6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

caerulln
post Jul 11 2008, 04:17 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

sorry for bumping old thread.
I'm getting interested to do a LASIK.
Really annoyed by my so imperfect vision.

Currently, most seems to recommend Optimax.
My mom did intra-Lasik there
previously more than -10.00
all goes very well. Just still left some presbyopia

But after some researching, I'm focused on Vista.
They seem to have some more advance tech.
Check out their NASA iLASIK.

NASA approves a type of laser eye treatment for their astronauts.
Got a few commercial names. Checking the equipment Vista is using for their iLASIK seems to match those that are approved by NASA

Very expensive though.
Normal price: RM6500/eye
Bank promotion: RM5000/eye
Can get 0% installment up to 48 months (select credit cards) = RM210/month for both eyes.
Follow up care of 24 months
Lifetime warranty

Looking at the price might seems expensive but as I intend to take the installment, I guess some extra won't be felt too much.
Always better to get the best that we can afford.

Anyone done this type of treatment?
Or knows anyone else?
caerulln
post Jul 13 2008, 08:42 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

well..u do sound like an advert laugh.gif
anyway, i'm quite sold on the nasa ilasik.
It gave great confidence when the military & nasa approves it for their employee smile.gif

The statistic of 100% of the ilasik patient gets 20/40 vision or better is very assuring.
& i think it is 98% 20/20
some even reach 20/15 vision thumbup.gif
caerulln
post Jul 14 2008, 07:24 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 14 2008, 12:39 PM)
How much pain during and after are we talking about here ?

Because i am allergic to the pain.

Another concern i have is, from what i understand, you need to be awake and with your eyes open.

How long do you have to do that for while someone uses a blade to cut your eye or use a laser pointer at into your eye ?

What happens if you accidently blink or close your eyes ?  shocking.gif
This not to mention dry eyes, possible blindness, or other problems.
What really worries me the most is the 20 year + effects not known ..........
Did anybody read the newspaper a while ago that showed the effects of using contact lenses for over a long period ? This guys eyes got scratched out by the contacts. But why is it like people aren't aware of that and are still wearing contacts ? I stopped a long while ago.
er.. allergic to pain?
means u will go into anaphylactic shock when u are in pain? rclxub.gif
House goona love u tongue.gif

Yes long term effect is unknown.
& those who are not ready to accept the risk, don't do it.
Anyway, it all depends on how u calculate the risks.
IMO, the benefits outweight the risks tremendously.

Same as contacts.
Got risks but for some people, the benefits outweigh them.

The eye will be anesthetized.
Your eyelids will be held with a device to keep it open.
Dont worry if u move your eyes away from the laser point.
The system will know & compensate.
If the eye moves out of range of compensation, it will stop the laser.

Not much pain.
some report says some pain persists for 2/3 days then disappear.
Some no pain at all.

U need to do more research if u intends to laser your eyeballs.
Btw, it is not a laser pointer. The laser is called excimer laser.
caerulln
post Dec 2 2008, 04:35 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(J_D @ Jul 20 2008, 10:40 AM)
Lasik can go by many names and Vista's lasik is actually no different than the ones you find in Optimax or any other lasik centres in Malaysia. What is different is the machines they use at the respective centres. Vista uses the Visx machine which so happens to be authorised by Nasa but that being said, it does not mean it will guarantee a problem free procedure.

You can have the best machine in the world but if it is at the hands of the wrong people, things still can go wrong. As for me, I went to Vista for the initial eye scan and in short, I wasn't convinced by them as the person attending to me was a bit blur (as I did some research on lasik b4 I went there) and he couldn't quite answer some of my questions satisfactorily.
<- Bumping ancient thread again. sweat.gif

I just came back from the free preliminary at Vista.
Going for the 2nd rm150 test on thursday.
Gonna do the procedure ASAP as I'm currently in semester break.
Hopefully as I get back to class, I can already impress my friends brows.gif tongue.gif

Lasik is a very machine dependent procedure.
There is very little human intervention.
For the 1st test, I as usual didn't ask much questions.
I did my homework already.
I don't expect the staffs to have the same knowledge as the doctor anyway.

After the simple test, the staff concluded I'm only suitable for custom lasik as my pupil size is quite large (7mm) & tissue thickness in rather low.
I can take the Bausch & Lomb system (cheaper by around 4k) or the nasa ilasik.

Most probably I'll choose the chinese doctor which is also Vista co-founder.
He's a certified VISX & Bausch & Lomb trainer. He do travel a lot to train people using the machines.

Wish me luck biggrin.gif
I don't usually have excessive anxiety in procedures that I'm confident in.
let see tongue.gif
caerulln
post Dec 6 2008, 08:26 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

yup.
done yesterday.
went smoothly without any complications thumbup.gif

Initially my eyes were very dry.
Hard to keep open even 10 seconds.
After about 2 hours sleep, getting much better already.
I follow the eye drop instructions closely.

3 types of eye drops.
Artificial tear - use anytime we want. No harm.
Anti-inflammatory eye drop - prevent inflammation
Antibiotic eye drop - prevent infection

They gave a dark sunglasses to use.
A pair of eye guard to wear during sleep - avoid accidentally rubbing the eyes.

The procedure:

An optometrist will put anesthetic eye drop.
Use a kind of pencil to mark on the eye ball.
Might seem scary but no pain. Just pressure a bit.

Keep all my personal stuffs in a locker.
Wash face thoroughly
Wear a surgical gown.
take off shoes.
Wear foot cover (same like the gown)
Wear surgical cap.
Went into the operating theater.
Lay down on the intralase laser - doing the flap
Anesthetic eye drop.
Put on eye holder.
Suction on it - dunno how they suck it but can feel the pressure
Lower the laser - will feel it pushes the eye in a bit. No pain. Just pressure. Anesthetized already.
Look at the center.
Laser start tracking.
Fire.
Few seconds. Done.
Stop suction.
Remove holder.
Next eye. Same procedure.

Get up & go to next chair.
Lay down on the VISX laser.
Look at the orange LED in the center.
Doctor will tape both eyelids on one eye first.
The eye holder.
The doctor will use an instrument to open the flap - bit difficult to keep looking at the center coz once the doctor start moving the flap, my vision start distorting & the led move everywhere & the doc keep asking to stay still.haha.
Flap opened.
Look at the center.
Laser tracking.
Fire. It sounds quite loud. Kinda knocking sound. Some people smell something burning but I don't. Maybe due to the fact that I'm a mouth breather (yes i breath sometimes through my mouth)
Doctor will say 25%, 50% then an assistant will start count from 10.
Stop laser.
Close the flap.
squeegee with a kind of wax instrument to remove bubbles & smoothen it.
Next eye. Same procedure.

Done. Get up.
The assistant ask to look at the wall clock & tell the time.
Get out.
Remove the overalls.
Take my stuffs.
Assistant will brief about the eye drops instructions.
An optometrist will check again using a type of scope to see if the flap is properly placed.

Done!
At this time, can see already. Lines are sharp but all hazy.
Lights glow like mad
& can't open the eyes for too long.
Wear the provided sunglasses or your own.
Go back & sleep smile.gif

Today 2.30pm I'll be going for a review.
Next review will be 1 week from now.
Then every month for a year.

I think i can drive already laugh.gif
Just maybe not at night due to large amount of halo around bright lights.
Recommended for everyone interested to get rid of glasses or contacts thumbup.gif
caerulln
post Dec 6 2008, 08:47 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 6 2008, 08:39 AM)
wah,seems like and easy and fast procedure. so do u need to use eye drop and antibiotic every day? lifetime?
Yeah very fast.
In the theater like 10 minutes or so (that's like RM1k for every 1 minute laugh.gif)

not lifetime la.. if like that, i rather wear glasses sweat.gif
At most 3 months depends on the eye dryness.
For me, i think a few weeks are sufficient already smile.gif
caerulln
post Dec 10 2008, 07:16 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Dec 10 2008, 07:05 PM)
I'm currently doing assessment for my eyes at Prince Court medical centre in KL. They are using a new laser called Visumax which they introduced end of November 2008. Apparently its the newest technology around which is the most accurate, cuts less cornea, less side effects and uses less laser energy during the surgery. If anyone is interested I'll post what happens when I finish with the surgery on Monday/Tuesday. Price is RM9300 for both eyes after 25% discount which is offered until February 2009.
I heard about Prince Court lasik.
how long have they been offering the surgery.
They seem to be more expensive than others.

btw, Visumax system is not the excimer laser.
It is just the flap making laser system.

What excimer laser system will u be using?
caerulln
post Dec 10 2008, 08:06 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Dec 10 2008, 07:31 PM)
I think they started beginning of this month December. The chinese lady doctor I spoke to(theres 2 doctors, her and the malay lady whos head of the department) said she did about 200 patients so far and none have any complications so far "touch wood" lol. Yea the price is like almost RM 12.5k before discount not cheap at all tongue.gif but now they offering 9.3k.
The excimer laser is called Mel-80 if im not wrong.
I don't know..for that amount of money, better go for Vista NASA iLasik
add few hundred more only.
At least the Visx machine they use is approved for military use.
Not that other machine is no good but there must be a good reason for US military & nasa to approve the machine.
The staff at Vista told me they did almost 18,000 cases already.

Anyway, both visumax & mel-80 laser are made by zeiss.
& everybody know zeiss makes superb lenses smile.gif
caerulln
post Dec 21 2008, 06:03 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hojeff @ Dec 21 2008, 01:47 PM)
i assume it's PCMC / prince Court medical Centre that you have asked. Only PCMC has mel 80 in asia. Mel 80 is a refractive laser system from carl Ziess. ypu can get much cheaper with more advance system in Pantai Bangsar..look for Dr Ching weng Sing an ocular plastic surgeon there. He own the world most advance refractive laser system, Allegretto wave. And he charge much cheaper too, not to mention the exprience he has.
RM 10k for a Lasik surgery is not worth it. ILasik or so call whatever it is, it just a marketing gimmick. Lasik is procedure is the same on all. Ablation of your uneven corneal surface. 

In Lasik, there's only which system has the fastest repititation rate, the most advance scanner and the best laser power delivery. Using baldes or no blades makes not much difference at all. Just another marketing gimmick to me.
U really can't say what's worth & what's not in regard to this.
The Nasa iLasik is definitely a marketing gimmick but not baseless. The machine is indeed approved for use by NASA & US military.

Saying using microkeratome or intralase system makes no different is just wrong.
Saying there is not much difference is acceptable though.
Yes there isn't much difference but statistically the all-laser system have less complication percentage.
Microkeratome still depends on operator hands.
Laser flap making is totally on the machine.
No human hands can reproduce consistently & accurately as what the machines can do.

Your statement "In Lasik, there's only which system has the fastest repititation rate, the most advance scanner and the best laser power delivery" contradicts to what u said as not worth it.
Different machine & technology have different prices.

The Nasa iLasik is also relatively new. so of course price will be higher. Once they recoup the costs & more competition using the machine, I believe price will drop.

Saying all Lasik systems are the same is an ignorant statement.
The fundamental basic is the same yes.
But how the machine do it, differs.
Early machines corrects each type of irregularities separately.
Shortsighted 1st, then only do the astigmatism => unnecessary tissue wastage.
Newer machine do it all in a single shot.
There are some other minor differences as well.

Btw, have u undergone a lasik surgery?

U can't put a price on my eyes.
10 grand is a mere pocket change in comparison to what my eyes are worth.
I won't sell half my eyeball from 10 million.
A small part of my liver..maybe. My eyes..no way.

If u can afford it, why not take the best proven system?
Approval by US military is good enough reason for me smile.gif

I do believe most other machines are good enough to do the job of correcting my eyes.
Do whatever makes u feel best
If u feel the extra 5k is unnecessary, no problem.
Most newer systems are reliable enough that it is just a matter of personal choice icon_rolleyes.gif
caerulln
post Dec 21 2008, 06:12 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Dec 21 2008, 03:26 PM)
Decided not to do normal lasik at prince court as my cornea is too thin/power too high. Did Epi-Lasik instead at Optimax TTDI by Dr.Chuah. He is very experienced and the surgery went well. I'm on my 3rd day healing now and everything is fine.

Cost was RM4776 total over 12 months - RM200 for referral friend.
Congrats!

epi-lasik is using a different kind of microkeratome right?
won't a laser system makes a thinner flap?
I did read that epi-lasik is for those who have thin cornea but don't understand why not just use a laser flap making system.
What did the doctor said?

btw, did u wear some kind of contact lenses to hold the flap?
Do keep us updated on your eyes progress smile.gif
caerulln
post Dec 22 2008, 10:20 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hojeff @ Dec 22 2008, 12:12 AM)
i''m sorry if i have offended you. but i was laughing all the way, when i'm reading thru your reply. No offence.

I'm a very practical person, Nasa Lasik or iLasik of what they call it to me is still a marketing gimmick no matter what they call. in refractive surgery our aim is to produce 20/20 vision or 'Eagle Eye' if possible..(better than 20/20 vision ). yes, Nasa Approves the all laser lasik, so?
does the FDA clearance need the it to be so?

I'm sorry to me microkerotome is still the best way to remove the corneal flap...why? if your Intralase or light based removal, you will create uneven surface on the corneal on micro/nano size level and the and that might happer the result ( of course, yoou might need to consider which refractive system the person will be using )...i'm sorry if i confused you but if yoou search the web in more details, you will find what i'm saying.

In my line of profession, we dealt we technological advance on daily basis, and we compare system to system ( technology to technology daily ) and trust me, most of the system out there saying that they achieve high level of success rate by patients selection process. Thus, the only way to ask for the best system is to look at thier clinical research reports and clinical FDA datas. On microkeratome side, or blade flap cut, i still a strong believer of that due to the long history of low complication rate. Of coz, again you need to know which microkeratome that your physician is using.

as for myself, i'm a medical laser specialist which also a consultant for a New York based reserach firm Gerson Lehrman Group. And nope, i have yet to do my lasik surgery yet, why? because i'm awaiting my presbiopia to develop and i can do it all together with my myopia that i having at the moment.
Again, my appologies if i did offended you.
no offense taken.
people are not supposed to be offended in a discussion or debate. biggrin.gif
like i said, most newer systems are reliable enough that it is just a matter of personal choice.

regarding microkeratome is better than all-laser system, that is new to me.
I never stumbled upon anywhere saying the blade is better than laser.
maybe u can point me to a reliable article or journals.

my common sense says laser will be more accurate than mechanical blade.
if laser cause micro/nano unevenness, I would guess the blade will make macro unevenness? unsure.gif

low complication rate, yes. Lower even comparing to wearing contact lenses. But i believe all laser systems are even lower risk as that removes another possibility of human error.
I still trust machine better than a human (i'm screwed is someone invented a robotic dentist sweat.gif )
machines are created by man to do the best they can consistently

The reason i trust Nasa approval is, they have virtually limitless amount of cash that they can afford just about everything best.
And they will want the lowest risk of screwing up their astronaut's sight .
FDA on the other hand have their own guideline & applies to a broader population. What they approve should be good enough for most.
This is just what i thought though smile.gif

btw, what are u doing as a laser specialist?
laser skin cosmetic treatment?
& how old are u? why don't just do the lasik now instead of waiting.
when the presbiopia develops, just do it again (if there's enough tissue of course <= maybe this is your reason of waiting?)
from what u describe as your profession, I don't see money is even remotely an issue smile.gif
caerulln
post Dec 22 2008, 05:57 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hojeff @ Dec 22 2008, 05:46 PM)
Comparison
God da@M it, just spend an hour on the article and it was lost during the tag attachment. Will try to reply our discussion in details again.
er..that's a comparison of 2 different types of microkeratome?
Aren't we looking for microkeratome vs laser? unsure.gif
caerulln
post Dec 22 2008, 06:22 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(poppy123 @ Dec 22 2008, 06:15 PM)
Is there any chance insurance can cover the lasik fee?
no
caerulln
post Dec 31 2008, 12:23 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(J_D @ Dec 25 2008, 02:42 PM)
Caerulln,

Can you give an update so far in terms of your vision and what problems, if any, so far that you are facing?

Btw, do you have any astig?
my eyes are doing great.
just slightly dry in cold & dry places.
No problem so far. Biggest problem is the halo around bright lights. A bit annoying when driving during the night.
According to the doctor, this is due to my large pupil size. It should be reduced in 3 months.

Yes i have astig.
3.00+ on left & 1.00+ on right eye.
caerulln
post Jan 17 2009, 12:51 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hojeff @ Jan 17 2009, 12:37 AM)
\

LASIK system

the best and safest refractive laser in the market today.
lol i thought u're done with it already.
Btw, what profession are u in again? whatever it is, I'm calling the BS flag.
U can't even distinguish a proper source of info from a website with a google ad at the bottom of the page sweat.gif

Not that I'm saying whatever system is the best or better or safest or whatever it is.
That's not the point.
The point is, I'll take any info i found from a page with a google ad with a grain of salt.

i'm sorry if i have offended you. but i was laughing all the way, when i'm reading thru your reply. No offence. (copying your words tongue.gif)

ps. In my guess, the system should work flawlessly.
caerulln
post Jan 18 2009, 12:39 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hojeff @ Jan 18 2009, 12:24 AM)
No offence taken.

i do understand your point of view over the google search ad. but the point i'm trying to point out is that to show you what is this system about, the specs and the technology behind. if you have taken a bit more time to do some research on that system that i'm pointed at you, i believe you won't laughing.

Allegretto Wave is really a superb system. nope i'm not selling the system or what but i do manage to do a research on most of the system in the market ie. Mel 80, B&L 217Z, Alcon 4000, Nidek, Visx, CustomVis and Allegretto range of families.

Top refractive surgeon in the region Dr jerry tan from Singapore is also a user of this system, Allegretto Wave Eye Q, another way to prove my point right. Ask any ophthalmologist in refractive surgery and they will know who is Dr Jerry Tan from Singapore.

Finally, yes, the system work very much flawless. look at thier clinical paper from google if you do have the time and you will be impress.

Clinical papers - Abstract
Clnical papers - abstract 2
clinical papers - abstract 3
Clinical papers
Comparison papers - must read
Clinical papers

above is some of the papers you can get from the net. if you need more and more precise papers, i would have to go back to my office and provide it to you.

I'm a medical laser specialist - consultant for a NY based reserach firm.
now that's better.
another thing.
U did said laser based flap making is no better than mechanical microkeratome.
Let see some papers on that smile.gif
Sorry i'm a lazy ass to look for the papers & u are better qualified.
caerulln
post Jan 18 2009, 01:23 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(Zoxoque @ Jan 18 2009, 01:07 AM)
there are any side effect from this survery in the long run?
This type of surgery is relatively new.
Thus data for long term side effects are rather scarce.
I took the chances anyway smile.gif

QUOTE(fearz @ Jan 18 2009, 01:10 AM)
Regardless of everything, make sure you feel 100% confident of your doctor, not only the machine. The hands operating the machine are more important than the machine itself, even if it is the top of the line, next generation one. Also, be ready to accept life long consequences/side effects of lasik surgery.

For me, I have halos and starbursts around light sources in dark areas like at night or in dark room 1 month after the surgery and I don't think it will ever recover 100% to normal. Also, for those who know epi-lasik, I also have trace corneal haze in my left eye which I hope does not grow over the next few months, or my eyesight would deteriorate more. I still don't regret the decision though, as the side effects are very minor so far.
yeah i have the halo & starburst also.
The doc said it should subside in 3 months.
Few days after the surgery, it is quite annoying.
Now, not so much.
Either the halo has subside or I grown accustomed to it.
Either way, that is a small price I'm willing to pay thumbup.gif
caerulln
post Jan 19 2009, 12:40 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2009, 12:26 AM)
any of you are on dry eye treatment now, after the lasik? hmm.gif
occasionally..if i'm tired (like after 5 hours straight online) biggrin.gif
just a simple eye drop.
That's all.
If there's no eye drops around, a few minutes rest is sufficient smile.gif
caerulln
post Jan 19 2009, 01:35 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

usually 20 & above as that's when our eyes become stable.
Sometimes earlier.
caerulln
post Jan 19 2009, 05:36 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2009, 02:41 PM)
can u imagine when those post-lasik ppl hit age 50 and above when dry eye come into play, they will have dry eye syndrome for sure and not many ophthalmologists have mentioned this to their patients, its very unethical. mad.gif
what are u talking about?
for sure?
In medicine & surgery, we rarely "sure" of anything.
At most, we can say "high probability"

The doctor did told me there is risk of dry eyes.
Most people who want to do lasik will know about the possible dry eyes.

I understand that u are selling contact lenses & will lose customers if they went for lasik rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Zoxoque @ Jan 19 2009, 04:29 PM)
did we need to ask the doctor either we can do the surgery or not?
or did it will make us blind instead to brighten up our view
yes. go for a checkup.
blind? RARELY if we develop infection.
all instruments are sterile & disposable.
Infections may still occur but less than 1% chance.

The technology is so good already that blindness didn't even cross my mind.
Anyone asking for 0% for sure no possible complication, surgery is not for u. U simply are not ready for it & will only makes doctors life miserable if something happens. Find a bomoh instead biggrin.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0912sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:54 AM