Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
lau6311
Dec 23 2014, 03:39 PM
Hi ASUSmy, many thanks. I have looked at it before (together with the unifi setup); I wasn't sure that time and don't want to mess around when setting up. With you re-confirmation, I am now told that it indeed is a good working method with the ac87 firstly receiving the TM modem WLAN wire. I believe this method will ensure that I will get super fast Asus wifi speed and strength, rather than the technicolor max 400Mbps, am I right, please? (Surely, I also need other devices, by design, to match Asus high wifi speeds in order to work out....) Really am appreciating your prompt constructive response, really helping. Actually, last week did not get ac87 from convention center (KLCC) PC fair. Also, two weeks ago, found non ac87 stocks at lowyat (strange, so demanding by users!) Don't like to buy from Lazada (although is cheaper). Please where can I buy it at an authorized asus shop in KL. Thanks again. You are THE best This post has been edited by lau6311: Dec 23 2014, 03:41 PM
TSASUSmy
Dec 23 2014, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(lau6311 @ Dec 23 2014, 03:39 PM) Hi ASUSmy, many thanks. I have looked at it before (together with the unifi setup); I wasn't sure that time and don't want to mess around when setting up. With you re-confirmation, I am now told that it indeed is a good working method with the ac87 firstly receiving the TM modem WLAN wire. I believe this method will ensure that I will get super fast Asus wifi speed and strength, rather than the technicolor max 400Mbps, am I right, please? (Surely, I also need other devices, by design, to match Asus high wifi speeds in order to work out....) Really am appreciating your prompt constructive response, really helping. Actually, last week did not get ac87 from convention center (KLCC) PC fair. Also, two weeks ago, found non ac87 stocks at lowyat (strange, so demanding by users!) Don't like to buy from Lazada (although is cheaper). Please where can I buy it at an authorized asus shop in KL. Thanks again. You are THE best  Hi lau6311, You can visit Low Yat Plaza Sri Computer, Viewnet or C-zone if you would like to purchase the RT-AC87U. Thank you
PBDHH
Dec 23 2014, 04:18 PM

Hi AsusMy,
I'm using AC87U and im experiencing issues to access facebook site so far. I'm experiencing issues often accessing facebook.com site, I have to go to Asus site > channel bandwidth and change the bandwidth from 80 to 40 or 40 to 20 or vice versa and it will work for few hours and again have the same problem.
Kindly advise on whats the issue here.
This post has been edited by PBDHH: Dec 23 2014, 04:35 PM
TSASUSmy
Dec 23 2014, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(PBDHH @ Dec 23 2014, 04:18 PM) Hi AsusMy, I'm using AC87U and im experiencing issues to access facebook site so far. Eeverytime I experience issue accessing facebook.com site, I have to go to Asus site > channel bandwidth and change the bandwidth from 80 to 40 or 40 to 20 or vice versa and it will work for few hours and again have the same problem. Kindly advise on whats the issue here. Hi PBDHH, May I ask is this only happen on the 5GHz only? Because only the 5GHz have the channel bandwidth of 80. If so, try putting different SSID name to differentiate the 2 bands and try fix a control channel for the 2.4GHz and 5GHz. And do try update the firmware to the latest Version 3.0.0.4.376.2769 http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTAC87U/HelpDesk_Download/Thank you
lau6311
Dec 24 2014, 08:23 AM
ASUSmy, good day and thanks.
Will be shopping on X'mas and open the box on boxing day. Yesterday, a good guy completed the basic start-up of WD ex2 NAS with success. Transferred testing WAV files from PC to NAS (wifi n), about 45MB each and took 12 seconds. Not super fast but OK. Waiting to test with ac87.
Coming weekends, will be hands-on with ac87.... Merry X'mas to U...
This post has been edited by lau6311: Dec 24 2014, 08:23 AM
sHawTY
Dec 24 2014, 07:23 PM
AsusWRT-Merlin 376.49 STABLE Update 2 has been released. Changelog: CODE 376.49_2 (23-Dec-2014) - FIXED: Asus DDNS couldn't be configured on the webui - FIXED: OpenVPN server wouldn't let you edit user accounts - FIXED: Missing DLNA icon on clients (Asus bug) (N66, AC66)
Sean J
Dec 27 2014, 12:55 AM
Hi Asusmy,
I have just bought rt-n12d1 wifi router from a subang parage IT store based on the salesman's confirmation that it can replaced the dlink dir-615 router. But after trying so many times with the confirmation from TM on the pppoe username and password, it just won't connect to the internet. The modem I'm using now is a ZTE white standing straight up.
Is this the correct model for the unifi router replacement?
if so, is there a userguide that i can follow?
hope you can help guide me if this is the right model. Thanks!
andrekua2
Dec 27 2014, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 27 2014, 12:55 AM) Hi Asusmy, I have just bought rt-n12d1 wifi router from a subang parage IT store based on the salesman's confirmation that it can replaced the dlink dir-615 router. But after trying so many times with the confirmation from TM on the pppoe username and password, it just won't connect to the internet. The modem I'm using now is a ZTE white standing straight up. Is this the correct model for the unifi router replacement? if so, is there a userguide that i can follow? hope you can help guide me if this is the right model. Thanks! I believe you forget to Tick the Special ISP Requirement at the bottom of the page where you select PPPOE. It will pop a selection box where you can select Unifi-Home. Its a VLAN tagging feature that must be used in order to utilize Unifi/FTTH.
Sean J
Dec 27 2014, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 27 2014, 10:31 AM) I believe you forget to Tick the Special ISP Requirement at the bottom of the page where you select PPPOE. It will pop a selection box where you can select Unifi-Home. Its a VLAN tagging feature that must be used in order to utilize Unifi/FTTH. Thanks andrekua2, you are right. Now the Internet is working. However, I still have one issue with the asus router. I couldn't find the NAT loopback anywhere. Do you have if NAT loopback is built in this router? any other ways that I can go around to emulate the NAT loopback?
andrekua2
Dec 27 2014, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 27 2014, 04:46 PM) Thanks andrekua2, you are right. Now the Internet is working. However, I still have one issue with the asus router. I couldn't find the NAT loopback anywhere. Do you have if NAT loopback is built in this router? any other ways that I can go around to emulate the NAT loopback? Sorry, I dont really get what is NAT Loopback? Is it port forwarding to open specific port for torrent?
Sean J
Dec 27 2014, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 27 2014, 05:10 PM) Sorry, I dont really get what is NAT Loopback? Is it port forwarding to open specific port for torrent? It basically allows you to use the external wan ip or hostname such as your ddns to access from outside of home using 3g etc or from inside my house using my wifi. Basically same app one config and good for external and internal. The old dir615 dlink has it.
jiant
Dec 27 2014, 09:30 PM
how to enable this functions?
can only enable or disable guest SSID.
sHawTY
Dec 28 2014, 09:44 AM
AsusWRT-Merlin 376.49 STABLE Update 4 has been released. Changelog: CODE 376.49_4 (27-Dec-2014) - FIXED: WAN page error when entering a hostname, and broken UPNP FAQ link - FIXED: OpenVPN Server wasn't showing the Advertize DNS to Client option (regression from 3677 merge) - FIXED: bootloop when enabling Traditional QoS (or any other feature that forces CTF to be disabled) due to FA being left enabled (Asus bug) (AC87)
gkong3
Dec 28 2014, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 27 2014, 08:12 PM) It basically allows you to use the external wan ip or hostname such as your ddns to access from outside of home using 3g etc or from inside my house using my wifi. Basically same app one config and good for external and internal. The old dir615 dlink has it. If I'm not mistaken, all AsusWRT-running routers come with this as standard. That is to say, I've never had any issues with gaining access to my SSH server (running on desktop) from my phones when using DDNS, regardless of whether I'm using the WiFi at home or mobile broadband (or public WiFi hotspot, for that matter).
Sean J
Dec 28 2014, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(gkong3 @ Dec 28 2014, 04:39 PM) If I'm not mistaken, all AsusWRT-running routers come with this as standard. That is to say, I've never had any issues with gaining access to my SSH server (running on desktop) from my phones when using DDNS, regardless of whether I'm using the WiFi at home or mobile broadband (or public WiFi hotspot, for that matter). Not in my case with rt-12d1. By default it isn't there. Searching through all pages in the router still couldn't find anything that's relevant to the NAT loopback. Tried enable all at the NAT passthrough still not working. What model is yours gkong3?
lucklyghost
Dec 28 2014, 05:15 PM
Dear All Sifu,
Im plan to buy a new router to replace my house unifi router, i planning to buy below model, either AC or N WIFI router, but i heard Wireless AC weakness is Limited on the wireless coverages. not like 802.11N so wide coverage. anyone can verify this problem.
MY requirement as below -DDNS ( I heard Asus come with Asus free DDNS services ) -VPN ( I may need to VPN back to my house Computer networks) -QoS ( Set the application quality ) -Netflow (not sure whether do Asus can explore Netflow send to my monitoring solution or not) -SNMP ( i believe can right ? ) -Guest SSID ( i think no issue)
RT-AC68U - RM829 RT-AC66U - RM719
RT-N66U - RM619 RT-N56U - RM409
SUSraynman
Dec 28 2014, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 27 2014, 08:12 PM) It basically allows you to use the external wan ip or hostname such as your ddns to access from outside of home using 3g etc or from inside my house using my wifi. Basically same app one config and good for external and internal. The old dir615 dlink has it. I am using the ASUS RT-N12 D1 just like you and I am able to ping my external WAN IP through DDNS (sapphirecraft.dlinkddns.com), my Minecraft server, from inside my house (PC at 192.168.1.100). I am able to access and log in to my own Minecraft server from my other PC (192.168.1.100) through Wifi. 
Sean J
Dec 28 2014, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(raynman @ Dec 28 2014, 05:46 PM) I am using the ASUS RT-N12 D1 just like you and I am able to ping my external WAN IP through DDNS (sapphirecraft.dlinkddns.com), my Minecraft server, from inside my house (PC at 192.168.1.100). I am able to access and log in to my own Minecraft server from my other PC (192.168.1.100) through Wifi.   Hi Raynman, I can ping my ddns too. However once I appended the :[port], it won't work anymore. I suppose your Minecraft server requires a specific port too? How do you get around that? For example, sapphirecraft.dlinkddns.com:7100 ?
SUSraynman
Dec 28 2014, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 28 2014, 07:42 PM) Hi Raynman, I can ping my ddns too. However once I appended the :[port], it won't work anymore. I suppose your Minecraft server requires a specific port too? How do you get around that? For example, sapphirecraft.dlinkddns.com:7100 ? The port number for Minecraft is 25565, which is port-forwarded to the local IP address of my Minecraft server. You can't ping a specific port of an IP address.
Lineage
Dec 29 2014, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(Sean J @ Dec 28 2014, 07:42 PM) Hi Raynman, I can ping my ddns too. However once I appended the :[port], it won't work anymore. I suppose your Minecraft server requires a specific port too? How do you get around that? For example, sapphirecraft.dlinkddns.com:7100 ? Did you "Enable web access from WAN"? can you remote login your router from oustide? 
This post has been edited by Lineage: Dec 29 2014, 12:39 AM