Im going to married soon,
but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k,
im planning on doing 5k...
any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this?
Serious How much dowries you would give, share your expirience
Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
377 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Im going to married soon,
but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k, im planning on doing 5k... any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this? |
Jan 16 2013, 09:58 PM
2,003 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
ini topic best.
Jan 16 2013, 10:05 PM
672 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM) well... my experience is that dowry is something the bride-to-be pays to the groom-to-be's family.You mean bride price ka? If you're a cainis, any repetition/combination/permutation of 8's and 9's and 3's is good. |
Jan 16 2013, 10:12 PM
592 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
is that the best you can do without holding anything back?
Jan 16 2013, 10:14 PM
244 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: KL, Malaysia |
8-10k is the norm in kl according to what I have heard, but it is certainly open to discussion.
Jan 16 2013, 10:45 PM
78 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
I won't pay a cent.
Jan 16 2013, 10:50 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
Jan 16 2013, 10:53 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Fight Club |
Anything above 3k(the price of an average divorce lawyer) is overprice.
Jan 17 2013, 10:02 AM
142 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM) Im going to married soon, my in-laws didn't take any dowry from me. instead, they gave us RM10K to startup as they think that they're not "selling" their daughter.but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k, im planning on doing 5k... any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this? their only request was to still allow their daughter to come home to visit them, have a balance family life for both sides of the family (be in-laws and not out-laws) and put God as the center of the new family. This post has been edited by WWJD: Jan 17 2013, 10:03 AM |
Jan 17 2013, 10:08 AM
Jan 17 2013, 10:44 AM
801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom |
5k, bcoz i already given more than 50k over 5 years.
Jan 17 2013, 10:52 AM
1,441 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: I Do Not Know |
I have to pay for wedding.
I have to pay for honey moon. I have to pay for all the god damn stupid dinners. I still need to give my bride's family 10k ? What the f*** for ? ~_~ |
Jan 17 2013, 11:10 AM
Jan 17 2013, 12:09 PM
4,202 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: THE ONE AND ONLY CHOO CHOO TRAIN KINGDOM |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM) Im going to married soon, well you try and discuss with your would be waifu to see if can negotiate down a bit or not. but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k, im planning on doing 5k... any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this? for your case try nego 8,888 or 7,888 or 6,888 maybe? i got married recently. 12 january 2013. traditional cainis morning ceremony and dinner. the "dowry" or "bride monies" that i gave was rm6,888 many years ago when my waifu 's 3rd elder sis got married, the sum paid was like rm6,800 also. i not much complaints there since the inflation not much. thank goodness no ask for rm10k +++ me waifu got explain to her mum that i not earning much also. This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jan 17 2013, 12:11 PM |
Jan 17 2013, 12:23 PM
Jan 17 2013, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(ymc2303 @ Jan 17 2013, 12:23 PM) she told me she need to give her mom also, which means the another 5k she give her mom from her own pocket,but if she did that, which means all of her saving gave her mom and empty herself... other those wedding dinner , make up , bro and sister money including the red packet everything by me... really hate this tradition man... |
Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jan 17 2013, 01:09 PM) well you try and discuss with your would be waifu to see if can negotiate down a bit or not. Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme. for your case try nego 8,888 or 7,888 or 6,888 maybe? i got married recently. 12 january 2013. traditional cainis morning ceremony and dinner. the "dowry" or "bride monies" that i gave was rm6,888 many years ago when my waifu 's 3rd elder sis got married, the sum paid was like rm6,800 also. i not much complaints there since the inflation not much. thank goodness no ask for rm10k +++ me waifu got explain to her mum that i not earning much also. If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony. No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet. |
Jan 17 2013, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM) Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme. bro,If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony. No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet. i have a same thinking with u , but when u really facing this, its totally a different case, you cant control due to 2 family come together... |
Jan 17 2013, 01:29 PM
2,465 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(omnimech @ Jan 17 2013, 10:52 AM) I have to pay for wedding. the wonders of being the son.. you got the name but in return you gotta burn some holes in your wallet.I have to pay for honey moon. I have to pay for all the god damn stupid dinners. I still need to give my bride's family 10k ? What the f*** for ? ~_~ |
Jan 17 2013, 01:33 PM
93 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
The rates now for a regular demanding chinese family is 20k..
Jan 17 2013, 01:43 PM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM) Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme. Easier said than done, dude.. If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony. No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet. |
Jan 17 2013, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM) Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme. For those that want to get married.If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony. No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet. Remember to transfer all your money and property and business to your family before marriage. So when the sucker punch came from cupcake when divorce call coming, she'll be in for a real surprise. |
Jan 17 2013, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 02:20 PM) bro, Before I get married, i'll tell the in-laws that I plan to migrate overseas...need the money for migration.i have a same thinking with u , but when u really facing this, its totally a different case, you cant control due to 2 family come together... They will understand. My cousin did this before he migrated to UK. |
Jan 17 2013, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 17 2013, 03:00 PM) For those that want to get married. Thats what my friend's dad did before he got married. He transferred the family home title 50/50 between him and the sister. Remember to transfer all your money and property and business to your family before marriage. So when the sucker punch came from cupcake when divorce call coming, she'll be in for a real surprise. 25 years later, the marriage gave birth to 2 sons (my friend and his brother), the father suddenly suffer from old age dementia. Now the mother needs money to pay for the 2 son wedding, wants to sell the house. But the sister in law is refusing to sell the house. |
Jan 17 2013, 02:09 PM
Jan 17 2013, 02:10 PM
1,793 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
My dowry is RM 9999
Jan 17 2013, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 02:08 PM) Thats what my friend's dad did before he got married. He transferred the family home title 50/50 between him and the sister. His mistake is to transfer it to another female, LOLOLOLOL.25 years later, the marriage gave birth to 2 sons (my friend and his brother), the father suddenly suffer from old age dementia. Now the mother needs money to pay for the 2 son wedding, wants to sell the house. But the sister in law is refusing to sell the house. Apart from that, WTF kind of wedding that needs to cost of selling 1 house? |
Jan 17 2013, 02:15 PM
9 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
im getting married end of this year too! My mom didn't ask for a cent but fiance is also having a dilemma as tradition to give dowry is a must. >.< I had some friends dowry from 20k-100k (what I heard). True or not, i dun know le.
Jan 17 2013, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:10 PM) she told me she need to give her mom also, which means the another 5k she give her mom from her own pocket, its really making this wedding looked that her mom is selling her off at 5k..but if she did that, which means all of her saving gave her mom and empty herself... other those wedding dinner , make up , bro and sister money including the red packet everything by me... really hate this tradition man... if you really hate this kind of set up, why not make effort to discuss this over and over until you get a comfortable compromise where you will no end up being in debts due to this wedding? |
Jan 17 2013, 03:07 PM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
want wedding then don't stingy ady, be a real man please, its a must of giving the dowries above 10k.
Jan 17 2013, 03:10 PM
I dunno about you people but during my sister wedding, my mum buy gold bracelet, necklace and ring for my sister and sister in law from the dowry given. My mum even bake cakes to be given to everyone that attend the wedding and etc etc. KL people take dowry masuk pocket end of story kah?
Jan 17 2013, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 17 2013, 03:14 PM) His mistake is to transfer it to another female, LOLOLOLOL. His dad got no other sibling but his sister.Apart from that, WTF kind of wedding that needs to cost of selling 1 house? No lar..because his dad don't trust his newlywed wife, he scared that she would leave him so he decided to transfer half his house to his sister's name. |
Jan 17 2013, 03:15 PM
166 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Aunty .. you jual anak ke ? 10K ?
Jan 17 2013, 04:11 PM
Jan 17 2013, 04:28 PM
216 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
so, prepare 30k for wedding...
8,888 for dowries 999 for open room door 100 for open car door 10,000 (min) for dinner 5,000 for photo 3,00 ~ 4,000 for ring |
Jan 17 2013, 04:33 PM
1,895 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Keep Walking ... Tomorrowland |
easy wedding dinner give them 10 tables ...
Jan 17 2013, 04:41 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,256 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pekopon |
Jan 17 2013, 04:42 PM
734 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
Jan 17 2013, 04:47 PM
69 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Mine 2k saja, my mom understands the amount that went through all the dinner and preparations and also the amount we need for future things so she didn't mind any amount.
Jan 17 2013, 05:01 PM
492 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
TS, is your wife/gf problem for not helping you to negotiate with her mum.
Usually a mother will be understanding if the daughter have a real talk with her regarding your financial ability. ... problem is.. your gf did talk or not? She even thinking to help you pay out instead of negotiating.. that is "stupid". Last time, I told my mum that my hubby only manage to save $5K and we will give all to her as dowry. For the wedding expenses, he will have to borrow from his father. Indirectly telling my mum that my hubby got no more extra $ to give. My mum understood and due to that, she even help me prepare all the angpao for open door, children, etc. And my parents pay for the girl side wedding dinner themselves. And the cost of the jewelry my mum given me and my hubby (a ring for the son-in-law) total already cost RM4K++. But the one of the condition my mum mention is.. the RM5K must be totally his $. I should not sponsor any. If calculate.. my mum given it back to us in other form. TS, discuss with your gf and do a proper talk to your future MIL. I believe normal mother is not $ sucker. But of coz, if she really is $ sucker.. then forget it. Fyi, my wedding was 7yrs ago.. RM5K. My younger sister wedding 5yrs ago.. RM8K. Unless the girl parents never request in the first place. They requested RM10K actually is quite normal price. Thats your choice, chosen chinese girl. Is the custom to pay.. unless they dun 1. |
Jan 17 2013, 05:08 PM
162 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Puchong |
lucky i married a filipina, 0 dowry required
Jan 17 2013, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM) Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme. If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony. No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet. QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:20 PM) bro, well, if 2 families can agree to simple wedding, then okay. i have a same thinking with u , but when u really facing this, its totally a different case, you cant control due to 2 family come together... if one family insist simple, another family insist traditional, then will haz problems. |
Jan 17 2013, 05:28 PM
41 posts Joined: May 2008 |
My mum will scream my future husband's head off if he ask how much dowry she needs.
She hated the fact that I'm going to marry soon. Asking about dowry price makes her feel like she is selling me off. |
Jan 17 2013, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 17 2013, 05:01 PM) TS, is your wife/gf problem for not helping you to negotiate with her mum. At 1st my dad ask how much my future MIL want, then MIL said " we make decision " (so call cincai )Usually a mother will be understanding if the daughter have a real talk with her regarding your financial ability. ... problem is.. your gf did talk or not? She even thinking to help you pay out instead of negotiating.. that is "stupid". Last time, I told my mum that my hubby only manage to save $5K and we will give all to her as dowry. For the wedding expenses, he will have to borrow from his father. Indirectly telling my mum that my hubby got no more extra $ to give. My mum understood and due to that, she even help me prepare all the angpao for open door, children, etc. And my parents pay for the girl side wedding dinner themselves. And the cost of the jewelry my mum given me and my hubby (a ring for the son-in-law) total already cost RM4K++. But the one of the condition my mum mention is.. the RM5K must be totally his $. I should not sponsor any. If calculate.. my mum given it back to us in other form. TS, discuss with your gf and do a proper talk to your future MIL. I believe normal mother is not $ sucker. But of coz, if she really is $ sucker.. then forget it. Fyi, my wedding was 7yrs ago.. RM5K. My younger sister wedding 5yrs ago.. RM8K. Unless the girl parents never request in the first place. They requested RM10K actually is quite normal price. Thats your choice, chosen chinese girl. Is the custom to pay.. unless they dun 1. so my dad said 5k, and my GF said add 1k more to let her mom buy stuff and my dad agree... the day after, my gf told me her mom want 10k... and i shocked ! 1st day said cincai, now want 10k, i called MIL asked can deduct abit? she told me some one (neighbor or ppl she know) married get 10k... and i said, ppl son might be CEO , im only an Executive level... cannot compare... and she giggle and said im so young... ( FYI im 25, her daughter 27 ) and i said young doesnt meant cannot do anything.. she said every thing price rise... end up she said we talk about it after she discuss with her husband... so we end the call... and my gf told me recently due to her brother need money for the school tuition fees, and im more angry, where can mix 2 things together... trying to take this chance to cut throat? end up my gf said " nvm then , u paid 5k, i will pay the rest...( from her own saving ) " suddenly i feel like i dont understand my gf anymore... is she the one that i knew from the day start? we been together for 3years, being honest with her in everything.... fyi, i have 30k saving she have 14k saving any suggestion how? i dont want end up we married in future i ban her family from my list... |
Jan 17 2013, 06:44 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 06:39 PM) At 1st my dad ask how much my future MIL want, then MIL said " we make decision " (so call cincai ) Try to negotiate for installment plan with 0% Interest, and brainwash them more on the benefit/happyness of having a grandchildren as compared to monetary compensation.so my dad said 5k, and my GF said add 1k more to let her mom buy stuff and my dad agree... the day after, my gf told me her mom want 10k... and i shocked ! 1st day said cincai, now want 10k, i called MIL asked can deduct abit? she told me some one (neighbor or ppl she know) married get 10k... and i said, ppl son might be CEO , im only an Executive level... cannot compare... and she giggle and said im so young... ( FYI im 25, her daughter 27 ) and i said young doesnt meant cannot do anything.. she said every thing price rise... end up she said we talk about it after she discuss with her husband... so we end the call... and my gf told me recently due to her brother need money for the school tuition fees, and im more angry, where can mix 2 things together... trying to take this chance to cut throat? end up my gf said " nvm then , u paid 5k, i will pay the rest...( from her own saving ) " suddenly i feel like i dont understand my gf anymore... is she the one that i knew from the day start? we been together for 3years, being honest with her in everything.... fyi, i have 30k saving she have 14k saving any suggestion how? i dont want end up we married in future i ban her family from my list... |
Jan 17 2013, 06:46 PM
Is her mother calling the shots in the family? Remember that could be your fiance in the future.
The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. |
Jan 17 2013, 06:47 PM
because of this happen,
i feel like the girl i know for 3 years suddenly change... really scary... |
Jan 17 2013, 06:47 PM
166 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 06:39 PM) At 1st my dad ask how much my future MIL want, then MIL said " we make decision " (so call cincai ) if can nego the dowries then those saving can use on wedding dinner and etc mah ..so my dad said 5k, and my GF said add 1k more to let her mom buy stuff and my dad agree... the day after, my gf told me her mom want 10k... and i shocked ! 1st day said cincai, now want 10k, i called MIL asked can deduct abit? she told me some one (neighbor or ppl she know) married get 10k... and i said, ppl son might be CEO , im only an Executive level... cannot compare... and she giggle and said im so young... ( FYI im 25, her daughter 27 ) and i said young doesnt meant cannot do anything.. she said every thing price rise... end up she said we talk about it after she discuss with her husband... so we end the call... and my gf told me recently due to her brother need money for the school tuition fees, and im more angry, where can mix 2 things together... trying to take this chance to cut throat? end up my gf said " nvm then , u paid 5k, i will pay the rest...( from her own saving ) " suddenly i feel like i dont understand my gf anymore... is she the one that i knew from the day start? we been together for 3years, being honest with her in everything.... fyi, i have 30k saving she have 14k saving any suggestion how? i dont want end up we married in future i ban her family from my list... |
Jan 17 2013, 06:49 PM
i dont want because of few year savings, finished in 1 day... and after the wedding the rest of the day is on debts...
Jan 17 2013, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 06:47 PM) Trust me, they always change. Learn how to identify the red flags and decide. |
Jan 18 2013, 09:37 AM
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
you guys only marriage , wait till you reach renovation , house etc....
There was this topic in girls club a long time ago, saying whether it's better to be a guy or girl. The girls said being a guy is better because they don't have to deal with period and pregnancy. LOL. They obviously never thought further of the financial responsibility they need to hold if they were a guy. And they don't realise this financial responsibilty can have inflation. The amount of work now to own a house, pay for the car, pay for the gf lifestyle, marriage etc is going to be way higher than it was 20 years ago. As for TS, this is a good time to know your in laws character. It's going to be harder to buy a house and all now compared to last time so if your in laws are so calculative, you have to ask yourself if your wife is going to be the same next time. If your in laws are like that but your wife is not, that is still ok, but if both your in laws and wife is like that, well the blame is on you for choosing such a wife. This post has been edited by Drian: Jan 18 2013, 09:46 AM |
Jan 18 2013, 09:38 AM
Validating
5,444 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Play Deal or No Deal with your future mother in law.
Jan 18 2013, 09:40 AM
3,725 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: In /hardware/ |
dowry is like selling their daughter
Jan 18 2013, 09:47 AM
Validating
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 17 2013, 05:01 PM) TS, is your wife/gf problem for not helping you to negotiate with her mum. "The custom to pay"Usually a mother will be understanding if the daughter have a real talk with her regarding your financial ability. ... problem is.. your gf did talk or not? She even thinking to help you pay out instead of negotiating.. that is "stupid". Last time, I told my mum that my hubby only manage to save $5K and we will give all to her as dowry. For the wedding expenses, he will have to borrow from his father. Indirectly telling my mum that my hubby got no more extra $ to give. My mum understood and due to that, she even help me prepare all the angpao for open door, children, etc. And my parents pay for the girl side wedding dinner themselves. And the cost of the jewelry my mum given me and my hubby (a ring for the son-in-law) total already cost RM4K++. But the one of the condition my mum mention is.. the RM5K must be totally his $. I should not sponsor any. If calculate.. my mum given it back to us in other form. TS, discuss with your gf and do a proper talk to your future MIL. I believe normal mother is not $ sucker. But of coz, if she really is $ sucker.. then forget it. Fyi, my wedding was 7yrs ago.. RM5K. My younger sister wedding 5yrs ago.. RM8K. Unless the girl parents never request in the first place. They requested RM10K actually is quite normal price. Thats your choice, chosen chinese girl. Is the custom to pay.. unless they dun 1. But I don't see women following the old "3 obedience and 4 virtues" thing eh? |
Jan 18 2013, 09:49 AM
921 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Argentina |
Jan 18 2013, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Jan 18 2013, 09:47 AM) Yes, tat is the thing that pulling everyone's leg.. but you guys can still decide not to marry them. Decision is still in your hand.Is good if the gf standby you to fight off or nego the dowry part.. if she is those kind who sided her parents more than future husband, so either leave her or take it. Is still the man's call. |
Jan 18 2013, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 18 2013, 10:03 AM) Yes, tat is the thing that pulling everyone's leg.. but you guys can still decide not to marry them. Decision is still in your hand. people take 20+ years to raise their daughter, for sure have to have geh. of course the price must be reasonable la.Is good if the gf standby you to fight off or nego the dowry part.. if she is those kind who sided her parents more than future husband, so either leave her or take it. Is still the man's call. |
Jan 18 2013, 10:12 AM
Validating
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 18 2013, 10:03 AM) Yes, tat is the thing that pulling everyone's leg.. but you guys can still decide not to marry them. Decision is still in your hand. My point is, it's all about the face.Is good if the gf standby you to fight off or nego the dowry part.. if she is those kind who sided her parents more than future husband, so either leave her or take it. Is still the man's call. If it's all about the custom, why even the need to set a high price? QUOTE(7chai @ Jan 18 2013, 10:05 AM) people take 20+ years to raise their daughter, for sure have to have geh. of course the price must be reasonable la. Raising a son is free? |
Jan 18 2013, 10:14 AM
TS, from what you explained of the sudden change of your 5K offer becoming 10K request. Is kinda irritating.
I agreed with the rest here, your gf parents is putting their family cost on you, that is certainly wrong. You should discuss with your gf to make the situation right with her family. Your gf can still contribute 5K, but not as part of the dowry. Dowry is the wedding related expenses that you give her parents.. so it will stil be 5K. As for the brother's tuition fee that they may intend to earn from there.. your gf can sponsor her 5K to the brothers. Tell her to discuss with her mum.. using her daughter mother talk. If this is still not agreeable, I suggest you to postpone the wedding plan to another 1 year. Telling them you need to save another 5K. Although you have 30K now but that is for buying stuff to building the new family (furnitures, wedding pics, etc.). Besides that, 25yrs old is still young for a guy to get married. Although your gf already 27yrs old, but that does not seem old yet. Both of you can wait another 3yrs at least. Why tied yourself up so fast? 3yrs down the road, probably lesser burden from her family and they may get less demanding. |
Jan 18 2013, 10:15 AM
Jan 18 2013, 10:29 AM
Validating
Jan 18 2013, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Jan 18 2013, 10:12 AM) My point is, it's all about the face. Ya.. also part of it is face value. Some aunties intend to compare children dowries. But that is not from girl side only.If it's all about the custom, why even the need to set a high price? Raising a son is free? Sometimes my MIL cunningly said "My fren pay the son's gf parents RM10K. Of coz that girl is a master holder." Talk as if, I am cheap coz I am not a master. Also there are time when MIL say ppl doesn't want any dowry coz they are rich family gal. At the same time, given me another feeling that I am not rich.. that's y my mother want dowry? But my mum given it all back to me in jewelry form. Those are things that our generation can't brain. But please keep in mind.. no matter pay or not pay.. those aunties still talking.. which highly affected the bride's feeling. Pay or not pay .. both gone wrong. If not agreeable to take up all this problem.. better stay single or marry someone who is not the typical malaysian chinese. |
Jan 18 2013, 10:31 AM
Jan 18 2013, 10:43 AM
Validating
That's why I said it's all about the face lor.
See... when the girls parents feel proud that they are fetching a good price for their daughter so will the boy's parents feel proud that they are paying a high price for a someone's daughter. You're right, if we can't accept it then we can just decide not to marry the girl. But I'm just saying that it is ridiculous to fuss over something like this. |
Jan 18 2013, 01:30 PM
well, my dad taught me what to say to my MIL " i only have 5k at the moment, if you insist want 10k, i only can borrow from loan shark ( ah long ) , at the end your daughter suffer also... "
lol.... |
Jan 18 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 18 2013, 01:30 PM) well, my dad taught me what to say to my MIL " i only have 5k at the moment, if you insist want 10k, i only can borrow from loan shark ( ah long ) , at the end your daughter suffer also... " Then you have to prepare to be the main topic for a least 5 years and this alone will give you bad luck in whatever you do.lol.... |
Jan 18 2013, 02:39 PM
65 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Jan 18 2013, 03:03 PM
TS, although your gf's mum certainly make ppl angry behaving like that. But don't fight over this matter, at the end will just make the relationship turn sour.
Talk to your gf and tell her to settle her mum. Is her role to do so, to take care of the welfare for both sides. If this problem did not solve properly, it will be bad for both of you. Money is just the part that struggle for the next few years. But the image that both of you placed in both parents heart, will give you guys a hard time in future. Her mum will forever remember that her son-in-law kedekut dun 1 2 pay more. Your dad will forever remember that her daughter-in-law family press water fish and the daughter-in-law never help to ease your problem. This is bad. |
Jan 18 2013, 03:07 PM
well, i think just told her, i dont really afford to pay 10k... maximum i can do its 5k... hope that my MIL understand..
Jan 18 2013, 03:33 PM
194 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Klang Valley |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM) Im going to married soon, wah so expensive. i got married last year, chinese ceremony going to be this year. my mom asked for RM99 only but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k, im planning on doing 5k... any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this? |
Jan 18 2013, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 18 2013, 03:07 PM) well, i think just told her, i dont really afford to pay 10k... maximum i can do its 5k... hope that my MIL understand.. before that, did you get any idea whether you have to pay for the girl side wedding dinner? their tables.Coz most of the time.. dowry and tables both have almost similar weightage. Some parents want tables only, no need dowries. (therefore usually they will take the angpao for their tables.. and groom pay the bill) Some parents want both tables, and dowries (angpao collected from the dinner.. depends.. if they wanted it also.. then too bad.. coz they earn double fr u) Some parents want dowry only, they will pay the table using the angpao they collected. Whatever dowry or angpao get from the table that groom paid, sincere parents should return it back to the newly wed couple in other form such as jewelry, furniture, honeymoon gifts, etc. Anyway, be careful.. if your MIL say ok for 5K but requested you to give her 15tables.. then you'll be dead. |
Jan 18 2013, 03:51 PM
Validating
Jan 18 2013, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 18 2013, 03:41 PM) before that, did you get any idea whether you have to pay for the girl side wedding dinner? their tables. ooo tables. thank goodness my mum in law only asked for 5 tables.Coz most of the time.. dowry and tables both have almost similar weightage. Some parents want tables only, no need dowries. (therefore usually they will take the angpao for their tables.. and groom pay the bill) Some parents want both tables, and dowries (angpao collected from the dinner.. depends.. if they wanted it also.. then too bad.. coz they earn double fr u) Some parents want dowry only, they will pay the table using the angpao they collected. Whatever dowry or angpao get from the table that groom paid, sincere parents should return it back to the newly wed couple in other form such as jewelry, furniture, honeymoon gifts, etc. Anyway, be careful.. if your MIL say ok for 5K but requested you to give her 15tables.. then you'll be dead. |
Jan 18 2013, 04:01 PM
194 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Klang Valley |
Jan 18 2013, 04:05 PM
451 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 18 2013, 03:07 PM) well, i think just told her, i dont really afford to pay 10k... maximum i can do its 5k... hope that my MIL understand.. i understand ur dilema bro....ur gf mom is trying to test u if u are capable to cough out that money or not...she dun care about the money actually... but yea...someone needs to explain to her nicely that u hv plans for future with ur wife...and u must convince her u are financially okay to support both u n ur wife (n kids) other bros in the forum dun suffer lk u do coz their parents are cool with it, or they are convinced their son in law are financially steady.... worse case scenario, u may hv to ask ur gf to 'borrow' u money so u can pay ur in laws 10k....but u will hv to keep it a secret from ur in laws...or they will never respect u till the end of time. |
Jan 18 2013, 04:11 PM
13,476 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Some people just want face. They think the higher they received, like their daughter is highly rated. I know some who give 20-30K actually give half or so back to the groom. Chinese is like this one... After receive, must return favor. Depending on how traditional your MIL are, some does go through hell and back when prep for marriage.
Jan 18 2013, 04:12 PM
Jan 18 2013, 08:47 PM
1 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
That really depends. My gf said to me if I don't have 50k don't even think bout wedding. Coz its expected from her family side that I give them at least 10k. When I heard it I sweat. Cold sweat. Even tho its a big amount, but it's tradition. But think of it, u give them 10k,her parents sponsor the wedding dinner. So win win.
Jan 19 2013, 12:20 AM
lol... problem is i give 10k the wedding dinner still i need to pay =.=
Jan 19 2013, 01:49 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
RM 500 for one indian killer ...RM 500 x 2 for 2 cases...problem solved.
Jan 19 2013, 03:51 PM
834 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: ~Heaven~ |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:49 PM) Im going to married soon, wHAT is Your Race?but the price asked from my future mother in law is 10k, im planning on doing 5k... any one share with me your experience or any market rate to this? IF u married with that girl just because u want to get married, your partner will ask many things in the relationship..so face it, everything is depend on ur future wife, whether she accept or not, if she on your side, she also will confront together with u... |
Jan 19 2013, 04:10 PM
451 posts Joined: Jul 2011 From: Finally... The Rock Has Come Back To Lowyat.Net!!! |
Jan 22 2013, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 19 2013, 12:20 AM) TS, if your gf's family really expecting so much from you ... suspecting that they want the RM10K to settle the brother's school fee.I certainly suggest you to postpone the wedding plan. Discuss with your parents and if they ok to postpone... just go ahead to postpone it. Ask your parents coz they deserve the respect. You are just 25yrs old and so young. You don't have to get married at this young age, forcing yourself to purge out so much $... unless you have to marry her due to some reason. Wait for another 3-5 years, when you have more income... you probably don't feel the pain of paying more dowry. Always remember, you only have RM30K (am I right?), and you have to keep some savings to build a young family without anyone support. You certainly cannot afford to pay RM10K dowry and expecting to settle the dinner tables. So.. just answer your gf's parent "Yeah, I am young at 25yrs old and can't afford to spend so much on wedding. Guess we have to postpone so that I can save more money." It will sound cruel to your gf, but this is for both you and her future. You guys should not finish up the savings on the wedding and become a broke couple. Another alternatives is telling them you pay them RM10K (cover all). They will have to settle their own tables. No roast pig, wine, or any other barang hantaran. Tell them they won't rugi from the table.. as they will collect angpao from their guests. By doing this, reduce your headache... give them the max RM10K cash.. settle all. They shouldn't be asking anything else from you. |
Jan 22 2013, 12:43 PM
97 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Jan 22 2013, 12:55 PM
114 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Im 26 married last year dec . I have a worst nightmare for downry and all the ang pao about 140 pack to give i can sleep for 3weels until the wedding is over now im in a big hole T_T
Jan 22 2013, 06:02 PM
127 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Melbourne |
I've already spent RM50k on her rings alone. I hope they don't expect much more.
Jan 22 2013, 06:18 PM
50k can cheong for at least 250 times yo. If you cheong twice a week, it will last you over 2 years. Money well spent woi.
Jan 23 2013, 11:18 AM
Jan 23 2013, 11:34 AM
721 posts Joined: May 2009 |
My wedding on 2011 n my mum asked for 5k n she used it all to buy gold for me....
Jan 23 2013, 11:54 AM
Jan 23 2013, 01:25 PM
721 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jan 23 2013, 03:05 PM
Jan 24 2013, 02:58 AM
598 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jan 18 2013, 03:41 PM) before that, did you get any idea whether you have to pay for the girl side wedding dinner? their tables. dowry by my definition is to cover the girl's side of the wedding, dress/jewellery etc etc. If you are forking that 10k, better make sure she asks nothing in return, but susahlah rite. talk easy Coz most of the time.. dowry and tables both have almost similar weightage. Some parents want tables only, no need dowries. (therefore usually they will take the angpao for their tables.. and groom pay the bill) Some parents want both tables, and dowries (angpao collected from the dinner.. depends.. if they wanted it also.. then too bad.. coz they earn double fr u) Some parents want dowry only, they will pay the table using the angpao they collected. Whatever dowry or angpao get from the table that groom paid, sincere parents should return it back to the newly wed couple in other form such as jewelry, furniture, honeymoon gifts, etc. Anyway, be careful.. if your MIL say ok for 5K but requested you to give her 15tables.. then you'll be dead. else like what above quote. compromise loh. u give 5k, her family angpau she take, table either u give or she pay table. u give 10k, all the angpau u take. tables u give . atleast some forumers here the parents still wise, take dowry and then return to the kids. I'm so going to be dead, gf Masters. |
Jan 24 2013, 09:18 AM
201 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Last time, my eldest bro take 100k Lo..
10k, can just simply take a personal loan settle la. What so head wire.. |
Jan 25 2013, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(yorkhan @ Jan 24 2013, 02:58 AM) atleast some forumers here the parents still wise, take dowry and then return to the kids. I'm so going to be dead, gf Masters. Most importantly is the gf. As long as gf is on your side and wisely understand that making fiance spend more during wedding = marry to a broke husband. Then the guys' pocket will save alot. And at the same time, meaning got a smart wife who will not simply drain your money. I attended a fren's wedding last weekend. Both side parents are from other states, but they hold the wedding in KL coz both working in KL. We the lady frens simply bzbody and asked him during his preparation for wedding few days earlier. He is quite blur and doesn't really follow much of the tradition. As he said both parents never say anything, leaving both himself and the wife to do everything. So there is no dowry given. He said they (wife and him) share 50:50 in a wedding pool fund. So he let his wife decide and just pay watever from this fund. When we attended the wedding dinner, found that 30tables.. consist at least 10tables is his colleagues/friends. Wife side only mayb 5 tables. And the rest are still all his relatives. From there I see... his wife probably spend lesser amount from the wedding pool fund compare him.. so he untung. Parents side.. contribute probably just the wedding gift to the young couple. This post has been edited by cc980024: Jan 25 2013, 09:56 AM |
Jan 25 2013, 03:54 PM
855 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
6-10k is reasonable.
just think your parents in law also need: - banquet - prepare gift for you both - decorations - etc allowances like petrol,phone if your in laws retired or poor. where got money to do all those? Be considerate. Unless they really use it for their own benefit. Then feel free to wrath! |
Jan 25 2013, 04:17 PM
57 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
My sister just got married last 2 weeks. My parent's is quite follow our nenek moyang's culture. My brother-in-law paid rm10k for the dowry and my parents took rm8k (according to the culture, bride side cant take all the money, the other rm2k is paying back groom side for their so called pay for their properties in future). My parents use the RM8k to buy gold accessories for my sister. Hmm for me I wish my parent will not take the dowry from my husband next time, as you all said they are not selling their daughter. I just dont understand why most of the chinese family will minta the dowry...
Jan 25 2013, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jan 25 2013, 03:54 PM) 6-10k is reasonable. if this is the case, it is correct. guy give the dowry,dowry is used for the wedding by the bride family side. the problem arises when the dowry is given, and the guy still have to fork out the rest of the cost also.just think your parents in law also need: - banquet - prepare gift for you both - decorations - etc allowances like petrol,phone if your in laws retired or poor. where got money to do all those? Be considerate. Unless they really use it for their own benefit. Then feel free to wrath! |
Jan 29 2013, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(Big Head Monster @ Jan 25 2013, 04:17 PM) My sister just got married last 2 weeks. My parent's is quite follow our nenek moyang's culture. My brother-in-law paid rm10k for the dowry and my parents took rm8k (according to the culture, bride side cant take all the money, the other rm2k is paying back groom side for their so called pay for their properties in future). My parents use the RM8k to buy gold accessories for my sister. Hmm for me I wish my parent will not take the dowry from my husband next time, as you all said they are not selling their daughter. I just dont understand why most of the chinese family will minta the dowry... It seems that this dowry thing will happen to you also, as usually it will follow the similar way your sister got married. Anyway, based on your sister's experience, is confirmed that your parents is taking it just to fulfill the wedding custom, at the end the money still flow back to you... no harm to follow it, instead of trigger any unnecessary argument. To think on the positive side, they forces the newly wed couple to fork out this lumpsum and convert it to gold for you all. Few years later, you will laugh looking at the price of the gold, and thank your parents for it.. coz if this dowry have not been converted to gold and return to you.. that money probably already spend on some fancy wedding stuff.. which is useless. |
Jan 29 2013, 04:57 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
if the money will somehow flow back to you our wife just give it then.
most parent will flow money back to their daughter, which my in law somehow great enough to telan it. if not, negotiate it until an amount you willing to pay, best you can is probably 6888. take into consideration you still need to give them some tables, roasted pig, pay this and that for them later. |
Jan 30 2013, 09:50 AM
46 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
5k is too little bro. maybe you can negotiate to at least 6888 or 8888.
Since her family got the demand of the price, the only way to do is nego, let them know your difficulty. If u can't afford it then you should delay the process. Her family maybe will worried for her future or scare criticize by other relative or etc. Imagine, one day ppl asked, ur daughter how much dowries? then u say 5k, then the person say " so cheap, the one who who who got 10k, ur daughter is half price oh." then how is ur feeling? Wedding is not 2 person problem only, it involved 2 family, so her family also need spend a lot like buffet dinner, gold necklace for your wife and etc. The 10k maybe just enough to cover all those only. Wedding is a happy ceremony, don't because of the 5k then make the things become bad. Remember! money can earn back but relationship is hard to fix. Since the gal willing to help for the extra, then you are lucky have a understanding wife. U must understand she is the one more suffer, she is the one who in the middle, left is family ;right is husband. Just my personal opinion. This post has been edited by ahliang100: Jan 30 2013, 09:52 AM |
Jan 30 2013, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(ahliang100 @ Jan 30 2013, 09:50 AM) Her family maybe will worried for her future or scare criticize by other relative or etc. Imagine, one day ppl asked, ur daughter how much dowries? then u say 5k, then the person say " so cheap, the one who who who got 10k, ur daughter is half price oh." then how is ur feeling? My feeling is that the other parents treat daughters like properties or prostitutes.Guys, the world does not revolve around money if you don't want it to. |
Jan 30 2013, 10:33 AM
801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom |
Given up getting married though, too many terms and conditions from all aspect. Better be single and treat myself better.
Jan 30 2013, 11:31 AM
41 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Jan 30 2013, 11:50 AM
1,040 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Discussing and having disagreements about money before the actual wedding will put a damper to the family relationship in years to come. There will be bad blood if this is not handled appropriately
Jan 30 2013, 12:09 PM
Be careful when you're about to put on the ring if you're not financially stable.
Laws are changing fast to give more and more privilege to the fairer sex. Do you know, telling your wife to stop wasting your money is considered “financial abuse” and it’s already considered as such in many countries (Australia, Sweden, Romania, Hungary, UK, France and Spain) This post has been edited by Tyler__Durden: Jan 30 2013, 12:10 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(ahliang100 @ Jan 30 2013, 09:50 AM) 5k is too little bro. maybe you can negotiate to at least 6888 or 8888. Well said, but if someone someone give 1million then u only get 10k ? so cheap?Since her family got the demand of the price, the only way to do is nego, let them know your difficulty. If u can't afford it then you should delay the process. Her family maybe will worried for her future or scare criticize by other relative or etc. Imagine, one day ppl asked, ur daughter how much dowries? then u say 5k, then the person say " so cheap, the one who who who got 10k, ur daughter is half price oh." then how is ur feeling? Wedding is not 2 person problem only, it involved 2 family, so her family also need spend a lot like buffet dinner, gold necklace for your wife and etc. The 10k maybe just enough to cover all those only. Wedding is a happy ceremony, don't because of the 5k then make the things become bad. Remember! money can earn back but relationship is hard to fix. Since the gal willing to help for the extra, then you are lucky have a understanding wife. U must understand she is the one more suffer, she is the one who in the middle, left is family ;right is husband. Just my personal opinion. how you will act ? basically MHO is, there's no limitation for the price, it depends on how capable is the couple are. QUOTE(AmpangKia @ Jan 30 2013, 11:31 AM) market rate? is there market rate for this?or you hear someone someone get how much and someone someone get <insert amount> and u judge based on this? some how this chinese tradition really is a shit... if really want to do this, why dont the groom settle all the groom wedding stuff, and so the bride? |
Jan 30 2013, 02:39 PM
46 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 30 2013, 02:02 PM) Well said, but if someone someone give 1million then u only get 10k ? so cheap? If there is one person give 1 million, then tat is special case, maybe he is millionaire or rich father's son.how you will act ? basically MHO is, there's no limitation for the price, it depends on how capable is the couple are. market rate? is there market rate for this? or you hear someone someone get how much and someone someone get <insert amount> and u judge based on this? some how this chinese tradition really is a shit... if really want to do this, why dont the groom settle all the groom wedding stuff, and so the bride? But if the society rate 6k-10k as normal, then i think better we try to reach around that amount, else sure a lot bad comment will coming from relative or frens. Yes we can't control ppl mouth, but just try to reduce the risk and reduce the problem haven happen. for wedding dinner, depending the event location and how grand it is. some family choosing buffet lunch, skip the wedding dinner then can save a lot. But this need both side agreed. else go back to traditional wedding dinner, that will cover by ang pow also, so maybe this part u can reduce a bit from budget. communication is the key of the point. |
Jan 30 2013, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 30 2013, 02:02 PM) some how this chinese tradition really is a shit... Well, you can suggest that to your future wife and her family. if really want to do this, why dont the groom settle all the groom wedding stuff, and so the bride? Basically, this thing depends on both side negotiation and to reach an understanding that both side agree. That's why you see there are ppl being force to pay dowry, some get back repayment from the dowry, and some don't need to pay at all. Many different scenario. If both side couldn't agree on the amount of dowry, and no one give in, is either you decide not to marry your gf. Or her parents decide not to let you marry their daughter. Keep asking why tradition shit here won't solve your problem, unless you nego until her parents give in.. or you give in. |
Jan 30 2013, 03:28 PM
Cool down. It's still comes down to how much you are willing to give in the end. No one wants their own daughter's marriage ends up bad
Jan 30 2013, 04:35 PM
Jan 30 2013, 05:04 PM
Jan 30 2013, 05:15 PM
41 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 30 2013, 03:02 PM) Well said, but if someone someone give 1million then u only get 10k ? so cheap? i am not so sure... refering to the people around me...how you will act ? basically MHO is, there's no limitation for the price, it depends on how capable is the couple are. market rate? is there market rate for this? or you hear someone someone get how much and someone someone get <insert amount> and u judge based on this? some how this chinese tradition really is a shit... if really want to do this, why dont the groom settle all the groom wedding stuff, and so the bride? what i was saying is base on more than 10 people... "market rate" is base on majority of the people paying that amount of money right? if u are asking that... i think 10k is fair enough to give away their daughter who they raise from small... unless your salary is below 3k... that is another story... haha... if u want groom to settle his own stuff and the bride does the same... then why dont u masturbate yourself to get a baby??? i am not here to insult u... just that this is men's responsibility... just reduce the spending for the other stuff later lor... i think one table spare to them is good enuff ady... |
Jan 30 2013, 05:17 PM
If marriage is like trading, then of course there is a market rate.
Like, "Here's RM10K, your daughter is now mine. She will no longer take care of your household, but will instead take care of mine. Oh here's a cow to help you tend your field too" |
Jan 30 2013, 05:19 PM
A baby cost less than a wedding ceremony.
I'm sure if you post in the black market to get a willing surrogate mother, definitely someone will settle for 50k. It's more of an legal issue of getting the father's name on the birth certificate. Now, if you have money to grease the wheels, you can get that settled too. This post has been edited by Tyler__Durden: Jan 30 2013, 05:20 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 05:20 PM
If you can give that much, just give what you afford. No need make it like trading. Why spoil wedding happiness because of money? Money can earn back, happiness can't?
Jan 30 2013, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 30 2013, 05:20 PM) If you can give that much, just give what you afford. No need make it like trading. Why spoil wedding happiness because of money? Money can earn back, happiness can't? Happiness can earn back what, just divorce marry divorce marry divorce marry.Question is, why should the groom only need to pay? |
Jan 30 2013, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 30 2013, 05:21 PM) Happiness can earn back what, just divorce marry divorce marry divorce marry. Dowry is used to buy gold and other accessories for the bride. The property itself will end up becomes the guy. Besides that, it will use to buy wife cake (老婆饼) to all the guests that arrive for the wedding. Renovation for the wife room for the bridegroom to fetch the wife, that room itself will be a place for the couples to rest feet when come back for dinner on special occasion.Question is, why should the groom only need to pay? |
Jan 30 2013, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 30 2013, 05:25 PM) Dowry is used to buy gold and other accessories for the bride. The property itself will end up becomes the guy. Besides that, it will use to buy wife cake (老婆饼) to all the guests that arrive for the wedding. Renovation for the wife room for the bridegroom to fetch the wife, that room itself will be a place for the couples to rest feet when come back for dinner on special occasion. Still, why did the groom only have to pay?Besides, from the looks of it, only the bride get happiness. What about the groom? This post has been edited by Tyler__Durden: Jan 30 2013, 05:28 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 30 2013, 05:27 PM) Still, why did the groom only have to pay? The dowry normally not enough to cover it all and the bride's family side will cover the remaining one. Unless the bride's family no need to do anything, no gold, no accessories, no fetching. The bride goes to the bridegroom's house herself, sit there ignored and waiting to be married. TS, if that happen, better just do the ROM and forget the rest. Marry is just a waste of time and money to TS.Besides, from the looks of it, only the bride get happiness. What about the groom? 99.99 gold is not cheap these days. 10k already depletes. 5k only, do not expect got gold rings ady. Btw, the groom also get the gold in the ends too. It just the bride's family help to buy the gold back to groom on his behalf. This post has been edited by heinlein: Jan 30 2013, 05:35 PM |
Jan 30 2013, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 30 2013, 05:32 PM) The dowry normally not enough to cover it all and the bride's family side will cover the remaining one. Unless the bride's family no need to do anything, no gold, no accessories, no fetching. The bride goes to the bridegroom's house herself, sit there ignored and waiting to be married. TS, if that happen, better just do the ROM and forget the rest. Marry is just a waste of time and money to TS. ROM alone enough liao, wedding used to be a way to announce that the couple is already married and taken.Now with the advent of SMS and FB, no need waste so much money. |
Jan 30 2013, 05:40 PM
Jan 31 2013, 01:21 AM
38 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Im getting married soon.
I also have given dowry....not only dowry, but angpows for the grandparents, the relatives, etc. Actually before that i have to sign a dowry contract, it specifies everything, how much angpow to give (eg 4 angpows of rm500 to each grandparent, 30 angpows of rm50 to each relative, etc). Really a killer. Then add on the gold rings, the gold bracelet, the gold necklace (jewellery gold goin for $192/g also). really feel the pinch eh, a big dent. |
Jan 31 2013, 01:31 AM
You signed a dowry contract, but did you get a pre-nup to protect your investment?
Jan 31 2013, 08:50 AM
623 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Lobang Batu |
QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 30 2013, 05:40 PM) My dowry is -ve, that means, I get paid instead and the balance paid by the bride's side hahaha Tok bout going green, spending less on pointless matters should help a lot in going green, including less gong xi fa cai -.- Bottom line, baby still pops out. |
Jan 31 2013, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Jan 31 2013, 01:21 AM) Im getting married soon. Seriously, are they planning to sue you if you don't fulfill the "contract"?I also have given dowry....not only dowry, but angpows for the grandparents, the relatives, etc. Actually before that i have to sign a dowry contract, it specifies everything, how much angpow to give (eg 4 angpows of rm500 to each grandparent, 30 angpows of rm50 to each relative, etc). Really a killer. Then add on the gold rings, the gold bracelet, the gold necklace (jewellery gold goin for $192/g also). really feel the pinch eh, a big dent. |
Jan 31 2013, 09:41 AM
63 posts Joined: May 2012 |
is it bad if i said to my partner that i'm willing to share my money with him to pay for the dowry?and also willing to use my own money to support my own life after we get married until he got his job?currently he is in medical school and will only grad in 2years. and i myself already started working after graduated last 2 years.we both 26 this year.since this thread about dowry and marriage stuff,i think it's better if i ask here rather than creating new thread.sorry TS
This post has been edited by dafengXX: Jan 31 2013, 09:43 AM |
Jan 31 2013, 10:12 AM
Everyone, don't be so mad about the dowry first. Lets check some tradition practice.. the real tradition. Coincident I watch a chinese drama yesterday.. where this rich family gets married.
The guy side bring dowry and gifts to the bride's family ("ping li" in mandarin), in return the girl family have to bring tons of stuff to the guy family during wedding ("jia juang" in mandarin). At that generation, girl family will look at how great the offering by the groom's family and at the same time the guy side will also checking out what the wife bring into the family. The "jia juang" can be as great as gold, cloths, priceless old item (gu doong), etc.. but no cash. So during that time, all the daughter-in-law will be judge mostly based on their family background (basically depends on how much jiajuang they bring in). The more they have (richer), the more respect given. Coz this jiajuang is automatically belongs to the guy's family indirectly. Coz if the family bankrupt or even the shoo away the bride.. these items stay with the guy family. Similar for poor family.. just the amount offer is much lesser to each other.. but the meaning still carries. For today generation, why ppl only mention about dowry forgetting about "jia juang". Couldn't understand.. but probably the jiajuang is.. in return you get a wife who can earn salary. Instead of old generation, the wife is to be kept at home 100% under the guy family expenses. Since we were born into this generation, if could not agree to dowry.. perhaps the guys can start asking about "jia juang" from the girl side already. My mum told me, 60yrs back.. my elder aunty married to my uncle. Very tradition. She bring tons of cloths and clothes (dunno y just this).. and folded it in flowery pattern.. laid nicely in the closet and drawers. During wedding day, gotta open up all the drawers and closet and let the guests to view it. Ppl want to see what "jia juang" she brought. |
Jan 31 2013, 01:17 PM
246 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Labuan |
Me Chinese, I gave RM10k in 2010. They din give a sum, but I give 10k anyways as I love my wife. Though may not b high, after married we do give them monthly around RM200 a month. CNY, birthdays, parents days, give additional. Well we do need to show appreciation once a while. I don't think the amount i give will break a leg, so just give.
Jan 31 2013, 02:36 PM
103 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Getting married is actually a very simple thing.. the culture makes it into money pit >.<
Jan 31 2013, 02:45 PM
2,243 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Jan 31 2013, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(ahliang100 @ Jan 30 2013, 09:50 AM) 5k is too little bro. maybe you can negotiate to at least 6888 or 8888. True.Since her family got the demand of the price, the only way to do is nego, let them know your difficulty. If u can't afford it then you should delay the process. Her family maybe will worried for her future or scare criticize by other relative or etc. Imagine, one day ppl asked, ur daughter how much dowries? then u say 5k, then the person say " so cheap, the one who who who got 10k, ur daughter is half price oh." then how is ur feeling? Wedding is not 2 person problem only, it involved 2 family, so her family also need spend a lot like buffet dinner, gold necklace for your wife and etc. The 10k maybe just enough to cover all those only. Wedding is a happy ceremony, don't because of the 5k then make the things become bad. Remember! money can earn back but relationship is hard to fix. Since the gal willing to help for the extra, then you are lucky have a understanding wife. U must understand she is the one more suffer, she is the one who in the middle, left is family ;right is husband. Just my personal opinion. it is 2 kampung problem. Aunty Uncle each and everyone just have to advise your parent in law with one single word, then you are dead. This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jan 31 2013, 02:50 PM |
Jan 31 2013, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jan 31 2013, 05:49 PM) True. Agree. That's why my fiancee and i were like fark this! and will hold our small wedding overseas. No pointless traditions, no gatecrash no dowries etc.. not going to invite anyone but closest friends and family. it is 2 kampung problem. Aunty Uncle each and everyone just have to advise your parent in law with one single word, then you are dead. |
Feb 2 2013, 02:58 PM
Feb 2 2013, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(xecton @ Jan 31 2013, 09:38 AM) There is eternal shame and loss of dignity if didnt fulfill the contract. Also a lifetime of nagging.But yeah, sometimes u give a dowry with whatever you can but people will still say many. Another danger is relatives, they will talk so much cock n bullshit to ur parent in law until their minds get poisoned. Eg they tell ur mom in law ask for this, ask for that, ask for the sky, ask for the earth. Good thing is, some traditional things no need to do lah...like getting a virgin kid to pee in the bedside 'kong', or ask an old man to carry 'lepiah' some kind of big round chinese biscuit/pastry. |
Feb 2 2013, 07:11 PM
6 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Depends on your income.
I think you should not give more than your 3 months income. |
Feb 2 2013, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 2 2013, 07:01 PM) There is eternal shame and loss of dignity if didnt fulfill the contract. Also a lifetime of nagging. l would feel eternal shame and loss of dignity if l got bullied to such an agreement.But yeah, sometimes u give a dowry with whatever you can but people will still say many. Another danger is relatives, they will talk so much cock n bullshit to ur parent in law until their minds get poisoned. Eg they tell ur mom in law ask for this, ask for that, ask for the sky, ask for the earth. Good thing is, some traditional things no need to do lah...like getting a virgin kid to pee in the bedside 'kong', or ask an old man to carry 'lepiah' some kind of big round chinese biscuit/pastry. You have obviously chosen your path and I wish you a happy marriage ahead. However, if you don't mind me prying a bit, what does your wife says about all these demands? |
Feb 3 2013, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(xecton @ Feb 2 2013, 11:50 PM) l would feel eternal shame and loss of dignity if l got bullied to such an agreement. She said something about 'if you want to marry me, this is necessary'.You have obviously chosen your path and I wish you a happy marriage ahead. However, if you don't mind me prying a bit, what does your wife says about all these demands? Actually the contract is a recycled one, written by her grandad for her elder sister who got married 2years earlier. Im jus thankful there is no inflation in prices |
Feb 3 2013, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 3 2013, 01:03 AM) She said something about 'if you want to marry me, this is necessary'. then u also comes out a contract, 3 babies within 5 years.Actually the contract is a recycled one, written by her grandad for her elder sister who got married 2years earlier. Im jus thankful there is no inflation in prices quote her back 'if u want me marry u, this is necessary' |
Feb 3 2013, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(7chai @ Feb 3 2013, 01:07 AM) then u also comes out a contract, 3 babies within 5 years. Not sure bout you all...but she does want kids (me not really lah, kids expensive lah).quote her back 'if u want me marry u, this is necessary' Actually when sign the contract we go have dinner in a restaurant, got bring witnesses, grandparents n parents (both sides) n sign in front of them. haha. first time i hear of this (actually first time is when her sister husband or my bro in law sign first). |
Feb 3 2013, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 3 2013, 01:17 AM) Not sure bout you all...but she does want kids (me not really lah, kids expensive lah). is like that 1 lo, is better to have baby when u still young maActually when sign the contract we go have dinner in a restaurant, got bring witnesses, grandparents n parents (both sides) n sign in front of them. haha. first time i hear of this (actually first time is when her sister husband or my bro in law sign first). |
Feb 3 2013, 01:21 AM
1,467 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Online wirelessly |
expensive dowries is just to show off.....
Feb 3 2013, 01:22 AM
I heard right...the older the women when she give birth, the smarter the baby will be.
Then again, there is also perceived pressure (eg my sis married 3 years earlier and no child yet) and i think we know the first grandchild is usually the most loved right? eg the CNY angpow is always bigger, etc. |
Feb 4 2013, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 3 2013, 01:22 AM) I heard right...the older the women when she give birth, the smarter the baby will be. I thought earlier is better and baby is smarter.Then again, there is also perceived pressure (eg my sis married 3 years earlier and no child yet) and i think we know the first grandchild is usually the most loved right? eg the CNY angpow is always bigger, etc. hm.. which one is true then. |
Feb 4 2013, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 3 2013, 01:17 AM) Not sure bout you all...but she does want kids (me not really lah, kids expensive lah). So what do they bring to the table?Actually when sign the contract we go have dinner in a restaurant, got bring witnesses, grandparents n parents (both sides) n sign in front of them. haha. first time i hear of this (actually first time is when her sister husband or my bro in law sign first). Or will your wife obediently serves you and your family after marriage? With limited access to her family? Because, you have essentially bought her. Don't let her contact her family anymore except CNY, or death in the family. Maybe the parents' birthday. Fug this shit. |
Feb 4 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(foccacia @ Feb 3 2013, 01:03 AM) She said something about 'if you want to marry me, this is necessary'. Assume the contract to be like below:Actually the contract is a recycled one, written by her grandad for her elder sister who got married 2years earlier. Im jus thankful there is no inflation in prices Wife Demand: 1. BMW 2. Bangalow 3. Billionaire 4. Bank 5. Boss Husband Demand: Sex |
Feb 4 2013, 11:27 AM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
No pressure. drag on. Eventually your fiancee would yield
Feb 5 2013, 11:55 AM
353 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No money. Postpone until got money to marry.
Wedding (don't count marriage). Is Expensive. Include dowry, etc, all that is expenses. If lucky can cover back. Remember to save for wedding, house, car and kids, even before you have gf! When you have a gf, or think about getting married.. too late already. Unless you are super rich. Some people have wedding fund. since dating. put money into the account for the future. Then have house fund, children fund, travel fund. Don't be in debt because of wedding. But you would want to let your wife have a comfortable and happy life right? It's unfortunate if you have parent's in law which "milk you for money". I've seen a few. Milk the husband for all he is worth. Quite kesian. After that also still giving money to the family... pay for renovations to their family house etc. etc. Although it's wife's family she should also be thoughtful of her new family and husband's capacity. |
Feb 5 2013, 03:12 PM
695 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(Dagashi @ Feb 5 2013, 11:55 AM) No money. Postpone until got money to marry. Whole life, is to work and work to pay bills. 15 years of studies is to find work to pay more bills till we die.Wedding (don't count marriage). Is Expensive. Include dowry, etc, all that is expenses. If lucky can cover back. Remember to save for wedding, house, car and kids, even before you have gf! When you have a gf, or think about getting married.. too late already. Unless you are super rich. Some people have wedding fund. since dating. put money into the account for the future. Then have house fund, children fund, travel fund. Don't be in debt because of wedding. But you would want to let your wife have a comfortable and happy life right? It's unfortunate if you have parent's in law which "milk you for money". I've seen a few. Milk the husband for all he is worth. Quite kesian. After that also still giving money to the family... pay for renovations to their family house etc. etc. Although it's wife's family she should also be thoughtful of her new family and husband's capacity. |
Feb 5 2013, 04:35 PM
353 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Live single life. Be free. Travel the world work only when need money. Don't buy house, buy car or all that liabilities or you will be working for it.
But if that is the dream you want. House, car, family.. you got to prepare to be able to afford all that and take care of everyone financially. If not better be selfish and stay single forever. |
Feb 6 2013, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(Dagashi @ Feb 5 2013, 04:35 PM) Live single life. Be free. Travel the world work only when need money. Don't buy house, buy car or all that liabilities or you will be working for it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQRytgGffV4 But if that is the dream you want. House, car, family.. you got to prepare to be able to afford all that and take care of everyone financially. If not better be selfish and stay single forever. |
| Change to: | 0.0626sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:35 AM |