LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

alanyuppie
post May 26 2008, 11:36 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Aug 23 2007, 01:09 PM)
in fact nobody has gone blind in Malaysia because of Lasik.
Why must it only be deemed as complications when blindness or permanent sight damage happens? complications can be risk of other visual annoyances after the surgery, such as double vision, halos etc etc , which CAN also affects the standard of living . Potential patients whom are plaqued with poor vision, naturally would wish LASIK/LASEK WILL solve their problem FOREVER, this means, ZERO visual defects of any kind after surgery. But if there are still visual problems of any kind that they still have to bear with after putting their $$$ into such surgery, it's ALSO a complication*.

* this is subjective depending on tolerance level of patients. Some with extreme sort-sightedness before surgery, when done with LASIK/LASEK, might get a 20/20 or 20/40. Even though a small portion might have glares afterwards, they're generally happy with the outcome. But this DOES NOT MEAN zero complication in general terms. It's merely " ah... I can live with that" kinda issue in the perception of each individual patient only.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: May 26 2008, 11:41 AM
alanyuppie
post Apr 22 2009, 10:00 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(secretsquirrel @ Apr 21 2009, 01:10 PM)
Once I heard someone shared about this.  He is a knowledgeable man in his late 50s.  He said he is NOT sure all of these new technology is safe and good to use cos it is too new to be used on human body.  It looks safe now, but we dont have a history record of the consequences on a human body for 50yrs later, or 100 yrs later.  hmm.gif

But in 50 years time, regardless of what consequences, I'm sure the patients doesn't really care too much anymore that far end of their future. They are offered ways to ensure their youth are lived in hassle-free manner, and willing to pay good $$ to ensure it happens and their visual anomaly are cured instantly. Natural method of improving vision takes too long a time and dedication, which many of us are unable to commit. That's why some didn't believe in it (too little number of people who commit, and even far less of them success in gaining 'fairly' satisfied improvement ), or the rate of improvement doesn't worth the effort the time spent.

It's the same mindset like obese people. They can't be sure they'll be truly fit again even with commitment towards eating right and exercising. The result might takes year. That's why there are liposuctions and other weirdly named surgery to cater for them.

I'm sure LASIK, LASEK methods will be improvised in years to come, to further reduce the risks of complications and minor inconvienience. Maybe in 10 years time, the procedure might involve a quick zap on the eyes for a min, and its 20/20 all over again.

alanyuppie
post Jan 18 2012, 02:03 PM

2,834 posts

I have been wondering the motivations of many young people interesting it LASIK/LASEK to remove the dependency on spectacles/contact lens "forever".

Q1) if the procedure is successful and zero side effects.. the benefit last 20++ years (spec-less). For those who did it lets say at age 21, after they reach 40++ years old, presbyopia sets in.. so its back to using spec again.

Q2) the "lifetime" guarantee by many LASIK centres to correct vision is dependent on the cornea thickness of patient. There is a limit on how many times a cornea can be reshaped to restore visual acuity.

Q3) As LASIK has tampered with the cornea (same like eye surgery), what happens when we have cataracts when we gets old (which is common as we aged). The success rate of cataract surgery depends on the integrity of the cornea too.

So its doing LASIK /LASEK first, enjoy for the next 30++ years, then start worry bout "higher" risks of visual impairment when we gets older for many of us here?

Finally, with all the different pricing and promotions by the centres... it started to become like "plastic surgery" already. Is there a regulatory body to ensure all these centres provide the best support/care for their patients?

alanyuppie
post Feb 15 2012, 09:34 AM

2,834 posts

the failure rate sometimes are caused by the patients themselves that doesnt have full understanding of their vision problem which are caused by underlying diseases (for eg. diabetes) , or decided to proceed even though being made known the higher risks compared to other patients (borderline cornea thickness for eg.)

Not all myopia are the "garden variety" type.

alanyuppie
post Feb 22 2012, 09:33 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 22 2012, 10:24 AM)
that's great new
plan to do it soon since it will be helpful for my badminton leh
wouldnt that be much better
sinceĀ  i'm more of a sports person lah
After any kind of eye surgery , including LASIK/LASEK.. usually patients are advised to wear protective googles for contact sports. Any form of trauma to the eyes involved are more risky compared to unoperated-eyes. Not sure bout badminton though.. hopefully the chances of the shuttlecock accidentally hit your eye or you falling down face first are 0.00001%.

Same goes for "thrilling" rides like rollercoaster , which should be avoided.

Its not "perfect vision without specs. ANYWHERE, ANYTIME, ANY ACTIVITIES" after LASIK.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Feb 22 2012, 09:35 AM
alanyuppie
post Jul 13 2012, 09:49 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 13 2012, 10:17 AM)
huh ?
whhat do u mean by that ?
come back soon ?
isnt the procedure permenant ? sad.gif
I believe he meant even after this procedure.. we must still take good care of our eyes /less stress in order not to make it worse again. Due to the eye's ageing process like any part of our body.... it wont be perfect forever even after LASIK. still depends on how we takes care of our body/general health.

the risks of being highly myopic (due to elongated eyeball) IS STILL THERE even though you got it corrected with LASIK. Even though Dr. gives a greenlight to play contact sports after LASIK due to non-dependent of glasses/eye 100% healed... but any form of injuries involving eyes will have bigger consequences for highly myopic people (risks level never reduced before /after LASIK).

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jul 13 2012, 09:55 AM
alanyuppie
post Oct 17 2012, 11:12 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Oct 17 2012, 12:35 AM)
Haha, yea last time quite expensive but now i felt its affordable. Yet, I am doubt about the side effect. As I asked an eye specialist from sime darby centre before that "why most of the doctor themself dont go for Lasik? Is that any side effect after long term? He keep on ignoring my questions and said it depends on individual " -.-''
he's just being frank. he doesnt have a time machine and visit 30 years from now to see outcomes of patients from 2012 LASIK technology/treatment.

Maybe you should ask him "depends on what?" .

First you must ask what LASIK will do to your eyes in terms of its structure. then you ask dr. if those structure are changed (like thinner cornea).. what is the future risks for eye problems (compared to those with thick ones). Well even without any form of surgery.. the eye will naturally degenerate (the vitreous humor/cornea, lens opacity) and most elderly will have eye problems .. but what you should concern about... will those eye problems come earlier (by 10/ 20 years) if you plan for LASIK and only gets to enjoy the good outcomes for 20 years .. then everything goes downhill when you are aged "merely" 50 years old?

sometimes its important to go further and learn more about the eyes coz we only have a pair in our lifetime and its not transplantable.

Anyway... as an eye specialist... he definitely WELCOME MORE PATIENTS to make his business better. maybe he's happy alot of people are undergoing LASIK ... a few % might be his patient to treat LASIK complications .

Eye doc or LASIK doc......... its just pure business for many. make your own conclusions and weight the risk vs benefit.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Oct 17 2012, 11:13 AM
alanyuppie
post Dec 11 2012, 10:03 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Dec 11 2012, 10:59 PM)

Heading to a Lasik treatment soon...
Just want to ask, before the lasik treatment take place, doc mostly will dilate our eyes right for another check out. After this checkout, do them provide us sunglasses to wear? how long the dilation will last?

My lasik treatment happen on the same day of the dilation procedure, there's interval of 6 hours before the treatment. Can I go catch a movie? Sorry, its my first time. Not very sure on the procedure although they had brief me through the basic.

Please advise. Thanks!
dilated eyes will last the whole day. when your eyes are dilated ... they will be very sensitive to light. dont bother wasting $$ on movies coz you wont be enjoying it, especially in the dark cinema.

alanyuppie
post Apr 9 2018, 12:23 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(jonnyha @ Apr 9 2018, 01:04 PM)
1) The age is a concern, I just don't want to have both myoptic as well as need for reading glasses later. Double the trouble.
If the procedure failed to correct you to acceptable power of 100 or less (after 6 months wait for power to stabilize) ...you still need glasses to correct it to zero , for your daily activities . its back to square one + free glare problem at nite (also need glasses to correct).

Either way , as a highly myopic patient, you gonna be stuck with glasses pre and post LASIK procedure. Those who enjoy glasses free after this procedure are patients with mild myopia, coz their risk factor are lower.

Patient MUST UNDERSTAND not just the risks... but their EXPECTATIONS YEARS DOWN THE ROAD.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Apr 9 2018, 12:24 PM

0.0182sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:52 PM