125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

SUSrobertchoo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 09:46 PM)
First time eat really culture shock!
Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh and their hokkien mee. The hokkien mee is like mee with brown sauce.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Apr 7 2013, 10:01 PM
TSdeodorant
post Apr 7 2013, 10:03 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM)
Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh

I quite like their BKT. As long as you don't directly compare it to KL/Klang one and accept that it's a different 'style,' it's not too bad.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 7 2013, 10:12 PM

1,172 posts

Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh and their hokkien mee. The hokkien mee is like mee with brown sauce.
Try already. I would say its different culture. No right no wrong no good no bad. Only not used to it at first.
SUSrobertchoo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:18 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 10:03 PM)
I quite like their BKT. As long as you don't directly compare it to KL/Klang one and accept that it's a different 'style,' it's not too bad.
Really? ok.
I still can't take it.
Guess I'm used to the Klang BKT type
TSdeodorant
post Apr 7 2013, 10:27 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:18 PM)
Guess I'm used to the Klang BKT type

It's OK if you can't get used to the SG type. After all taste is a personal thing mah hehe. For me I consider the SG BKT something like eating pork stomach soup (which is clear and peppery even in Malaysia) ... except that I eat ribs instead of stomach. So it's still OK smile.gif

But I still can't accept stuff like the char koay teow, wantan mee, bak chor mee, fried hokkien prawn mee ...
crazy25kid
post Apr 7 2013, 10:28 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 09:15 PM)
their char koay teow is sweet one!!! @#$%^&*()

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 09:46 PM)
First time eat really culture shock!

melaka ckt tastes like that
well, according to my frens from melaka

i agree with the bkt... laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 10:03 PM)

u are the first m'sian i know who said their bkt not bad laugh.gif laugh.gif

Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

I luv the white pepper version very much. Well, I don't favor the Msia black version anyway, probably only eaten twice or trice so far.
Funny coz the last hokkien mee I tried at Kong Kee is pretty authentic like KL, even cook with charcoal fire. The thing is, do you know where to look for food ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 09:52 PM)

i tried their bakchormee. apa benda nie.
same lar. our vinegar pork leg. they also wanna vomit if they try that.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 7 2013, 10:47 PM
LiangZhuge
post Apr 7 2013, 10:52 PM

451 posts

The Singapore Hokkien mee quite nice albeit a bit different from my expectation of KL Hokkien mee. Famous one in Whampoa makan place.
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:54 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 10:12 PM)
Try already. I would say its different culture. No right no wrong no good no bad. Only not used to it at first.
true. I found it disrespect to the host country when a foreigner extremely criticized about the way the local food is prepared instead of suiting his/her taste.
JohnJon82
post Apr 7 2013, 11:09 PM

716 posts

Franchise fast food chain taste also got diff, KFC, McDonald. Prefer KFC in Malaysia, McDonald in SG.
puppyee
post Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM

97 posts

Hey guys, I've been here in sg for a week now... trying to settle my medical check up but I'm cracking my head trying to think of where and when to go since everywhere is so crowded on weekends! Does anyone knows any good place for that around depot road, red hill or tiong bahru?

I need to do X-ray as well and from the current information I've got, I need to do check up at a gp, then go x ray, then go back to gp... arrrrrrr

I can't go to private coz I can't claim medical checkup bills from company... they're too cheapo to pay me back mad.gif

This post has been edited by puppyee: Apr 7 2013, 11:20 PM
crazy25kid
post Apr 7 2013, 11:32 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM)
Hey guys, I've been here in sg for a week now... trying to settle my medical check up but I'm cracking my head trying to think of where and when to go since everywhere is so crowded on weekends! Does anyone knows any good place for that around depot road, red hill or tiong bahru?

I need to do X-ray as well and from the current information I've got, I need to do check up at a gp, then go x ray, then go back to gp... arrrrrrr

I can't go to private coz I can't claim medical checkup bills from company... they're too cheapo to pay me back  mad.gif
did mine at woodlands raffles medical
the cost was around 48sgd
ivanswk
post Apr 7 2013, 11:34 PM

+J
2,110 posts

http://www.shangri-la.com/singapore/shangr...rants/the-line/

just have dinner there, 15% for dbs

not neccesary cc, their ATM is debit card rite so u get the discount as well, not much but can offset the plus plus he he.. got more spread
ivanswk
post Apr 7 2013, 11:36 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 10:27 PM)
It's OK if you can't get used to the SG type. After all taste is a personal thing mah hehe. For me I consider the SG BKT something like eating pork stomach soup (which is clear and peppery even in Malaysia) ... except that I eat ribs instead of stomach. So it's still OK smile.gif

But I still can't accept stuff like the char koay teow, wantan mee, bak chor mee, fried hokkien prawn mee ...
http://songfa.sginfo.mobi/

song fa?
ivanswk
post Apr 7 2013, 11:40 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 09:52 PM)
YES!

the porridge also not nice.'

panmee also not nice.

and singaporeans are so proud with these.

i tried their bakchormee. apa benda nie.
got 10 good one in SG nod.gif
http://www.hungrygowhere.com/dining-guide/...-*aid-e56d3f00/

rolleyes.gif
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 11:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM)

I can't go to private coz I can't claim medical checkup bills from company... they're too cheapo to pay me back  mad.gif
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 7 2013, 11:32 PM)
did mine at woodlands raffles medical
the cost was around 48sgd
i just did mine today at AMK. my company ask me just go to any clinic. i did everything in the same area. no hassle. also 48SGD

user posted image user posted image
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 11:56 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 7 2013, 11:40 PM)
all atas restaurants ah? biggrin.gif
xtylish
post Apr 8 2013, 12:06 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 7 2013, 10:52 PM)
The Singapore Hokkien mee quite nice albeit a bit different from my expectation of KL Hokkien mee. Famous one in Whampoa makan place.

this?
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2013, 12:06 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 7 2013, 11:34 PM)
http://www.shangri-la.com/singapore/shangr...rants/the-line/

just have dinner there, 15% for dbs

not neccesary cc, their ATM is debit card rite so u get the discount as well, not much but can offset the plus plus he he.. got more spread
The Line serves quite a good spread of buffet. Love their fresh oysters smile.gif . This place got a pretty good reviews. The only downside is probably the distance from MRT, quite a long walk up. oh, and they serve nice Laici Martini smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 8 2013, 12:12 AM

125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 AM