Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

azbro
post Feb 10 2013, 10:27 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(zumaidi @ Feb 9 2013, 11:26 AM)
The ash tray can hold my Samsung Note nicely. No need to buy in car phone holder.
Take care when opening the ashtray, mine the cover clips broke oledi...need to use super glue

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 10 2013, 09:45 AM)
Hi bro and happy CNY. Running this car on RON97 is a waste of money. The engine is tuned to run on RON87. So RON 95 is more than sufficient. Since your car is new, your present FC is normal. After the 10K service it will be better. Ofcourse good FC finally depends on your driving style! I'm slightly heavy footed and I now get 9.3L/100km city driving.
Actually RON97 does give a smoother ride and idle....but the co$t blink.gif

Anyway, I tried filling up with BHP 95....I'm loving it...seems like the best so far for me.

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 10 2013, 10:30 AM
azbro
post Feb 10 2013, 10:34 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ryujinx @ Feb 8 2013, 07:01 PM)
More pictures with Bodykit are up at Peugeot 408 Malaysia Facebook
Seems like FB Peugeot 408 Malaysia has grown.....kudos

How come got 2 types of spoilers? The normal one and the Euro ones?
azbro
post Feb 11 2013, 10:54 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(jetmanxx @ Feb 11 2013, 10:32 AM)
Quick question: is the 408 1.6 turbo engine the same as 308 turbo engine?
Purist might not agree...hehe..

But for ppl who just wanna drive and enjoy...It dun matter
azbro
post Feb 14 2013, 12:56 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Feb 14 2013, 12:30 PM)
207 got what problems? Mind sharing ?
I also wonder what big problem with the 207......they dun call the 207 "camel" for nothing...its tahan lasak car
azbro
post Feb 14 2013, 08:05 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(rinnyrinny @ Feb 14 2013, 03:35 PM)
now my 207 is having the auto lighting problem, the auto system is not function. on the inform screen showing "auto lighting fault"
but before i send it back for the 1st service (2.5k service) my car auto system was ok, auto lighting function well. only the auto wiping some minor problem, after they tried to fix it but they didn't then the auto lighting can't function anymore.

My dad also using 207, so far no complains other than the super slow radio player...but my dad never use all those Auto gimmick...
azbro
post Feb 16 2013, 09:14 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 16 2013, 09:00 AM)
Even with Syntium 1000, your service comes up to RM300?  shocking.gif

Why does Nasim use Syntium 1000? Naza Kia uses Syntium 3000 5W-40 and still overall service slightly cheaper.
His car 408 2.0 NA, but turbo cars usually get the 3000
azbro
post Feb 16 2013, 10:17 AM

4,403 posts

I'm not sure for 408T, but for direct injection engine, be sure to decarbo the valves every 40K KM. I'm talking abt real decarbo, not those seafoam, threebond stuff. They work, but not satisfactory.
Worst is "Pour in fuel tank" stuff also will not decarbo the valves because of Direct Injection system. Just youtube to know more about DI engine

Before

After almost like new

For the bottom picture (in the spoiler)
The picture on the left is an engine previously vigorously treated with 4 bottles of Seafoam, 3 bottles of Threebond and previously admitted to SC(mileage 48.4k) to decarbo with 2 bottles of Peugeot Valve cleaner....Picture shown carbon build up after all the chemical cleaning which does not help at all.
Picture on the right is after decarbo without top overhaul and dismantle the engine. Should take about 4-5 hours.

pictures are from Peugeot 308 Club of Malaysia

But since all 408T are still new, later stage when you want a decarbo can join FB Peugeot 308 Club of Malaysia and get in touch with Pugs Tkl

Just sharing information icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 17 2013, 07:27 AM
azbro
post Feb 16 2013, 10:37 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Feb 16 2013, 10:24 AM)
Good info. How much does it cost to properly decarbonize an engine?
Depends on the mileage, I cannot say the price because I'm not related to him

Can join FaceBook Peugeot 308 Club of Malaysia to know more....the price and other discussion about it is openly displayed there..

or just search for "Pugs Tkl" in facebook.

Cheers
azbro
post Feb 16 2013, 11:09 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Feb 16 2013, 10:40 AM)
If you dismantle the engine to do the decarbo, will it void the warranty?
I'm not sure of the finer details of his decarbo procedures....you can check it out with him , search for "Pugs Tkl" in facebook.

But one thing I know is there wont be any top overhaul involved.
azbro
post Feb 17 2013, 09:24 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 17 2013, 01:45 PM)
If you exceed 6 months just because you've not done 10K,you've blown your warranty bye-bye!
My dad rarely drives his 207...yet he follow the schedule on month basis (not mileage) not to blow his 5year warranty

0.0230sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:44 AM