Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather
wishbone
Jul 15 2010, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(apis_jay @ Jul 15 2010, 03:14 PM) I've already work with Fugro for 2 1/2 years (Mainly in Malaysia and Thailand). I'm still seeking for experiences which is still a lot to learn. About salary increment, so far I get increment annually or you have been promoted to another grade (eg: Probation>Junior). Plus I get 13 months pay annually. Actually, I don't have to come to KL office frequently since I'm a 'Field Staff'. Most of the time, I'm at home either for holidays or standby for the job. USD40/onshore allowance applies when you working onshore and travel to another place, mobilise equipments and etc. To be the truth, Fugro is quite a big name for Seismic and Positioning services in OnG sector in this region. More info: http://www.fugro.comYou do realize the Fugro surveyors in Malaysia are being shortchanged, don't you ?
pc123
Jul 16 2010, 01:43 PM

QUOTE(rookiez @ Jul 13 2010, 02:32 PM) Why don't u try and apply thru the website, or use snail mail, instead of depending on other people.....Working environment pretty hectic but normal la, u want more money, u spend more time and energy.... Fresh Grad pay is from RM3.5k. Rookiez ur from Talisman? My my, I`m tinking of denying my jpa for tal..but its risky if i cant get the scholarship..1 more thing, how many freshies they take each year round?
rookiez
Jul 19 2010, 03:06 AM
QUOTE(pc123 @ Jul 16 2010, 01:43 PM) Rookiez ur from Talisman? My my, I`m tinking of denying my jpa for tal..but its risky if i cant get the scholarship..1 more thing, how many freshies they take each year round? Come on la bro...screw jpa la...actually i'm not from talisman...but gotta friend working in there....they dun set any limit in hiring people...if u are good,then u r in....if not then try other companies lo....
CypherXX
Jul 19 2010, 05:35 PM
Shell has been calling me for numerous times now offering this and that yet they still haven't call me concerning the job openings.. What does this tell u? Anyone have any experience with this.. please share
leezy
Jul 23 2010, 10:54 AM

Hi, mind to let me know if i dint get credit in my BM, do i have the chance to work in oil rig or as a field engineer in any oil company?
kokanchai
Jul 23 2010, 12:39 PM
hi guys,
i got offer from a oil and Gas company as a site engineer.
what are the job scope it about?
and do they pay well for this position?
do you think,it has a better career in the future prospect?
i am consider fresh in this field.
luyut
Jul 23 2010, 08:18 PM

guys.just sharing info here.sapuracrest is looking for EA (engineering associate) and MA (management associate) again.so freshies here ur chance!gud luck!
how to apply? via josbstreet.
tq.
terrylimch
Jul 27 2010, 04:16 PM
Hello there, I am reading electrical&electronic engineering in NTU now. Do I stand a big chance to get in o&g industry after gradaute compared to MEng, CEng?
rickysim84
Jul 27 2010, 04:33 PM
i still think mechanical have higher chance to land on oil and gas job
Jhnzr
Jul 27 2010, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(terrylimch @ Jul 27 2010, 04:16 PM) Hello there, I am reading electrical&electronic engineering in NTU now. Do I stand a big chance to get in o&g industry after gradaute compared to MEng, CEng? any kind of engineering...-----> technical (upstream&downstream--> exploration&production/refining/..etc2) any other degree...-----> non technical (upstream&downstream--> procurement/accounts/HR/supply chain..even receptionist...etc2)
Noyze
Jul 28 2010, 10:14 AM
OK so many pages came and went i'll try to remember to reply what i can. SOmeone asked about Talisman? if got offer, then GO grab it. It's one of the main contractors around that actually pays well. However, it also depends on which line u're getting in.
Technip : also a good company, they provide a lot of training. You will find that you will stay in Technip for a long time as you will grow very comfortable in it.
Shell : Which shell? SSB? SSPC? or Shell Trading? They make a difference. I'm sitting on contractor side as I like doing projects and not so keen on a permanent position. I find it more challenging plus the money is damn good. lol. Currently, am contemplating which company to join as I too was offered by SSB but not too keen on a permanent position. 3 main-cons have offered me an offer mroe attractive than shell so i'm just weighing my options now. Oh btw, there's still 2 more years left in this current contract i'm doing.
If anyone is interested in getting into O&G ( as a fresh grad but the community prefer experienced ppl) do let me know what line u're in, be it HSE, ENG, etc. I get an average of 3-5 e-mails a week from friends and companies requesting me to recommend ppl for contract jobs, so if u're really interested to work short term, i.e. 3-12 months project let me know. Especially Mariners as they're in great demand.
ICDeadPeople
Jul 28 2010, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(Noyze @ Jul 28 2010, 10:14 AM) OK so many pages came and went i'll try to remember to reply what i can. SOmeone asked about Talisman? if got offer, then GO grab it. It's one of the main contractors around that actually pays well. However, it also depends on which line u're getting in. Just to clarify, Talisman is an operator, not contractor.
new~b0y
Jul 28 2010, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 28 2010, 12:28 PM) Just to clarify, Talisman is an operator, not contractor.  Of course, but since Noyze is a freelancer, from his perspective, every party which offer him a contract job is a contractor.
Noyze
Jul 28 2010, 02:48 PM
Actually ICdeadpeople is right talisman is an operator, but like newboy said, everyone's a contractor to me, makes no difference really as I'm not bothered about the benefits etc, for me its just I perform the task assigned as long as u meet my price. So heck in the end I also macam contractor! lolx
destroyer
Jul 28 2010, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(Noyze @ Jul 28 2010, 10:14 AM) If anyone is interested in getting into O&G ( as a fresh grad but the community prefer experienced ppl) do let me know what line u're in, be it HSE, ENG, etc. I get an average of 3-5 e-mails a week from friends and companies requesting me to recommend ppl for contract jobs, so if u're really interested to work short term, i.e. 3-12 months project let me know. Especially Mariners as they're in great demand. mariners? do u mean seafarer like navigational officer and marine engineer?
SUSryanliew87
Jul 29 2010, 02:43 PM

basically im not an enginner....juz wondering if there any possibility to land a job in O&G companies??
destroyer
Jul 29 2010, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Jul 29 2010, 02:43 PM) basically im not an enginner....juz wondering if there any possibility to land a job in O&G companies?? as per what Jhnzr said. any kind of engineering...-----> technical (upstream&downstream--> exploration&production/refining/..etc2) any other degree...-----> non technical (upstream&downstream--> procurement/accounts/HR/supply chain..even receptionist...etc2) what certs n experience u're holding?
electroyid
Jul 29 2010, 03:12 PM

hye guyz... i had pass my basic DP course in Singapore... n been applying since then.. but still no reply from all the company.. mind advice me how do i get my self in the DP company.. need work...need money for living..
SUSryanliew87
Jul 29 2010, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(destroyer @ Jul 29 2010, 02:48 PM) as per what Jhnzr said. any kind of engineering...-----> technical (upstream&downstream--> exploration&production/refining/..etc2) any other degree...-----> non technical (upstream&downstream--> procurement/accounts/HR/supply chain..even receptionist...etc2) what certs n experience u're holding? mathematics/statistisc ><
destroyer
Jul 29 2010, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(electroyid @ Jul 29 2010, 03:12 PM) hye guyz... i had pass my basic DP course in Singapore... n been applying since then.. but still no reply from all the company.. mind advice me how do i get my self in the DP company.. need work...need money for living.. hrmmm... let me guess. dynamic positioning operator? if that is so, mybe you can try with local company such as bumi armada to be their dp officer.