125 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

cryingbaby
post Apr 22 2013, 01:47 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(typicalyssa @ Apr 22 2013, 01:39 PM)
I suggest you read from Page 1.
Basic information is all in the first post.  smile.gif
QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Apr 22 2013, 01:40 PM)
You should start from the first page.... all the information you need is there smile.gif
ya... think so too... start reading from behind bring more questions rclxub.gif ........... haha.
by the end of reading I will post my question if still any...
jitshiong
post Apr 22 2013, 01:48 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 22 2013, 01:12 PM)
Okay meaning that I will be able to withdraw money from MBB ATM in SG? That's great!
Your rate so high  rclxub.gif
High meh? Money changer also charge 2.53 or more leh...
lol!
well, the rate fluctuates...
can discuss further if change a lot. PM me.
cryingbaby
post Apr 22 2013, 04:10 PM

40 posts

Just wonder, Malaysian working in Singapore, does the overall working environment make a Malaysian feel like 2nd class worker, similar to those foreign worker/labour in malaysia? something like not respecting, refusal to obey etc etc...

megadisc
post Apr 22 2013, 04:14 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(cryingbaby @ Apr 22 2013, 04:10 PM)
Just wonder, Malaysian working in Singapore, does the overall working environment make a Malaysian feel like 2nd class worker, similar to those foreign worker/labour in malaysia? something like not respecting, refusal to obey etc etc...
nope ...depends on the company ....
LiangZhuge
post Apr 22 2013, 04:19 PM

451 posts

Saw some post about insurance a few pages back, malas to quote... here is my experience and so far is adequate for me at the moment.

1. Local MY insurance (some can be claimed in SG - via conversion RM-SGD for hospitalization) - ask you agent
2. My insurance policy can cover SG as well with an extra premium - again ask your agent

What I am currently doing (non PR without and Medi save shield thingy).

1. My local insurance policy (life, medical, etc..), I didn't pay the extra premium for SG. So for my policy to be in effect, I cannot exceed 3 months away from Malaysia. If you go back every so often, this should not be an issue and you can continue with your policy OR add more coverage from your earned SGD smile.gif

2. I bought travel insurance - also the condition of not more than 3 months away from Malaysia as well.

My first policy basically is my investment,life, medical,etc policy (usual vanilla policy) I bought around 9+ years ago, which I still continue to pay the premium. I didn't load the SG part since I go back once in a couple of month, or if needed just go to JB smile.gif (keep the ticket as proof, etc).

The second, travel insurance, which can be used to claim for GP, lost luggage, flight delay, etc in the foreign country. Mine cost around RM 400+ a year [renew yearly] (covers almost all countries except Nepal, and some other war torn countries which you will never go). With this I do not need to even buy the insurance being shoved down by airline companies smile.gif

As usual ask your agent what is covered, tnc.

So basically if there is hospitalization, etc, I will use the company insurance first, if that exceeds, go onto the travel insurance and lastly the personal MY insurance. If you still survive after killing off 2 insurance limit, I think you can manage to cross the causeway to JB to claim your local insurance hospitalization tongue.gif

*There is a max medical (GP claim) per claim in the place I work in, I managed to exceed once, so the extra I claim over on the travel insurance.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 22 2013, 04:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 08:44 AM)
Hi all SIFUs,

This might be same old question again but i need to ask:
Is it advisable for a person like me work < 2 years in SG to apply PR?
If not when should i apply? after work here > 2 years?
yeaps... should apply after the 1st year.. since it is free.. all u need is to waste some time to go submit your doc

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:12 AM)
I also brought 5k first time I come here, gone in one month  cry.gif .
If you are saving 20% of your pay, or 1k if your pay is more than 5k, then the CPF contribution should not be significant for you. Consider it as saving for your future home here and a 15-16% pay increment from your employer that you can't use yet.
i brought $200+ only... got caught at 2nd link for unopened ciggi cry.gif that time didnt know... kena $200 fine, and my bus left... since i was stuck, i took cab to my aunt's house at bishan all the way from 2nd link customs.. and i had to ask my auntie to pay for my cab cry.gif my 1st day in sg for job.. so sad cry.gif so grateful to my auntie as she loaned me $$$ for 3 months thumbup.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 22 2013, 05:18 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 22 2013, 04:46 PM)
yeaps... should apply after the 1st year.. since it is free.. all u need is to waste some time to go submit your doc
I know the application is free, just need to value every concern afterward. CPF contribution, take home pay. 5% might not be alot for some of you, but it is alot for me, trying to project my financial for the next few year. Since i already 1 years++ here, must have saving if not i am fail working here. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Apr 22 2013, 05:19 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 22 2013, 05:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 05:18 PM)
I know the application is free, just need to value every concern afterward. CPF contribution, take home pay. 5% might not be alot for some of you, but it is alot for me, trying to project my financial for the next few year. Since i already 1 years++ here, must have saving if not i am fail working here. biggrin.gif
yea.. actually considering pr benefits cut so much, if you dont plan to stay long term but want it for job stability, better think twice..
yhoong12
post Apr 22 2013, 05:51 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 22 2013, 05:39 PM)
yea.. actually considering pr benefits cut so much, if you dont plan to stay long term but want it for job stability, better think twice..
PR still have the most attractive benefits :- more job option...haha
Holyboyz
post Apr 22 2013, 08:26 PM

421 posts

Hi all i have just been offered a job in SG for 3k SGD, seeing that the location of my office would be around Bedok i think that having living around Payar lebar would be the best as it runs both yellow and green line.

Any thought on that general location? I'm honestly hoping to get a place with no owners and that they allow cooking. Looking at the 600 - 1k price range i dont mind paying abit more for comfort.

Are SG landlord very hard to handle? I've read other forums where they have nightmare cases with the local landlords.

I've also look through listings from all the link on the first page, how much is the agent fee/com normally its never stated on the ad. What the general consensus on negotiating rental prices?

Any thoughts on the matter would be great
reign226
post Apr 22 2013, 08:40 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 22 2013, 09:01 AM)
No harm trying mah. I applied my PR in January (1yr 7mths work in SG), got the approval a few weeks ago, so.... less than 2years. P2 EP.

Those of u who got PR, did your IPA say anything like 'you are invited to apply for citizenship after X years" etc? I'm wondering if that line really means a decent chance of SC approval after X years or whether it's just some standard letter template.
Mine was 0.5 years. But i decided not to apply after all.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 22 2013, 10:38 AM)
You are looking for the SC or hope the letter don't come to you? My dad, brother and myself all got invitation letter for SC, my dad even have 2. Mine is after 2-3 years after I started to work. But we decline the invitation. Rumour says that those will local properties will be targeted sooner or later. My other half has been PR for 7 years but never receive any SC invitation letter.
All elites will get the letter sooner or later. Anyone else here other than David Mackiddo got it?

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 22 2013, 12:26 PM)
you are in luck. I just ask this from the bank just now. For Maybank, you can use your ATM and withdraw from Singapore ATM machine. Each withdraw depending on what you set the limit on your ATM card. For example if you per day withdraw is 2k (RM) then you will have max of SGD 800, base on 2.5 exchange rate. The exchange rate will be base on the daily currency exchange rate.

However you are can't bank in money from Singapore Maybank cash deposit machine. You have to go to the teller to do it. And each time there is a RM25-27 charges for each transaction.
Normally you only need to take out SGD using your MY debit card, for emergency purposes. For SGD back to MYR, its easier to just use Remittance fee of $10, or use Maybank Regionlink fee $15 with slightly lesser exchange rate. Or if you travel back often then just carry cash back its only a few hundred.

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 22 2013, 01:12 PM)
Okay meaning that I will be able to withdraw money from MBB ATM in SG? That's great!
Your rate so high  rclxub.gif
Yes but you normally need to give a call to your MY bank to inform then to activate the withdrawal service. Otherwise your card will be rejected. Its ok if you are tight of money can borrow from me first. Interest rate can be negotiated unlike Jisthiong.

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Apr 22 2013, 08:26 PM)
Hi all i have just been offered a job in SG for 3k SGD, seeing that the location of my office would be around Bedok i think that having living around Payar lebar would be the best as it runs both yellow and green line.

Any thought on that general location? I'm honestly hoping to get a place with no owners and that they allow cooking. Looking at the 600 - 1k price range i dont mind paying abit more for comfort.

Are SG landlord very hard to handle? I've read other forums where they have nightmare cases with the local landlords.

I've also look through listings from all the link on the first page, how much is the agent fee/com normally its never stated on the ad. What the general consensus on negotiating rental prices?

Its unlikely to get a place that allows cooking. Your price range should be able to get a decent room but rental at 33% of your salary you might want to ponder whether its worth it compared to your current job. Yes there are nightmare as well as good cases. Normally I guess you will find in between. Good luck to you bro. Normally fees are either fully paid by you or shared between you and the landlord.

ilineZ
post Apr 22 2013, 08:45 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 19 2013, 11:12 AM)
2 room apartment about $2.1k - $2.4k. There are some outliers of course, like a damn lucky colleague of mine got her unit for $1.9k
the funny thing in sg is that whole apartment cost more than renting a room only.
at KL rent a room will be more expensive than renting whole unit and divide the rental among 3-4 people depending on the number of the room.

This post has been edited by ilineZ: Apr 22 2013, 08:46 PM
reign226
post Apr 22 2013, 08:47 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 22 2013, 08:45 PM)
the funny thing in sg is that whole apartment cost more than renting a room only.
at KL rent a room will be more expensive than renting whole unit and divide the rental among 3-4 people depending on the number of the room.
Cos landlords here are screwed up?
JohnJon82
post Apr 22 2013, 08:47 PM

716 posts

If you work in Bedok, stay around Bedok, its a residential area with a lot of flats and people. Don't see any HDB flat near to Payar Lebar MRT. 33% of your pay for rented accommodation alone... You decide yourself whether worth it or not.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 09:11 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Generally it is 1/2 month fee for 1 year contract, 1 month fee for 2 year contract.

If your office is around Bedok, stay in Bedok. There's two supermarkets, multiple food courts, shopping areas, a small mall full of restaurants, basically you won't need to go anywhere else during the weekdays.
ilineZ
post Apr 22 2013, 09:18 PM

99 posts

this is so true.
compare to other country, i feel that sg elderly is the most pathetic.
look at how they work, do cleaning, kopi kia, mcdonalds.
they doesnt seem enjoy their work.
the are not 'aging graciously'.

When i go other country, for e.g in china, the old people go park in the morning, do taichi n dance, then go market talk2 with seller, go home cooking, slep, go back park play mahjong, sing and dance together till evening, go back home watch tv with big family.
looking at them i so envy, shocking.gif feel want to retire asap.

but when i see old people in sg. alamak! i will buy anti-aging pill and pause my age. whistling.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 19 2013, 07:01 PM)
A lot of people tend to think Singapore is not an affordable place to retire. I tend to agree. Even if you do nothing, eat nothing, go nowhere, own your own property.. you still have to fork out a few hundred per month to cover HDB conservancy charges/condo maintenance fees, property taxes, PUB etc. If you want to drive in your old age... COEs, ERPs, parking, petrol... And if you want to eat well...

I did a quick back of the envelope calculation last time:...

$300 condo maintenance
$100 property tax ($36000 annual value - $6000 owner occupier concession * 4% owner occupier rate / 12 months)
$100 PUB
$900 food and other household necessities
$200 transport (bus, train & very occasionally... taxi)
$1600 Total Monthly Basic Subsistence Spending

That's about RM4000 if I go back to Ipoh:

RM50 cukai tanah (RM600 / 12 months... Ipoh Gdn Semi D)
RM100 Utilities
RM1000 food and other household necessities
RM2500 instalment on used Lancer Evo X
RM150 maintenance and road tax
RM400 petrol
RM4200 Total Monthly Basic Subsistence Spending

Guess where I'm going to retire.
Mackiddo
post Apr 22 2013, 09:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 22 2013, 09:18 PM)
this is so true.
compare to other country, i feel that sg elderly is the most pathetic.
look at how they work, do cleaning, kopi kia, mcdonalds.
they doesnt seem enjoy their work.
the are not 'aging graciously'.

When i go other country, for e.g in china, the old people go park in the morning, do taichi n dance, then go market talk2 with seller, go home cooking, slep, go back park play mahjong, sing and dance together till evening, go back home watch tv with big family.
looking at them i so envy, shocking.gif  feel want to retire asap.

but when i see old people in sg. alamak!  i will buy anti-aging pill and pause my age. whistling.gif
at least they can choose to work. Do you have such a choice in Malaysia ? How do you know they didn't enjoy their work and you think all younger ppl enjoy their work now ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 22 2013, 09:49 PM
reign226
post Apr 22 2013, 10:33 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 22 2013, 09:47 PM)
at least they can choose to work. Do you have such a choice in Malaysia ? How do you know they didn't enjoy their work and you think all younger ppl enjoy their work now ?
Let me know when you're 80 years old. I will book a flight come down to your workplace have a drink with you. thumbup.gif
JustcallmeLarry
post Apr 22 2013, 10:36 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 19 2013, 11:58 AM)
Should visit propertyguru.com then you can see all the criteria listed out then you can have better mind a unit or a room. now i understand why you want a unit as you already have a wife.you should set a target first before start searching, like location and then price
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Apr 19 2013, 11:18 AM)
You can find such info from Property Guru Sg, it has a lot of property listings.

My cousin went to view a unit (1 bedroom HDB) in Commonwealth area last week, the asking price was $1.8K/m.
Guys can recommend a good website for rooms to rent???
Mackiddo
post Apr 22 2013, 11:58 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Apr 22 2013, 10:33 PM)
Let me know when you're 80 years old. I will book a flight come down to your workplace have a drink with you.  thumbup.gif
sure, if you still manage to get down from the tree smile.gif

125 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:53 AM