Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

zweimmk
post Jan 26 2013, 11:07 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 26 2013, 10:19 AM)
thanks bro kenso for creating the service price list.

http://www.kensomuse.com/wp-content/upload...servicing-1.pdf
Actually it's fairly expensive if you compare it to a Japanese C-segment equivalent. It's about 25% to 30% more expensive than compared to a Corolla Altis for example, even if compared to the new Civic, under the worse case scenario, the cost of servicing is still at least nearly 15% more expensive. Granted, the pricing looks like it's for the turbo variant, so its understandable if it cost more to maintain but does the NA version share the same maintenance pricing? If so, then it's quite an expensive car to own.
zweimmk
post Jan 26 2013, 01:33 PM

512 posts

I actually have full service records and pricing of

Corolla Altis 2008 ~ 2012
Camry 2007 ~ 2011

I also own the latest Honda Civic 1.8s as well and have access to pricing of the 2.0s versons as well as the Civic Hybrid.

I'm very interested to know how much the Peugeot 408 cost to service in comparison to the Japanese makes. I'm also doing the same to various VW models as well to serve as a check.

If Kenso's guide is accurate, then 20% ~ 30% price difference is actually quite a big gap if the pricing also applies to the NA variants.

10k service for the latest Civic 1.8s or 2.0s cost only RM250. 10k for the Peugeot ??? cost RM316.30 - that's at least 20% difference in price.

zweimmk
post Jan 26 2013, 04:04 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(zumaidi @ Jan 26 2013, 03:31 PM)
2.0 10k service at CSL Sg Besi.
RM307.70 including free wash. Labour is FOC.
-Syntium 1000 API SM SAE 15W/50 (4X4LTR) RM196
-Syntium 1000 API SM SAE 15W/50 (16X1LTR) RM54.50
-Oil filter RM44.30
-Seal RM5.90

Check and refit battery is FOC. But normally chargeable at RM180.
Ok that sounds a bit more reasonable for 2.0NA but still a little on the high side as far as pricing is concerned.

Good info, thanks for sharing.
zweimmk
post Jan 26 2013, 06:41 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(sctang408T @ Jan 26 2013, 05:28 PM)
My Honda City 5000 service cheapest at 250 - 300. So 10k service for Peugeot is not expensive at all.
My wife used to own a 2007 City iDSI and that pricing doesn't sound reasonable to me at all unless you are using fully synthetic oil at every 5k interval. But I agree, the 408 10k service interval is cheaper because Honda cars use 5k service intervals (except latest Civic) and when you add the numbers up, it's actually more expensive.
zweimmk
post Jan 29 2013, 02:50 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 29 2013, 09:42 AM)
if i remember correctly, someone actually created a table of 100000kms servicing pricing on the net for Malaysia.

Peugeot, VW and other continental brands are actually on par.

"Expensive" can be very subjective when we're driving a 100 sensor cars compared to a basic fuel injection japanese car.

If we're comparing Pug with Lexus, then you'll see how "cheap" the cost will be for an apple to apple comparison in term of engine complexity.
I wouldn't go so far as to call Japanese cars as being basic. The turbo variant is surely more sophisticated because it employs a GDI turbocharged engine but the naturally aspirated version is actually using an engine (EW10A+) that is as old as the 1ZZ-FE Corolla Altis engine (both were introduced way back in 1998). Basically engines of that era were pretty much DOHC multi-valve and multi-injection. So, if NA version is using older engine technology with a tried and tested 4 speed AT as well, then the cost of servicing should not be that much more compared to a Japanese equivalent.

Just some thoughts on the matter.
zweimmk
post Jan 29 2013, 06:33 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 29 2013, 04:21 PM)
i was told the major service cost for a japanese class c is now touching 2k+

all hearsay, i may be wrong.

but i do agree SCs are overcharging no matter which brand in Malaysia.

Full-sync are costing them RM140ish but we need to pay full RRP
You're definitely getting a lot of wrong info.

Latest Civic Hybrid 0w20 price charged by Honda is RM150.50

Even when I had my Corolla Altis, the charges were never more than RM170 for fully synthetic oil.

Full service will not hit more than RM1.5k either, not to say it isn't possible but it's not likely, not unless you have some very major work done or unless you push 2 or 3 services into 1.

That's why if the price gap is more than 20% between Japanese C-segment marques and for the NA version, then it's considered quite costly to maintain. It's more logical if between the turbo version vs any non turbocharged Japanese NA cars.

zweimmk
post Jan 29 2013, 08:06 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jan 29 2013, 07:28 PM)
Hi zweimmk,

No offense but it will be better if you could state or show some prove of the charges mentioned by you. For fully synthetic oil, price differs by brand and when was it changed? Price has gone up a lot nowadays. And by mentioned fully synthetic oil, the type of oil and the grade makes a big price difference too even it is categorized as fully synthetic.

Just mentioned a price rm170 is not enough. Make a full list of price charged for 5 years or 100k km will be more convincing.. And, may I know the civic hybrid is 10k per service or 5k? With this, we all will know how much it cost to maintain Japanese famous car such as civic, Korean forte, vw Jetta, Peugeot 408. For me, it's better to compare cars within same class, engine type(turbo or n/a).

from what I see here, it is still hearsay with some giving his/her inputs based on limited knowledge and din make the effort to back up his/her claims.

Regards
If I don't have proof of prices, you think I would simply post or not? As I have already said, I previously owned a corolla Altis 2008 and have all service receipts until July if last year. I now own a 1.8s civic as well together with my vw and have seen the sales invoice of other civic 2.0s to know what the current prices are. Why do you think I say that the 408NA service price is actually fairly expensive compared to a Japanese marque of similar NA engine capacity?

Edit: civic hybrid is also on 10k service interval but that car seem to cost substantially a bit more to service compared to the regular Civic.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Jan 29 2013, 08:46 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 30 2013, 10:26 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 30 2013, 10:19 AM)
i found this

http://www.hzncars.com.my/Civic/Maintenance.html

maybe outdated

but looking at 5k service internal (5k + 10k) it will cost more than pug! sad.gif
It is valid for the pre-FB model, but this does not apply to the new FB Civic Model. It is also likely that the new Accord which will launch later this year will also go on the new 10k service interval.
Toyota has been on 10k for sometime, 5k is also available but why service the car more times than necessary?

http://www.honda.com.my/model/maintanence/civic/547/

But no disputes on the PUG408 NA being cheaper to service compared to older Civics and even newer Honda City models.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Jan 30 2013, 10:55 AM
zweimmk
post Feb 2 2013, 09:40 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(matsukatsu @ Feb 2 2013, 08:56 AM)
Does this even take into consideration of 5liters engine oil for Pugs ? Japs <= 2.0cc only 4liters max right?
Okay, good spot. It's one more litre of engine oil required. 5L vs 4L

1L extra will cost you anything between RM50 ~ RM70 more.

Seeing the bill cost around RM307 ~ RM340, the servicing cost for the NA version is reasonable .

Something interesting about the EW10 engine I dugged up

http://www.peugeot-citroen-moteurs.fr/cach..._data_sheet.pdf

It has VVL and VVT on the intake.
zweimmk
post Feb 6 2013, 04:13 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2013, 12:40 PM)
But i wonder why till today i dont see many 408's on the road. I see much more Forte, Elantra, Civic and Camry. The new Ford Focus is worse. So far i think ive only see about 5 since the launch. But im seeing more and more K5 on the road. But the biggest increase i think is VW. Quite a number of Polo and Golf on the roads now especially after the last promo.

Btw, i drive around KL and Ipoh quite alot covering about 3500km a month.
It's all about the numbers. Despite the good prices, Malaysians are still not as receptive as I thought they should be towards the French. But there's also Naza as part of the brands and that carries both KIA and Peugeot cars, so it's kind of confusing here.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/2012-ma...rand-positions/

zweimmk
post Feb 7 2013, 03:06 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 7 2013, 02:34 PM)
Car manufacturers make money through sales. The higher the sales, the higher the profits. Simple theory no matter how you define it. Peugeot isnt Ferrari or Porsche where sale figures arent expected to be high. Nobody expected the 408 to match the Japs e.g Civic, Altis, etc but at least i would have expected them to do better than the Koreans at least.  Although i dont know official figures but considering the amount of driving im doing per month, ive seen more Elantra's on the road compared to the 408. Even the old Forte seems to be outselling the other non Jap/ Proton makes by a wide margin i think. The 408T is a good car with decent specs and powerful engine yet it isnt selling all that well. Not really sure what that guy meant by 'quality of the French cars' as Peugeot surely isnt known for its quality the same as the Koreans.

Nasim should relook their strategy. Maybe throw in more promos, more road shows, offer better discounts, do more adverts, etc to boost their brand image. Peugeot is similar to Kia when it comes to brand image. Both brands suffered because of poor offerings in the past but compared to Kia, Peugeot doesnt seem to be doing much to improve their brand image.

Personally i would like to see more Peugeot's on the road due to my family's history with the brand. The 508 is a welcome sight compared to the waves of Camry's. But i dont see how Peugeot is gonna fare this year with the 2014 Honda Accord and Toyota Altis due for launch later this year. Not to mention the new Kia Forte K3.

All in all, i think 2013 is gonna be an exciting year for the automotive industry in Malaysia.  biggrin.gif
When I saw that quoted comment, the first thing that went through my mind was that this really sounded like something you tell others to make yourself feel better. I'm sure Peugeot themselves would appreciate more sales given the kind of situation they are in and that they are also a mainstream car manufacturer. Nevertheless, it did provide me with a good laugh.

The more important thing for them is to improve the after sales service and increase the number of dealership and service centers around the country. That could be difficult seeing as they now also have to develop Citroen. We can only wait and see what happens.
zweimmk
post Feb 7 2013, 03:53 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Feb 7 2013, 03:39 PM)
i salute you energyanalyst. smile.gif this is by far the best one....
I agree, its a good one. To go to such lengths and effort just to try to make a point... I'm definitely amazed, lol.
zweimmk
post Feb 7 2013, 04:02 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 7 2013, 03:51 PM)
i love my 408

it has the best seat compared to jetta, forte, focus, civic, altis, elantra

and yes, i've tested all of them.
The thing that impresses me most about this car is actually the rear seats room. It's as big as many D-segment cars out there maybe except against the Sylphy. Perhaps only the Sylphy is as big or more comfortable than the P408.
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 11:41 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 8 2013, 10:31 AM)
fengsui master? Oh tidak sama sekali,  sleep.gif 
my kungfu so far is only with playing with words, actually still practising before can become master
bruce.gif
Keep practicing okay? You'll definitely get there one day thumbup.gif

Oh yeah, Happy Lunar New Year btw. Got a fat bonus I hope? brows.gif It's a new year soon and once we're all back from the holidays, I'd actually see you share some of your drive experience, driving and care tips about your P408NA yeah? Don't think I've seen any of those sort of information from you so do share yeah? nod.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 03:45 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 8 2013, 01:36 PM)
Happy Lunar New year to you too...

Fat Bonus? Adalah sikit sikit, 5 figures, so am not complaining. One needs to count his /her blessings nowadays these days.

Practise some more, sure, but need your help though, pratise needs dummies like the Shaolin Wooden Men and if you can provide, sure I will practise until achieve mastery.

Note: I am not implying dummies as in referring to one's IQ, but dummies as in Crash test dummies, hope you get the picture...

My experience with 408 NA? Well I have to humbly admit I've just owned the car since late Sept/early Oct 2012, so to me, it is too soon (afterall it has just been a couple of months, and i am not even reaching 10,000 km mileage yet) to boastfully say I know it all Mister unlike some cocky fellows who don't even own the car and claim as if they know it better) but so far so good, it meets all my expectations and pleasantly surprises me in some area.

Why do you want to know from me alone? I am no different from other owners and you can read what they have written here especially all my taikos and taije who owns it since May 2012 or not so later.

But i am curious why? want to ditch the Passat and get a 408 and join us?  mega_shok.gif
Good good, having a fat bonus will ultimately work towards your goal of owning a bigger and better car or house whichever you prefer rclxms.gif

But surely you jest, would you consider going back to driving a Proton from your current P408NA? I would consider it a personal tragedy if I had to move from a bigger Passat to a smaller P207 for example. No my friend, my advise to you is always look up and strive towards a bigger goal, there's no point looking down... not unless you're on top of a beautiful chick nod.gif

I'm always curious what owners think about the cars they own and what car they were previously moving up from. I doubt there would be any single one owner that would have the same kind of experience would there? Just like I'm curious to know what sort of FC you are averaging. I do actually have a spreadsheet which I'm compiling that compares various C/D segment makes in terms of FC, maintenance cost and other issues. I'm been fortunate enough to have access to the pre-facelift Corolla Altis, previous gen Camry, the new Ford Focus, and also the New Honda Civic, so it's definitely good info which I can share later once I have enough information to upload freely for everyone to view. So what kind of FC are you averaging right now?

Btw, can't help you with the crash test dummies there. Perhaps you can go ebay and search for the toys or head to Miros and see if they give you access laugh.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 03:47 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 8 2013, 03:37 PM)
then he can really compare, good idea!
Definitely, if another family member or relative does indeed buy a P408. Then, I would have very good comparison data. Convincing them could be difficult though hmm.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 05:16 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 8 2013, 04:00 PM)
Is FC your question? well , if you have read it all up here in this thread (which you should) FC will improve after 10,000 km service according to my fellow owners here, i have not done my 10,000 km service so i will tell you once i have crossed that line, hence you need to patiently wait. Currently my FC is ok but not great but i expect that to happen simply becoz i opted for 2.0NA engine , surely it cannot match Prince 1.6 Turbo or Passat TSI engine lah.

There is really no competition here simply becoz you cannot compare an apple with an orange. Also, unlike you, I am not obsessed with FC. Call it personal choice call it whatever you want but I don't do what you do, i don't like what you like, but as far as what is common among owners here, we own a pug 408, and that is the link, so my facts is just as subjective as any, because I thought FC is a function to the driver individual habits, whether like to speed a lot or are as gentle as you should treat a lady, No?

Aiyo no free lunch lah bro if you don't help me with providing the dummies, then why should i help you with your FC research? issh!
Aiseh, it's not like anyone here is asking you to share your wife or "wife" brows.gif By sharing your info and findings about your car, you can help your community grow rclxm9.gif

I'm definitely interested to know your personal drive experience, service cost etc. I've personally tested the 408T a few times, and I found it a little too firm. Never had the chance to try the NA version. Btw, you're right - The NA engine won't compare to the prince or TSI engine, but it is certainly good enough to compare against the current crop of Toyota dual vvti engine, Honda R series engine and the current Ford Focus Duratec engine. While FC is usually determined by your right foot, good engine design also plays a part in keeping fuel cost down. I'm surely interested to know how well the award winning EW10A+ engine compares with other NA contemporaries.

Remember, by helping me also means you're also helping potential buyers learn more about your PUG. A lively and helpful community is definitely more preferable to a dead one isn't it? Not to mention it helps Nasim Peugeot pick up more sales here in Malaysia laugh.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 05:25 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 8 2013, 05:18 PM)
our 408 is as huge or bigger than a 407

407 LHW = 4676mm x 1445mm x 1811mm
408 LHW = 4680mm x 1525mm x 1815mm

i did a comparison before i ordered

so anything lower than 10L/100kms is considered very good

if you're expecting FC of a vios or city, this car is definitely not for you.
Actually dimension on paper is quite misleading. I never take those numbers at face value, but it does offer a good set of parameters for comparison. In contrast, the new Camry isn't very big dimension wise on paper compared to some other cars in the same segment, but yet it has one of the most cavernous cabin you can find in a non-premium market mid size sedan.

But I agree, I've been in the 408 before, and the rear seats are quite spacious.

Btw, I'm expecting the P408NA to have an FC that matches the current crop of Civic/Altis/Focus. It does have an award winning EW10A+ engine after all.
zweimmk
post Feb 8 2013, 06:16 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 8 2013, 06:01 PM)
agree  cool2.gif

fiesta has similar dimensions to the honda city and interior is so cramp and i hit my leg when i was checking it out at the showroom.

the older EW10 engines are very efficient. my colleague has a ulysse running at 8L/100kms for highways and 10-11L/100kms for town.

EW10A+ comes with VVT, it will be on par or even better i believe  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes, this is an engine that is actually on par and better than the current gen 2ZR-FE Toyota Engine in terms of the kind of technology it offers. So it will be a good comparison between the 2.

Valvematic, variable valve timing, variable valve lift are just part and parcel of what the EW10A+ has. There's even a gasoline direct injection version of the EW10A+ engine which unfortunately has been phased out due to poor car sales.
zweimmk
post Feb 11 2013, 10:18 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(sctang408T @ Feb 11 2013, 03:09 AM)
Today drive back to Kuantan with the new lion. The lion really roaring on the road. Easily touch the pedal and reach 170 and still smooth. At karak is very bouncy but after karak toll (after take the ticket), no more bouncy. Is due to road.

When I coming from behind, all the BMW, Mitsubishi have to give way, how nice the feel. Those day when I drove city, I have to give way. When after gambang toll and on the road lead to Kuantan, the power of overtaking zig zag is so nice feeling.

That is what I said no need to push your car to 225 to test the power. Just like when go up Genting and easily overtaking instead of everytime no power and have to goto side to give way to behind cars.
lol, I see any car coming fast behind me I also would give way. What more you're travelling at 170km/hr. Nobody likes being signaled or high-lighted. Suggest you take things a little easier when you come back, safer for you and safer for other motorist thumbup.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0627sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:00 AM