Car Resale Values, Fact or Myth?

TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 09:21 AM, updated 13y ago

4,440 posts

This calculation was shared by a LYN forumer some time back which ive tweaked to suit.

Very often, we always focus on the resale value of a particular model while ignoring the start up costs and monthly loan repayment costs. This tabulation will show you why cars with lower resale value may actually be a cheaper. This is of course assuming maintenance costs are similar.

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Purchase price (2008) = $136,888
Downpayment = $13,688 (10%)
Interest rate = 3%
Tenure = 60 months (5 years)
Monthly loan payment = $2,361
Total loan paid = $2361 x 60 = $141679
Total paid for car = $141679 (loan) + $13688 (dp)= $155,367
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $70k (49% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $155,367 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $85,367

Toyota Camry 2.0L

Purchase price (2008) = $154,990
Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673
Total loan paid = $2,673 x 60 = $160,414
Total paid for car = $160,414 + $15,499 = $175,913
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $100k (35% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $175913 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $75,913

For simplicity, let's assume service/maintenance costs are equal. Thus, after 5 years, a Peugeot 407 vs Toyota Camry:

407 has HIGHER total loss
$85,367 (407) - $75,913 (Camry) = $9,454

407 has LOWER start-up cost
$15,499 (camry) - $13,688 (407) = $1,811

407 has HIGHER monthly positive cash flow through lower installments
$2,673 (camry) - $2,361 (407) x 60 months = $ 18,720

SUMMARY

This clearly shows that although the Peugeot 407 has RM 9,454 lower trade in value after 5 years but it gains a total of RM 20,531 from lower start up costs and lower monthly loan installments.

Thus, buying cars with lower resale value isnt actually a poor financial decision. So i think with this, we should not allow resale values to govern our choice of vehicles. Safety, value for money, specifications and maintenance costs should take precedence.

What do you think?
niwde
post Mar 8 2013, 09:25 AM

100 posts

Repairs, spare parts and maintenance?
jetmanxx
post Mar 8 2013, 09:27 AM

19 posts

If you plan to sell it after 2-4 years then maybe resale value can consider.

but if use 5+ years resale value doesnt matter anymore
rcracer
post Mar 8 2013, 09:29 AM

?????
3,772 posts

talking about resale value of a car is like talking about how beautiful your wife was when you married her

s@ni
post Mar 8 2013, 09:30 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:21 AM)
This calculation was shared by a LYN forumer some time back which ive tweaked to suit.

Very often, we always focus on the resale value of a particular model while ignoring the start up costs and monthly loan repayment costs. This tabulation will show you why cars with lower resale value may actually be a cheaper. This is of course assuming maintenance costs are similar.

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Total loss (after 5 years) = $155,367 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $85,367
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673
Total loss (after 5 years) = $175913 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $75,913

For simplicity, let's assume service/maintenance costs are equal.
Thus, after 5 years, a Peugeot 407 vs Toyota Camry:

SUMMARY

This clearly shows that although the Peugeot 407 has RM 9,454 lower trade in value after 5 years but it gains a total of RM 20,531 from lower start up costs and lower monthly loan installments.

Thus, buying cars with lower resale value isnt actually a poor financial decision. So i think with this, we should not allow resale values to govern our choice of vehicles. Safety, value for money, specifications and maintenance costs should take precedence.

What do you think?
could u put also inspira 2.0P & kia k5? i'm interested to know oso la... but, maintenance cost is also the biggest headache..
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 09:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Mar 8 2013, 09:30 AM)
could u put also inspira 2.0P & kia k5? i'm interested to know oso la... but, maintenance cost is also the biggest headache..
U gotta choose cars which have been on the road for some time in order to make a logical comparision. Pointless comparing cars which are new. I think 3 years would be the minimum period in which to compare which is why the Peugeot 407 was chosen i guess. But feel free to make other similar comparisons.
s@ni
post Mar 8 2013, 09:37 AM

2,842 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:36 AM)
U gotta choose cars which have been on the road for some time in order to make a logical comparision. Pointless comparing cars which are new. I think 3 years would be the minimum period in which to compare which is why the Peugeot 407 was chosen i guess. But feel free to make other similar comparisons.
inspira is near to 3 years iinm hmm.gif

k5 is new... so cant compare la? ok noted.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 09:38 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Mar 8 2013, 09:37 AM)
inspira is near to 3 years iinm hmm.gif

k5 is new... so cant compare la? ok noted.
Yup i guess so. Maybe compare against the previous gen Civic?
s@ni
post Mar 8 2013, 09:40 AM

2,842 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:38 AM)
Yup i guess so. Maybe compare against the previous gen Civic?
civic 2.0
inspira 2.0
* merc c200 rclxms.gif
dvinez
post Mar 8 2013, 09:56 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

Thus, buying cars with lower resale value isnt actually a poor financial decision. So i think with this, we should not allow resale values to govern our choice of vehicles. Safety, value for money, specifications and maintenance costs should take precedence.   thumbup.gif

What do you think?
nice bro, especially they way you present your calculation.

Quazacolt
post Mar 8 2013, 10:02 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 8 2013, 09:29 AM)
talking about resale value of a car is like talking about how beautiful your wife was when you married her
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 10:05 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Mar 8 2013, 09:40 AM)
civic 2.0
inspira 2.0PREVE 1.6 CFE (same segment)
* merc c200 forte 2.0  brows.gif  brows.gif
woengx2
post Mar 8 2013, 10:09 AM

311 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L
Total loss (after 5 years) = $136,888 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $66,888

Toyota Camry 2.0L
Total loss (after 5 years) = $154,800 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $54,800

If you bought both the car by "cash", it obviously show which car has good resale value. tongue.gif

Off course you may argue that no one buying car by cash but to the matter of fact it does happened. biggrin.gif

FlyWheel
post Mar 8 2013, 10:13 AM

You may have comparing the wrong segment or value, you should have compare the 407 with Altis not camry and then you will have totally different answer. sweat.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 10:19 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:09 AM)
Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L
Total loss (after 5 years) = $136,888 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $66,888
Toyota Camry 2.0L
Total loss (after 5 years) = $154,800 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $54,800

If you bought both the car by "cash", it obviously show which car has good resale value.  tongue.gif

Off course you may argue that no one buying car by cash but to the matter of fact it does happened.  biggrin.gif
We can't have a scenario for every circumstance. So we'll go with the norm or general scenario. There are ppl who buy cars cash but those are rare and few. Its not always based on affordability. Car interest rates are low so it makes sense to take a loan but ensure the extra funds are earning a better return elsewhere. Sadly, many ppl take car loans to increase their affordability.
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 8 2013, 10:19 AM

4,117 posts

An accountant or any one from finanical discipline will argue it will be a bit more greater diffrence in having the Pug407 over the camry because of present value of the same dollar over the future value over the following 5 years. Hence the cost of fund/interest rate will need to be factored in

using your argument,

407 's higher total lost of $9,454 can actually be smaller due to 9.5k 5 years later is actually not worth the 9.5k of TODAY, in real calculation, it 'll be may be 9k only or even lesser depends on inflation rate

since this is calculated in present day value, so this part is ok

again this need to factor in the yearly cost of fund, so the value of 18.7 k could be higher slightly and may well be over RM20k (of Today cash )

So conclusion is taking Pug 407 is better since

20+1.8 -9 = 12.8k

Money wise it looks right (as long as the maintenance cost is the same, but if they are not and IF Pug costing more than Toyota tallo maintain and repair, than the difference will be smaller, nevetheless 12.8k is a very good buffer.

Overall, nice piece of work there thumbup.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 10:20 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Mar 8 2013, 10:13 AM)
You may have comparing the wrong segment or value, you should have compare the 407 with Altis not camry and then you will have totally different answer. sweat.gif
Isnt the 407 a D segment? Well, why dont u provide the calculations then?
Seng21
post Mar 8 2013, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:20 AM)
508 is what segment if 407 is D segment?
FlyWheel
post Mar 8 2013, 10:26 AM

I'm a bit bias to woengx2 statement that if buying the car by cash the calculation is going to be different. For me, personally I'm choose to buy car by cash as well if my cashflow is not so tight. tongue.gif
FlyWheel
post Mar 8 2013, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(Seng21 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:25 AM)
508 is what segment if 407 is D segment?
407 is D segment then 508 is E segment lar ! tongue.gif
sevendogz
post Mar 8 2013, 10:29 AM

1,276 posts

I agreed with the calculation, from my experience:
CRV cost around 150k at 2009, now around 100k or lower
Sportage around 100k at 2009, now around 50k or lower

CRV lose value by around 33 percent,
Sportage lose by around 50 percent

but both lose 50k, but the interest bites you more for CRV

edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 10:31 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Mar 8 2013, 10:26 AM)
407 is D segment then 508 is E segment lar !  tongue.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peugeot_407
some how they put 508 fall in both categories hmm.gif
s@ni
post Mar 8 2013, 10:31 AM

2,842 posts

I'm a bit bias to woengx2 statement that if buying the car by cash the calculation is going to be different. For me, personally I'm choose to buy car by cash as well if my cashflow is not so tight.  tongue.gif
i would rather buy house in cash... car loan interest is very low... cry.gif

however if i collect money now, the house price will increase each year oso... f*** cry.gif
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 10:32 AM

280 posts

y when ppl question the statement and u end up calling ppl calculate then? y cant u accept something even when u know it's wrong? some ppl just don have the knowledge like u to come out with those graph...

back to the topic, it's just a myth...i choose camry even if it's more expensive....coz chinamen mentality mar.....

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 8 2013, 10:32 AM

4,117 posts

407 is D segment then 508 is E segment lar !  tongue.gif
Hello People, 407 is older/former version D segment from Peugeot . 508 is the new & current D segment from Peugeot.

read all about it

http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/news...hed-in-malaysia

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Mar 8 2013, 10:34 AM
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 10:33 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 8 2013, 10:32 AM)
y when ppl question the statement and u end up calling ppl calculate then? y cant u accept something even when u know it's wrong? some ppl just don have the knowledge like u to come out with those graph...

back to the topic, it's just a myth...i choose camry even if it's more expensive....coz chinamen mentality mar.....
u still live in stone age is it?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
nowadays people will go for safety and also money worth brows.gif
s@ni
post Mar 8 2013, 10:34 AM

2,842 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:05 AM)

in this case, preve win lor... laugh.gif eventhough the resale value is lot lower, but the price already low at the first place tongue.gif

edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 10:47 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Mar 8 2013, 10:34 AM)
in this case, preve win lor... laugh.gif eventhough the resale value is lot lower, but the price already low  at the first place tongue.gif
there is also another comparison even more hard card with inspira 2.0 brows.gif brows.gif
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 11:00 AM

55 posts

By the way, I think the original post/calculation was made by me, in a Mazda6 thread. I was just trying make a simple illustration on how poor resale vale can be offset by lower purchase price, from a financial point of view. There were a few assumptions though e.g. comparison should be cars of the same segment (in the example, both are d-segments), should be of same age, no change in new price (e.g. change in tax structure, etc.) bla bla... I was doing it out of boredom as I like playing with numbers.
kadajawi
post Mar 8 2013, 11:02 AM

544 posts

The REAL 407 was a D segment car, but IIRC the one sold here was a 307 (C segment) with boot.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 11:17 AM

55 posts

@kadajawi: They are so many other domains that I did not factor in, like whether a car is true of its segment, rebate offers, free service offers, car reliability, spare parts costs, intangible costs (e.g. comfort, convenience, satisfaction, etc.)
monocle
post Mar 8 2013, 11:29 AM

2,645 posts

Not to mention tire maintenance. . Some with up to 18 inch rims..
zenix
post Mar 8 2013, 11:39 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:27 AM)
On a pure math equation it looks pretty nice however the big assumptions:
1. from the calculation is that the depreciation is only 49% within 5 years
2. maintenance cost is equal
3. total hours wasted in service center is zero

Whats the reason behind it?

1. Resale value is market force driven thus it is a benefit/factor from each individual buyer in the market that creates this value.

Why is a Vios J when new cost about RM70k and after 5 years its resale value is about RM50-65k, where else a better spec Ford Fiesta when new cost about RM90k and after 5 years its resale value is about RM55-70k which is quite near the Vios. Vios normally fetches a higher resale value because the man on the street gives Toyota cars a reputation for being frugal on fuel, maintenance is cheap, parts new/old/recon widely available, service network is huge plus also any workshop can also work with their cars so for a less hassle car they willing to pay the premium even for a used car. Where else the Fiesta although a better car the after sales support Malaysia is weaker compared to Toyota, also because there isn't significant numbers on the road not many stockist would have parts for it especially uncommon ones thus for those rare few that keep stock they want to make money from it because there isn't economics of scale, or getting from SC which is confirmed new and original but at a higher price.

You'll also notice the popular trading price for cars is around 45-75k, this I guess is considered an affordable price range for Malaysians and the used car wouldn't be too old at this point - around 3-5 years depending on brand. So the average Joe can finally buy an imported car after it being used 3-5 years at the price of lets say RM60k, deposit RM10k, 3.5% interest rate for 7 years it is at a manageable RM750 per month.

2. Continental cars service frequency is different from Asian cars, so that 10,000kms before service requires better quality parts and lubricants. That equates to higher cost already for the parts and lubricants. Of course a benefit would be less frequent visits to service centers which is also good since they are few and far apart.

Although from my experience resale value is only an issue if you're planning to change car every 5-7 years.
Once the car is above 9 years old most cars of the same segment would depreciate to similar levels unless that particular model is popular then it would retain its value for a long time.
Case in point the Honda Civic EG and EK they hold their value well for a very long time, they would probably become too old physically and technologically once Honda comes out with their next generation of Vtec engines, the current is the i-Vtec as opposed to the Vtec in the Honda's of the 90's.
zweimmk
post Mar 8 2013, 11:39 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 8 2013, 10:19 AM)
using your argument,

407 's higher total lost of $9,454 can actually be smaller due to 9.5k  5 years later is actually not worth the 9.5k of TODAY, in real calculation, it 'll be may be 9k only or even lesser depends on inflation rate

since this is calculated in present day value, so this part is ok

again this need to factor in the yearly cost of fund, so the value of 18.7 k could be higher slightly and may well be over RM20k (of Today cash )

So conclusion is taking Pug 407 is better since

20+1.8 -9 = 12.8k

Money wise it looks right (as long as the maintenance cost is the same, but if they are not and IF Pug costing more than Toyota tallo maintain and repair, than the difference will be smaller, nevetheless 12.8k is a very good buffer.

Overall, nice piece of work there thumbup.gif
Eh, no need to look at the issue with so much complexity by talking about inflation. Truth is, if you actually throw in cost of maintenance, the P407 will probably suffer another additional 1.5k conservatively in losses. We've already proven that Japanese cars tend to be cheaper to maintain compared to the continental equivalents as long as the service interval is set at every 10,000km.

But it still is an easier car to buy because the initial cost of purchase is lower.
zenix
post Mar 8 2013, 11:45 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

IMHO if you need to calculate so much then you're not ready for it, just buy a cheap used car or new local car and be contented.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 11:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 8 2013, 10:32 AM)

Ru born stupid or just acting? I asked him to provide the calculations not because i dont believe but because i dont have the figures myself la. So if he has it then he's most welcome to share and enlighten us. Maybe there really is a difference. U think im gonna go do research for every damn car price ah? Anyway, that calculation was provided by another forumer (which ive clearly mentioned). Im sharing this with everybody to encourage a mature discussion. If u dont think u can offer mature comments then kindly stay out of this thread. And what is that i know which is wrong? I dont see anything wrong in that calculation.

Next time dont just make blind wild accusations. If ure not sure, then by all means ASK!

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Mar 8 2013, 12:04 PM
zweimmk
post Mar 8 2013, 11:59 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 11:00 AM)
By the way, I think the original post/calculation was made by me, in a Mazda6 thread. I was just trying make a simple illustration on how poor resale vale can be offset by lower purchase price, from a financial point of view. There were a few assumptions though e.g. comparison should be cars of the same segment (in the example, both are d-segments), should be of same age, no change in new price (e.g. change in tax structure, etc.) bla bla... I was doing it out of boredom as I like playing with numbers.
Yes it is. We talked about this in the M6 thread.

Actually I'm rather interested in knowing how much resale value the 308THP/VTI can fetch. Any former owners can share how much they managed to sell the car for?

I bought my Corolla Altis 1.8G in 2008 for RM116,900 (OTR). I sold the car last year for RM81,000

On Mudah, the listing price for the 2009 Altis is around 76k on average. So 2nd hand dealers will probably give you around 72k give or take a few.

A full spec P308THP model 2009 is selling on mudah for RM64,000 on average. The 2010 model is only doing around 72k on average. So if you take off 5k on average when dealing with 2nd hand dealers, that number drops to about 62k ~ 67k.

Why is the difference so big? Back when it first launched in 2008, the 308 was one of the best equipped cars in the market. Is there any reason why the gap is so big?

monocle
post Mar 8 2013, 12:00 PM

2,645 posts

Ladies and gentlemen. .. start your engines and ready for popcorn
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 12:02 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 11:00 AM)
Yes i didnt remember who said it first. But i thought it was a good sharing and calculation. Thats why i thought id share it for everyone to take note especially those who keep harping on resale value.
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 12:13 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Jan 19 2013, 01:39 PM)
Excellent. rclxms.gif
Please allow me to illustrate, based on your figure examples and using some crude calculations.

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L
Purchase price (2008) = $136888
Downpayment = $13688 (10%)
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly loan payment = $2361
Total loan paid  = $2361 x 60 = $141679
Total paid for car = $141679 (loan) + $13688 (dp)= $155367
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $74k (45% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $74000 (what you get) - $155367 (what you paid for) = -$81367

Toyota Camry 2.0L
Purchase price (2008) = $154990
Downpayment = $15499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2673
Total loan paid = $2673 x 60 = $160414
Total paid for car = $160414 + $15499 = $175913
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $94k (39% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $94000 (what you get) - $175913 (what you paid for) = -$76408

For simplicity, let's assume service/maintainance costs, FC, intangible costs are equal or negligible.
Thus, after 5 years, 407 vs, camry:

407 have HIGHER total lost (bad)
$76408 (camry) -  $81367 (407) = -$4959 difference

407 have LOWER start-up cost (good)
$15499 (camry) - $13688 (407) = $1811 difference

407 have HIGHER monthly cash flow (good)
$2673 (camry) - $2361 (407) =  $312 difference

So i guess we can safely say 407 trades-off (poorer) total loss for better cash flow & lower start-up cost.
Or to put in perspective, buying cars with lower resale value can be justified by lower purchase price.
Whether the amount is significant or not will depend on individuals needs and actual purchase price & resale value.

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

For simplicity, let's assume service/maintenance costs are equal. Thus, after 5 years, a Peugeot 407 vs Toyota Camry:

SUMMARY

What do you think?
not remembering who mentioned but you able to come out such similar quotes notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
**no-name**
post Mar 8 2013, 12:15 PM

139 posts

i wonder why typical malaysians always think of resale value when buying new car? not yet buy already think to sell it? haha
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 12:21 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 8 2013, 11:45 AM)
IMHO if you need to calculate so much then you're not ready for it, just buy a cheap used car or new local car and be contented.
I guess it depends on a persons' wealth. I'm a poor person, so I always make calculations when making or considering major purchases that costs hundreds of thousands. Of course rich guys can just splurge, or pay other people to calculate for them.
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 12:24 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 12:21 PM)
I guess it depends on a persons' wealth. I'm a poor person, so I always make calculations when making or considering major purchases that costs hundreds of thousands. Of course rich guys can just splurge, or pay other people to calculate for them.
normally people considering the RV meaning that they plan to sell in in a short period right?
if one is poor why need to change the car so often?
buy 1 decent 1 then use it for long time smile.gif
**no-name**
post Mar 8 2013, 12:26 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Mar 8 2013, 12:24 PM)
normally people considering the RV meaning that they plan to sell in in a short period right?
if one is poor why need to change the car so often?
buy 1 decent 1 then use it for long time smile.gif
sometime they talk only wanna sell in short period, when time passes they just aiya, still can drive ma, why change, end up driving the car for 7-10 years tongue.gif
durianpuff
post Mar 8 2013, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 8 2013, 12:15 PM)
i wonder why typical malaysians always think of resale value when buying new car? not yet buy already think to sell it? haha
coz they treat car as investment? hmm.gif
**no-name**
post Mar 8 2013, 12:29 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(durianpuff @ Mar 8 2013, 12:27 PM)
coz they treat car as investment?  hmm.gif
haha, car is never an investment shakehead.gif
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 12:31 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 8 2013, 12:26 PM)
sometime they talk only wanna sell in short period, when time passes they just aiya, still can drive ma, why change, end up driving the car for 7-10 years tongue.gif
indeed a 'nice car' can last more than 10 years.
e.g. PROTON WIRA brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 8 2013, 12:31 PM
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 12:32 PM

280 posts

only 1 ppl here is good in investing,so, by his calculations tweaking by someone else,watever car versus toyota, watever car wins

TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 12:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Mar 8 2013, 12:13 PM)
not remembering who mentioned but you able to come out such similar quotes notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
When he posted this a few months back, i immediately saved the calculations on my computer for reference. I was going through my files this morning when i found this and decided to post it.

And your point is?
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 12:37 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 12:36 PM)
When he posted this a few months back, i immediately saved the calculations on my computer for reference. I was going through my files this morning when i found this and decided to post it.

And your point is?
whistling.gif whistling.gif
nth sifu

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 8 2013, 12:37 PM
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 12:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 8 2013, 12:32 PM)
only 1 ppl here is good in investing,so, by his calculations tweaking by someone else,watever car versus toyota, watever car wins
Its ppl like you who ruin mature threads like this. Can we have some more constructive comments please?
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 12:38 PM

280 posts

is tat y u decided to buy tat K5? u gotta thank him..... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 12:36 PM)

And your point is?
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 12:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 8 2013, 12:38 PM)
is tat y u decided to buy tat K5? u gotta thank him.....  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Bro, common la. Im sure u know that i didnt buy my ride in Jan this year rite? doh.gif

Anyway, i was one of those who thought very highly about resale values too. But after reading many articles i began to understand there are more important factors to consider than just resale value. Hence my decision to leave Toyota after 9.5 years. biggrin.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 12:46 PM

4,440 posts

1,063 views in less than 4hrs. Not bad eh. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Mar 8 2013, 12:47 PM
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 12:53 PM

55 posts

Yes, you can say cars aren't investments. We can consider them as lialibilties/losses. But the point of making some rough calculation to find out if we can minimize loss. My earlier calculation is just to show how RV can be overrated i.e. not exactly superb financially speaking. I'm not Sam Loo lah bros, don't shoot me.
dvinez
post Mar 8 2013, 01:00 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

rclxms.gif

TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 01:05 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 12:53 PM)
Yes, you can say cars aren't investments. We can consider them as lialibilties/losses. But the point of making some rough calculation to find out if we can minimize loss. My earlier calculation is just to show how RV can be overrated i.e. not exactly superb financially speaking. I'm not Sam Loo lah bros, don't shoot me.
Haha! Sam Loo! That fellow gone silent now eh? Wonder what happened to him. Well personally i think that was a good calculation you made. Any other calculations you have done since?
joeblows
post Mar 8 2013, 01:27 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 12:21 PM)
Also a good indicator to know how much your car is worth at any particular time and the price you can expect to get.

You never know when you may have reason to suddenly sell your car prematurely: migrating, suddenly strike jackpot so upgrading to the latest Beemer, liquidating your car for quick cash, etc etc.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 01:28 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 01:05 PM)
Haha! Sam Loo! That fellow gone silent now eh? Wonder what happened to him. Well personally i think that was a good calculation you made. Any other calculations you have done since?
Erm no, not since. The initial figures (brand new and resale car price of camry/407) that i used is from @Zenix IINM. The calculation can be easily replicated or modified, depending on what you want to calculate. Just to note, that I had no intention to buy either of the cars, it was just a very crude illustration, accountants will probably laugh at it.
dares
post Mar 8 2013, 01:29 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 8 2013, 01:27 PM)
Also a good indicator to know how much your car is worth at any particular time and the price you can expect to get.

You never know when you may have reason to suddenly sell your car prematurely: migrating, suddenly strike jackpot so upgrading to the latest Beemer, liquidating your car for quick cash, etc etc.
accident total loss etc..where you might have to top up to settle to the bank because the market value dropped like a brick.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 01:30 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 8 2013, 01:27 PM)

Yea especially if u need to buy KR2. biggrin.gif
joeblows
post Mar 8 2013, 01:36 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 01:30 PM)
Yea especially if u need to buy KR2.  biggrin.gif
hehe.......I did go and take a look, but the units left over wasn't to my liking (low floor or bad layout).

Only one unit still pending loan approval on high floor so asked SA to notify me if loan rejected but didn't call till now.

Wish you all the best with that investment, I'm disposing my 1120 taking the cash and putting it in short term investments. laugh.gif
allenultra
post Mar 8 2013, 01:41 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 8 2013, 11:59 AM)
Yes it is. We talked about this in the M6 thread.

Actually I'm rather interested in knowing how much resale value the 308THP/VTI can fetch. Any former owners can share how much they managed to sell the car for?

I bought my Corolla Altis 1.8G in 2008 for RM116,900 (OTR). I sold the car last year for RM81,000

On Mudah, the listing price for the 2009 Altis is around 76k on average. So 2nd hand dealers will probably give you around 72k give or take a few.

A full spec P308THP model 2009 is selling on mudah for RM64,000 on average. The 2010 model is only doing around 72k on average. So if you take off 5k on average when dealing with 2nd hand dealers, that number drops to about 62k ~ 67k.

Why is the difference so big? Back when it first launched in 2008, the 308 was one of the best equipped cars in the market. Is there any reason why the gap is so big?
308thp 4speed is one most troublesome Peugeot to start with. Engine leaking, gearbox failure, etc etc. It was further rectified in the 6speed variants, and also the sedan sibilings 408.

Perhaps why 308thp fetch such mediocre resale value
zenix
post Mar 8 2013, 01:49 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

LOL! i can see a discussion will soon turn to become T&H vs everyone else. Kthnxbye!
Seng21
post Mar 8 2013, 01:50 PM

Because malaysia cars are way overpriced! If you are making 5K a month and the car is only about 25K, would you care about resale value?
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 01:56 PM

280 posts

it's more like properties and everyone else vs t&h

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 8 2013, 01:49 PM)
LOL! i can see a discussion will soon turn to become T&H vs everyone else. Kthnxbye!
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 01:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 8 2013, 01:36 PM)
hehe.......I did go and take a look, but the units left over wasn't to my liking (low floor or bad layout).

Only one unit still pending loan approval on high floor so asked SA to notify me if loan rejected but didn't call till now.

Wish you all the best with that investment, I'm disposing my 1120 taking the cash and putting it in short term investments.  laugh.gif
Got one at high floor. But the problem is many trying to get that unit.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 02:00 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Seng21 @ Mar 8 2013, 01:50 PM)
Because malaysia cars are way overpriced! If you are making 5K a month and the car is only about 25K, would you care about resale value?
Good point!
durianpuff
post Mar 8 2013, 02:06 PM

TCO
GeminiGeek
post Mar 8 2013, 02:15 PM

205 posts

Is this calculation based on an assumption a high resale value car have higher selling price? Try comparing price to price, then you'll get the effect of resale value. My accounting background says so.

But then again, when buying car, buy what u want, buy what u need, buy what u love. Not resale value. Haven't buy car already consider how much you can sell it? Srsly?
TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 02:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Mar 8 2013, 02:15 PM)
Is this calculation based on an assumption a high resale value car have higher selling price? Try comparing price to price, then you'll get the effect of resale value. My accounting background says so.

But then again, when buying car, buy what u want, buy what u need, buy what u love. Not resale value. Haven't buy car already consider how much you can sell it? Srsly?
How ru gonna get same prices? The cars with the higher prices are usually those from Toyota and Honda which is the source of the 'issue' since other similar makes are offering better equipped cars for cheaper prices.
danabu
post Mar 8 2013, 02:27 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Seng21 @ Mar 8 2013, 01:50 PM)
u r right. nod.gif
katijar
post Mar 8 2013, 02:33 PM

2,294 posts

why RV is a consideration?

--------------------

imagine when after 1-2 years u lose your job, no monthly salary, bank lelong yr car and u need to top up A LOT OF MONEY to settle the loan.

just an example.
vk_flyingfox
post Mar 8 2013, 02:35 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 12:46 PM)
1,063 views in less than 4hrs. Not bad eh.  biggrin.gif
expert properties investment sifu wif 2.15mil prime area properties(and appriciating every minute) who test drive 99 times to buy k5, come in give tips on car resale value wo.sure alot ppl come in n learn a thing or two la.
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 02:37 PM

280 posts

u teaching someone wat the consequences? r u serious...

QUOTE(katijar @ Mar 8 2013, 02:33 PM)
why RV is a consideration?

--------------------

imagine when after 1-2 years u lose your job, no monthly salary, bank lelong yr car and u need to top up A LOT OF MONEY to settle the loan.

just an example.
mokhzaini
post Mar 8 2013, 02:45 PM

278 posts

is this a thread genuinely discussing how important RV or, it just an excuse hiding behind the importance of RV just because somebody bought a good car with very bad history thus that car now value worthless?

if everyone is doing the first part, then good lah. because RV is not only matter here, but all of the world. so does the running cost. how importance, thats another matter lah. but if everyone here is doing the second part, then i am afraid they are just trying to devalue something of a value in the first place.

okay, i see many people just look at the price tags alone. of which just half truth. so how about after sales stuffs? servicing easiness? parts easy to find? and very widespread presence nationawide? how about those stuffs? they do contribute to high RV.

are they justify the high selling price? well it depends on the situation. now easy la type behind keybord and say nothing matter except price tags. say what if your branded korean make had to stay in workshop for weeks because the parts yet to arrive from korea? or ur german make come in come out service centres simply because they cannot figure whats wrong?

all i am trying to say is, RV is not a matter of just the price tag. u gotta see the whole thing. okay now some brands of course selling good value for money. nevermind, for anyone buying those so please do so and enjoy whatever the brands are throwing. but hiding behind this RV to level the field isnt that nice.
LiamOng
post Mar 8 2013, 02:49 PM

149 posts

Im not really good at this.

Could you help me calculate between

Nissan gtr (08) - Rm 320,000 (d.p)- Rm 130k

And

320i - Rm 241,000 - (d.p) - Rm 24,100

azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 02:52 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Mar 8 2013, 02:15 PM)

Yes, that is one of the many assumptions. My summary was "low RV is offset by low purchase price". It's obvious that when both cars have the same purchase price but one have lower RV, then there's no need calculate anything. But note that the calculation is based on historical figures thus like all other financial estimates, does not predict future values. A safe disclaimer :)

Like I said, the point of considering RV is to manage/minimize your liabilities/losses. Financial prudence is about managing both the positives (assets/gains) and negatives (liabilities/losses). Like it or not, RV is a real issue. Middle income buyers in developed countries also look at RV as a factor. You'll see reviewers mentioning RV as as plus/minus points.

By cruching some numbers, you can estimate if the loss is "substantial enough" to stop you from buying the car you're eyeing. The question is then, are you willing to take the financial loss considering what you gain (e.g. safer, better ride) from a lower RV car? I think having a rough figure is better than to brush of RV just like that. Unless you love the car so much, or too rich to care.

Maybe next time I'll try to calculate Merc vs. Volvo or Audi vs. Bimmer. In these cases, RV may even play a role even though buyers of the cars above are not exactly poor.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 03:04 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(LiamOng @ Mar 8 2013, 02:49 PM)
Im not really good at this.

Could you help me calculate between

Nissan gtr (08) - Rm 320,000 (d.p)- Rm 130k

And

320i - Rm 241,000 - (d.p) - Rm 24,100
You need to provide the RV of both cars of the same age (e.g. resale price after 5 years or so).

Edit: This is to avoid bias. I don't want others to accuse me of being unfair in my calculation.

This post has been edited by azfamy: Mar 8 2013, 03:08 PM
kcng
post Mar 8 2013, 04:11 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

how do u value satisfaction of ownership then?
the joy of driving?

i know my car might have shitty resale value IF i do want to sell it, but during the short time with the car, i have plenty of driving joy as compared to some boring boat...

how do u rate that value then?

scenario:
$10k saved but I lost 5 years of driving satisfaction?
nah... i will pass...
i rather have driving satisfaction then worrying about some figures that is going to hit me 5 years later...
joeblows
post Mar 8 2013, 04:18 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Mar 8 2013, 02:45 PM)
is this a thread genuinely discussing how important RV or, it just an excuse hiding behind the importance of RV just because somebody bought a good car with very bad history thus that car now value worthless?

if everyone is doing the first part, then good lah. because RV is not only matter here, but all of the world. so does the running cost. how importance, thats another matter lah. but if everyone here is doing the second part, then i am afraid they are just trying to devalue something of a value in the first place.

okay, i see many people just look at the price tags alone. of which just half truth. so how about after sales stuffs? servicing easiness? parts easy to find? and very widespread presence nationawide? how about those stuffs? they do contribute to high RV.

are they justify the high selling price? well it depends on the situation. now easy la type behind keybord and say nothing matter except price tags. say what if your branded korean make had to stay in workshop for weeks because the parts yet to arrive from korea? or ur german make come in come out service centres simply because they cannot figure whats wrong?

all i am trying to say is, RV is not a matter of just the price tag. u gotta see the whole thing. okay now some brands of course selling good value for money. nevermind, for anyone buying those so please do so and enjoy whatever the brands are throwing. but hiding behind this RV to level the field isnt that nice.
I can't comment on Toyota much.

But don't think Honda cars are problem-free compared to the likes of Korean or German makes. VW does need to buck up on their service centres however.

Right now, I would say Honda cars are just coasting on brand appeal, hybrids and the sporty look of some of their rides, but the value for money is rather lacking.

JMHO.
monocle
post Mar 8 2013, 04:20 PM

2,645 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 8 2013, 04:11 PM)
the joy of driving?

i know my car might have shitty resale value IF i do want to sell it, but during the short time with the car, i have plenty of driving joy as compared to some boring boat...

scenario:
nah... i will pass...
i rather have driving satisfaction then worrying about some figures that is going to hit me 5 years later...
facts please..
kcng
post Mar 8 2013, 04:26 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(monocle @ Mar 8 2013, 04:20 PM)
facts please..
scenario..
means i pluck a figure out from the air and use it as an example...

else can u tell me how you rate value of driving satisfaction?
gheyfriend
post Mar 8 2013, 04:36 PM

280 posts

everyone started to ask facts now days?......ppl ady say example but somehow seems like now days need to prove it to the point n compare apple to apply..cannot just accept as an opinion meh?

dares
post Mar 8 2013, 04:41 PM

834 posts

the joy of driving?

scenario:
nah... i will pass...
+1

even if you are not a driving kaki, maybe safety is worth something?
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 04:42 PM

55 posts

scenario:
nah... i will pass...
Intangible costs (e.g. satisfaction, convenience, etc.) are very much harder to calculate or converted into dollars and cents. Need to ask economist colleague. However, you've managed to answer your own question. Hypothetically, you're willing to lose $10k for 5-years of driving satisfaction. This "satisfaction" is subjective. But let's say we convert it into an ordinal scale, say Likert's 5-point scale. Assuming you're satisfaction level is 5 (perfectly satisfied) as opposed to a better RV car which gives you satisfaction level of 3 (so-so). Thus, you gain 2 points of satisfaction for a 5 year period at a cost of $10k. The next question is, what's your limit/dealbreaker? $20k? $50k? How many ringgit per satisfaction points per year is good enough for you? Ok so now it becomes more complex and less fun.
aaronchaiz
post Mar 8 2013, 05:02 PM

50 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Toyota Camry 2.0L

SUMMARY

What do you think?
RM154990 - RM 136888 = RM18102. The difference also almost 20k. doh.gif
Drian
post Mar 8 2013, 05:17 PM

4,999 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
I think the big flaw in the calculation is the assumption that the service/maintenance costs are equal.
If they were really equal peugeout will never have such bad resale value in the first place.

Bubble Ring
post Mar 8 2013, 05:24 PM

84 posts

the joy of driving?

scenario:
nah... i will pass...
Not just about driving satisfaction. How about peace of mind driving?
Driving a least-safe car equal waiting for disaster happen! sweat.gif

Resale value can be sacrificed but definitely not for your legs!

Here are the example car with premium price tag, high resale value but with poor safety rating:

TScybermaster98
post Mar 8 2013, 05:34 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 8 2013, 05:17 PM)
I think the big flaw in the calculation is the assumption that the service/maintenance costs are equal.
If they were really equal peugeout will never have such bad resale value in the first place.
The point of the discussion is not to justify why resale values are low or high. That calculation is an ilustration to show that although a particlar make may have a low resale value in future but when u take into account the initial start up costs and 'savings' on monthly installments, then the poor resale value is sorta evened out. Its not meant to be an all conclusive calculation which is why i put it on a thread to pick your brains. Everybody is free to agree or disagree but do explain why.

Cheers!
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 05:38 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Mar 8 2013, 05:24 PM)

Here are the example car with premium price tag, high resale value but with poor safety rating:

if like that all super bikes need to be thrown away as there is no protection but only satisfaction when riding it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 8 2013, 05:38 PM
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 05:44 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 8 2013, 05:17 PM)
That "flaw" was intentional. The assumption was made purposefully (irrespective to whether it's true or not) for/due to:
1. Ease of calculation.
2. Lack of data for (maintainance/service) costs.

tehoice
post Mar 8 2013, 06:01 PM

5,529 posts

actually a suitable example could be by comparing the old sonata vs old camry or even old accord, from there, you might see the difference. of course, with those assumptions mentioned above.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 06:03 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Mar 8 2013, 05:38 PM)
if like that all super bikes need to be thrown away as there is no protection but only satisfaction when riding it  :D
This statement is true depending who you ask and how they rate safety. Many parents (including myself) will never let their children get motorcycle license or ride bikes. Road traffic fatality rates are highest among riders. I also already saw too many cases of "unnecessary" severe head injuries and fractures resulted from "minor" accidents to the extent that i feel bikes should be banned. "Unnecessary" here means that it could have been avoided had they had drive instead of riding. For those who couldn't afford cars, use public transport instead.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 06:08 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 8 2013, 06:01 PM)
actually a suitable example could be by comparing the old sonata vs old camry or even old accord, from there, you might see the difference. of course, with those assumptions mentioned above.
Yup. But for the sake of impartiality, you'll need to provide:
1. Original car price (when it was bought brand new).
2. Resale price at a given time (e.g. after 5 or 7 years)
3. % or downpayment/interest rates. (irrelevant, if assumed to be equal).
kadajawi
post Mar 8 2013, 07:14 PM

544 posts

if like that all super bikes need to be thrown away as there is no protection but only satisfaction when riding it  biggrin.gif
With the right protective gear and attitude it's not that bad. Of course, in Malaysia both are usually bad.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Mar 8 2013, 07:14 PM
edison1437
post Mar 8 2013, 07:30 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 06:03 PM)
This statement is true depending who you ask and how they rate safety. Many parents (including myself) will never let their children get motorcycle license or ride bikes. Road traffic fatality rates are highest among riders. I also already saw too many cases of "unnecessary" severe head injuries and fractures resulted from "minor" accidents to the extent that i feel bikes should be banned. "Unnecessary" here means that it could have been avoided had they had drive instead of riding. For those who couldn't afford cars, use public transport instead.
Having own transport will be more convenient
If your want to take public transport also need to depend where you stay
Don't think public transport in bolehland is convenient enough

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 8 2013, 07:14 PM)
With the right protective gear and attitude it's not that bad. Of course, in Malaysia both are usually bad.
This I need to agree in western country normally they'll have full protective gear if they ride in those "fast" bikes
A Germany friend of mine said that he only need about 10 min to wear all the safety gears rather than having serious injuries
kailord
post Mar 8 2013, 07:45 PM

Personally, I do think RV is an important factor to consider when buying a car. Especially if your income is not so high. However, that alone should not be the only consideration. I have a lot of people around me that would quickly disapprove of a car choice based on its RV. To me that's just stupid and annoying.

There are so many other factors to consider. Safety, reliability, cheap maintenance, parts availability, driving satisfaction, extra features, etc.

Put all those into your personal consideration and then decide whether the price tag and the RV are worth the ride.
azfamy
post Mar 8 2013, 07:55 PM

55 posts

Most developed countries put great concern on safety. They even wear full protective gear when riding BICYCLES. That includes helmet, elbow guards, knee guards, proper shoes, straps to keep the bottom part of your trousers from flaring out. When i was a student long time ago, i saw many lecturers put on all those gear on top of their office wear (suit+tie) when cycling to work. Yes, i understand our public transport is atrocious. But, to me at least, the risks of injury/death from bikes in Msia is too high. Convenience can take a back seat.
FlyWheel
post Mar 8 2013, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 8 2013, 06:01 PM)
Perhaps even better if comparing the old Optima vs old Camry.
kcng
post Mar 8 2013, 10:12 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Mar 8 2013, 04:42 PM)
Intangible costs (e.g. satisfaction, convenience, etc.) are very much harder to calculate or converted into dollars and cents. Need to ask economist colleague. However, you've managed to answer your own question. Hypothetically, you're willing to lose $10k for 5-years of driving satisfaction. This "satisfaction" is subjective. But let's say we convert it into an ordinal scale, say Likert's 5-point scale. Assuming you're satisfaction level is 5 (perfectly satisfied) as opposed to a better RV car which gives you satisfaction level of 3 (so-so). Thus, you gain 2 points of satisfaction for a 5 year period at a cost of $10k. The next question is, what's your limit/dealbreaker?  $20k? $50k? How many ringgit per satisfaction points per year is good enough for you? Ok so now it becomes more complex and less fun.
can an economist even put a value on satisfaction?
and mind u diff ppl have diff lvl of satisfaction and also for their limit..

as for me, i don't mind blowing even RM 200k as long as I have satisfaction everytime i get behind the wheels...

good point u have there tho.. hopefully the others can see that....

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Mar 8 2013, 05:24 PM)

Peace of mind driving?
Like how? Felt dead everytime i get behind the wheels but I am giving the impression that i am supposedly safer?
Thats like asking me to prepare for something that MIGHT happen... and while waiting for that something that MIGHT happen, i have to live in "fear/anticipation/etc" while sacrificing the joy that i can get from driving?

Did i even say that driving satisfaction means u must drive a least-safer car?
rclxub.gif
SUSgoodguyextremist
post Mar 8 2013, 10:16 PM

if like that all super bikes need to be thrown away as there is no protection but only satisfaction when riding it  biggrin.gif
Countries that care about its people, will not let its people take kapchai and motorcycles as primary transport. They prepare convenient and effective public transports with more hubs linking districts. Cars are priced reasonable discouraging people from going for bikes for primary transport. Superbikes and lowriders are mainly for pleasure rides. They are looking forward to replace bikes with fuel saving capsules like in TRON movie.

Car resale value will be good if these are met:
- Lots of spare parts and priced reasonable
- There are workshops that know how to fix
- Looks of the car
- Reliable and maintenance low
- Demand for that car
- Safety and build quality

After GE, heard they will attempt to seize the automotive hub title from Thailand after huge tax reduction. If true, we'll get more cheap spare parts for the brands that have factories here. They are targeting Japanese, Conti and Korean carmakers to invest here. Tax from huge business growth profit especially from foreign investors will compensate the car tax reduction.

This post has been edited by goodguyextremist: Mar 8 2013, 10:19 PM
thefryingfox
post Mar 8 2013, 11:02 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

lets talk now- AFTER GE always follows with the words I THINK, I HEARD, MY NEIGHBOUR this n that.

All this speculation is not helping the auto industry. And i agree with the folks up there - you can buy a car that has good 2nd hand value but u can never put a price on driver satisfaction. Everytime i take that specific corner at 130 kmh while the honda's and toyota's can only do at 80kmh...i FEEL so SYOK! and considering i got 400NM OF torque from 1.8k RPM and peaks at 2.3k RPM - you can buy anything like that in the market that gives that kinda thrill - but offcourse, my car depreciates like a bullet train
new[x]
post Mar 8 2013, 11:07 PM

411 posts

TS has started a good discussion and his effort must be lauded.

Generally, there are two items that make the bulk of our financial commitments:
1. House
2. Car

For houses, Malaysians need to be aware not to purchase new launching priced at RM700-RM800 per square feet (psf) when property prices in the surrounding area is priced at only RM300-RM400 psf. Property speculators are raking huge profits at the expense of sincere home purchasers while adding no value to the property value chain. It is way better to buy a subsale property than a new launching.

Similarly for cars, we also need to make similar decision not to purchase overpriced cars with low specifications when we can get somewhat similarly priced cars with better technologies and specifications. Certain car makers need to be taught not to rake up huge profits at the expense of hardworking citizen while continue to offer less values than the others.

The money saved could be used to enjoy a better lifestyle - traveling, fine dining, etc., things of which otherwise needed to be sacrificed so that someone could make an obscene amount of money at our expenses.

Agreed?
gunplakk
post Mar 8 2013, 11:15 PM

126 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
not comparing apples with apples... one is 136K another one is 154K... should compare to something that of similar value e.g. Honda Civic 2.0 FD...
purchased : 128K in 07
Sold for : 75K in 2013
6 yrs depreciation... taking financing out of the equation, and looking at it as a pure P&L point of view....
the Civic lost 8833 RM per annum vs 14K of the peugeot

joseph.lim
post Mar 9 2013, 01:44 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Mar 8 2013, 11:15 PM)
not comparing apples with apples... one is 136K another one is 154K... should compare to something that of similar value e.g. Honda Civic 2.0 FD...
6 yrs depreciation... taking financing out of the equation, and looking at it as a pure P&L point of view....
Bro, it is comparing apple to apple where both cars fall under D-segment category. Your Civic is C-segment la, that is apple and orange comparison.
gunplakk
post Mar 9 2013, 05:43 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(joseph.lim @ Mar 9 2013, 01:44 AM)
Bro, it is comparing apple to apple where both cars fall under D-segment category.  Your Civic is C-segment la, that is apple and orange comparison.
well, in terms of segment maybe but here you talking devaluation, so it should be value based. doing it like this seems a little unfair to the Camry
rompers
post Mar 9 2013, 06:47 AM

76 posts

the joy of driving?

scenario:
nah... i will pass...
I guess the "joy/satisfaction" of driving can only be afforded by the rich and famous, no?
If one can only afford a Proto*, then he/she should limit his/her imagination (only in terms of driving) and just enjoy the ride.

My point here being, we need to generalise when we discuss about the impact and importance of a vehicle's RV to the masses.
Unfortunately, the masses also means ordinary Joes like myself and a majority of others whom are not equipped with deep pockets. smile.gif

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Mar 8 2013, 11:15 PM)
I think it has already been mentioned that for vehicles of similar values, no calculations are required. Less RV = rugi.
Unless u want to factor in the "intangibles". smile.gif
edison1437
post Mar 9 2013, 08:42 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Mar 9 2013, 06:47 AM)
I guess the "joy/satisfaction" of driving can only be afforded by the rich and famous, no?
If one can only afford a Proto*, then he/she should limit his/her imagination (only in terms of driving) and just enjoy the ride.

My point here being, we need to generalise when we discuss about the impact and importance of a vehicle's RV to the masses.
Unfortunately, the masses also means ordinary Joes like myself and a majority of others whom are not equipped with deep pockets. smile.gif
I think it has already been mentioned that for vehicles of similar values, no calculations are required. Less RV = rugi.
Unless u want to factor in the "intangibles". smile.gif
"satisfaction" of driving only can be measured by the individual him/herself some car you think its satisfy you but not others.
so i dont think that only rich will have the "joy"
some guys will think that he'll satisfy with a proton some will not
of course the guy can afford better he'll go for better
RV good or not when you buy a car u already rugi
RV should not be the 1st priority when you going to choose your car

This post has been edited by edison1437: Mar 9 2013, 08:43 AM
dares
post Mar 9 2013, 08:44 AM

834 posts

Not really. You don't have to buy a lambo / Ferrari to enjoy driving.

For example, in stock form, a Fiesta offers superior driver satisfaction than a similiarly price Dugong, although the dugong offers better RV due to cheaper maintenance, branding and reliability.

Even if you can only afford a Proton, most Proton cars offer a better drive than Perodua (except Kelisa) in the same price bracket, even though Perodua cars have slightly higher RV.

It's basically down to your own priorities.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 9 2013, 08:45 AM
kcchong2000
post Mar 9 2013, 08:51 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Mar 9 2013, 05:43 AM)
well, in terms of segment maybe but here you talking devaluation, so it should be value based. doing it like this seems a little unfair to the Camry
Actually other hidden meaning for this calculation comparing same segment but price differently, where after period of 5 years the difference the so called high resale value for camry have been offset (or overpaid to be precise) at the starting price.

So what TS means (or so I thought) on the myth is only a hypothetical figures where after 5 years, the brand with lower resale value is not always on the lost side.

It is not unfair to the Camry to be precise, actually it is quite unfair to car buyer where the market perception always blinded us to making a decision on buying cars due to Resale value and not other criteria such as safety, driving passion, etc

With the so called new camry where price so high without VSA is a joke compare to a normal B segment such as fiesta and Honda City (high spec)
joseph.lim
post Mar 9 2013, 10:52 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Mar 9 2013, 05:43 AM)
anyway, we cannot control how people think whether they buy their own car based on RV or not, as what others said in this topic, is your money and your own satisfaction, the joy of driving the car you like. If you can afford on a high startup, high monthly instalment, go for it. On the otherside, RV could be one factor why people choose the car, but there are also other factors may have cause them make the decision eg, The reputation of brand, easy to find spare parts whether is original or oem, a lot of specialist out there and so forth. So, don't take it too seriously or personally on this calculation smile.gif

This post has been edited by joseph.lim: Mar 9 2013, 12:01 PM
kcng
post Mar 9 2013, 11:13 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

other people have already answer you...

that is why i say what is the value to be slapped on joy of driving?

for some, is to take their cars (proton or what not) up into the hills of bukit tinggi to enjoy the delicious corners...
for some is to enjoy high-speed cruising with their cars..
for some is to enjoy the driving feel of their cars... steering feedback etc
for some is to enjoy top down slow sunday morning cruise around town...
for some is to do donuts on an empty parking lot...

so how do u put a face value to that?

rompers
post Mar 9 2013, 03:17 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 9 2013, 11:13 AM)
other people have already answer you...

that is why i say what is the value to be slapped on joy of driving?

for some, is to take their cars (proton or what not) up into the hills of bukit tinggi to enjoy the delicious corners...
for some is to enjoy high-speed cruising with their cars..
for some is to enjoy the driving feel of their cars... steering feedback etc
for some is to enjoy top down slow sunday morning cruise around town...
for some is to do donuts on an empty parking lot...

so how do u put a face value to that?
Which I my point exactly. We can not.
Intrinsic and intangible values of "joy and satisfaction" towards a certain product is very much subjective.

We can only generalise here.
If money is no object, perhaps 10 out of 10 will be driving a sports car. However, I could be wrong. Maybe only 6 or 7 will drive a sports car. The balance may find joy in driving a luxury cruiser. Or maybe I'm entirely wrong. Maybe everyone is an environmentalist and chooses to drive a hybrid/electric, etc.

However, how financial analysts and economists and even actuaries come up with statistics and charts are mostly based on the (assumed) general opinion of the masses.
And as mentioned, masses in this case means the ordinary Joes.

As such, for consistency purposes, individual intrinsic preferences will not be factored in for most (if not all) calculations as there is no way to do that. Only an individual can do so himself/herself.

So, u are absolutely right that 'joy and satisfaction' is immeasurable. Thus, it is a moot point to factor that into any calculations.

JMHO smile.gif
coinstar
post Mar 9 2013, 08:10 PM

317 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
U confused with cash flow... Total paid for Pug 85k and total paid for Camry 76K... Camry still cheaper..

coinstar
post Mar 9 2013, 08:10 PM

317 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
U confused with cash flow... Total paid for Pug 85k and total paid for Camry 76K... Camry still cheaper..

TScybermaster98
post Mar 9 2013, 08:23 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(coinstar @ Mar 9 2013, 08:10 PM)
Ure the one who is confused. Cash flow means the amount of money you have LEFT which in this case is the excess amount of the monthly loan repayments.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 9 2013, 08:24 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Mar 8 2013, 11:07 PM)
TS has started a good discussion and his effort must be lauded.

Generally, there are two items that make the bulk of our financial commitments:
1. House
2. Car

For houses, Malaysians need to be aware not to purchase new launching priced at RM700-RM800 per square feet (psf) when property prices in the surrounding area is priced at only RM300-RM400 psf. Property speculators are raking huge profits at the expense of sincere home purchasers while adding no value to the property value chain. It is way better to buy a subsale property than a new launching.

Similarly for cars, we also need to make similar decision not to purchase overpriced cars with low specifications when we can get somewhat similarly priced cars with better technologies and specifications. Certain car makers need to be taught not to rake up huge profits at the expense of hardworking citizen while continue to offer less values than the others.

The money saved could be used to enjoy a better lifestyle - traveling, fine dining, etc., things of which otherwise needed to be sacrificed so that someone could make an obscene amount of money at our expenses.

Agreed?
Agreed. Well said.
coinstar
post Mar 9 2013, 09:45 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 9 2013, 08:23 PM)
Ure the one who is confused. Cash flow means the amount of money you have LEFT which in this case is the excess amount of the monthly loan repayments.
lol... In total u pay more for pug...
rompers
post Mar 10 2013, 06:03 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(coinstar @ Mar 9 2013, 09:45 PM)
lol... In total u pay more for pug...
No buddy..
For the sake of simplicity, we should take the purchase price of the brand new cars and minus out the final respective total loss values. The difference will tell you which is supposedly a more 'pocket friendly' (for lack of a better word) car.

P/S - provided that everything else remains constant (a.k.a. ceteris paribus) smile.gif

Edit: That's to my understanding-lah..if TS meant something else, then perhaps he could shed some light and correct me.

This post has been edited by rompers: Mar 10 2013, 06:06 AM
TScybermaster98
post Mar 10 2013, 07:59 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Mar 10 2013, 06:03 AM)
No buddy..
For the sake of simplicity, we should take the purchase price of the brand new cars and minus out the final respective total loss values. The difference will tell you which is supposedly a more 'pocket friendly' (for lack of a better word) car.

P/S - provided that everything else remains constant (a.k.a. ceteris paribus) smile.gif

Edit: That's to my understanding-lah..if TS meant something else, then perhaps he could shed some light and correct me.
Yup.
wb4j
post Mar 10 2013, 11:00 AM

443 posts

My experience tell me, the trade in price for a used car varies 10k from the asking price.

For Hot model like Camry, one can trade in instantly at 5k below market price. they can sell it in weeks. However, unpopular model like 407, it might have prb trading in. Used car dealers would not accept them or offer a ridiculous price like 15 to 20k below market value. It is hard to find buyers and the value depreciate > 10k a year. It is like 1k every month!
coinstar
post Mar 10 2013, 12:33 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Mar 10 2013, 06:03 AM)
No buddy..

I don't really understand... In total u pay RM85K for 407 but you only pay RM76K for Camry... What myth u try to bust? I cannot brain this simple calculation...
SUSendau02
post Mar 10 2013, 02:18 PM

3,180 posts

i would say its the spare part cost that determines the resale value.

logic says that lower cost of maintenance (spare part n availability of specialist) will make the owner less likely to let go the car.
Darcy2
post Mar 10 2013, 02:56 PM

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
You are missing out an important element in your analysis, the repair and maintenance cost.

Pugs are well known to incur higher maintenance cost than Toyota. Thats obvious.

And what about fuel consumption and efficiency?

Without these important elements, your analysis is inconclusive.
kadajawi
post Mar 10 2013, 03:16 PM

544 posts

Why not sell directly? No need to go through a cut throat used car dealer.

Also, fuel consumption? In Malaysia? Are you kidding me? 10k gets you over 5000 liter. How much savings do you get per 100 km? Maybe 2 liters (which already is rather optimistic)? If I'm not mistaken you'd be driving 250000 km before your savings in car price have been eaten up by the higher fuel consumption. Fuel consumption is rather irrelevant in Malaysia when the car with higher consumption is cheaper. Even then changing driving habits will probably give you more savings than driving Toyota rather than Peugeot. Penny wise and pound foolish.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 10 2013, 08:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Darcy2 @ Mar 10 2013, 02:56 PM)
You are missing out an important element in your analysis, the repair and maintenance cost.

Pugs are well known to incur higher maintenance cost than Toyota. Thats obvious.

And what about fuel consumption and efficiency?

Without these important elements, your analysis is inconclusive.
Didnt i already qualify that? This is just a simple calculation to show that resale values in itself may not be high when compared to the start up costs the the monthly loan repayments. IM not talking about the cost of ownership here. Im solely talking about the resale value. This is specially directed to many of us who blindly say resale value for a make is higher without considering the downpayment and savings from monthly repayments.

Yes if we talk about TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS then Japanese brands will be cheaper to maintain for sure. But right now we're solely on the myth of resale values.

TScybermaster98
post Mar 10 2013, 09:02 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(coinstar @ Mar 10 2013, 12:33 PM)
I don't really understand... In total u pay RM85K for 407 but you only pay RM76K for Camry... What myth u try to bust? I cannot brain this simple calculation...
This calculation has 3 parts. U are only refering to 1 part which is the resale value. Yes the resale value of the Camry is higher thus lower loss. BUt in terms of start up costs (downpayment) and savings from the monthly loan repayments, the 407 is better. So when u take all 3 together and calculate the difference, the 407 gives you more savings although the resale value is lower.

This is just refering to the myth about resale values not the total ownership costs.
LenovoT
post Mar 11 2013, 02:47 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 10 2013, 09:02 PM)
This calculation has 3 parts. U are only refering to 1 part which is the resale value. Yes the resale value of the Camry is higher thus lower loss. BUt in terms of start up costs (downpayment) and savings from the monthly loan repayments, the 407 is better. So when u take all 3 together and calculate the difference, the 407 gives you more savings although the resale value is lower.

This is just refering to the myth about resale values not the total ownership costs.
You may save more on monthly installments & start-up cost with 407. But, isn't that Camry get 30k more after 5 years? Hence, the total of RM85k (407) & RM76k (Camry) actually represent your total cash outflows for the 5 years of ownership. smile.gif
coinstar
post Mar 11 2013, 06:54 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 11 2013, 02:47 AM)
You may save more on monthly installments & start-up cost with 407. But, isn't that Camry get 30k more after 5 years? Hence, the total of RM85k (407) & RM76k (Camry) actually represent your total cash outflows for the 5 years of ownership.  smile.gif
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by coinstar: Mar 11 2013, 06:55 AM
Darcy2
post Mar 11 2013, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 10 2013, 08:58 PM)
Didnt i already qualify that? This is just a simple calculation to show that resale values in itself may not be high when compared to the start up costs the the monthly loan repayments. IM not talking about the cost of ownership here. Im solely talking about the resale value. This is specially directed to many of us who blindly say resale value for a make is higher without considering the downpayment and savings from monthly repayments.

Yes if we talk about TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS then Japanese brands will be cheaper to maintain for sure. But right now we're solely on the myth of resale values.
So you put maintenance cost and fuel efficiency at constant and just compare the resale values apple to apple?

Those two are major elements of the resale value because they determine savings from wear and tear of the car.

No wonder there's little difference between the two.

TScybermaster98
post Mar 12 2013, 08:19 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 11 2013, 02:47 AM)
You may save more on monthly installments & start-up cost with 407. But, isn't that Camry get 30k more after 5 years? Hence, the total of RM85k (407) & RM76k (Camry) actually represent your total cash outflows for the 5 years of ownership.  smile.gif
Friend, uve already sold your car. What 30K more are u talking about? This calculation is to show 2 separate cars being sold at the stipulated trade in prices.
TScybermaster98
post Mar 12 2013, 08:22 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Darcy2 @ Mar 11 2013, 11:45 PM)
So you put maintenance cost and fuel efficiency at constant and just compare the resale values apple to apple?

Those two are major elements of the resale value because they determine savings from wear and tear of the car.

No wonder there's little difference between the two.
Bro, how can u possibly say that maintenance and FC are major elements of resale value? Resale value is resale value. Its not the same as maintenance costs and fuel efficiency. When u add up everything then its called TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS. Im not refering to that. Im refering to the RESALE VALUE in particular. Im refering to the ACTUAL COST involved.
madmoz
post Mar 12 2013, 12:10 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(coinstar @ Mar 10 2013, 12:33 PM)
thumbup.gif

Person doing the calculation is double dipping because he essentially takes the difference in monthly installments twice (lower loss as what you paid for is lowered, and the lowered again because he adds this same difference back as a positive cash flow when calculating his 'gain').

If you're going purely by cash flows then only the first part of his calculation holds true and will suffice. You are paying 76k to drive a Camry for 5 years, and 85k to drive a 407 for the same period. So the extra bling bling and driving pleasure here will cost you around 1.8k annually, provided that maintenance costs, fuel consumption etc are similar.

TS debunked himself really. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by madmoz: Mar 12 2013, 12:11 PM
TScybermaster98
post Mar 12 2013, 12:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 12 2013, 12:10 PM)
thumbup.gif

Person doing the calculation is double dipping because he essentially takes the difference in monthly installments twice (lower loss as what you paid for is lowered, and the lowered again because he adds this same difference back as a positive cash flow when calculating his 'gain').

If you're going purely by cash flows then only the first part of his calculation holds true and will suffice. You are paying 76k to drive a Camry for 5 years, and 85k to drive a 407 for the same period. So the extra bling bling and driving pleasure here will cost you around 1.8k annually, provided that maintenance costs, fuel consumption etc are similar.

TS debunked himself really.  unsure.gif
Didnt u take out 20K more to buy the Camry in the first place just to get back 10K more in resale value after 5 years?
madmoz
post Mar 12 2013, 12:59 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 12:43 PM)
Didnt u take out 20K more to buy the Camry in the first place just to get back 10K more in resale value after 5 years?
No. During year 5, you are getting back 100k for the camry as opposed to 70k for the 407.
Shades
post Mar 12 2013, 01:42 PM

72 posts

TS calculation is not accurate as he is double dipping as what madmoz say. Take the first calculation which is accurate if you assume maintenance cost is similar for both cars. This is a crude calculation on the cost of owning the vehicle for 5 years.

2nd calculation by the TS is not accurate it will hold up if its just comparing monthly installments.

Then TS compared the value differential between owning the 407 and Camry with the lower dp and monthly installment of the 407 which is obviously lower due to lower vehicle price. This comparison is plain wrong and only seek to confuse readers.

Conclusion RV does have an impact to vehicle ownership is just how high a potential buyer assign this impact to his purchase decision.

This post has been edited by Shades: Mar 12 2013, 01:42 PM
CoffeeDude
post Mar 12 2013, 02:38 PM

1,609 posts

In my opinion I will not buy a second hand Toyota/Honda simply because the resale value is high.

I don't see why I should pay a high price for a used car that lacks features found in another similar car.

Therefore if I were to buy a used car, I'll choose a European car.
It has more features and costs less.
I also won't suffer that much depreciation anymore because the first owner has already absorbed it.

If more people buy second hand European car instead of second hand Toyota. The resale values of these cars will reverse.
durianpuff
post Mar 12 2013, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 12 2013, 02:38 PM)
In my opinion I will not buy a second hand Toyota/Honda simply because the resale value is high.

I don't see why I should pay a high price for a used car that lacks features found in another similar car.

I also won't suffer that much depreciation anymore because the first owner has already absorbed it.

If more people buy second hand European car instead of second hand Toyota. The resale values of these cars will reverse.
Well said here.
Car values drop, but due to silly demands, they are jacked higher by used-car dealers.

CoffeeDude
post Mar 12 2013, 02:56 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(durianpuff @ Mar 12 2013, 02:45 PM)
Well said here.
Car values drop, but due to silly demands, they are jacked higher by used-car dealers.
In Australia a 2008 Camry is cheaper than a 2008 Peugeot 407.

Here in Malaysia it is the other way round.

Reason :
Used car dealers jacking up the price.
People who didn't do any research and simply buy what is common on the road, uncle aunty recommendation.

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Mar 12 2013, 03:12 PM
youngman28
post Mar 12 2013, 05:45 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 12 2013, 03:56 PM)
In Australia a 2008 Camry is cheaper than a 2008 Peugeot 407.

Here in Malaysia it is the other way round.

Reason :
Used car dealers jacking up the price.
People who didn't do any research and simply buy what is common on the road, uncle aunty recommendation.
In Australia, the new car price was much cheaper than in Malaysia, while their second car price was much cheaper as well. Over they, the Japanese car was not as good demand in bolehland. the maintenance cost especially the spare cost was the same among the japan and continental car. while in bolehland, due to the in flow of cheap and convenient source for the used part from chop shop, thus maintenance cost for Japanese car like T & H was much easy available and cheaper as well. But over Australia, the labour cost for a mechanic to fix a part was not cheap. Due to geographic location, they are not economic to import the chop part from Japan as well. In Bolehland , they are not much workshop that able to fix the continental car problem ,and the avaliable of used part for continental car was quite rare and expensive. That above explain why T & H have higher RV in Bolehland compare to Australia.
kelvin_87
post Mar 12 2013, 06:07 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:45 PM)
In Australia, the new car price was much cheaper than in Malaysia, while their second car price was much cheaper as well. Over they, the Japanese car was not as good demand in bolehland. the maintenance cost especially the spare cost was the same among the japan and continental car. while in bolehland, due to the in flow of cheap and convenient  source for the used part from chop shop, thus maintenance cost for Japanese car like T & H was much easy available and cheaper as well. But over Australia, the labour cost for a mechanic to fix a part was not cheap. Due to geographic location, they are not economic to import the chop part from Japan as well. In Bolehland ,  they are  not much workshop that able to  fix the continental car problem ,and the avaliable of used part for continental car was quite rare and expensive. That above explain why T &  H have higher RV in Bolehland compare to Australia.
Brilliant explanation rclxms.gif
Whatever cheap here may not apply to other country. It is depend on supply and demand. rclxm9.gif
Thanks for great explanation rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 12 2013, 06:49 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 12 2013, 12:59 PM)
No. During year 5, you are getting back 100k for the camry as opposed to 70k for the 407.
Yes ure getting back hard cash 100K for the Camry but u need to take into account how much you paid for that 5 years of ownership in terms of the initial downpayment and monthly repayments including interest.

In this case, u 'invested' 176K to get back 100k for the Camry while u invested 155K to get back 70K for the Peugeot. But the money that u saved for paying lower installments monthly for 60 months must also be taken into account.
Darcy2
post Mar 12 2013, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:22 AM)
Bro, how can u possibly say that maintenance and FC are major elements of resale value? Resale value is resale value. Its not the same as maintenance costs and fuel efficiency. When u add up everything then its called TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS. Im not refering to that. Im refering to the RESALE VALUE in particular. Im refering to the ACTUAL COST involved.
Look, when buyers look at the resale value, they also want to see the quality, reputation and reliability of the car. Which means, whether a second hand car would incur more maintenance cost in relative to other second hand cars of that age.

For example, if the Hyundai Matrix 2006 and Proton Wira 2006 were priced at say RM15k, which would you prefer?

You wouldn't want the Hyundai Matrix, right? Because its well known to have high repair costs.
madmoz
post Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM

4,250 posts

For your argument to hold through, then you are going to take the cost over the entire period of the loan (early settlement penalty etc at point of disposal). It is no longer a simple net loss calculation based on how much you have paid (which is the basis for part 1 of your calculation) but rather a the gain/loss against the actual loan amount.

Like I mentioned earlier, Part 2 of the calculation at the moment is wrong as you have factored in the difference in installments twice.

An oversimplification and a wrong one at that. If you substitute in the amount that you would need to pay up to settle the loan and then net that off against the 'resale value' of 100k and 70k you would get a much better estimate.

I suspect that the Camry would still be cheaper as the % depreciation is much lower, even after you factor in the interest rate of say 3%.

laugh.gif Oh your loan tenure is 5 years also, lagi senang then. Your reasoning just plain doesn't hold water cause it is then nothing but a cash flow computation. You paid more out in cash for the 407 as compared to the Camry (disregarding the time value of money of course).

I maintain that the second part of your calculation is double dipping.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Mar 12 2013, 10:08 PM
LenovoT
post Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:19 AM)
Friend, uve already sold your car. What 30K more are u talking about? This calculation is to show 2 separate cars being sold at the stipulated trade in prices.
Friend, RM30k is the difference between what you can get from 407 and Camry (RM70k vs RM100K) when you sold your car at 5th year lo. Simple as that. If we are to take TVM into consideration, the difference would be smaller. But this is not the point, the main point is, why can't you accept the fact that based on the example you have provided, 407 will loss more than Camry from the cash flow perspective although you can buy the 407 at cheaper price for a start?
FlyWheel
post Mar 15 2013, 08:25 AM

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM)
Friend, RM30k is the difference between what you can get from 407 and Camry (RM70k vs RM100K) when you sold your car at 5th year lo. Simple as that. If we are to take TVM into consideration, the difference would be smaller. But this is not the point, the main point is, why can't you accept the fact that based on the example you have provided, 407 will loss more than Camry from the cash flow perspective although you can buy the 407 at cheaper price for a start?
Good one! rclxms.gif

TScybermaster98
post Mar 15 2013, 08:42 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM)
Do u know what is 'cash flow"?
TScybermaster98
post Mar 15 2013, 08:44 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM)
For your argument to hold through, then you are going to take the cost over the entire period of the loan (early settlement penalty etc at point of disposal). It is no longer a simple net loss calculation based on how much you have paid (which is the basis for part 1 of your calculation) but rather a the gain/loss against the actual loan amount.

Like I mentioned earlier, Part 2 of the calculation at the moment is wrong as you have factored in the difference in installments twice.

An oversimplification and a wrong one at that. If you substitute in the amount that you would need to pay up to settle the loan and then net that off against the 'resale value' of 100k and 70k you would get a much better estimate.

I suspect that the Camry would still be cheaper as the % depreciation is much lower, even after you factor in the interest rate of say 3%.

laugh.gif  Oh your loan tenure is 5 years also, lagi senang then. Your reasoning just plain doesn't hold water cause it is then nothing but a cash flow computation. You paid more out in cash for the 407 as compared to the Camry (disregarding the time value of money of course).

I maintain that the second part of your calculation is double dipping.
Alright then. Why dont u do an alternate comparison and show where the calculation has gone wrong?
madmoz
post Mar 15 2013, 10:25 AM

4,250 posts

the first part of your calculation is correct.

the second part is wrong.
that's all there is to it - cash flows.
kalvinwee
post Mar 15 2013, 12:11 PM

rclxms.gif
cherroy
post Mar 15 2013, 04:16 PM

25,802 posts

Based on TS info
Summarise (just on car price issue)

Pg
- total money need to spent = 85,367
- Downpayment 13,688
- monthly hire purchase 2,361

Camry
- total money need to spent to drive it for 5 years = 75,913
- Downpayment 15,499
- monthly hire purchase 2,673

So it is cheaper to drive a Camry for 5 years, (85,367 - 75,913) = 9,454
With a little bit higher downpayment and monthly payment, save 9K+ over the 5 years.

LenovoT
post Mar 16 2013, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 15 2013, 04:16 PM)
Based on TS info
Summarise (just on car price issue)

Pg
- total money need to spent = 85,367
- Downpayment 13,688
- monthly hire purchase 2,361

Camry
- total money need to spent to drive it for 5 years = 75,913
- Downpayment 15,499
- monthly hire purchase 2,673

So it is cheaper to drive a Camry for 5 years, (85,367 - 75,913) = 9,454
With a little bit higher downpayment and monthly payment, save 9K+ over the 5 years.
This is what we have been talking about, but TS cant agree. He will tell you although Camry's loss is lesser, you pay more as down payment & installments. doh.gif

Now see this TS. Assuming discount rate at 3% for simplicity of computation.

zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:11 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:21 AM)

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
Agree!

Good one cybermaster!

But buying used for any car is even better IMHO..

zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:19 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Mar 8 2013, 11:13 AM)
Why altis? 407 is 2.0L which is the same segment with the Camry 2.0

I think he did the right comparison.
zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:36 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 12 2013, 03:38 PM)

agree!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUSgoodguyextremist
post Mar 16 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:22 AM)
Actually true, the maintenance is main factor in determining resale value. To be accurate, these are main points for good resale value:
- reliability
- cost of ownership
- spare parts availabilty
- number of workshops that can fix the car

In Australia, new car prices are cheap and used cars are way cheaper, RV all so so only. Reason being the cars in Australia will easily hit high mileage over short period due to longer distance between home >> workplace >> school >> shops, etc. People prefer buy brand new rather than keeping the old car with very high mileage, no need to overhaul. Best thing about Australia is any cars there always have ready spare parts and only the best cars will be on top.

Our cars here are too expensive and only the few makes that offer plenty spare parts while others don't focus on after sales service much. That is how Toyota and Honda can sell well while others don't unless they focus on after sales.
echoesian
post Mar 17 2013, 01:31 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(zib5 @ Mar 16 2013, 12:11 PM)
Agree!

Good one cybermaster!

But buying used for any car is even better IMHO..
Why is it buying used car is better in terms of resale value? Any good example?

tokdukun
post Mar 18 2013, 11:11 AM

376 posts

TS double dip what?

Let's not talk about selling the car yet.

The 407 is more cash friendly, with lower downpayment and monthly installment. Over the course of 5 years, the 407 saves you rm20k cash, as calculated in the second (rm1.8k) and third (rm18.7k) part of TS calculation. The favour is on 407's side so far.

Now comes the time to sell both.

Camry commands rm30k more than 407. With just one transaction, the Camry wiped out all the rm20k savings in the entire 5 years, and made a gain of rm10k.

This I understood from TS first post. Not like he said Camry>407 by rm10k, but 407>camry by rm20k, therefore overall 407>camry by rm10k. If he said like this, then it's double dip.

To conclude, yes Camry do save you rm10k in the end. But it also means additional rm20k commitment in the first place over the course of 5 years. TS point of this thread: is it worth it?
tokdukun
post Mar 18 2013, 11:18 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 17 2013, 01:31 AM)
Put simply, you lose less.

Eg get a used kelisa 5 years ago at rm20k, today you sell for rm13k. You only suffer rm7k depreciation then.

Compared to the first owner, let's say he bought that kelisa rm40k, sell you rm20k, so he suffered rm20k depreciation.
zib5
post Mar 18 2013, 08:21 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 17 2013, 02:31 AM)
my point js similar to tokdukun's view below:

zib5
post Mar 18 2013, 08:22 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 18 2013, 12:18 PM)
Put simply, you lose less.

Eg get a used kelisa 5 years ago at rm20k, today you sell for rm13k. You only suffer rm7k depreciation then.

Compared to the first owner, let's say he bought that kelisa rm40k, sell you rm20k, so he suffered rm20k depreciation.
This is why buying used cars make a lot of sense. You lose less..
LLH
post Mar 18 2013, 08:48 PM

Another way of looking at it is, the 10k that will be saved 5 years later actually is less than the value of current 10k after considering the time value of money. So, one can decide whether he wants to save that amount of money or otherwise, your money, your choice.

This post has been edited by LLH: Mar 18 2013, 08:49 PM
tokdukun
post Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Mar 18 2013, 08:48 PM)
Another way of looking at it is, the 10k that will be saved 5 years later actually is less than the value of current 10k after considering the time value of money. So, one can decide whether he wants to save that amount of money or otherwise, your money, your choice.
Indeed. At 3% discount rate, it's reduced to rm7k++, as calculated by LenovoT.

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 16 2013, 11:40 AM)
This is what we have been talking about, but TS cant agree. He will tell you although Camry's loss is lesser, you pay more as down payment & installments. doh.gif

Now see this TS. Assuming discount rate at 3% for simplicity of computation.

~~~

Anyway, I always wondered who'd seriously buy a second hand Vios? The RV is friggin strong, even 2003 ones still going circa rm40k+-. For a super kosong car? It's not even prestigious, it's just telling people "I can't afford a brand new, but I am Toyota fanboy". Kesian them like kesian macai bn.

I'd rather get a Volvo V40 for that money. Comfortable, powerful, safe and far more practical car. And beautiful too wub.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 19 2013, 11:41 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM)
Anyway, I always wondered who'd seriously buy a second hand Vios? The RV is friggin strong, even 2003 ones still going circa rm40k+-. For a super kosong car? It's not even prestigious, it's just telling people "I can't afford a brand new, but I am Toyota fanboy". Kesian them like kesian macai bn.

I'd rather get a Volvo V40 for that money. Comfortable, powerful, safe and far more practical car. And beautiful too wub.gif
Yup when i sold my 2003 Vios 1.5E last year, even i was surprised at its resale value. And the car was sold to a buyer within 1 month for about 43K. Imagine paying 43K for a 9.5 yr old car that has specs that rival maybe a Kelisa. doh.gif
tokdukun
post Mar 19 2013, 12:24 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 19 2013, 11:41 AM)
Yup when i sold my 2003 Vios 1.5E last year, even i was surprised at its resale value. And the car was sold to a buyer within 1 month for about 43K. Imagine paying 43K for a 9.5 yr old car that has specs that rival maybe a Kelisa.  doh.gif
Exactly! It's what "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" call "Madness of Crowds".

Part of the point of buying a vios brand new is to show that one is 'successful'. Buying second hand is such a cheap way of getting there, of which it's not even cheap! Just how uneducated/greedy/foolish of our market is to have high regard for such a cramped, empty, unsafe car? It's not even comfortable nor engaging to drive, all that for the sake of making a gain at the end? Not worth it for me.

But on the plus side, it's good for bargain hunters looking for cars with substance ie contis as lower RV means can save more. Maintenance maybe a bit of an issue, but internet helps to point at various specialists who charge reasonable rates.
SUSMamapapamsia
post Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(zib5 @ Mar 18 2013, 08:22 PM)
This is why buying used cars make a lot of sense. You lose less..
Nope. If u buy 2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new
SUSMamapapamsia
post Mar 19 2013, 12:31 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM)
Indeed. At 3% discount rate, it's reduced to rm7k++, as calculated by LenovoT.
~~~

U noe volvo maintainence how high? Unless u hv deep pockets better not try
TScybermaster98
post Mar 19 2013, 12:34 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM)
Nope. If u buy  2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new
Agreed. Exactly my thoughts.
zib5
post Mar 19 2013, 06:34 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 01:29 PM)
Nope. If u buy  2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new
not always.

Depends on your knowledge and luck sometimes.
kadajawi
post Mar 19 2013, 07:52 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM)
In the past 20 years we bought 3 cars. 2 second hand, 1 new. Guess which car made the most trouble... it was the new one. The second hand ones were perfectly fine laugh.gif Don't go for an oldtimer. 10 year old car, don't touch unless you are willing to spend. But 1 year? 5 years? As long as you do some checks beforehand chances are you'll be happy with your choice. Also when buying a second hand car it makes sense to not blow all the cash you have on the car. If possible buy cash and have some spare money left, just in case. Rather than spending 80k on a Vios I'd spend 50k on an Octavia, and still have 30k left for repairs (that won't be necessary, but at least you'll be able to afford them should there really be something).
tokdukun
post Mar 19 2013, 09:58 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:31 PM)
U noe volvo maintainence how high? Unless u hv deep pockets better not try
Mind sharing what's killer about maintaining Volvo? Particularly V40 wagon, 2.0T? You've owned any before?

Of course I am realistic enough to know its fc is not as good as kancil, nor its spare parts as cheap as proton. Duh

mokhzaini
post Mar 19 2013, 10:31 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 09:58 PM)
Mind sharing what's killer about maintaining Volvo? Particularly V40 wagon, 2.0T? You've owned any before?

Of course I am realistic enough to know its fc is not as good as kancil, nor its spare parts as cheap as proton. Duh
of course it isnt kancil proton cheap
and of course i do not own a volvo

and of course we all dont need to own one to tell, that isnt cheap to run one.

so how about a few hundred bucks for side mirrors? and i am not talking about 100 or 200RM.
and normal servicing, and we are talking about maybe, 10k interval mind u, cost a few hundreds as well. and i am not talking about 500-600.
perhaps they dont really a KILLER like what u expect. maybe u gonna say, those bucks saved from tin milo vios wud become handy.
or maybe u would say, dont service at volvo u fren mechanic can do this that

well good for ya. yes it is one hell of beauty. the wagon is just awesome.

dont trust me, monsieur. just google it. or ask around. or do whatever u want.

ps- u asked who bought second hand vios? my oh my. u should have ask who bought it new in the first place. yes. that tin milo kosong vios.
tokdukun
post Mar 19 2013, 10:57 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Mar 19 2013, 10:31 PM)
of course it isnt kancil proton cheap
and of course i do not own a volvo

and of course we all dont need to own one to tell, that isnt cheap to run one.
so how about a few hundred bucks for side mirrors? and i am not talking about 100 or 200RM.
and normal servicing, and we are talking about maybe, 10k interval mind u, cost a few hundreds as well. and i am not talking about 500-600.
perhaps they dont really a KILLER like what u expect. maybe u gonna say, those bucks saved from tin milo vios wud become handy.
or maybe u would say, dont service at volvo u fren mechanic can do this that

well good for ya. yes it is one hell of beauty. the wagon is just awesome.
dont trust me, monsieur. just google it. or ask around. or do whatever u want.
ps- u asked who bought second hand vios? my oh my. u should have ask who bought it new in the first place. yes. that tin milo kosong vios.
What I need to know is when people say high maintenance cost, how high is high?

Proton also can be very expensive if you wanted to. Satria 1.3 throttle body was quoted RM3,000 from Proton parts glenmarie, Waja side mirror RM400. I've seen Waja R3 front brake pad rm600++, siao aa?! Proton think they're ferrari aa can charge their parts with that kinda price?

Then from personal experience I kena ketuk by some tyre shops before. Waja door handle rm80, fuel pump rm650. Once, it overheat, the radiator kering cuz got some leak, rm600++. All which I partly blame myself, I could've avoided getting ketuk so much if I'm more diligent on maintaining the car. Still though, not the kinda bill one would expect for maintaining "just" a proton.
azbro
post Mar 19 2013, 11:22 PM

4,403 posts

Sorry...I'm not good in math or definitions whatever...

But if a RV of Pug407 against a benchmark like Camry can go up to 9pages....whatever it is, the Pug is worth the ownership and RV.

post Mar 20 2013, 12:06 AM

836 posts

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Interest rate = 3%
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Monthly payment = $2,673

SUMMARY

What do you think?
Nice one cybermaster, LOL they don't get your meaning of the RM20 531.
zib5
post Mar 20 2013, 12:50 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Mar 20 2013, 01:06 AM)
Nice one cybermaster, LOL they don't get your meaning of the RM20 531.
another conclusion is Camry is overpriced with inferior specs than 407.

So Toyota needs to buck up and lower your prices.

Don't keep blaming taxes or Japan HQ.
kadajawi
post Mar 20 2013, 02:55 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:57 PM)
What I need to know is when people say high maintenance cost, how high is high?

Proton also can be very expensive if you wanted to. Satria 1.3 throttle body was quoted RM3,000 from Proton parts glenmarie, Waja side mirror RM400. I've seen Waja R3 front brake pad rm600++, siao aa?! Proton think they're ferrari aa can charge their parts with that kinda price?

Then from personal experience I kena ketuk by some tyre shops before. Waja door handle rm80, fuel pump rm650. Once, it overheat, the radiator kering cuz got some leak, rm600++. All which I partly blame myself, I could've avoided getting ketuk so much if I'm more diligent on maintaining the car. Still though, not the kinda bill one would expect for maintaining "just" a proton.
The usual advice applies... if you can get spare parts from Singapore, good. They are not so expensive usually, and you can get OEM ones. You can also make phone calls to find out the actual price, instead of hearsay.

The Volvo Malaysia website lists the servicing schedule including the prices. Personally I thought it was a bit high, but yeah, ymmv.
post Mar 20 2013, 09:08 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(zib5 @ Mar 20 2013, 12:50 AM)
another conclusion is Camry is overpriced with inferior specs than 407.

So Toyota needs to buck up and lower your prices.

Don't keep blaming taxes or Japan HQ.
the conclusion is talking about cash flow within money spent and in 5 yrs time ...
tokdukun
post Mar 20 2013, 10:39 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 20 2013, 02:55 AM)
The usual advice applies... if you can get spare parts from Singapore, good. They are not so expensive usually, and you can get OEM ones. You can also make phone calls to find out the actual price, instead of hearsay.

The Volvo Malaysia website lists the servicing schedule including the prices. Personally I thought it was a bit high, but yeah, ymmv.
They are high, most VOCM and autoworld volvo forummers would advise against going back to FA or SM after warranty ends. Eg current gen S40 wipers from those official dealers cost around rm380, outside shops are quoted rm180, both ori Volvo parts.

I think any car, including proton and perodua can cost a bomb if one is not careful. Tyre shops and official SC especially will slaughter you for your ignorance. My friend recently changed her kelisa's engine mounting for rm1,200. Hmm... "low" maintenance indeed.
kadajawi
post Mar 20 2013, 11:00 AM

544 posts

Outside workshops will also rip you off. And I would simply not trust an outside workshop to fix a more modern car. Toyota OK, but Volvo?

I can bring my own parts to the Renault SC. The fees are OK.
ajul
post Mar 20 2013, 11:11 AM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

when do comparison...pls do more homework...pls compare with same value item...rm150k vs rm150 item...and resale value...now u compare rm130k vs rm150k item...sure got different cash value....hahahaha

if u want see huge different..why not u compare rm50k myvi Vs rm150k camry? sure u see there got rm100k cash flow....hahaha

This post has been edited by ajul: Mar 20 2013, 11:11 AM
kailord
post Mar 20 2013, 12:36 PM

I think it's more practical to compare between segments rather than price range. Because when buying a car, people would target which segment they want. After that only budget.
N1ck
post Mar 20 2013, 03:41 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Mar 20 2013, 11:11 AM)
when do comparison...pls do more homework...pls compare with same value item...rm150k vs rm150 item...and resale value...now u compare rm130k vs rm150k item...sure got different cash value....hahahaha

if u want see huge different..why not u compare rm50k myvi Vs rm150k camry? sure u see there got rm100k cash flow....hahaha
He is comparing the same category same class of cars. He is proving the hypothesis wrong that buying a Toyota instead of a Kia would save you money.

Rather than getting a Toyota Camry because you want money from resale value, you get a cheaper Kia instead which his calculation proves is more value.

Anyway, still need to factor in cost of servicing and parts. My dad had a previous gen Camry, he loved it due to relatively cheap services and very little problems. However I think all cars also not much problems right.
mysql2779
post Sep 5 2013, 09:44 PM

523 posts

Guys.. What about modifications like exhaust tuning, sport rims, engine tuning?

Do these modifications reduce the resale value?

Trading in the car to car dealer won't affect much right?

I am planning to sell my Proton Gen2 AT 1.3 2006 off and get an second hand Myvi.

I did exhaust modification and sport rims upgrade. Do these mod reduce my trade in value ?
eric8188
post Dec 3 2013, 09:00 PM

73 posts

When i see someone age between 25-35 driving a new camry 2.0/2.5, i will always tell myself this is their father's car. no offense, just the image leads to such imagination. tongue.gif
jing_kohkoh
post Dec 3 2013, 09:46 PM

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs
650 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Mar 20 2013, 03:41 PM)
He is comparing the same category same class of cars. He is proving the hypothesis wrong that buying a Toyota instead of a Kia would save you money.

Rather than getting a Toyota Camry because you want money from resale value, you get a cheaper Kia instead which his calculation proves is more value.
Anyway, still need to factor in cost of servicing and parts. My dad had a previous gen Camry, he loved it due to relatively cheap services and very little problems. However I think all cars also not much problems right.
I see downside on buying low resale value car, there are reasons why cars are having low resale value, most probably the poor after sales support and low demand and hard to sell as used car.
selling the car with higher demand comes more handy when its time to sell, the asking price seen on car sales website for low demand car is going down and down most of time because dealers are selective.
having slightly higher startup cost and monthly cost (rm300) saves the hassle when selling, also saves up 10k more cash in the end.
lastly, if buy a low resale value car, by investing rm300 monthly that was earned from the difference in car price, can earn back rm10000 in 5 years time?

so, its up to personal taste and enjoyment, in terms of money, buying low resale value car sure no good

This post has been edited by jing_kohkoh: Dec 3 2013, 09:55 PM

0.0869sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:50 PM