2013, 11:49 AM)
how if compare with Dell XPS ultrabook ?
QUOTE(hazremi @ Jul 18 2013, 12:28 PM)
u have more budget,go for xps.5460 is perfectly fine with the price and specs yet lightweight
QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 18 2013, 12:40 PM)
truly agree
only dell xps 13 can beat its lightweight, thin, and performance.
XPS13 is very good, but also burn a much larger hole in your pocket. Go for it if you can afford it smile.gif
Yup, this is practically the lightest 14" around now (of course the Thinkpad X1 carbon is lighter but that thing cost > RM5k).

Built quality wise, XPS12 / 13 is much better.
Budget conscious will go with 5460 smile.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:53 AM