Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

lucklyghost
post Dec 28 2014, 05:15 PM

430 posts

Dear All Sifu,

Im plan to buy a new router to replace my house unifi router, i planning to buy below model, either AC or N WIFI router, but i heard Wireless AC weakness is Limited on the wireless coverages. not like 802.11N so wide coverage. anyone can verify this problem.

MY requirement as below
-DDNS ( I heard Asus come with Asus free DDNS services )
-VPN ( I may need to VPN back to my house Computer networks)
-QoS ( Set the application quality )
-Netflow (not sure whether do Asus can explore Netflow send to my monitoring solution or not)
-SNMP ( i believe can right ? )
-Guest SSID ( i think no issue)

RT-AC68U - RM829
RT-AC66U - RM719

RT-N66U - RM619
RT-N56U - RM409
lucklyghost
post Dec 29 2014, 11:26 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(lau6311 @ Dec 29 2014, 08:27 AM)
Hi ASUSmy and thanks, now I have this AC87 router from Sri Computer, a fantastic sales guy "Hou". Basic setup at home is OK. But a few questions, appreciating of your kind support.    icon_question.gif

1. I am not able to have Technicolor internet functioning for working in conjunction with AC87 (set as a router), how if possible ? (I am hoping that, since I am powering up Technicolor, I should use its internet functioning for additional flexibility in supporting other wifi devices functioning with internet service on the ground floor, as the modem/AC 87/Technicolor located. The powerful AC 87 to support ground & upper floors for the needs. Tk-Link power plugs to support hard corners of upper floor.)

I have AC87 hooked up between TM modem & Technicolor, modem ethernet cable "out" connecting to AC87 WAN, AC87 ethernet port 3 (selected as VOIP enable) out to Technicolor WLAN and as usual it has the dect phone working. Note that the AC87 is working, but Technicolor LED lights showing broadband/wifi/phone lines "green" (no devices are connected to all ethernet ports, and no internet LED is lighting up), but my PC can detect Technicolor wifi signal but no internet service.

2. Why AC87 is showing a low 216.7 Mbps (I used "wifi analyzer" apps), my other wifi router/extender (Technicolor, Tk-Link power plugs 4230 wifi kit) are showing 300 Mpbs at the same time ? Note that all my wifi devices (PC, notebook are not AC grade but a mix of n & g.)

To appraise AC87 powerful router, it provides a strength of -40 dB as compare to Techicolor -68 dB, power plug -65 dB (a few meters away) on the upper floor where my PC is located. Actually, the Technicolor is a good wifi router with good strength.

Good news, note also that my WD EX2 8T when connected to AC87 erthernet port is showing only "green" LED blinking. Earlier showing a mixed of green & yellow LED with green blinking of the EX2 when used with Technicolor.

Base on the report, AC wireless doesn't able to provide you LAN Speed.....maximum around 200+mbps...base on report , personally i wish to buy but still under review.

got people say AC wireless unable to provide wide range compare than 802.11n wireless
lucklyghost
post Dec 29 2014, 12:57 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(lau6311 @ Dec 29 2014, 12:53 PM)
Yes, you are right. LAN speed (ac87 ethernet ports are 1Gbps) is much faster (cabled) and AC wifi "practically" is about >>500Mbps for 5Ghz, and it is better than max n <480 Mbps. I need the wifi speed in the house. Time is more valuable than small $$, sitting there for hours for a slower progress. I hope it is a right move. Hoping your review is affirmatively positive.    smile.gif

Also, My WD EX2 NAS is working at 1Gbps by ethernet cable with ac87; believe it helps the wifi speed.
NAS is so importantly as specially on speed, better to use ethernet cable (personally i think la) , but is too far then have no choice to use wifi.

im also thinking whether want to invest in wireless AC or not due to AC coverage not far than 802.11n
lucklyghost
post Dec 29 2014, 01:26 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(lau6311 @ Dec 29 2014, 01:12 PM)
Hi lucklyghost, your good advice is much appreciated, many thanks.

All these devices/equipment are installed next to one another (TM modem, AC87, Technicolor, Oppo, TV, WD NAS, Chromcast.)

Actually, there are other "good" AC routers. The recent KLCC convention center was showing "yet to be available soon" Tk-Link AC router, forgot model number, about < RM600. Asus AC68 has very good reviews.

Not sure of your usage, and I am new to these technologies and experience. The fact is I am struggling to optimize the WD NAS. At times, I need to learn from you....  Cheers.... tongue.gif

(n wifi is at best by 600 Mbps, older devices may be 480 Mbps. AC seems like > 1000 Mbps. Not sure it is right)
im lousy la ~~ better learn with all sifu here.

im also planning to deploy a NAS as my personal cloud storages, how about you, what is your usage on your NAS ?

Chromcast - is this good ?

Since you using Wireless AC, how is the converges that you found out ? really not so wide?
lucklyghost
post Jan 6 2015, 09:57 AM

430 posts

Dear All Sifu,

I;m planning to change unifi router to Asus N66U, i notice there is few people mention about N66U is not so stable however i saw the advertisement mention N66U is the best Wireless router 2014.

MY requirement is such as
-DDNS ( i notice Asus got FREE DDNS which is good for me, because for Free account DyDns require reconfigure every 30 days) so better got Asus FREE DDNS.
-VPN Feature
-Gigabit Port
-All in One (Modem + Router + Wireless) - (do i still require Unifi Router?)
-Guest Login
-Netflow (i notice the standard firmware like not able to support Netflow )
-SNMP (For monitoring )

Lastly, anyone flash to DD-WRT firmware ? not sure worth it or not
lucklyghost
post Jan 10 2015, 01:46 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jan 9 2015, 10:36 PM)
N66u is a very good router,and will be to support your requirements  (not too sure about netflow though) SNMP might be available with Merlin firmware. Not too sure about it,but the AC56U definitely supports it
Merlin firmware or DD-WRT got any different ?
if flashed Merlin firmware , will it lose the Asus DDNS FREE services ?
after flash Merlin firmware, can reload back Asus firmware if I'm don't like ?

i believe flash merlin firmware will lose the warranty right ?
lucklyghost
post Jan 11 2015, 12:40 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 10 2015, 10:41 AM)
Huge differences.
Merlin is still based on ASUS official firmware with lots of tweaks & functions that aren't available in ASUS official firmware.
In fact, ASUS official firmwares do adopt some bug fixes that is made by Merlin.
DD-WRT however is completely different.
No.
Yes.
No.
HI SIFU, thanks for your reply, but i still can't get the info between Merlin VS DD-WRT.

If i flash Merlin, still will maintain Asus DDNS services ?

will lose warranty right ?
lucklyghost
post Jan 11 2015, 04:04 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 11 2015, 02:13 AM)
Read my post again, but this time, read it slowly & carefully.
I've arranged my answers correctly based on your questions. smile.gif
hur? even flash Merlin firmware also will maintain the warranty so good ?
lucklyghost
post Jan 12 2015, 04:07 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 11 2015, 04:10 PM)
Yes.
Unlike DD-WRT/OpenWRT/Tomato, Merlin is based on ASUS official firmware.
There are no differences except for the extra tweaks & bug fixes.
Thanks for your fruitful information, i going to purchase later

may i know which firmware is better DD-WRT/OpenWRT/Tomato, Merlin ?
lucklyghost
post Jan 13 2015, 05:58 PM

430 posts

just now went to lowest N66U no stock ~~~~

any model can suggest ?

0.0386sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:06 AM