Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

mules
post Apr 5 2013, 11:13 AM

104 posts

I am bored here in Sg. One mont plus here. What you guys do to pass your time?
mules
post Apr 5 2013, 11:23 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 12:16 PM)
do you do play any sports?
can join me if you are interested

my daily routine is work & sleep
occasionally sports
sad.gif i am not the muscle type... sports or gym is not my cup of kopi.
In Malaysia, have many friends, day day can go drink like a baws and blow water.
In Sg no friends yet and now on saving mode so cant really go drink.
Shaking that weChat is a no no too cause i am married, doing so is a bit weird...
Casino? shakehead.gif le me luck is like bad luck Brian...

Thanks for replying, i heard got gathering one, when is the next one? Can poor man join ah?
mules
post Apr 5 2013, 11:33 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 5 2013, 12:23 PM)
Just try to fill up your time slot ahead of time.
Normally, i'll just hangout with friends, play badminton, go gym, reading, catch a movie at the cinema & surf /k. The most time i spent is watching National Geographic on TV, at least 2 hours/day on average.

We (Malaysian working in Sg) occasionally have some meet ups for coffee session. PM me if you interested to join  tongue.gif .
I subcribed that mio tv package.... after few browsing got bored already, can say Astro in Malaysia offered more variety and cheaper.
So many badminton kaki here, u all must look very good....
I stay at Tampines. Surprisingly, unlike what i read before i came here, people are very friendly here and so many Malaysian...
Maybe i should start by jogging, somewhere down the road like half year + can start learning how to swing the badminton racquet.
Reading is a good choice i guess cause after conversion the books cost around the same here from Malaysia.

mules
post Apr 8 2013, 07:00 PM

104 posts

Talking about food, i had pizza hut last week. Totally blown away. The menu choices and the food really delicious. Totally different from Malaysia, more expensive but worth it. If you have kids, they even have kid's menu

If there is one thing i love, it will be Changi's Kopitiam teh C ice. Damn.... i willing to take that bus just to go there for it. So good! Make sure is the short untie that make it.

They told me Singapore is famous for steamboat, i find it simple and not so filling like in Malaysia. Maybe just me.

MOS burger is recommended but there is a lot of restaurants in Malls i find the taste totally horrible. In a hunt for a good laksa, so far i have fail my taste buds.
mules
post Apr 8 2013, 09:28 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(hddglobal @ Apr 8 2013, 10:17 PM)
with a salary offered $1750... it is possible to survive with the living cost at singapore? pls advise
possible to survive but live a poor life cause saving will be your priority.
I think for new ppl planning to come here, be ready for de walk, you walk and stand and walk everywhere cause you wont be able to afford a car yet. Really i thought staying near the mall is beneficial, man am i wrong. Too near to take taxi and walking with 4 bags of groceries is not really fun. Do you have friends here? If you dont, you better think up a hobby fast cause every time you go out is money.

If i am you and i can find a job that pays me 2.5k above in Malaysia, i would rather stick to Malaysia tongue.gif

p/s : refer page 1 for cost of living and start saving, your first month deposits will be a shocker.

rawrr i am such a ranting b**** today
mules
post Apr 10 2013, 12:23 AM

104 posts

Just to share,

I have a very good life in Malaysia due to my family business and a bunch of drinking friends. When i came over here to Singapore, nearing 2 months now, is like i start from fresh. All my working Sales experience is irrelevant cause all they ask is what paper you have and i don't know anyone else.

Still i will jump here the moment they offer me and suffer seeing all my savings slashed 2.5 simply because i have a 4 years old kid. In Malaysia, small kids is like iphone, if you steal it u can sell it :/ How on earth can you rest easy fearing you might lose your kid forever when someone just come up to you and grab her? Singapore offer me the natural insurance for this and that itself is priceless.

I am still jobless and not really in a hurry cause i am helping my child adapting here. But my wife has been loving it here and i start to stop comparing and start adapting and i have to say NOT BAD!

mules
post Apr 14 2013, 12:53 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(mysecondlove @ Apr 14 2013, 08:05 AM)
Is it possible for me to drive my car into sg for the first time? coz i need to move my thing. And go back to Malaysia at the same day.
experienced your dilemma. If already under employment pass or dependent pass, u cannot drive in singapore.

solutions
1. get another Malaysian to drive
2. hire a taxi like me, drive and drop me all the way to singapore with maximum capacity of luggage it can fit.
mules
post Apr 17 2013, 09:56 PM

104 posts

wanna ask

which bus service goes from singapore to 1 Utama? i remembered someone mentioned here last time.

* Met a Singaporean husband working basic 1400 supporting one wife and 2 schooling children @@

mules
post Apr 18 2013, 11:05 PM

104 posts

Just wondering cause i am going back for holiday tomorrow. What are the things you guys normally buy in Msia before coming back to Singapore? I know milk powder is 70% more here, any other things?

BTW, i am from ipoh too biggrin.gif
mules
post Apr 19 2013, 12:16 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 19 2013, 12:50 AM)
Cigarettes if you smoke, open pack, 11SGD vs 10RM now? I stop around 10SGD, never keep track anymore. Never like to wait for luggage, light stuff inside my hand carry like coffee, cookies, supplements that can't be found here.
Tenom coffee? drool.gif
12.50 SGD for dunhill red, rather eat magee mee then to lose my best friend tongue.gif
mules
post Apr 19 2013, 01:15 PM

104 posts

Today i woke up at 4.30 ....... bedebummm... i think i stay too high... the thunder sounds louder then my alarm....

Welcome to singaquee fongwan. Remember buy somev vitamins too
mules
post Apr 26 2013, 03:35 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(gseed87 @ Apr 25 2013, 11:09 PM)
guys, i wan to buy a desktop computer. Any recommend computer shop at sg??
Sim Lim Square same thing like lowyat if you want to assemble your own rig.
If you are non computer savvy and would like to have a reliable PC, just get from DELL
mules
post Apr 26 2013, 03:50 PM

104 posts

I am above 30 and armed only with a weak STPM cert. All my experience in corporate sales and banking sales are irrelevant here.

I am thinking to furthering my study to increase my chance in this paper country. Anyone of you doing part time studying? Can you link me up? In Malaysia we have wawasan open Uni and most local college have part time course. Anything similar in Singapore?

thks
mules
post Apr 27 2013, 08:40 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(HenDa @ Apr 26 2013, 11:08 PM)
Fresh meat report in smile.gif
joining the force on June
i advice you to start looking for accommodation asap
welcome to sg
mules
post Apr 27 2013, 08:44 AM

104 posts

[quote=alaskanbunny,Apr 27 2013, 01:49 AM]
doing some professional development course funded by wda, personal grooming and baking... finished sushi making as it is most relevant to my job now

try wsq / ntuc / ida

rclxms.gif that 3 keywords is what i am looking for. tq

mules
post May 1 2013, 09:01 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 1 2013, 09:38 PM)
Hercules, Yalah... Make me so angry, not interested to talk to her and hang phone immediately!... By the way, that's from small company la... HR is very good in calculation what?.... Of course, she will think like that!... I'm not engineer. Do u think that she dare to offer engineer with 5 yrs exp 1.8-2k SGD? Hell no enginee want to with her la!... That's why we need to clarify the salary range b4 go for interview... I went there one time to attended the Electronics line US MNC interview... The caucasian interviewers so shocked when she saw my expected salary in application form!... That's why I noticed those interviewers don't really go throught my resume and expected salary before invite me for interview!... Mad...
I think Singapore views thing in paper perspective. Unrecognized qualification = NIL, foreigner job experience in non MNC = NIL.
I personally don't have paper qualification. Rather, all is sales experience, i am here now and thinking of going back to school or will forever suffer the low level <2k income competition.
I cannot even open a business here unless it offer something different from the norm.
I view it as a challenge, i will turn the tide or if all else fails, i just migrate to Aussie tongue.gif
mules
post May 3 2013, 02:17 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 3 2013, 12:57 PM)
its not. even people like me without a degree is working in MNC. its just depends on the position you are working at.
And don't take xtylish comment as the benchmark. If you are willing to do the jobs Singaporeans doesn't wanna do.
You will be rewarded accordingly. she states ur pay will be lower than 2k. But i can tell u if you willing to work in a call center.
You will definitely get more than 2k even you are a fresh grad.
Care to enlighten me? Cause i am looking for job now.

and happy traveling for others smile.gif
mules
post May 8 2013, 09:25 PM

104 posts

ishhh.... how come they know this and i dont know? any singapore malaysia special fb izzit? aiyooo i want to support la
mules
post May 9 2013, 11:06 AM

104 posts

hope someone can make a pakatan facebook for malaysian singapore. So any event we can join. I want to help in any way i can.

I can't make it cause i dont have connection. Anyone know what we here can do to help pakatan?

Just want a FAIR and transparent election, most of us here will wanna go back home and retire there with a peace of mind.

Funny how najib remark to trigger racism backfired and create stronger unity, really goosebump me to the verge of tears last night watching the negaraku video.
mules
post May 21 2013, 01:18 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(junky_89 @ May 20 2013, 11:43 PM)
hi, may i know where is the best place to get affordable and reasonable furniture in singapore?

i would like to buy new bedframe and mattress for double bed one. May i know how much is the normal price which is around the market?

Thank you for your answer.
If you are looking for budget items, go to
http://www.qoo10.sg/
or
http://singapore.gumtree.sg/

and search and read what you want. I got some good bargain from here when i move in. Mind you, some does not offer delivery.
Another easier way is just go to the nearest mall and look around. seahorse mattress is cheap and good and if you are lucky they normally have promo going on.

0.0481sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:57 PM