323 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

lowpro
post Feb 15 2013, 12:25 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(rinnyrinny @ Feb 15 2013, 10:30 AM)
1 n 2 so far ok, consider solved
3. become worst, plus they made more problems, affected auto lighting fault ,  cry.gif
4. slightly better
5. slightly better, but i haven't bring my car to test drive yet, so far only till about 120km/h
Thanks for the information n advise  thumbup.gif
4 - check tyre pressure. it is 240 for the 207.

5 - check your tyre balancing. it could also be due to the car being new and the front springs have not settled down yet. this takes about 6 months.

7 - either the wiper blades need changing (i know it is a new car - go ask them to change anyway under warranty). or your wiper motor has some issues.
rinnyrinny
post Feb 15 2013, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 15 2013, 12:25 PM)
4 - check tyre pressure. it is 240 for the 207.

5 - check your tyre balancing. it could also be due to the car being new and the front springs have not settled down yet. this takes about 6 months.

7 - either the wiper blades need changing (i know it is a new car - go ask them to change anyway under warranty). or your wiper motor has some issues.
Hey lowpro glad to see u here, u r popular in peugeot thread hehe
Thanks for your advise! i will try on it,byte way, is the tyre pressure figure stated at the door gap of driving seat there?

This post has been edited by rinnyrinny: Feb 15 2013, 02:00 PM
RX_7
post Feb 15 2013, 05:18 PM

Hi cybermaster,i am driving H city.yes.i have read some forum b4 saying 408T has a newer engine compared to 308t.so far no issue oso from 408t.(touchwood)
SKYjack
post Feb 15 2013, 05:38 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 15 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi cybermaster,i am driving H city.yes.i have read some forum b4 saying 408T has a newer engine compared to 308t.so far no issue oso from 408t.(touchwood)
Good to hear other forums say the 408t engine has no problems. The difference on this engine is listed at the initial page of this thread,incase you wannna know. FYI there are 50 408t owners here. None have complained about the engine or gearbox. About a dozen of us are early birds,got our Lions soon after launch,roughly 8 - 9 months ago. Non of us have had any engine or gearbox issues.

Go for it mate,you'll love the roar of the Lion!
lowpro
post Feb 15 2013, 07:58 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(rinnyrinny @ Feb 15 2013, 01:59 PM)
Hey lowpro glad to see u here, u r popular in peugeot thread hehe
Thanks for your advise! i will try on it,byte way, is the tyre pressure figure stated at the door gap of driving seat there?
yup it is stated there. you can also check the owner's handbook. i know it is a lot of words in there but you'd be surprise what you can find in that little thick book. smile.gif have fun reading.
kob3bryant
post Feb 15 2013, 08:26 PM

276 posts

Hi all the brothers

I called in to JB lion dealer, the SA told me 408T is having huge cash discount, do you guys have any idea?

Besides, the major service cost is how much for the car?
RX_7
post Feb 15 2013, 08:52 PM

hi kob they r having discount on 308,408 and 3008.i just checked with them today the price for 408t is 121,888 after discount.the discount started today in fact,they just got the news.2013 model.

the sa told me at major service 60k is about 1k plus, check with the 408t owners.minor service is 300 to 400.u can check the first pg of this thread.
kob3bryant
post Feb 15 2013, 08:57 PM

276 posts

Thanks rx7!!!
i used to have an email address ending with rx7 as well, my dream car.

so 80k km of service cost is 2k plus. How about the turbo version?

Seriously considering this model, Mazda 3 and Ford Focus. And i have found a Mazda 3 MPS 2nd hand Year 2011 selling at RM120k also

Oh my godness, i am confused
RX_7
post Feb 15 2013, 09:06 PM

yes,i am in exactly the same situation like u.but i prefer conti car,so that's y focus is my second choice.but i think i may end up getting the 408 becos focus is too crampy as i am about 6'1 foot n i prefer the sportier interior look in 408.
kob3bryant
post Feb 15 2013, 10:32 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 15 2013, 09:06 PM)
yes,i am in exactly the same situation like u.but i prefer conti car,so that's y focus is my second choice.but i think i may end up getting the 408 becos focus is too crampy as i am about 6'1 foot n i prefer the sportier interior look in 408.
Bro, i am close to six foot as well biggrin.gif

but then, i am so inclined to the torque vector system on the focus as well as the handling. not to forget its free services and the dual clutch

to me, focus is more sporty. and the 1.6THP isn't really much impressed me if compmare to the focus 2.0 which is having a good performance as well

so puzzle continue rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

*i don't feel much for the THP toruqe, since i am driving perdana V6 twin turbo, unless it is a sport car then the story is different
JaneLevis
post Feb 16 2013, 12:29 AM

After 2 weeks of driving, still can hear weird sound (like plastic vibrating) near driver seat's window sad.gif
cybermaster98
post Feb 16 2013, 08:08 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 15 2013, 09:06 PM)
The 408 is a good car for sure. But not really sure why sales are still slow despite the pricing and specs on offer.

You also need to take into account long term maintenance. Dont judge a car based on that normal periodic maintenance which costs about 300 only. Most cars cost that much anyway. The real cost comes when u start replacing major parts through wear & tear. Most ppl dont realise that owning a conti is not just about the periodic service. Conti's maintenance costs will start to increase from Year 3 onwards. Its the same with most conti's. Uve been driving a Honda City so ull find a huge difference in overall maintenance costs over the years. But if ure prepared for it, then by all means go ahead and get a conti.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 16 2013, 08:09 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 16 2013, 08:51 AM

4,117 posts

Just done 10k km service at Chan Sow Lin/Sg Besi. Paid RM300.70 The service agent issued initially an invoice with RM126 for labour but after pointing out first 10k km comes with complementary labour charges. The SA made a few phone calls, reissue minus labour. Used petronas synthium 1000 15W50 but 4 litre, is that why it is cheaper service for NA compare to turbo that needs 5 litre?

Wanted software upgrade but were told there is none that will solve iPhone pairing issue.

The centre service standard has deteriorated due to staff shortage n one thing that irks me most is how young and ill informed the service agent is , that and the still broken coffee machine.

cybermaster98
post Feb 16 2013, 09:00 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 16 2013, 08:51 AM)
Just done 10k km service at Chan Sow Lin/Sg Besi. Paid RM300.70 The service agent issued initially an invoice with RM126 for labour but after pointing out first 10k km comes with complementary labour charges. The SA made a few phone calls, reissue minus labour. Used petronas synthium 1000 15W50 but 4 litre, is that why it is cheaper service for NA compare to turbo that needs 5 litre?
Even with Syntium 1000, your service comes up to RM300? shocking.gif

Why does Nasim use Syntium 1000? Naza Kia uses Syntium 3000 5W-40 and still overall service slightly cheaper.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 16 2013, 09:04 AM
azbro
post Feb 16 2013, 09:14 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 16 2013, 09:00 AM)
Even with Syntium 1000, your service comes up to RM300?  shocking.gif

Why does Nasim use Syntium 1000? Naza Kia uses Syntium 3000 5W-40 and still overall service slightly cheaper.
His car 408 2.0 NA, but turbo cars usually get the 3000
lowpro
post Feb 16 2013, 09:25 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 16 2013, 08:08 AM)
The 408 is a good car for sure. But not really sure why sales are still slow despite the pricing and specs on offer.

You also need to take into account long term maintenance. Dont judge a car based on that normal periodic maintenance which costs about 300 only. Most cars cost that much anyway. The real cost comes when u start replacing major parts through wear & tear. Most ppl dont realise that owning a conti is not just about the periodic service. Conti's maintenance costs will start to increase from Year 3 onwards. Its the same with most conti's. Uve been driving a Honda City so ull find a huge difference in overall maintenance costs over the years. But if ure prepared for it, then by all means go ahead and get a conti.
i guess sales is slow because potential new owners are shying away due to the scary stories told mainly by the 308T 4-speed owners. it is a fact though that the 4-speeder needs more tlc than the succeeding models but still, the market has come to accept that perception as reality. it will be very hard to change that perception already even with good pricing and specification for the 408.

imho, the only way to change that perception is for this group to stand up and say, "there are no issues with our cars". do note, whatever posted on the internet is seen worldwide. and if people worldwide can see the posts, what more malaysia? to a large extent, the public outcry by 308T 4-speed owners against the cars they bought and against the company that sells those cars has hurt the owners even more. trying to get the company's attention is one thing (there are proper ways to do it) but hurting resale values is another that they never thought would happen. it is a fact and it is happening right now. go ask any used car dealer whether they would take in a 4-speed 308T or not and at how much would they take it in. then ask about the 6-speeder.

there's an old saying "don't air one's dirty laundry in public". The same applies here where dirty laundry has been aired and the public has seen and taken note of it. hopefully if you guys have issues with your cars, you would take it up with the seller discreetly. or if you need to post it, then post it online positively. see that vw owners rarely complain about their dsg riddled issues and other matters. likewise, bmw owners. they know the strength of the internet and they also know they will want to sell their cars off one day and they would want the market to readily accept a second hand unit. do think about what is posted. it has far reaching consequences. i'm not saying don't post the negatives. just post it in a way that you would want a potential buyer of your car a few years down the road to see that post of yours.

just my early morning 2-cents worth on the 'resale' matter, and the 'why so few 408 on the road' matter. in my condo there is a jetta, a focus but no 408. sad.
cybermaster98
post Feb 16 2013, 09:47 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 16 2013, 09:25 AM)
i guess sales is slow because potential new owners are shying away due to the scary stories told mainly by the 308T 4-speed owners. it is a fact though that the 4-speeder needs more tlc than the succeeding models but still, the market has come to accept that perception as reality. it will be very hard to change that perception already even with good pricing and specification for the 408.

imho, the only way to change that perception is for this group to stand up and say, "there are no issues with our cars". do note, whatever posted on the internet is seen worldwide. and if people worldwide can see the posts, what more malaysia? to a large extent, the public outcry by 308T 4-speed owners against the cars they bought and against the company that sells those cars has hurt the owners even more. trying to get the company's attention is one thing (there are proper ways to do it) but hurting resale values is another that they never thought would happen. it is a fact and it is happening right now. go ask any used car dealer whether they would take in a 4-speed 308T or not and at how much would they take it in. then ask about the 6-speeder.

there's an old saying "don't air one's dirty laundry in public". The same applies here where dirty laundry has been aired and the public has seen and taken note of it. hopefully if you guys have issues with your cars, you would take it up with the seller discreetly. or if you need to post it, then post it online positively. see that vw owners rarely complain about their dsg riddled issues and other matters. likewise, bmw owners. they know the strength of the internet and they also know they will want to sell their cars off one day and they would want the market to readily accept a second hand unit. do think about what is posted. it has far reaching consequences. i'm not saying don't post the negatives. just post it in a way that you would want a potential buyer of your car a few years down the road to see that post of yours.

just my early morning 2-cents worth on the 'resale' matter, and the 'why so few 408 on the road' matter. in my condo there is a jetta, a focus but no 408. sad.
Yes i agree 100%. I told my K5 group the same thing. Some of them were very vocal about problems in the beginning although these problems were very minor e.g rattles, etc. I also told them that although the problems are very small, but it gives off the wrong vibes and for cars that dont enjoy the kind of brand loyalty like Toyota has, it can be extremely detrimental in the long run.

The problem that plagues most ppl is that they come online to complain but rarely come back to clarify remedial measures or positive experiences. Even in this thread you can see how many of the current owners are active compared to the days before they got their cars. They may only come back to complain but how many actually speak positively about their experiences? I see the same few names appearing. Even when they do speak positively, their comments are usually not valid comparisons e.g 'my 408 could go faster than a Passat 1.8TSI at the traffic light'. How do you expect ppl to have any faith in your positive experiences if you come up with statements like this.

Anyway, we all want the same thing which is too see more non Jap cars on the roads especially the likes of the Koreans and conti's. Its time to end the dominance of the Japanese especially Toyota and put more affordable, better spec'd and safer cars on the road.
cybermaster98
post Feb 16 2013, 09:52 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 16 2013, 09:14 AM)
His car 408 2.0 NA, but turbo cars usually get the 3000
Im wondering if that decision was purely a technical one or just an eyewash to bring down periodic servicing costs to show that Peugeot maintenance is low. If it was the former, then it would be fine but i would think that a Syn 3000 would be more appropriate for cars especially conti's regardless of the engine. If the K5 can use Syn 3000, i dont see why the 408 NA cant. It surely has more benefits than the 1000 series and a thinner lubricant would be beneficial in the long run. 5W-40 is just nice. 0W might be unsuitable for our climate.

Either way, given a choice i would dump the Syntium for a better brand anytime. Syntium just makes the engine louder and less refined.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 16 2013, 09:53 AM
zweimmk
post Feb 16 2013, 10:14 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 16 2013, 08:51 AM)

Wanted software upgrade but were told there is none that will solve iPhone pairing issue.

The centre service standard has deteriorated due to staff shortage n one thing that irks me most is how young and ill informed the service agent is , that and the still broken coffee machine.
Welcome back, good LNY holiday I hope brows.gif

That's good information shared here thumbup.gif

Service price would look reasonable if RM300.70 included labor, it looks like you'd be paying RM 426.70 in the 20,000km interval which is kind of expensive considering it's an NA.
zweimmk
post Feb 16 2013, 10:17 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 16 2013, 08:08 AM)

Don't they have 5 years warranty? I don't think it would really matter until after year 5, which is the same for KIA and VW and any other marque that offers 5 years warranty.

323 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:00 PM