QUOTE(chulk @ Nov 17 2017, 06:07 PM)
Hi chulk,This might be hardware fault, do send the router for warranty claim.
Thank you
Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
Nov 17 2017, 06:15 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,319 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Nov 17 2017, 06:16 PM
1,019 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Nov 17 2017, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Nov 17 2017, 04:40 PM) is the coverage of AC68U better than N66U? Currently i have the N66U . recently just upgrade to Unifi. Change my placement of router to the living room. and up stairs bedroom suffer from low signal strength. Is upgrading to AC68U be any beneficial over the N66U in terms of coverage? Please advice. QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 17 2017, 04:53 PM) If you are looking for a marginal upgrade, RT-AC68U could do the job. If you are looking for significant upgrade, RT-AC68U doesn't made the cut. You would need a mesh networking system or multiple access point. Hi,Just want to share something about the Mesh network :-). https://www.asus.com/aimesh/ Thank you |
Nov 17 2017, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(chulk @ Nov 17 2017, 06:16 PM) Hi chulk,All ASUS networking products are came with 3 years local warranty. You can send back to the place you bought or send to the following service centre for networking. ADVANCENET KL 145,JALAN KENARI 23A, BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA, PUCHONG, 47100, SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN ADVANCENET PENANG NO. 105-08-02 (8TH FLOOR), HEXAGON TECH PARK, JALAN GURDWARA, 10300, PENANG ADVANCENET MELAKA G-10, JALAN PM5, PLAZA MAHKOTA, 75000 MELAKA ADVANCENET JB NO56, JALAN MOLEK 1/28, TAMAN MOLEK, 81100 JOHOR BAHRU ADVANCENET KCH 31, GROUND FLOOR, S/L 5, BLK 10, HOCK KUI COMMERCIAL CENTRE PHASE 3, JLN TUN AHMAD ZAIDI ADCURE, 93150 KUCHING ADVANCENET KK LOT 16. 1ST FLOOR, KOLAM CENTRE PH1, JALAN LINTAS, 88300 KOTA KINABALU Working hours: 9AM - 6PM - Monday to Friday, excluding Public Holidays and State Holidays Thank you |
Nov 17 2017, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 17 2017, 04:13 PM) I tried to download some big files twice, and twice it hang after few hours. Can't log in to the modem router until i restart it. Hi stormaker,This morning I elevate the modem by putting something under the modem, use Chrome instead of Internet Download Manager to download, so far haven't hang yet. Any suggestion ? Try use it for few days first with this setup and let us know if it happen again. The firmware already is the latest. You can try to do a factory reset if it happen again. Thank you |
Nov 17 2017, 06:28 PM
3,130 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I already tried the factory reset and problem still persisit. Ok, will try the current setup for few days and feedback to you. Thanks!
This post has been edited by stormaker: Nov 17 2017, 06:31 PM |
Nov 17 2017, 06:35 PM
680 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 17 2017, 06:19 PM) Look forward to this!!!1 |
Nov 17 2017, 07:18 PM
8,415 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Nov 17 2017, 09:11 PM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
Guys, does ASUS RT-AC58U have High Gain AiRadar Beamforming technology like RT-AC1300UHP? Cause I read those review that beamforming technology improve signal and coverage.
Thanks |
Nov 17 2017, 10:14 PM
1,019 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 17 2017, 06:21 PM) Hi chulk, can i go to lowyat plaza 4th floor?All ASUS networking products are came with 3 years local warranty. You can send back to the place you bought or send to the following service centre for networking. ADVANCENET KL 145,JALAN KENARI 23A, BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA, PUCHONG, 47100, SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN ADVANCENET PENANG NO. 105-08-02 (8TH FLOOR), HEXAGON TECH PARK, JALAN GURDWARA, 10300, PENANG ADVANCENET MELAKA G-10, JALAN PM5, PLAZA MAHKOTA, 75000 MELAKA ADVANCENET JB NO56, JALAN MOLEK 1/28, TAMAN MOLEK, 81100 JOHOR BAHRU ADVANCENET KCH 31, GROUND FLOOR, S/L 5, BLK 10, HOCK KUI COMMERCIAL CENTRE PHASE 3, JLN TUN AHMAD ZAIDI ADCURE, 93150 KUCHING ADVANCENET KK LOT 16. 1ST FLOOR, KOLAM CENTRE PH1, JALAN LINTAS, 88300 KOTA KINABALU Working hours: 9AM - 6PM - Monday to Friday, excluding Public Holidays and State Holidays Thank you |
Nov 17 2017, 11:26 PM
3,130 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Encountered the same problem again just now. But my bad, the modem didnt totally hang, only the wifi problem and i can still login to the modem using ethernet cable.
So, i changed the wifi channel to Auto (previously fixed channel) and turn off the nearby wireless dect phone, hopefully no more problem after this. |
Nov 18 2017, 06:34 AM
7,120 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Wakanda |
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 17 2017, 06:21 PM) Hi chulk, Finally, proper alternatives to return faulty devices and claim warranty. Thanks for the push.. Hey, since Asus pretty much does 1-1 exchange, same with the above? One shows up with the faulty router and proof of purchase, they check and if hardware fault.. A new router is given immediately?All ASUS networking products are came with 3 years local warranty. You can send back to the place you bought or send to the following service centre for networking. ADVANCENET KL 145,JALAN KENARI 23A, BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA, PUCHONG, 47100, SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN ADVANCENET PENANG NO. 105-08-02 (8TH FLOOR), HEXAGON TECH PARK, JALAN GURDWARA, 10300, PENANG ADVANCENET MELAKA G-10, JALAN PM5, PLAZA MAHKOTA, 75000 MELAKA ADVANCENET JB NO56, JALAN MOLEK 1/28, TAMAN MOLEK, 81100 JOHOR BAHRU ADVANCENET KCH 31, GROUND FLOOR, S/L 5, BLK 10, HOCK KUI COMMERCIAL CENTRE PHASE 3, JLN TUN AHMAD ZAIDI ADCURE, 93150 KUCHING ADVANCENET KK LOT 16. 1ST FLOOR, KOLAM CENTRE PH1, JALAN LINTAS, 88300 KOTA KINABALU Working hours: 9AM - 6PM - Monday to Friday, excluding Public Holidays and State Holidays Thank you |
Nov 19 2017, 12:23 PM
2,954 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Hi Sifu,
Currently my Asus RT AC68U using Merlin Firmware 3.0.0.4.378.50. I know very old firmware. Can I just update to the latest firmware or I need update to certain firmware first before update to the latest one? This post has been edited by KKW: Nov 19 2017, 12:24 PM |
Nov 19 2017, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 19 2017, 12:23 PM) Hi Sifu, Should be able to update to the latest firmware. Make sure you factory reset or clear NVRAM after the update.Currently my Asus RT AC68U using Merlin Firmware 3.0.0.4.378.50. I know very old firmware. Can I just update to the latest firmware or I need update to certain firmware first before upgrade to the latest one? You can just proceed to recovery if something wrong happened. |
Nov 19 2017, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 19 2017, 12:24 PM) Should be able to update to the latest firmware. Make sure you factory reset or clear NVRAM after the update. I see. I read from here. It said You can just proceed to recovery if something wrong happened. " Starting with Asus's 3.0.0.4.380_3000 and upward, a new firmware format is used. To flash Asuswrt-Merlin on one of these newer firmwares, you will need 380.61 or newer. Likewise, downgrading to an older version is not supported (try firmware recovery mode if you really need to downgrade) The RT-AC68U and RT-AC56U need to be at least on firmware 378.55 (or the last 378.xxx version from Asus) before you can flash 380.xx, due to the partition size change. " Just wanna double confirm before I proceed my update, I scare I brick it |
Nov 19 2017, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 19 2017, 12:28 PM) I see. I read from here. It said In that case you should flash the 378.55 firmware, reset than upgrade again. " Starting with Asus's 3.0.0.4.380_3000 and upward, a new firmware format is used. To flash Asuswrt-Merlin on one of these newer firmwares, you will need 380.61 or newer. Likewise, downgrading to an older version is not supported (try firmware recovery mode if you really need to downgrade) The RT-AC68U and RT-AC56U need to be at least on firmware 378.55 (or the last 378.xxx version from Asus) before you can flash 380.xx, due to the partition size change. " Just wanna double confirm before I proceed my update, I scare I brick it It is incredibly bard to brick the RT-AC68U, the recovery is always there. |
Nov 19 2017, 12:37 PM
Nov 19 2017, 12:38 PM
Nov 19 2017, 12:41 PM
Nov 19 2017, 02:41 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
sad. today suddenly my ac-rt66u shutdown itself. scaring shit out of me. i tot the router is burnt or power adapter spoil since i checked no led lit.
after few step troubleshoot, found out the power button mechanical failure and the spring forced the switch into permanent switched off position. luckily youtube user also encounter this problem and look like its common issue since N66u model. the power button switch is the tradisional mechanical hook design and its design prone is over the time/ frequent usage will caused the hook out of position or plastic hook holder chipped off. before modified the switch (the blue color mechanical switch is the power button) QUOTE after i removed the spring and put the switch into permanent switched ON position. QUOTE this router serving me since APR 2014. This post has been edited by KIntos: Nov 19 2017, 02:41 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:26 AM |