176 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

ilineZ
post Oct 10 2012, 02:43 PM

99 posts

this tread is cool, still active after 6 years!
and it tooks me 2 days to finish all 1-42 pages!
the conclusion i get is:
first, check ur eye condition pre-op to choose which method suitable.
second:
basically there are 2 main corrective surgery:
one is the lasik, where they open flap and do lasik.
recovery within days.
suitable for thick cornea,
the cons: its has higher risk for contact sport
there are two: one is using blade/keratome. one is without blade- full lasik. and of course beside those two, there is one customized which is more expensive and more suitable for extreme high myopia and other special circumstances

while the other is lasek.
in this case they dont open but scratch,
so recovery time takes longer - few weeks to months
suitable for thin cornea
its more suitable for those who like extreme sport
there is one type of lasek where you need to use contact lens for days after this surgery.

oh, thats what i understand after staring at this forum and other web for hours...CMIIW

hhmmm...my dad who ask me to do lasik
as my brother did before , 7 years ago (i guess he took the lasek procedure, coz he said it took 2 weeks to see properly, 3 months for full recovery)
he is totally fine now, no complication n so on.

but my mom said lasik not necesary, n since it takes time to heal, gota hv to sacrifice other activities to do..
hhmmm..both oso true..still duno what to decide
Lucas91
post Oct 10 2012, 08:35 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Oct 10 2012, 02:43 PM)
the conclusion i get is:
second:
recovery within days.
there are two: one is using blade/keratome. one is without blade- full lasik. and of course beside those two, there is one customized which is more expensive and more suitable for extreme high myopia and other special circumstances

suitable for thin cornea
there is one type of lasek where you need to use contact lens for days after this surgery.

oh, thats what i understand after staring at this forum and other web for hours...CMIIW

as my brother did before , 7 years ago (i guess he took the lasek procedure, coz he said it took 2 weeks to see properly, 3 months for full recovery)

but my mom said lasik not necesary, n since it takes time to heal, gota hv to sacrifice other activities to do..
nice summary~~ cool man

Tavia88
post Oct 16 2012, 08:54 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Oct 10 2012, 02:43 PM)
the conclusion i get is:
second:
recovery within days.

suitable for thin cornea

+1 rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing your 2days effort man..! tongue.gif I am also still considering to go for it or not -.-''
star11jewel
post Oct 16 2012, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Oct 16 2012, 08:54 PM)
+1  rclxms.gif  Thanks for sharing your 2days effort man..! tongue.gif  I am also still considering to go for it or not -.-''
Me also..Still remembered that time cost to do lasik rm6k per eye/ average rm12k. since that i wish+hope+aim to do lasik 1 day & thru years.. My power increase every years up to 900.
Tavia88
post Oct 16 2012, 11:35 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(star11jewel @ Oct 16 2012, 10:58 PM)
Me also..Still remembered that time cost to do lasik rm6k per eye/ average rm12k. since that i wish+hope+aim to do lasik 1 day & thru years.. My power increase every years up to 900.
Haha, yea last time quite expensive but now i felt its affordable. Yet, I am doubt about the side effect. As I asked an eye specialist from sime darby centre before that "why most of the doctor themself dont go for Lasik? Is that any side effect after long term? He keep on ignoring my questions and said it depends on individual " -.-''
alanyuppie
post Oct 17 2012, 11:12 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Oct 17 2012, 12:35 AM)
Haha, yea last time quite expensive but now i felt its affordable. Yet, I am doubt about the side effect. As I asked an eye specialist from sime darby centre before that "why most of the doctor themself dont go for Lasik? Is that any side effect after long term? He keep on ignoring my questions and said it depends on individual " -.-''
he's just being frank. he doesnt have a time machine and visit 30 years from now to see outcomes of patients from 2012 LASIK technology/treatment.

Maybe you should ask him "depends on what?" .

First you must ask what LASIK will do to your eyes in terms of its structure. then you ask dr. if those structure are changed (like thinner cornea).. what is the future risks for eye problems (compared to those with thick ones). Well even without any form of surgery.. the eye will naturally degenerate (the vitreous humor/cornea, lens opacity) and most elderly will have eye problems .. but what you should concern about... will those eye problems come earlier (by 10/ 20 years) if you plan for LASIK and only gets to enjoy the good outcomes for 20 years .. then everything goes downhill when you are aged "merely" 50 years old?

sometimes its important to go further and learn more about the eyes coz we only have a pair in our lifetime and its not transplantable.

Anyway... as an eye specialist... he definitely WELCOME MORE PATIENTS to make his business better. maybe he's happy alot of people are undergoing LASIK ... a few % might be his patient to treat LASIK complications .

Eye doc or LASIK doc......... its just pure business for many. make your own conclusions and weight the risk vs benefit.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Oct 17 2012, 11:13 AM
Tavia88
post Oct 17 2012, 08:17 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Oct 17 2012, 11:12 AM)
he's just being frank. he doesnt have a time machine and visit 30 years from now to see outcomes of patients  from 2012 LASIK technology/treatment.

Maybe you should ask him "depends on what?" . 

First you must ask what LASIK will do to your eyes in terms of its structure. then you ask dr. if those structure are changed (like thinner cornea).. what is the future risks for eye problems (compared to those with thick ones). Well even without any form of surgery.. the eye will naturally degenerate (the vitreous humor/cornea, lens opacity)  and most elderly will have eye problems .. but what you should concern about... will those eye problems come earlier (by 10/ 20 years) if you plan for LASIK and only gets to enjoy the good outcomes for 20 years .. then everything goes downhill when you are aged "merely" 50 years old?
sometimes its important to go further and learn more about the eyes coz we only have a pair in our lifetime and its not transplantable.

Anyway... as an eye specialist... he definitely WELCOME MORE PATIENTS to make his business better. maybe he's happy alot of people are undergoing LASIK  ... a few % might be his patient to treat LASIK complications .

Eye doc or LASIK doc......... its just pure business for many. make your own conclusions and weight the risk vs benefit.
Yea, got your point. Thats what i am considering sometimes as actually its enough if we can enjoy the benefits of lasik for around 20-30 years. As Maybe we would leave this world after 30 years? Haha...
caerulln
post Oct 17 2012, 11:40 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

I agree.
Weigh the risk vs benefits.
& I can guarantee that the benefits will far outweigh the risks.

I hear a lot of talk about complications blablabla.
Please, anyone here who did lasik & got complication, please share with us.

Those who have excessive paranoia about the long term effect of lasik should also be wary of new soft drinks (or just about anything) long term effects. Who knows what will happen in 30 years considering manufacturers put a lot of chemical & colorant in them rolleyes.gif
Dannyl
post Oct 20 2012, 07:22 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Be sure to go for blade-less technology... these are more expensive (definitely no more 2k per eye) but very much less side effects like short-sighted returning.
azadmd
post Nov 5 2012, 03:11 PM

15 posts

did u guys see the latest Final Destination movie? whats up with that?
is that Lasik?
kamazaki
post Nov 11 2012, 06:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Jan 5 2009, 08:27 PM)
Dr. Chuah Kay Leong at TTDI Optimax is an expert in cornea-related matters. He has performed 1000s of Lasik surgeries as well as my Epi-Lasik surgery 2-3 weeks ago and I'm healing very well so far with little or no complications. You can try him if you want. It costs like RM200 to schedule an appointment with him though.
Wow does this price still valid? I'm tired of using contact lens really disturbed me when ever I practice my boxing lesson. ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by kamazaki: Nov 11 2012, 06:20 PM
bingo123
post Nov 18 2012, 11:14 PM

Did anyone here went for lasik at Prince Court ? Any comments ? They are offering premium lasek at Rm 6990 for both eyes .thx
GloryKnight
post Nov 28 2012, 02:02 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Oct 7 2012, 10:52 PM)
hi all, any idea how much does a general consultation for cornea yhickness cost in optimax? thinking to check my cornea at jb optimax to see if i'm suitablr for lasik...
hi lencent, mind telling me hows your experience with optimax JB? thanks!
arthertbc0702
post Nov 29 2012, 10:46 PM

61 posts

Hey all.

Was just googling around on LASIK for fun cause I just did mine today at around 3pm. I went to Vista at the curve.

I find their service good. My doctor was Dr Shamala. Very professional and knowledgable. I went for the custom LASIK. Set me back RM 9,996. Just hoping that the high price is an indication of quality. Lol.

At the moment, just woke up from the "compulsory" 4 hour nap. Eyes are still bloodshot from the suction when creating the flap. But I can see clearly now. The blurred vision from when I just got off the operating table has now cleared.

There's no pain, the most uncomfortable part being the suction when creating the flap. The actual correction to the cornea was about 30 seconds per eye. The nurses do a count down so I know how long it took. I was nervous so they gave me a teddy bear to hold. Lol.

Further follow up tomorrow with the doctor.
driftmeister
post Nov 29 2012, 11:21 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(arthertbc0702 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:46 PM)
Hey all.

Was just googling around on LASIK for fun cause I just did mine today at around 3pm. I went to Vista at the curve.

I find their service good. My doctor was Dr Shamala. Very professional and knowledgable. I went for the custom LASIK. Set me back RM 9,996. Just hoping that the high price is an indication of quality. Lol.

At the moment, just woke up from the "compulsory" 4 hour nap. Eyes are still bloodshot from the suction when creating the flap. But I can see clearly now. The blurred vision from when I just got off the operating table has now cleared.

There's no pain, the most uncomfortable part being the suction when creating the flap. The actual correction to the cornea was about 30 seconds per eye. The nurses do a count down so I know how long it took. I was nervous so they gave me a teddy bear to hold. Lol.

Further follow up tomorrow with the doctor.
for that price, i think this should be the iLasik?
arthertbc0702
post Nov 30 2012, 09:39 AM

61 posts

Can't really remember what's it called but its the premium one that corrects the higher aberrations.

Woke up today. Vision is clear but a bit cloudy. Can't really be in bright places. Or as they say in Chinese "Jian bu de guang" haha
summer sky
post Dec 2 2012, 01:20 AM

After went for eye check up in 3 eye speciallists, finally I decided to do my lasik at Advance Vision Damansara. Don't know why, I feel confidence with Dr.Yeoh and also agree with one of the person comment here that this centre look not so "commersial" and keep on promote us on the difference "package".

The operation date will be on 14-Dec-2012. Feel very nervous now, sure I can't sleep on the day before operation. Hope everything will be fine and go smoothly.
God bless me pls... smile.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 2 2012, 08:46 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(summer sky @ Dec 2 2012, 01:20 AM)
After went for eye check up in 3 eye speciallists, finally I decided to do my lasik at Advance Vision Damansara. Don't know why, I feel confidence with Dr.Yeoh and also agree with one of the person comment here that this centre look not so "commersial" and keep on promote us on the difference "package".

The operation date will be on 14-Dec-2012. Feel very nervous now, sure I can't sleep on the day before operation. Hope everything will be fine and go smoothly.
God bless me pls...  smile.gif
good for u.. rclxms.gif
please update ur experience here after ur surgery
so u are taking the 2888 package?

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Dec 2 2012, 08:46 AM
gonzalo20
post Dec 2 2012, 04:26 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(summer sky @ Dec 2 2012, 01:20 AM)

God bless me pls...  smile.gif
wohoo. share with me ur experience later. btw u have rabun jauh or rabun dekat?

Added on December 2, 2012, 5:01 pmi just wonder why Adv vision damansara price is way too cheaper compare to prince court?

This post has been edited by gonzalo20: Dec 2 2012, 05:01 PM
Sandip100
post Dec 3 2012, 12:18 AM

134 posts

hey guys this friday i will be going to optimax ttdi for eye checkup and hopefully if they deem me suitable for lasik, im gonna do the surgery on the same day....the girl was saying to me that their package is sumthing like this....rm6000 using blade and rm8000 using laser/bladeless....but according to her i dunt need to go for laser so using blade will be fine for me....and it seems they are having a promotion now for christmas...so using blade is only rm4500 instead of rm6000....gosh feeling excited and nervous at the same time...just cant wait to get rid of my glasses...and also optimax gives a lifetime warranty where if ur power do increase they will do it again for free...the only thing is that i come for a normal eye checkup every year once for rm60

176 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:11 PM