post Mar 2 2013, 11:04 PM, updated 13y ago

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

URL for Previous Thread (v12): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2506532

Chat Thread is Here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2220419
Gathering Thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are always available for those with higher education level & in-demand work experience. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB
5. eFinancialCareers.sg

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG. Do note that you can only stay 30 days at a time, and a total of only 60 days out of every 90.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Employers/Gen-Info...ri/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD600 and above per room (with or without utilities). You can still find small & cramped sub-SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD1000 onwards per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/
http://www.sg-house.com/
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm
SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg
Directions: http://gothere.sg/maps or http://maps.google.com.sg/

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/lta/en/motor...fsingapore.html

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

TO CHECK EP APPLICATION STATUS, VISIT THIS LINK
https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLENQM0...isplayAction.do

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 22 2013, 07:39 PM
TSdeodorant
post Mar 2 2013, 11:05 PM

5,691 posts

Further Information about Converting your MY license to SG license:

QUOTE(hokin @ Jul 11 2012, 08:45 AM)
Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked.

Officially there is a law that requires our Malaysian driving licence revoked if anyone would like to convert the licence to a Singapore driving licence. See the extract below from the JPJ Driver’s Education Curriculum handbook (on page 113 – 114). It does add on that one can still get back a Malaysian driving licence and that whilst holding a Singapore driving licence one can still drive a Malaysian registered car in Malaysia and Singapore.

So to say JPJ blacklist your Malaysian driving license is not correct and misguided, they are just doing their job as required by law. However many would like to keep both driving license, hence the 'extortion'.

V12 Top 10 Contributors:

yhoong12 221
Mackiddo 152
deodorant 144
seantang 116
r1v3r 83
alaskanbunny 76
crazy25kid 71
momijigari 68
ivanswk 60
megadisc 60

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 2 2013, 11:06 PM
TSdeodorant
post Mar 3 2013, 09:36 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 3 2013, 05:36 PM)
driving a cab is a very high paying job with flexible working hours if u put in the same amt of effort to climb the corporate ladder

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/%E2%80%98s-7k-a-m...t%E2%80%99.html

Some quotes from that article:

I’ve heard of some drivers who work 15 or 16 hours a day, and who earn about $4,000 to $5,000 a month

... driving for eight hours a night on a good day, he can take home about $158 after fuel and rental. In a month of 25 days of work, his income can come to about $3,000. Even if a driver does two shifts of 16 hours, he would get about $5,400.

... while that cabby does earn $6,000 a month, he drives from 7:30am to 2:30am, six days a week.

I'm not sure if $6k on 100 hours/week qualifies as "high income" hmm.gif
TSdeodorant
post Mar 4 2013, 04:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 4 2013, 04:08 PM)
Is tax season again...

I don't think my scenario is exactly the same as yours, but when I came over to SG, I had worked in MY for only 4 months i.e. ~120 days. Under MY tax rules I am still considered as a "Tax Resident" for that year (despite being less than 182 days) because under dunno what section 7 it was linked to > 182 days in the preceding year.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 6 2013, 11:36 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Mar 6 2013, 11:00 AM)
we are planning to buy our dinning table, bedframe and sofa from Lorenzo JB. not sure worth the journey or not since we do not have a car and we will be hiring a "driver" to bring us around, one day $300...

http://carclub.com.sg/price-standard-plan.php

Citreon Berlingo Van $26.10 for first 3 hours then $8.20 for every hour after that (and 0.32 per km for fuel). Usage in Malaysia allowed at +50% surcharge, even then also should be much less than your $300.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 6 2013, 11:40 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 6 2013, 10:49 AM)
when you collect pass, MOM noneed to see the report?

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 6 2013, 10:53 AM)
Nope, MOM didn't get any medical report from me.
None submitted also. Not a requirement.
I only bring my IPA to EPSC & collect my EP.

MOM don't need medical check up for elite level P1 EP holders like jitshiong. Only borderline EP like the rest of us Q1 holders need to produce medical report cos anytime new regulations come in then we will get downgraded to S Pass icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Mar 6 2013, 02:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 6 2013, 02:17 PM)
Any other advantage for EP? Can use the fast lane at custom

I thought all work passes can use fast lane? My fiancee last time not even work pass, just a long term visit pass also can use liao.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 8 2013, 01:16 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 7 2013, 12:46 PM)
S Pass and work permit still cannot. Long term visit pass sponsored by EP and above coming to spend money can. How she get the long term visit pass ah? I plan to apply one for my fiancee but like cannot.

My fiancee applied LTVP using that EPEC (employment pass eligibility cert) like what alaskanbunny said, nothing to do with spouse or etc. But now the scheme discontinued liao.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 11 2013, 11:17 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(vinvin2z @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM)
Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves?

It's like this actually. When a landlord wants to rent out a room/house, he will engage an agent. Normally, this agent will tell his/her friends, team members, colleagues, etc. These other agents are the ones who will advertise the room/property on propertyguru/etc.

So when you go viewing, the 'other' agent will bring you go see the house and represent your interests. The landlord agent will represent the landlord's interests, and both agents will split the agent fee. Normally you will pay your half to your agent (cos he is representing you) and the landlord will pay his/her half to his/her agent.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 11 2013, 11:45 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 11 2013, 11:33 AM)
PR house rental issue?

not too long ago government say PR cannot rent out their HDB, I guess he is referring to that.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 11 2013, 04:42 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xenotzu @ Mar 11 2013, 03:18 PM)
is there any advantage to doing his NS other than the ability to stay on to work in Singapore

renounce PR to dodge NS, 99.9% will never be able to get any form of work permit or PR in the future liao. You can "plan" for them not to come back to SG in the future, but are you sure your son will be elite enough to get a job in US, UK, Canada, etc?
TSdeodorant
post Mar 12 2013, 12:44 AM

5,691 posts

Any of you got knowledge of / experience in driving a van into Singapore? My parents have a 10-seater Toyota Hiace which they may need to drive into SG. I can't figure out from LTA website whether to just drive in as a normal passenger car/van, or whether there is any special procedure to follow.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/c...12_Nov_2010.pdf

From what I can tell, you need a permit to operate a Van/Bus for commercial use, but this is 100% private use (for coming into SG with relatives for holiday).
TSdeodorant
post Mar 15 2013, 09:04 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Mar 14 2013, 11:57 PM)
For taxes, the company should be helping you pay the taxes in accordance with IRAS guidelines.

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2013, 01:59 AM)
2. How they do the tax thing? Is it every month they just deduct a bit of my pay or once a year they give me a letter ask me pay certain amount???

The company doesn't help u pay your taxes.

Some companies will help you report your income for the year directly to IRAS. Then you will login to IRAS and declare other income, tax deductibles, etc. IRAS then sends u a letter telling u how much to pay, and u pay either lump sum or by monthly installments. Note that SG got no PCB like Malaysia.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 15 2013, 09:10 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 14 2013, 11:21 PM)
4. Room rental sgd 600 does this come with personal toilet? This price range housemate won't be bangla right???

I would say it is extremely difficult if not impossible to get a room with toilet attached for that budget. For that money you're looking at utility room (small room with bed cupboard desk and no space to put anything else).
TSdeodorant
post Mar 17 2013, 10:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Mar 17 2013, 06:29 PM)
Was thinking to take train to KL this week, but i not able to find the 11:30pm train in the KTM booking page. Can i just go there and buy on the spot? thx thx.. smile.gif

The stations you need on the booking page are "Woodlands CIQ" and "Sentral Kuala Lumpur"
TSdeodorant
post Mar 18 2013, 09:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Mar 17 2013, 10:08 PM)
yes..just dont see the 11:30pm train in the booking page..  blush.gif

Don't know what to tell you. My brother just booked SG to KL overnight with no problem. I also just went to the booking page put in JB sentral as per liangzhuges post and the 11.55 train appears too.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 18 2013, 03:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:45 AM)
Oh, we cant rent room with passport? if telling the owner i looking for job now also cannot?
btw, thanks for bring up this point, i really didn't notice about this issue thumbup.gif

Officially, not allowed. Government only allows you to rent rooms/hdb/etc if you are a "resident" here. Non residents = tourists = not allowed. A landlord may unofficially rent rooms to you on relatively short term basis (like few months) but that is actually also breaking the law tongue.gif
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2013, 03:57 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 19 2013, 03:39 PM)
fine dining every meal - 200 per week = 800 a month

$800 a month is $26 a day, how on earth can you "fine dining" in Singapore on that budget, lol.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2013, 09:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 19 2013, 09:22 PM)
Is it ok if i put want to have korean girls as house mate in the criteria? I'm being serious here. Bcs when i had traning in Hotel b4 koreans & japanese are the cleanest guest, they even make thier own beds in the hotel.

The agent will likely ask you to fly kite.

Even if the agent doesn't ask you to fly kite, for the measly 1/2 month commission he/she won't be actively looking for a place with korean girls, so you also aren't likely to get a place in a relatively short timeframe.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2013, 09:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 19 2013, 08:58 PM)
I dunno about the rest of you, but the lifestyle here is so much of a pressure cooker. I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful.
I think I'm having issues coping with the generally high stress levels of Singapore.

I work and live in the East, so I don't need to experience the rush hour MRT on a daily basis. IMO that is a HUGE factor in my stress levels here in SG. I can easily imagine that having to take the peak hour MRT daily would increase my stress levels a few notches.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:36 PM