Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:39 PM)
You also purchased the copy of Win8 together with your 5470.

So you are free to reformat it back infinitely using the same key on your 5470 if you wish to.
the problem is, he unable to reformat back if he wipe cleaned his hdd
the key is not in sticker anymore. its built in the BIOS.
if its wipe cleaned, its all gone.

SUSHuman10
post Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM)
the problem is, he unable to reformat back if he wipe cleaned his hdd
the key is not in sticker anymore. its built in the BIOS.
if its wipe cleaned, its all gone.
Reboot from ISO file and reactivate, not?
suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 12:51 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 12:47 PM)
Reboot from ISO file and reactivate, not?
u mean ISO file, is it downloaded from internet?
bcoz new laptop doesnt come with win8 CD anymore, and no more license sticker key pasted below laptop.

if its reset from factory setting its yes, thats our recommendation
but he worried someday he accidentally wipe cleaned all of it and then unable to recover back.
lambethwalk
post Sep 25 2013, 12:58 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 09:53 AM)
As I mentioned, be aware what the Book 9 is good for and what it is not capable of, and buyers should be very happy with the Book 9.
the 5470 with i3/i5 + GT740M will have more raw processing power.
The Book 9 come with SSD, very responsive right off the block (but 5470, once user upgrade HDD to SSD, could match it), users generally like that very much.
And I always like the matte screen in Samsung models  thumbup.gif

I'm a bit concern about the battery running time of the Book 9 since it is spec with a 2 cell (30 Wh) battery, (5470 is spec with 3 cell 48 Wh)  hmm.gif
got it. previously was confused as i couldn't differentiate between sarcasm and fact from your message haha. batt power samsung claims 8 hours. but reviews tip it at 4 - 4.5 hours. still ok lah smile.gif
KyriosxX
post Sep 25 2013, 01:39 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM)
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
try asking other sales agent in the chat. maybe others are more generous to give you the Media Kit rclxms.gif
SUSHuman10
post Sep 25 2013, 01:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 12:51 PM)
u mean ISO file, is it downloaded from internet?
bcoz new laptop doesnt come with win8 CD anymore, and no more license sticker key pasted below laptop.

if its reset from factory setting its yes, thats our recommendation
but he worried someday he accidentally wipe cleaned all of it and then unable to recover back.
You can create one disk by yourself. Win7 onwards having such feature.
suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 02:26 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 01:44 PM)
You can create one disk by yourself. Win7 onwards having such feature.
win7 onwards or win7 only?
i didnt find any option to backup factory setting to image file in Win8
SUSHuman10
post Sep 25 2013, 02:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 02:26 PM)
win7 onwards or win7 only?
i didnt find any option to backup factory setting to image file in Win8
This?

nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 02:58 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 25 2013, 12:58 PM)
got it. previously was confused as i couldn't differentiate between sarcasm and fact from your message haha. batt power samsung claims 8 hours. but reviews tip it at 4 - 4.5 hours. still ok lah  smile.gif
Huh? No sarcasm lah smile.gif That Book 9 look really nice and work really well on task that is not very CPU or GPU demanding.
Too bad about the battery running time if only 4 - 4.5 hours hmm.gif If Samsung fit it with a slightly (3 cell vs 2 cells) larger battery (will not increase weight by 100g), it could easily run 6 - 7 hours. Miss opportunity to really wallop the market.
Generally, I really hope brands start to roll out more < RM2k models with a 128G SSD as standard, rather than a slow 1TB 5400 rpm HDD.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 25 2013, 02:59 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 03:06 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 25 2013, 12:37 PM)
1. OS Media kit - I asked like a girl..lol..but what I get is "but now we don't provide the cd for the window or driver anymore"

2. Nah, I don't want xp. I want to try out win 8...but sometimes my butt gets itchy and I tend to do some stupid stuff. What if I just formatted and install windows 7 just for fun. Does this mean I've lost my ori windows 8 forever? Bye bye?..lol..

3. Hmmm..oh yeah...if I remember correctly, windows 8.1 can be upgraded for free ?

Anyway, I'm sooo bored with the old windows look. I would really like to try out some new things. My brain is starting to stagnate and it's starving...Haha..I'm not saying win 8 is superb..I haven't tried it yet...so I can't comment..and btw, I'm saying the above just because so happen I'm getting a new laptop..otherwise I won't bother..lol
1. Ada lah smile.gif

2. The W8 key is stored in the UEFI. Even if you totally reformat the HDD, it's still there in the UEFI. So if you get the W8 OS Media Kit from Dell, you could re-install W8 anytime (after you wipe it out from HDD).

3. Yes, W8.1 is free upgrade from W8.
newbiz2010
post Sep 25 2013, 03:25 PM

32 posts

Dell 14r 4200u giving free win 8 media but not for vostro series..... Cannot figure out the logic behind this.
newbiz2010
post Sep 25 2013, 03:27 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 03:06 PM)
1. Ada lah smile.gif

2. The W8 key is stored in the UEFI. Even if you totally reformat the HDD, it's still there in the UEFI. So if you get the W8 OS Media Kit from Dell, you could re-install W8 anytime (after you wipe it out from HDD).

3. Yes, W8.1 is free upgrade from W8.
Bore with windows change to ubunthu, u will save 200 buck
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 04:11 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2010 @ Sep 25 2013, 03:25 PM)
Dell 14r 4200u giving free win 8 media but not for vostro series..... Cannot figure out the logic behind this.
That's something about the "customisation" page that I never figure out. Even for the same models, for some spec, in the customisation page, has "OS Media Kit" option, but not for other spec laugh.gif

Anyway, for corporate account, every single laptop come with OS media kit in the box tongue.gif
suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 04:40 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 25 2013, 02:44 PM)
This?
owh. ok
i thought its for backup in drive only
suadrif
post Sep 25 2013, 04:54 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 04:11 PM)
That's something about the "customisation" page that I never figure out. Even for the same models, for some spec, in the customisation page, has "OS Media Kit" option, but not for other spec  laugh.gif

Anyway, for corporate account, every single laptop come with OS media kit in the box  tongue.gif
one thing i miss, the product feature in vostro 5470 mention:

"Boot up quickly with a fast solid-state drive (SSD) and get long battery life with the optional Ultrabook™, inspired by Intel."

but i dont see any option for upgrading to SSD rclxub.gif

another thing is,
does it really come with fingerprint reader? unsure.gif

"Essential security

Prevent unauthorized access to your laptop and sensitive data with a built-in fingerprint reader.

Protect against malware and cyber threats with preloaded security software.

Safeguard your data and applications with Dell Backup and Recovery, offering simple and reliable protection from data loss."
nexus2238
post Sep 25 2013, 05:21 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 25 2013, 04:54 PM)
one thing i miss, the product feature in vostro 5470 mention:

"Boot up quickly with a fast solid-state drive (SSD) and get long battery life with the optional Ultrabook™, inspired by Intel."

but i dont see any option for upgrading to SSD  rclxub.gif

another thing is,
does it really come with fingerprint reader?  unsure.gif

"Essential security

Prevent unauthorized access to your laptop and sensitive data with a built-in fingerprint reader.

Protect against malware and cyber threats with preloaded security software.

Safeguard your data and applications with Dell Backup and Recovery, offering simple and reliable protection from data loss."
As mentioned in earlier post, in certain market (eg. China), 5470 has certain spec that come with 8GB RAM + 128GB SSD. Unfortunately, not in Malaysia tongue.gif

Yes, there is fingerprint reader in 5470. Below the arrow keys. (Lots of people don't like fingerprint reader though laugh.gif )
-kytz-
post Sep 25 2013, 08:10 PM

12,573 posts

Just noticed they bumped up the GPU, from GT630M to GT740M. And a similar price tag around RM2-2.3k, this really got me interested brows.gif

1.6kg weight and a thin chasis is a sweet bonus but I'm worried about cooling performance. I absolutely having to feel a warm keyboard/mousepad area. Any other area is fine by me.
lambethwalk
post Sep 25 2013, 09:27 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 25 2013, 02:58 PM)
Huh? No sarcasm lah smile.gif That Book 9 look really nice and work really well on task that is not very CPU or GPU demanding.
Too bad about the battery running time if only 4 - 4.5 hours  hmm.gif If Samsung fit it with a slightly (3 cell vs 2 cells) larger battery (will not increase weight by 100g), it could easily run 6 - 7 hours. Miss opportunity to really wallop the market.
Generally, I really hope brands start to roll out more < RM2k models with a 128G SSD as standard, rather than a slow 1TB  5400 rpm HDD.
haha yes, mistaken smile.gif they have the book 9 plus, but double the price. anyway it looks like its a trend. brands rolling out new ultrabooks. guess ill just wait around for more options. the hp envy spectre has a 128gb ssd... retailing around 2899. no longer selling on hp online store though.
nexus2238
post Sep 26 2013, 12:06 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Sep 25 2013, 09:27 PM)
. guess ill just wait around for more options. the hp envy spectre has a 128gb ssd...
yes, if you could wait, definitely wait a bit longer, at least till Nov, should see more Haswell spec ultrabook roll out with W8.1.
lambethwalk
post Sep 26 2013, 09:51 AM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 26 2013, 12:06 AM)
yes, if you could wait, definitely wait a bit longer, at least till Nov, should see more Haswell spec ultrabook roll out with W8.1.
cool rclxms.gif

55 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0268sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:03 AM