55 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

suadrif
post Sep 19 2013, 12:12 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 18 2013, 11:39 PM)
hi, i have a question for 5460, is the weight the same for the one with gt630m gpu compared to the one without ?
u barely feel the difference
since the absence of nvidia card will be replace with intel graphic card
onimusha_m16
post Sep 19 2013, 12:16 AM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 19 2013, 12:12 AM)
u barely feel the difference
since the absence of nvidia card will be replace with intel graphic card
dont think that the intel gpu is replaced
suadrif
post Sep 19 2013, 12:20 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 19 2013, 12:16 AM)
dont think that the intel gpu is replaced
why?
vostro does not come with dual graphic card.
if ur model comes with nvidia, then the space is occupied.
if ur model dont have nvidia, then how suppose your laptop work without graphic card if there is no intel graphic?
onimusha_m16
post Sep 19 2013, 12:23 AM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 19 2013, 12:20 AM)
why?
vostro does not come with dual graphic card.
if ur model comes with nvidia, then the space is occupied.
if ur model dont have nvidia, then how suppose your laptop work without graphic card if there is no intel graphic?
i remember that someone saying about nvidia optimus in which we can switch to intel gpu for light work
suadrif
post Sep 19 2013, 12:27 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 19 2013, 12:23 AM)
i remember that someone saying about nvidia optimus in which we can switch to intel gpu for light work
i said, its for dual graphic.
onimusha_m16
post Sep 19 2013, 12:32 AM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 19 2013, 12:27 AM)
i said, its for dual graphic.
what i am trying to say is the intel gpu is built-in in the cpu or mobo, so the nvidia gpu is something "extra", so i am asking how much will the weight be different for the models with and without nvidia gpu?
SUSHuman10
post Sep 19 2013, 12:39 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 19 2013, 12:32 AM)
what i am trying to say is the intel gpu is built-in in the cpu or mobo, so the nvidia gpu is something "extra", so i am asking how much will the weight be different for the models with and without nvidia gpu?
LOL, assuming they use the same heatsink design for both Intel and Nvidia version, then the weight different will be like few grams for the absent of Nvidia chipset?
nexus2238
post Sep 19 2013, 01:54 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 19 2013, 12:32 AM)
no noticeable weight difference between 5460 spec with vs without Nvidia GT635M.

for 5470, there is a slight weight difference between 5470 spec with (heavier) vs without (lighter) Touch screen.
WhatMan
post Sep 19 2013, 01:20 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 17 2013, 10:02 PM)
Already available...

http://www.dell.com/my/p/vostro-5470/fs

I wonder if we are going to get these or not...

http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/17/dell-in...00-inspiron-11/
Damn, now you make me feel like waiting again. The new Inspiron looks very nice.
KyriosxX
post Sep 19 2013, 02:48 PM

120 posts

is it me or there's not much of review on vostro 5470?
suadrif
post Sep 19 2013, 03:07 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 19 2013, 02:48 PM)
is it me or there's not much of review on vostro 5470?
Too new i think
Its just up for 2-3 days
KyriosxX
post Sep 19 2013, 04:22 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 19 2013, 03:07 PM)
Too new i think
Its just up for 2-3 days
the built and stuff is the same as 5460 right?
just upgrade on processor and graphic card? smile.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 19 2013, 07:57 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Sep 19 2013, 04:22 PM)
the built and stuff is the same as 5460 right?
just upgrade on processor and graphic card? smile.gif
wireless card. some spec has touchscreen.
shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 01:13 PM

743 posts

Hi guys,

I've been following this thread silently and thank you for all your feedback on this model.

1. I am looking to buy one but I'm unable to decide between the 5470 and the 5460. I like the processing power of the i5-3230M so I don't mind considering the 5460. However, I find it silly to own a brand new laptop that has wifi problems and I would have to use a dongle with it.

2. Everything else in the 5470 is attractive. And it looks like its aimed at improving battery life with all the Low power parts in it. I contacted dell but it seems like they are not able to customize the specs. Only part I don't understand is, although its equipped with the latest Haswell, although its the latest, and the most efficient per watt processor to date and some say that even though the clock is lower than the earlier, it is able to match the clock speed with its efficiency. However, with what dell has to offer, I checked out the specs of the chips online, and it seems like even the latest i5-4200U is more like a downgrade of performance compared to the i5-3337U.

3. Also, regarding the earlier posts and warranty, dell said if I opened it up to replace the ram, it would void my warranty which contradicts with what I read earlier in this thread.

I've been disconnected from technology for ages and I'm still using a 12 yr old Intel Centrino M laptop until I've decided to upgrade, I just started to pick up a few days ago. So do help me out here if I've mistaken in some stuff.

There will definitely be no gaming with this laptop and most of the time it will be used for Excel files that sizes around 500Mb with tons of calculations,multitasking with the Internet, and some adobe illustrator and photoshop. There will be no watching videos here either. In my point of view, I decided on processing power for long term sake so that it could keep up with what I may need it for..instead of battery life where I can live with it as somehow it it can still manage at least 2 hours.
suadrif
post Sep 23 2013, 02:17 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 23 2013, 01:13 PM)
Hi guys,

I've been following this thread silently and thank you for all your feedback on this model.

1. I am looking to buy one but I'm unable to decide between the 5470 and the 5460. I like the processing power of the i5-3230M so I don't mind considering the 5460. However, I find it silly to own a brand new laptop that has wifi problems and I would have to use a dongle with it.
u should go for 5470, by assuming that they fixed the Wifi issue. currently there is no user review saying that 5470 have fix the problem. but as hardware spec, assuming its get better. better try something 50-50 instead of go for 100% unsatisfactory.

2. Everything else in the 5470 is attractive. And it looks like its aimed at improving battery life with all the Low power parts in it. I contacted dell but it seems like they are not able to customize the specs. Only part I don't understand is, although its equipped with the latest Haswell, although its the latest, and the most efficient per watt processor to date and some say that even though the clock is lower than the earlier, it is able to match the clock speed with its efficiency. However, with what dell has to offer, I checked out the specs of the chips online, and it seems like even the latest i5-4200U is more like a downgrade of performance compared to the i5-3337U.
comparison between processor: i5-4200 win source
overall processor ranking: i5-4200 win source

3. Also, regarding the earlier posts and warranty, dell said if I opened it up to replace the ram, it would void my warranty which contradicts with what I read earlier in this thread.
yes void. but only void for ram only. ram have less than 0.1% of failure case reported. therefore, i would ignore it.
other parts is still under warranty.

I've been disconnected from technology for ages and I'm still using a 12 yr old Intel Centrino M laptop until I've decided to upgrade, I just started to pick up a few days ago. So do help me out here if I've mistaken in some stuff.

There will definitely be no gaming with this laptop and most of the time it will be used for Excel files that sizes around 500Mb with tons of calculations,multitasking with the Internet, and some adobe illustrator and photoshop. There will be no watching videos here either. In my point of view, I decided on processing power for long term sake so that it could keep up with what I may need it for..instead of battery life where I can live with it as somehow it it can still manage at least 2 hours.
nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 02:48 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(shawnme @ Sep 23 2013, 01:13 PM)

I suppose the illustrator and photoshop you do are not too intensive?
The Excel file (1 file 500MB? or all your files combine 500MB?), ULV / ULT CPU could handle it. You need to worry about RAM if the photo / graphic files that you edit are big size. FYI, if you are using newer version of Adobe suite, quite a bit of functions are utilising GPU smile.gif

If you are someone that is looking for more firepower rather than mobility, then maybe 5460 / 5470 is not best suited for your need hmm.gif
For example, if you want to stick with Dell, this 14R has larger battery for longer running time, more RAM slot for you to upgrade.
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

2. "i5-4200U is more like a downgrade of performance compared to the i5-3337U" - not true lah biggrin.gif

3. It's actually quite easy to get to the RAM slot for 5460 / 5470. I've not seen any "warranty void if broken" sticker on the RAM slot. The problem is that it only has 1 RAM slot tongue.gif
suadrif
post Sep 23 2013, 03:08 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 23 2013, 02:48 PM)
I suppose the illustrator and photoshop you do are not too intensive?
The Excel file (1 file 500MB? or all your files combine 500MB?), ULV / ULT CPU could handle it. You need to worry about RAM if the photo / graphic files that you edit are big size. FYI, if you are using newer version of Adobe suite, quite a bit of functions are utilising GPU smile.gif

If you are someone that is looking for more firepower rather than mobility, then maybe 5460 / 5470 is not best suited for your need  hmm.gif
For example, if you want to stick with Dell, this 14R has larger battery for longer running time, more RAM slot for you to upgrade.
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

2. "i5-4200U is more like a downgrade of performance compared to the i5-3337U" - not true lah biggrin.gif

3. It's actually quite easy to get to the RAM slot for 5460 / 5470. I've not seen any "warranty void if broken" sticker on the RAM slot. The problem is that it only has 1 RAM slot  tongue.gif
sifu, is there any way to upgrade for SSD and 8GB ram for 5470?
can windows 8 single language support it?
shawnme
post Sep 23 2013, 03:17 PM

743 posts

Thank you guys for the enlightenment...

1. Wifi - I hope they fixed it with the new wifi card

2. Processor - im pretty confused, but I see the differences section in CPu Boss and it says that the clock speed etc is higher on the 3337U..that's where I got the idea that its a downgrade..in terms of performance I meant.. Am I wrong here? Really not sure. In fact, I actually asked dell if they could swap in the 3230M..lol

3. thanks for clarifying on the RAM warranty thing. So, where can I buy this ram? Roughly how much does it cost? Any brand recommended? Should I opt for ddr3L if it even exists?

4. A single excel file of mine can go up to 500 Mb..with interlink calculations with another excel files and I use macros to run them. I hope the 4200u can do it...I was worried because I was comparing it to the 3230M..which I am not really sure how much of these Ghz I really need..

5. Inspiron is a huge chunk of technology..I travel much..so 2.5 kg and with my ipad is really alot of weight to carry around..that's why I was so attracted to this model..I feel it sort of balances power and mobility..I don't need so much power to do 3D gaming or whatever's out there...just power for multitasking..and database processing..

6. Also, where should I order from? Dell's website?..or anywhere else with the same deal and freebies would be a plus.

Thanks again bros..

This post has been edited by shawnme: Sep 23 2013, 03:29 PM
WhatMan
post Sep 23 2013, 03:59 PM

1,623 posts

Between Latitude and Vostro, I suppose Latitude is more solid and that of higher quality?
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 04:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 23 2013, 03:59 PM)
Between Latitude and Vostro, I suppose Latitude is more solid and that of higher quality?
Yeah, definitely nod.gif

55 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:27 PM