LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

Tavia88
post Sep 9 2012, 09:25 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

Hi, just a very simple question that, whats the different for those surgery which costs RM3500+- and those that RM7500+- ??

Because I got a friend of mine undergone a surgery for just RM3200 at a centre in Klang. But I saw all those in Optimax or Vista costs around RM7000-9000?

Mind to share?
Tavia88
post Sep 10 2012, 11:42 AM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(jinroh @ Sep 10 2012, 02:03 AM)
If you ask me, i think would be the same.

Try using a branded bag and non branded bag as example.

Both bag does the same function, so whats the difference?
Really?? Just the brand which matters? The type of surgery is same? Means the whole process is same just that the doctors whose doing the surgery is differ?

If my shortsight is around 800 and 750 per eye, how much would it costs if at Vista or Optimax??
Tavia88
post Oct 16 2012, 08:54 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Oct 10 2012, 02:43 PM)
this tread is cool, still active after 6 years!
and it tooks me 2 days to finish all 1-42 pages!
the conclusion i get is:
first, check ur eye condition pre-op to choose which method suitable.
second:
basically there are 2 main corrective surgery:
one is the lasik, where they open flap and do lasik.
recovery within days.
suitable for thick cornea,
the cons: its has higher risk for contact sport
there are two: one is using blade/keratome. one is without blade- full lasik. and of course beside those two, there is one customized which is more expensive and more suitable for extreme high myopia and other special circumstances

while the other is lasek.
in this case they dont open but scratch,
so recovery time takes longer - few weeks to months
suitable for thin cornea
its more suitable for those who like extreme sport
there is one type of lasek where you need to use contact lens for days after this surgery.

oh, thats what i understand after staring at this forum and other web for hours...CMIIW

hhmmm...my dad who ask me to do lasik
as my brother did before , 7 years ago (i guess he took the lasek procedure, coz he said it took 2 weeks to see properly, 3 months for full recovery)
he is totally fine now, no complication n so on.

but my mom said lasik not necesary, n since it takes time to heal, gota hv to sacrifice other activities to do..
hhmmm..both oso true..still duno what to decide
+1 rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing your 2days effort man..! tongue.gif I am also still considering to go for it or not -.-''
Tavia88
post Oct 16 2012, 11:35 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(star11jewel @ Oct 16 2012, 10:58 PM)
Me also..Still remembered that time cost to do lasik rm6k per eye/ average rm12k. since that i wish+hope+aim to do lasik 1 day & thru years.. My power increase every years up to 900.
Haha, yea last time quite expensive but now i felt its affordable. Yet, I am doubt about the side effect. As I asked an eye specialist from sime darby centre before that "why most of the doctor themself dont go for Lasik? Is that any side effect after long term? He keep on ignoring my questions and said it depends on individual " -.-''
Tavia88
post Oct 17 2012, 08:17 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Oct 17 2012, 11:12 AM)
he's just being frank. he doesnt have a time machine and visit 30 years from now to see outcomes of patients  from 2012 LASIK technology/treatment.

Maybe you should ask him "depends on what?" . 

First you must ask what LASIK will do to your eyes in terms of its structure. then you ask dr. if those structure are changed (like thinner cornea).. what is the future risks for eye problems (compared to those with thick ones). Well even without any form of surgery.. the eye will naturally degenerate (the vitreous humor/cornea, lens opacity)  and most elderly will have eye problems .. but what you should concern about... will those eye problems come earlier (by 10/ 20 years) if you plan for LASIK and only gets to enjoy the good outcomes for 20 years .. then everything goes downhill when you are aged "merely" 50 years old?
sometimes its important to go further and learn more about the eyes coz we only have a pair in our lifetime and its not transplantable.

Anyway... as an eye specialist... he definitely WELCOME MORE PATIENTS to make his business better. maybe he's happy alot of people are undergoing LASIK  ... a few % might be his patient to treat LASIK complications .

Eye doc or LASIK doc......... its just pure business for many. make your own conclusions and weight the risk vs benefit.
Yea, got your point. Thats what i am considering sometimes as actually its enough if we can enjoy the benefits of lasik for around 20-30 years. As Maybe we would leave this world after 30 years? Haha...

0.0782sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:52 AM