Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 01:13 PM

743 posts

Hi guys,

I've been following this thread silently and thank you for all your feedback on this model.

1. I am looking to buy one but I'm unable to decide between the 5470 and the 5460. I like the processing power of the i5-3230M so I don't mind considering the 5460. However, I find it silly to own a brand new laptop that has wifi problems and I would have to use a dongle with it.

2. Everything else in the 5470 is attractive. And it looks like its aimed at improving battery life with all the Low power parts in it. I contacted dell but it seems like they are not able to customize the specs. Only part I don't understand is, although its equipped with the latest Haswell, although its the latest, and the most efficient per watt processor to date and some say that even though the clock is lower than the earlier, it is able to match the clock speed with its efficiency. However, with what dell has to offer, I checked out the specs of the chips online, and it seems like even the latest i5-4200U is more like a downgrade of performance compared to the i5-3337U.

3. Also, regarding the earlier posts and warranty, dell said if I opened it up to replace the ram, it would void my warranty which contradicts with what I read earlier in this thread.

I've been disconnected from technology for ages and I'm still using a 12 yr old Intel Centrino M laptop until I've decided to upgrade, I just started to pick up a few days ago. So do help me out here if I've mistaken in some stuff.

There will definitely be no gaming with this laptop and most of the time it will be used for Excel files that sizes around 500Mb with tons of calculations,multitasking with the Internet, and some adobe illustrator and photoshop. There will be no watching videos here either. In my point of view, I decided on processing power for long term sake so that it could keep up with what I may need it for..instead of battery life where I can live with it as somehow it it can still manage at least 2 hours.
shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 03:17 PM

743 posts

Thank you guys for the enlightenment...

1. Wifi - I hope they fixed it with the new wifi card

2. Processor - im pretty confused, but I see the differences section in CPu Boss and it says that the clock speed etc is higher on the 3337U..that's where I got the idea that its a downgrade..in terms of performance I meant.. Am I wrong here? Really not sure. In fact, I actually asked dell if they could swap in the 3230M..lol

3. thanks for clarifying on the RAM warranty thing. So, where can I buy this ram? Roughly how much does it cost? Any brand recommended? Should I opt for ddr3L if it even exists?

4. A single excel file of mine can go up to 500 Mb..with interlink calculations with another excel files and I use macros to run them. I hope the 4200u can do it...I was worried because I was comparing it to the 3230M..which I am not really sure how much of these Ghz I really need..

5. Inspiron is a huge chunk of technology..I travel much..so 2.5 kg and with my ipad is really alot of weight to carry around..that's why I was so attracted to this model..I feel it sort of balances power and mobility..I don't need so much power to do 3D gaming or whatever's out there...just power for multitasking..and database processing..

6. Also, where should I order from? Dell's website?..or anywhere else with the same deal and freebies would be a plus.

Thanks again bros..

This post has been edited by shawnme: Sep 23 2013, 03:29 PM
shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 06:49 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 23 2013, 04:57 PM)
1. The wifi card in 5470 support 802.11ac, so that's a tick on the future proof part. But the range still waiting to be seen  hmm.gif

2. Can't just compare clock speed, otherwise the old Pentium 4 would have been the champion (P4 is really shitty tongue.gif ). Haswell (ix-4xxxx) has slightly better performance per clock compared to Ivy Bridge (ix-3xxxx). As I mentioned, if you are really looking towards performance, stick with M CPU.

3. if you go with 5470, even though some re-sellers said otherwise, I prefer to stick with DDR3L. You can get DDR3L now relatively easy.

4. No problem lah smile.gif

5. So you need mobility as well  hmm.gif
Personally, I don't think 5460 handle the bump and bruise of biz travel that well tongue.gif If you swap out the HDD with SSD, then it handle the bump better (also improve battery running time as well, on top of having a more responsive laptop).

6. Yes , can order from Dell Online (use chat button to negotiate).
Re-sellers in LYN garage sales threads also carry this model (can COD)
Thanks nexus2238..

So vostro 5270 it is..

So how much does a 8Gb ddr3L cost roughly? And any specific brand that is recommended? I've looked through the price lists..but I can't seem to find any.

Also, I can't seem to fine price lists for parts in the low yat website anymore unlike previously..just wondering how much is a SSD...but I won't go to that anyway..a few seconds extra boot time won't kill me..besides, I will already have the extra unused ram lying around...I don't want to waste my money having unused parts lying around..and besides, I always have backups of my files..so if the HDD is to go out one day, maybe by then they'll have cheaper bigger SSDs..lol

But for now, I'm really curious about the ram...I'm unable to go to lowyat or anything..as I'm actually overseas right now.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Sep 23 2013, 07:25 PM
shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 08:20 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 23 2013, 07:53 PM)
The price list in LYN is at the same old place, the menu bar  hmm.gif
http://www.lowyat.net/

8GB DDR3L RAM is ~ RM250-300. (btw, just make sure you said 1.35V)
SSD 128GB is ~ RM300-350.

I'll think the SSD will give you a bigger boost in user experience compared to more RAM. Not just boot time, but generally all the file and data access / saving (consider your Excel file size, make a difference when you open and save the files), page file (if user don't disable), all become a lot snappier.
But yes, SSD price is falling fast. Now I generally go for 256GB SSD at ~ RM600. 2 years ago that wouldn't get a good 64GB SSD. In 5 years, I fully expect the same RM600 will get us a 1TB SSD  thumbup.gif
Wow...good reference..

If the price is almost the same..and based on what you said..the SSD is definitely more worth it

So if I get the SSD, I just simply replace the current hard disk..correct?
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM

743 posts

Okay..now I have a problem...it seems like dell do not provide the OS cd for the laptop...

1. So if I would want to reformat my laptop..the only way is through BIOS factory image reset?

2. So if I format my computer using lets say..win xp / win 7...meaning my ori windows 8 that came with it is lost forever?

3. As what dell chat told me..I'm not able to simply just download the same edition of windows and use the windows key that came with my original

So what options do I have...if I want a clean install...and let's say adjust my HDD partitions to my preference?
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:24 PM)
OS Media Kit - Ask (nicely), and you shall get (for free smile.gif )

2. If you really want XP (but why?  biggrin.gif ), run virtual machine. Or if you can wait, wait till W8.1 come out (mid Oct13), can boot directly to desktop (bypass Modern UI), so you will not miss W7 tongue.gif

3. W8 key is in the UEFI (BIOS), not something for you to key in. iinm, currently there is no ISO download for W8 from digital river.
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
shawnme
post Sep 25 2013, 12:38 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 12:35 PM)
it is much easier to do factory reset nowadays since all the drivers are included in the image.
plus, u get it done with single button.
Haha..looks like I'm still living in year 2009...windows xp..haha...

Thanks alot bros..
shawnme
post Oct 8 2013, 11:25 PM

743 posts

Damn..I ordered the 5470 2 weeks ago and it's supposed to arrive today..but still nothing.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 8 2013, 11:51 PM
shawnme
post Oct 8 2013, 11:41 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Oct 8 2013, 11:35 PM)
I assume 14 working days? 6 days + 6 days + 2 days = 14 days = 3 weeks.
Nope, I didn't bother to count..I just refer to my order status

shawnme
post Oct 8 2013, 11:59 PM

743 posts

Well, since the 5470 do not come with a dvdr..and I would like to create a backup with the fresh laptop so that I can clean up the entire computer one day if I want to..something like a reformat on win xp.

But I notice that I could only use a flash drive that will make it a bootable flash drive. I don't really want to sacrifice an entire flash drive just to keep the files in the drawer. Is there anyway I can temporarily transfer these files to a cd so that one day when I need it, I can easily transfer it back to a flashdrive for booting and reset purposes?
shawnme
post Oct 9 2013, 09:36 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Oct 9 2013, 09:20 AM)
bootable flash drive requires no more than 4GB, which cost less than rm20.
nowadays usage of CD is very seldom already.
most installer is downloadable from online.

what is your specific usage / requirement for CD anyway?
Nah, I just wanted a OS media kit in case that I would want to wipe clean to a fresh start one day. Its just like having the OS cd in my hands. So the initial thought was...why buy a pendrive and keep it in a drawer..so I thought of keeping it in a dvd..but if I cant transfer the files from usb to cd, and i would have to buy a external dvdr just for that purpose, it'll cost less to simply get a flash drive instead.

Besides, how reliable are flashdrives if not used for a period of time?

And I had the thought. Lets say, I forgot to create a whatever bootable image in a flashdrive when the laptop is fresh from factory. Will I still be able to wipe clean the laptop back to factory in the future?

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 9 2013, 09:38 AM
shawnme
post Oct 11 2013, 10:51 AM

743 posts

Hey guys, to those that swears by Dell, this is my first time ordering from dell online and it is a huge dissapointment with the efficiency. Delivery date starts with the word "estimated" and the paragraph that follows contains too many "if"..when you talk to the customer service, you'll get the usual "there's nothing we can do"...

Laptop is delayed 4 days now...and reason given was because the backpack that comes with it has not arrived due to some inefficient supplier and the entire package has to be delivered together. In order to get it separated, it takes 3 levels of approval from so called " higher management " .....so what happened to customer service?
shawnme
post Oct 12 2013, 07:42 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:47 PM)
read the terms and conditions before you buy smile.gif
Yeah..I know the TnC...it sucks..yet I just wanted to complain about it tongue.gif

It mostly protects their own back from getting burned...sometimes, as consumers, we need to make a stand for ourselves as well, unless you enjoy living under rules, laws, terms and conditions. They said 2 weeks, I gave them 2 weeks, after 2 weeks, i gave them the benefit of doubt for another 4 days with their reasons..after that, to be fair, it doesn't mean they can do anything they want to us and corner us consumers with corporate inefficiency.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 12 2013, 07:55 AM
shawnme
post Oct 14 2013, 10:18 AM

743 posts

bros, i've been using the 5470 for a few hours now. I really hate the touchpad i would say...but the multitouch gestures do come in handy.

However, i have been looking at my Performance Monitor and I notice that Disk Writes is at 100% many of the times while my CPU hardly reaches 90% and at normal usage i am using 70% of my RAM.

I do feel some lag somehow, I wonder it's windows 8 or its due to the 100% Disk writes.

and wow...i can tell you that the battery rocks...it doesn't seem to end

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 14 2013, 02:48 PM
shawnme
post Oct 15 2013, 11:24 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 14 2013, 11:03 PM)
What is it you hate about the touch pad? Yours is icore3 with or without nvidia?
sticky when fingers wet

mine is i5.. i think.. the highest spec

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 15 2013, 11:25 AM
shawnme
post Oct 15 2013, 02:39 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 15 2013, 07:32 AM)
how is the wireless connection range on your 5470? (that is the Achilles heel of 5460  hmm.gif )

Yup, HDD is the bottleneck (for any laptop), that's why it will be good to swap in a SDD smile.gif
WIFI

I am not a hardcore in testing the wifi, but as a normal user, I have my Unifi DIR-615 router downstairs and my laptop upstairs on the second floor on battery with Dell's out-of-the-box battery power settings. I do not seem to have a wifi connection problem except for constantly disconnecting due to the stupid DIR-615 router which happens to all my other devices.

I have also used the laptop outside where, I easily get wifi signals where my iPad 4 cant even detect. I don't know if that is considered okay but I odnt find it a problem.

WIN 8

I have more problem with inconsistent Windows 8 platform between the metro and desktop interface and some occasional program crash, otherwise window 8 is okay as well.

BATTERY LIFE

I could easily get 4 to 5 hours of battery life with me playing around with the laptop these 2 days installing stuff and trying out programs in and out. The battery charges pretty fast too when plugged in. At least the battery can easily last longer than my damn HTC phone with the same amount of usage.

PERFORMANCE

I notice that whenever I feel lag, it will be accustomed with the blinking of the HDD and with the response I got, I now believe it is the bottleneck of the laptop. I am hesitating to change to SSD as I feel that the thing is still relatively new and it's relatively expensive which I feel the prices are going to drop pretty fast. Right now I would mind changing the RAM to 8Gb anyway...Will I see any difference? As I notice it's pretty odd with the way Win 8 uses the RAM. One half is "used", a minute amount as "modified", and the rest of it as "standby"...where very rarely, once in a blue moon you'll get to see about 400Mb as "free".

FINGER PRINT READER

This thing is pretty cool, I use it to log in to windows. Only downside to it is, I have to stick to Windows Explorer as it doesn't work with chrome.

SCREEN

Well, I always tried to avoid glossy screens, but this screen on this piece doesn't really pose a problem to my astig

Well, That's all I can think of for now. If there's anything else you guys would want to know, I'll try to respond.

p/s : this laptop is a fingerprint magnet
shawnme
post Oct 15 2013, 03:47 PM

743 posts

Just for fun...Vostro 5470 battery life with casual internet surfing, without watching videos..just searching, reading, upload, download

shawnme
post Oct 18 2013, 02:26 AM

743 posts

Hey guys,

Windows 8.1 is out apparently..
shawnme
post Oct 18 2013, 12:55 PM

743 posts

Damn Win 8.1 makes my HDD feels even slower..

I will not hesitate to upgrade to a SSD..but right now, the price is still too high for a reasonable storage space

I created a partition , will this slow down my performance causing slower HDD?

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 18 2013, 03:08 PM
shawnme
post Oct 20 2013, 08:44 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Oct 19 2013, 01:36 PM)
my 5460 runs so fast with win8.1 though. not sure why you're having this problem?
Everything else runs fast...boot, processing etc...i notice it only lags during HDD read/write

Is it normal? could it be the partition?

Hmmm...i checked...and i just noticed, even when i'm doing nothing, i have these rubbish running in the background..Do you have it too?

Most of the time, it's the "System" thingy that occasionally having 99% usage of the disk.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Oct 20 2013, 08:50 AM

0.0431sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 PM