Serious How much dowries you would give, share your expirience

foccacia
post Jan 31 2013, 01:21 AM

38 posts

Im getting married soon.

I also have given dowry....not only dowry, but angpows for the grandparents, the relatives, etc. Actually before that i have to sign a dowry contract, it specifies everything, how much angpow to give (eg 4 angpows of rm500 to each grandparent, 30 angpows of rm50 to each relative, etc).

Really a killer. Then add on the gold rings, the gold bracelet, the gold necklace (jewellery gold goin for $192/g also).

really feel the pinch eh, a big dent.
foccacia
post Feb 2 2013, 07:01 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Jan 31 2013, 09:38 AM)
Seriously, are they planning to sue you if you don't fulfill the "contract"?
There is eternal shame and loss of dignity if didnt fulfill the contract. Also a lifetime of nagging.

But yeah, sometimes u give a dowry with whatever you can but people will still say many. Another danger is relatives, they will talk so much cock n bullshit to ur parent in law until their minds get poisoned. Eg they tell ur mom in law ask for this, ask for that, ask for the sky, ask for the earth.

Good thing is, some traditional things no need to do lah...like getting a virgin kid to pee in the bedside 'kong', or ask an old man to carry 'lepiah' some kind of big round chinese biscuit/pastry.
foccacia
post Feb 3 2013, 01:03 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Feb 2 2013, 11:50 PM)
l would feel eternal shame and loss of dignity if l got bullied to such an agreement.
You have obviously chosen your path and I wish you a happy marriage ahead.
However, if you don't mind me prying a bit, what does your wife says about all these demands?
She said something about 'if you want to marry me, this is necessary'.

Actually the contract is a recycled one, written by her grandad for her elder sister who got married 2years earlier.

Im jus thankful there is no inflation in prices rclxms.gif
foccacia
post Feb 3 2013, 01:17 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Feb 3 2013, 01:07 AM)
then u also comes out a contract, 3 babies within 5 years.

quote her back 'if u want me marry u, this is necessary'
Not sure bout you all...but she does want kids (me not really lah, kids expensive lah).

Actually when sign the contract we go have dinner in a restaurant, got bring witnesses, grandparents n parents (both sides) n sign in front of them.

haha. first time i hear of this (actually first time is when her sister husband or my bro in law sign first).
foccacia
post Feb 3 2013, 01:22 AM

38 posts

I heard right...the older the women when she give birth, the smarter the baby will be.

Then again, there is also perceived pressure (eg my sis married 3 years earlier and no child yet)

and i think we know the first grandchild is usually the most loved right? eg the CNY angpow is always bigger, etc.

0.0184sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:33 AM