Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

37 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative (Home Networking)

views
     
blacktubi
post Aug 26 2013, 06:42 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(leoling92 @ Aug 20 2013, 10:51 PM)
Can I know which 1 router is support Huawei E398 and Huawei E3276?
*
Anything since N16 support

Better than N16 I mean

Tested and proven
blacktubi
post Aug 27 2013, 11:02 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(brucesss @ Aug 27 2013, 10:51 PM)
RT-AC66U  brows.gif
*
Pocket not fat enough for that sad.gif

And don't have AC device at the moment sad.gif

And I don't know how to utilize it yet sad.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 17 2014, 02:39 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

ASUSmy

How can I create a secondary connection to access my ADSL router in PPPOE mode. I need to monitor my ADSL stats

Can configure this quite easily on my old TP-LINK wink.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 17 2014, 06:42 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 17 2014, 04:44 PM)
Hi blacktubi,

Mind to elaborate more on the second connection on PPPoE mode? And what model of ADSL router are you are using.

Thank you.
*
My ADSL modem is configured to bridge mode and AC68U is configured to PPPOE mode to connect to the internet.
The ADSL modem got a web interface which I can check my ADSL stats.

My IP is configured this way.
AC68U : 192.168.0.1
ADSL : 192.168.1.1

This is the feature on TP-LINK router which allow me to access my ADSL modem.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 17 2014, 06:43 PM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
blacktubi
post Sep 22 2014, 12:54 AM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 18 2014, 05:11 PM)
Hi blacktubi,

Thank you for the information, I will ask our RD and get back you regarding this features.

Thank you
*
Manage to access my ADSL modem now through this configuration and it is quite easy actually.

Could be useful for anyone who still use ADSL.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 22 2014, 12:54 AM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
blacktubi
post Sep 28 2014, 04:40 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

squall83
OpenVPN works well here.

Maybe you can try merlin firmware, that allow you to have more option on OpenVPN wink.gif


blacktubi
post Oct 9 2014, 10:36 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Oct 2 2014, 06:37 PM)
Anyone know how to manually modeswitch in official/merlin fw?
*
You mean mode switch 3G modem?
blacktubi
post Nov 12 2014, 11:11 AM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

ASUSmy

Can we send Asus router to Asus service centre?
blacktubi
post Jan 13 2015, 10:27 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

ASUS RT-AC68U New Firmware version 3.0.0.4.378.3873
-Fixed infosvr security issue.
-Fixed Cross-site request forgery security issue

IPV6 still not working
blacktubi
post Oct 6 2015, 10:41 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 6 2015, 06:25 PM)
Hi Asusmy,
Can you advice the new model RT-AC55UHP support Unifi or Maxis Fiber Internet?
*
QUOTE(w'lock @ Oct 6 2015, 09:44 PM)
Als9 looking to purchase this,  can Asus Malaysia confirm that it is officially supported ,  coz cannot see it in website,  just afraid no firmware update  e. t. c
*
I am using this router and it is fully compatible with Unifi. I don't test it with Maxis but it should be compatible. wink.gif

Check the Unifi compatibility part. wink.gif
http://www.blacktubi.com/uncategorized/asu...-router-review/
blacktubi
post Mar 3 2016, 09:05 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Mar 2 2016, 10:10 PM)
Hi, I have RT-AC68U router and just update the firmware to3.0.04.380_1842. However after update, my 2.4GHz wifi is not working anymore. Only 5 GHz worked. MY current setting is :

Wireless mode : Auto
b/g protection : Yes
Channel bandwidth : 20 Hz
Control channel : Auto
Authentication method : WPA2-Personnal
WPA encryption : AES
Protected Management Frame : Disable
Network key rotation interval : 3600

I tried downgrade back to old firmware but still not working
*
Have you try a factory reset?
blacktubi
post Mar 13 2016, 12:12 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

I want to chip for the issues mentioned here. Feel free to correct me. smile.gif

USB storage performance
The router supports the USB 3.0 protocol but that does not mean the CPU is optimised for that. NAS exists for a reason. The recently released RT-AC5300 is hardware accelerated for file transfer and I manage to achieve near to 100MB/s. Check out the test on my site. smile.gif

Check out the Wireless 2.4Ghz professional menu, there is an option for USB 3.0 interference. You can improve performance with that. USB 3.0 interferes with Wireless 2.4Ghz. Always use Ethernet for a proper benchmark.

Wireless Performance
Take the RT-AC55UHP for example. Asus advertise is as AC1200. That is combined throughput of all the bands. AC1200 = 867Mbit on 5Ghz + 300Mbit on 2.4Ghz rounded up.

Want to know the actual wireless throughput? Conduct an iPerf3 test. I get 300+Mbit with the RT-AC55UHP on 5Ghz. That is on the best case with good PCIE wireless card and a close distance. Don't expect to get the full claimed throughput especially on 2.4Ghz. Interference, attenuation and noise exist.

My test on RT-AC55UHP
Attached Image
16MB/S write and 20MB/s read on my external HDD. Samba with guest login enabled. Conducted via Ethernet LAN.

20MB = 160Mbit. You need 160Mbit on wireless to achieve this kind of speed. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Mar 13 2016, 12:43 PM
blacktubi
post Mar 13 2016, 12:15 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 13 2016, 11:17 AM)
Hi all,

I have upgraded from an N66U to an AC68U as the main router for my home 50Mb Time Fibre connection. I've posted the N66U for sale but am now having 2nd thoughts, maybe keep it at home to use it together with the AC68U - both are bloody good routers, IMHO.

Perhaps the network gurus here can share their thoughts. This is what I am thinking to do:

1. Leave the AC68U as the primary router. Disable 2.4GHz wifi, enable 5GHz with 1 main SSID, 1 guest SSID (e.g. home5, guest5). Basically 5GHz AC-Wifi up to 1300Mbps.

2. Install the N66U in AP mode (LAN cable to AC68U). Disable 5GHz and enable 2.4GHz wifi, 1 main SSID, 1 guest SSID (e.g. home2, guest2). Basically 2.4GHz N-Wifi up to 450Mbps.

I have about 10 wireless devices and 2 wired devices at home. Overkill?
*
No point doing that. Asus RT-AC68U alone is good enough.
blacktubi
post Mar 18 2016, 04:58 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(x-frame @ Mar 18 2016, 03:02 PM)
I have tried LAN connection from PC to NAS and I can only get a maximum throughput of 660Mbps on wired (Cat 5E). That is still far off from the publish rate,

Need your advice.
*
Can you try running iperf3 with another PC? Just to rule out any possible issue with the NAS.
blacktubi
post Mar 21 2016, 10:13 AM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(andyliew93 @ Mar 21 2016, 10:09 AM)
Hi, any recommendations for wifi router?

-2 floor, house buildup 4.5k square feet
-Using 50mbps UNIFI
-For gaming/HD streaming
-Prefer dual band
-budget: up to RM600
-able to support up to 10 devices simultaneously

Thanks
*
You probably need more than a router if your house is 4.5K square feet.

Asus RT-AC55UHP is great for your usage. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 21 2016, 05:06 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(ericlawyh @ Mar 21 2016, 02:19 PM)
Oh my... My pocket is not deep enough to own a RT-AC5300 with 100MB/s capability...  sweat.gif
*
That's the reason I say get a NAS. Even a cheap NAS is much better than a router for file sharing.
blacktubi
post Mar 22 2016, 11:27 AM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Mar 22 2016, 11:12 AM)
Due to structural constraint, structural cabling is near impossible hence I am searching for an alternative solution to homeplug. I have TP-Link TL-WR1043ND but its Wi-Fi range is rather poor.
*
I believe you need more than a wireless access point. Use powerline as the backbone and buy some wireless AC router and configure it as access point.
blacktubi
post Mar 22 2016, 04:15 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Mar 22 2016, 11:32 AM)
What would you recommend and how shall I configure the wireless router and establish the connections?
*
Main router > Powerline adapter
Powerline adapter > Second router

Get some AV1200 powerline adapter. They perform much better than those AV500 adapters.

For the second router, it will be optimum if you set it up as an access point. Router mode is fine but the best performance would be on a dumb access point mode. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 23 2016, 11:34 AM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(Xnet @ Mar 23 2016, 10:08 AM)
ASUSmy Any guide to using this Smart Connect on AC5300?
I enabled it and it's NOT very smart
*
It is indeed very confusing due to the lack of documentation.

I use this guide from SNB, hope it helps.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...-missing-manual
blacktubi
post Mar 23 2016, 07:43 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,945 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(Xnet @ Mar 23 2016, 06:32 PM)
Mind sharing your settings?
*
I stopped using smart connect and have all of them on the same SSID and let my devices to choose themselves. laugh.gif

Modern devices are smart enough to select the best band. However, they do occasionally stuck on the 5Ghz band despite 2.4Ghz clearly have a better signal.

37 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0389sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th May 2022 - 07:32 PM