Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 10 2013, 12:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 11:45 PM)
but u dun see malaysians gang up online scolding foreigners to go back home don't we?

f&b very tiring one. but if got chance i will try. just didn't know the method. at that time i dun have any pass. but now i got S Pass, so i can apply?
dont need to go far.. we have some1 here asking msia gov to push all the foreigners into the sea... doh.gif

lol, hardwork and honest living... ok ma.. biggrin.gif

better stick to your job and do your best for a year rclxms.gif congrats neway laugh.gif
xtylish
post Apr 10 2013, 12:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 10 2013, 12:02 AM)
dont need to go far.. we have some1 here asking msia gov to push all the foreigners into the sea...  doh.gif

lol, hardwork and honest living... ok ma..  biggrin.gif

better stick to your job and do your best for a year  rclxms.gif  congrats neway  laugh.gif
thanks smile.gif maybe should give sakae a try biggrin.gif
seantang
post Apr 10 2013, 12:21 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 9 2013, 11:41 PM)
not all are like that fellow and seantong being xenophobic... a lot of them do so only because they are behind the veil of anonymity  vmad.gif  mad.gif  doh.gif
Still dumb and dyslexic I see, terrorist lover.

Is it because the Malaysian soldiers keep searching your house looking for remnant bandits and sympathisers that you keep this up?

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 10 2013, 12:32 AM
mules
post Apr 10 2013, 12:23 AM

104 posts

Just to share,

I have a very good life in Malaysia due to my family business and a bunch of drinking friends. When i came over here to Singapore, nearing 2 months now, is like i start from fresh. All my working Sales experience is irrelevant cause all they ask is what paper you have and i don't know anyone else.

Still i will jump here the moment they offer me and suffer seeing all my savings slashed 2.5 simply because i have a 4 years old kid. In Malaysia, small kids is like iphone, if you steal it u can sell it :/ How on earth can you rest easy fearing you might lose your kid forever when someone just come up to you and grab her? Singapore offer me the natural insurance for this and that itself is priceless.

I am still jobless and not really in a hurry cause i am helping my child adapting here. But my wife has been loving it here and i start to stop comparing and start adapting and i have to say NOT BAD!

Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:13 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Apr 9 2013, 08:43 PM)
Yeah, some even go for badminton during normal working hours. Can ask Mackiddo to clarify this. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 9 2013, 09:11 PM)
You haven't met some of the real elite people in singapore. Some of them have a level of work life balance that even those 35hr work week Europeans are envious of. Can check with MacKiddo for confirmation on this.
true. daily wage worker like me is like that. Got work then good. No work then no choice, find odd jobs. happy if can clock 40hours/week.
yhoong12
post Apr 10 2013, 08:43 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 11:45 PM)
but u dun see malaysians gang up online scolding foreigners to go back home don't we?

f&b very tiring one. but if got chance i will try. just didn't know the method. at that time i dun have any pass. but now i got S Pass, so i can apply?
I think apply job does not related to the need of any pass, pass is your identity as a staff at the company, if you change job, you change pass too. if you are jobless at the moment, you dont have pass, you get a job then you get a pass.
jitshiong
post Apr 10 2013, 08:53 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 9 2013, 10:03 PM)
Hypothetical question.
What increment would you need to get, to convince you to go back to KL/Malaysia? (to make it standardised.. let's put it as a percentage?)

Let's say ur annual salary is $40k. Will u accept to go back Msia is Msia offers u say.. RM55k? RM65k? RM70k? What ratio does everyone have, to consider going back.
if it's me, at least RM80k.
That's 20% reduction but i get to be closer to the family.
fair trade off for me.
megadisc
post Apr 10 2013, 09:39 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Apr 9 2013, 04:52 PM)
I chose SG because I can drive back to KL anytime.. Scuba diving at Malaysia.. bla bla..
last day of work liao
time sure flies when u r haaving funz.... cry.gif

but havent found work yet ...
cross fingers and pray hard hard . shocking.gif

This post has been edited by megadisc: Apr 10 2013, 09:44 AM
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 09:56 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 9 2013, 03:40 PM)
You all employ nanny or put at day care center? My nephew came last month thanks to the Suluk invasion, the temporary nanny we got is expensive, 2.5k for baby < 1 year old. They are coming back end of year for few months to renew their REP so I am looking out for nanny for nephew.
Can renew REP by working for few months only?
tailtwist
post Apr 10 2013, 10:02 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 10 2013, 09:56 AM)
Its still up to ICA to reject or approve your REP.....u can still apply for REP renewal....i got my renewal REP on the spot...submit online n paid using CC...cause i was working for more than 3 years++ before the time for REP renewal
seantang
post Apr 10 2013, 10:08 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 9 2013, 10:03 PM)
Hypothetical question.
What increment would you need to get, to convince you to go back to KL/Malaysia? (to make it standardised.. let's put it as a percentage?)

Let's say ur annual salary is $40k. Will u accept to go back Msia is Msia offers u say.. RM55k? RM65k? RM70k? What ratio does everyone have, to consider going back.
Generally double to maintain quality of lifestyle.

But if you're earning anything past S$150K per year, a RM300K role in Malaysia will mean a considerable step change... in terms of seniority (highly doubtful whether someone earning S$150K in SG will even qualify for a RM300K role in Malaysia) and in terms of the effort/job description expected of you.

But to be frank, I would go back for a 1:1 role in Malaysia (perhaps even much less if I stay in Ipoh rather than KL) after I have paid off all my loans... and therefore the passive income becomes fully disposable. Actually I might not even work and just retire early.
ivanswk
post Apr 10 2013, 10:33 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 10:13 PM)
wah very luxurious ooo
if luxurious, would have went for condo, wish i cannot afford sweat.gif
obviously i m still strugling like most of u guys doh.gif

ivanswk
post Apr 10 2013, 10:38 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 10 2013, 10:08 AM)
Generally double to maintain quality of lifestyle.

But if you're earning anything past S$150K per year, a RM300K role in Malaysia will mean a considerable step change... in terms of seniority (highly doubtful whether someone earning S$150K in SG will even qualify for a RM300K role in Malaysia) and in terms of the effort/job description expected of you.
same thinking, it be more work and responsbility for the same pay back in KL

got offer a month back, 30% slash and a more snr position
could have leverage on the seniority in KL and get another one in sg within a year "a gamble"
aiseh just too old for this kind of game yawn.gif

crazy25kid
post Apr 10 2013, 10:44 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 9 2013, 09:06 PM)
Those of u who say sinkie can't identify malaysians, this only applies if u have been here donkey years n already integrate into their way of speaking etc. I been here coming to 2 years and still taxi drivers instantly know I am Malaysian after I speak 2 sentences to them regardless English or mandarin.
i got mistaken as singaporean at sim lim when i wanted to buy parts for my diy comp after <3months here. laugh.gif laugh.gif
they can identify us...once we speak our dialects. laugh.gif laugh.gif
jitshiong
post Apr 10 2013, 11:09 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 10 2013, 10:38 AM)
same thinking, it be more work and responsbility for the same pay back in KL 

got offer a month back, 30% slash and a more snr position
could have leverage on the seniority in KL and get another one in sg within a year "a gamble" 
aiseh just too old for this kind of game  yawn.gif
u r getting 120k a year now rite?
can't you get the same in Malaysia?

i know depending on industry it could be possible

my previous company paid a senior manager 60k/month. expat rate.

but if the company can afford that, i'm sure local with equivalent experience can demand at least half of it.
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 11:19 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 10 2013, 11:09 AM)
u r getting 120k a year now rite?
can't you get the same in Malaysia?

i know depending on industry it could be possible

my previous company paid a senior manager 60k/month. expat rate.

but if the company can afford that, i'm sure local with equivalent experience can demand at least half of it.
Depends on which location too I guess. I can't get my current pay in 1:1 ratio in my hometown. In KL still possible or with a higher ratio. When deciding to work here or MY, family become the main factor for MY. If any other place other than my hometown, I would rather stay here and fly back more often during the weekends.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 10 2013, 11:35 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 10 2013, 09:56 AM)
My bro and sis-in-law are self employed. My sis is also self employed but never stay here for the 5 years period got her REP rejected then given a 1 year REP with some criteria and later a 5 years REP. To be safe they are coming back to stay for sometime before renewing the REP.
jerrykhor
post Apr 10 2013, 11:54 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 10 2013, 11:19 AM)
Depends on which location too I guess. I can't get my current pay in 1:1 ratio in my hometown. In KL still possible or with a higher ratio. When deciding to work here or MY, family become the main factor for MY. If any other place other than my hometown, I would rather stay here and fly back more often during the weekends.
Yes, family factor.
I back KL almost every weekend.. but not by flight, taking bus.. I'm poorFag.... blush.gif
megadisc
post Apr 10 2013, 11:58 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Apr 10 2013, 11:54 AM)
Yes, family factor.
I back KL almost every weekend.. but not by flight, taking bus.. I'm poorFag.... blush.gif
thats u heading back to vote lah ... icon_rolleyes.gif
MsiaqweR
post Apr 10 2013, 12:07 PM

642 posts

Hi guys, just booked my SIA flight for the pooling day on 5 May....

quick guys!

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:43 AM