Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

ICDeadPeople
post Jul 5 2007, 01:08 PM

783 posts

Fresh grad, if im not mistaken the minimum requirement now is master, wether engineering or geoscience. At least thats what my current company is doing.
For you guys that still doing spm or matriculation, think carefully when you want to choose your majoring. There is a big shortage in Oil and Gas, especially in geoscience (geologist, geophysicist). Many people opt for engineering because they think its the most highly paid job around. Believe me man, that is not always the case. My friends earn like 12-13k a month, and they are geology graduate, mid 20s. I myself is a geologist, not as high as them though but enuff to feed me and my family.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 5 2007, 01:23 PM

783 posts

That apply to Oil and Gas Co only. For other service company (schlum, halli, weather, baker, ILO etc), I dont think so.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 6 2007, 02:32 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Jul 5 2007, 05:36 PM)
if your friend can earn 12-13K in mid 20s... i think they are working offshore, right?

Currently the average age (workers) in oil & gas related company is about 52 yrs old, in 5-10yrs, there will be a lot (about 50% of them) of skilled manpowers (upstream) will be retired, grab this chance  wink.gif

Master is a minimum requirement? Maybe oversea... but not in Malaysia.

Btw, im working as a geoscientist (geology+geophysics)
No man, my friends one of them with services company, and the other one is oil company. Both of them doing office work. The reason their salary is high is because they jump company.
Yes, most company (esp oil company) required master for fresh grad. I myself is not a master graduate, luckily it was not required during that time. I think petronas they dont require master for freshies.
ICDeadPeople
post Apr 9 2008, 04:23 PM

783 posts

Well, schlumberger always pay better, but the job is abit tough/demanding also. Years ago before the oil and gas booming, they have this notorious habit to sack people. Not anymore nowadays.
A friend of mine keep asking me to join them, but Im not that keen.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 9 2008, 08:38 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ Jul 8 2008, 11:29 PM)
Guys..just asking..i`m lazy to do research already..can any1 out there answer me?
Geophysic is called `kejuruteraan bahan dan mineral`..
So, Geophysics is basically a materials and minerals enginneering rite?
What bout materials and manufacturing engineering offered by TARC? whats their difference? I only noe both can lead to OnG industries..
No, you are absolutely wrong.
Geophysics has two main discipline (atleast ONG), one is processing geophysicist and one is what we called.... geophysicist, or seismic interpretor. Processing geophysicist is a guy who process seismic data to create a readable data so the geophysicist can interprete those data. The PG dont need you to have a proper geophysics degree (but it will help you alot). You need to have a good computer skills and some basic knowledge on geology. For SI you need to have one of GNG related degree. That's why its pay more and demand is high.
Again, for those people who are looking into ONG industry, dont just aimed for the big guns (slb, hally, exxon, shell etc). There is a lot other small company which can give you proper training to equip you later in the future. Heck, you can even work as a mudlogger first, after afew years become a wellsite geologist.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 30 2008, 08:27 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(Y.K. @ Jul 29 2008, 10:57 PM)
im not a scholar from petronas...hope u get it too...
If you choose, petronas, once you are in, its very hard (or impossible) to get out. Petronas have this rules among O&G and service company in Malaysia, that they cannot hire any petronas staff. In fact starting last year if I'm not mistaken, they even have an agreement with aramco that they cannot hire anymore petronas staff. Thats why I never send my cv to them (at least not yet).
But its not all bad, it is still an O&G company with many operation outside malaysia. And you can always jump ship to other company abroad (excluding aramco of course).

Added on July 30, 2008, 8:32 am
QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jul 30 2008, 03:02 AM)
ohlala got ppl do said tat d oil field will dry up soon? it is to be true?
even in future will have job crisis or not?
How soon? Sabah still got plenty of deep water area to explore. Sarawak and peninsular still got many small oil field that havent been develop.
Maybe exploration wise its not as many as before, but field production and management we still have plenty. We also have others alternative fuel though, like coal bed methane.

This post has been edited by ICDeadPeople: Jul 30 2008, 08:32 AM
ICDeadPeople
post Aug 13 2008, 08:37 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(blue_autumn @ Aug 12 2008, 10:32 AM)
Hi Nevilla,

How long you have been worked for CGG Veritas?
I've been there in last year for my internship. However, I do not get the job in there although I've pass up my resume blush.gif .
Anyway, slb offer seismic processing, I guess, and it is near to your current office as well.
Ha ha... CGG veritas. I've been there about a year or so, than cannot tahan. Keep doing the same thing over and over again. Jump ship after that.
I think slb is better in terms of work variety i think. Because they have so many branch you can always try and ask to be transferred if you are getting bored.
ICDeadPeople
post Sep 11 2008, 09:39 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Sep 10 2008, 11:20 PM)
i applied for employment from shell through the internet for fresh grad. but got rejected..
any other ways to get into shell?
Why do you want to join shell so badly? Do you lived in Miri?
My advise is, try other oil and gas company, plenty of them.
ICDeadPeople
post Nov 13 2008, 08:08 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(hajime86 @ Nov 12 2008, 10:35 PM)
hie all seniors and friends, i'm new here so please go easy on me hehe

mind i ask a quick response from the knowledgable seniors here?

i'm a final year students, and i currently got an offer of internship in Perth, Australia, which requires me to depart from Mas this 26 November... till 25 December, a month internship. the company is Down Under GeoSolutions
http://www.dugeo.com

so may i ask, what kind of company is this? and i've been to their site, which i'm not too sure what i'm reading there... sad.gif
the manager called me today and i only got time till tmr morning to fax my offer letter and final decision. thanks a lot.

P.S oh, they did mention that i'm gonna get job employment offer as well after the internship... izzit good choice?
This is a company who specialized doing seismic attribute work, like volume inversion and stuff. I thing they are quite good. It is pretty similar like Jason or Hampson-Russel. If I were you, i'll take it since it will give you an opportunity to get familiar with O&G environment. Besides it will look good on your CV.

Added on November 13, 2008, 8:10 am
QUOTE(qhaireelz @ Nov 12 2008, 10:36 PM)
wanna ask, does physics graduate have job oppurtunity in O&G? i'm really2 interested in O&G field
A lot. Look for CGGVeritas or Western-Geco, or PGS (im not so sure whether they have oofice in Malaysia).
Even if you are lucky you can apply for any oil company as a geophysicist.

This post has been edited by ICDeadPeople: Nov 13 2008, 08:10 AM
ICDeadPeople
post Feb 12 2009, 11:52 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Feb 11 2009, 11:45 AM)
where can we get a list of oil and gas related companies that are located in malaysia?
is there some sort of blog to read as well? or an independently run website?
Another good way to find out list of O&G and service company is by going to any O&G related event/seminar/conference. Usually they have books with list of companies together with the contact person.
PGCE is coming soon, 2-3rd march at KLCC. Its a really important event for lots of company. try to go there.
ICDeadPeople
post Feb 12 2009, 04:37 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(poy @ Feb 12 2009, 12:48 PM)
Do prior registration required to attend the conference?
Yes, but if you are students and member of GSM, it is alot cheaper.
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 12 2009, 08:10 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(mimipiggie @ Mar 11 2009, 12:32 PM)
Hi all,

I am with an Australian based recruitment company seeking for an individual who will fit into a role of Project Engineer in Oil and Gas for our client
salary looks good between RM6K - 9K basic,

you may go into www.forza.com.au for more information on FORZA, the company i am attached with.

Pls contact me at my email at dnorzana.forza.com.au for more information for the role.

Thank . smile.gif
6 to 9k? Don't you think its rather small?
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 13 2009, 08:46 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 12 2009, 11:32 PM)
What do you think the pay should be for a Project Engineer? Or maybe i should ask what is your current receiving basic pay as Project Engineer per month?
Well, Im not a project engineer so I cant say how much. But if you are an engineer in O&G sector and you've been offered that kind of salary as an expart which is basically almost similar to a fresh graduate geologist with master in australia, than I think its rather small.

ICDeadPeople
post Mar 15 2009, 07:35 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 14 2009, 12:36 AM)
It stated in Malaysia Ringgit and not AUS, what gives you the idea that is an expart job? Anyhow, lets say if an expart job, i still say the pay is handsome, because normally they cover the accommodation, taxes, transport, air fare etc. The pay basically is a clean cut money straight into pocket, so it is still small? Another thing is that it is a Project Engineer position, do you know what is their job nature and work environment like, if directly compare to field engineer, service engineer etc?
And what makes you think the 6-9k is clean cut money as you mentioned? I always see offers that give you the gross package, unless it stated otherwise or you yourself demand it to be net during negotiation.
And i dont think its right to say that office job pay is way less than offshore job. Alot off this desk job pays well too. Its the amount of responsibility and task that define the pay package, not just the work environment alone.

So far I've never seen or met 'experienced' Project Engineer in my company getting anything less than RM12-15k /month. That's r local permanent staff, local but outsourced contractually on project basis wud of coz gets more. Expat?? ... no need to mention. They r responsible anything from BFD, conceptualization, FEED, etc until... to the commissioning and handing over, regardless upstream or downstream. Yeah, wud tend to agree 6-9k is a bit on the low side, at least compared to my company.

So Do I. And for a company who looks for project engineer from other country, Im pretty sure they are looking for someone with decent experience, not a fresh-grade that they need to teach.
Again, I wouldnt really know as Im not a project engineer. It just I happen that I knew some of them during some projects that i involved with.

This post has been edited by ICDeadPeople: Mar 15 2009, 07:55 PM
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 15 2009, 08:53 PM

783 posts

How sure are you sure about this? Well pay YES, same pay with those go to sea, sit copper, day in and day out see only male, metal, and sea water, NO. If like you said, then who in this world would like to work at site? Everyone also want to stay at home country's office and yet get the same pay. UNLESS, you go into management role, that might can be the chance, and it is very unlikely.

Maybe you can demand it and tell it to your boss, see what is his response to you.

Lets just say that i have a decent 'personal experience'. whistling.gif
Anyway, offshore, onshore, site, office, doesnt matter. All are trying to earn decent living.

ICDeadPeople
post Mar 16 2009, 08:53 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 15 2009, 09:57 PM)
@IDK: I dunno what to say. You have worked for Petronas before as field engineer. I assume its on offshore rotation duty. You would know what upstream means...

Upstream: Exploration, drilling and completions, production/process (basically getting the oil out from ground to land)

Downstream: Service stations, motor oil, industry petrochem etc. (letting products reach the masses)

Project engineers are office based but do not confuse it being 'downstream'. And they can be richer than the company man in cases.

The benefits of being offshore is the hazard pay + you don't spend shit offshore. If your basic can be more than his basic + hazard, there you go (as ICDeadPeople is trying to say) office guys can earn more. As with depster666's comment on his company, office guys paycheck quite high.

My personal experience? The office guy (project engineer) my team teleconference with every morning earns more than the company man here. Yes, wonders of satellite comm.

Last I heard you left P3t already. Are you still in OnG or other industry?
That exactly what im trying to say. Simply put, why managers get high pay? Because they have to make decision. And who do you think making all these decisions about where to drill, what kind of completion to use, how many wells to optimize production, what kind of production forecast the company should aware after certain period of time? The deskjob people, G&Gs, REs, PTech, petrophysicist.
I have work with service industry, operator and consultation. So I can safely say that these people behind desk do earn alot.
I never say offshore job earn shit. All I want to do is explaining/correcting IDK perception that working behind desk in O&G earn nothing compared to people who work in offshore. Somehow he kind of offended when i said people doing desk job can earn comparable with people in offshore. Im pretty sure IDK is experience enough to talk about offshore part, but I dont think he knows the whole thing about upstream.
And IDK, if you really believe that these desk-sitters earn shit, well, I cant say anything. Hope you are matured enough to listen to other people experience and not limiting your view only to the offshore side of the industry.
As for me, I'll settle with my 'shitty money' desk job as you describe.....

This post has been edited by ICDeadPeople: Mar 16 2009, 08:55 AM
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 16 2009, 03:03 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 16 2009, 01:16 PM)
I never say office based people earn sh!tty pay, rm10k~50k is nowhere a sh!tty pay, then who else want to do the job?
But i strongly disagreed people who go site earn less than office people, and please dont bring in your manager level kind of people to compare it with the field engineer or engineer level people, if you want to compare manager, why dont you compare your office based operation manager's pay with the rig manager, or OIM's pay? All these i'm taking the upstream as example, it applies to downstream also.

I have never say your pay is "sh!tty money" or disrespect your office based job, and i also never say office based earn nothing compare with site based.
You mean this comment is not meant to say my deskjob got shitty pay?
You are saying "personal experience" is not as high as those "office experience"? 

Mate, I think you did not really understand what im trying to say. I only using the manager argument as a reference to make a discussion more understandable (looks like it didnt work). The main point is people who make decision, such as RE, G&G and other desk sitters also is sought after and quite rare, thus making them high earners in this industry, not just operation people in offshore.
Again, I never argue people working offshore earns alot, I really agree with it, but I couldnt really understand why it is hard for you to atleast accept that SOME deskjob do earn more than SOME offshore workers, just like been mentioned by other forumers here. Just because you never saw it doesnt mean its not possible. Like I said, dont limit your view on just the area you are familiar with. O&G is pretty vast for you to understand everything.

You know what, I think I'll just make my own conclusion here so we can end this pointless discussion. Offshore people do earns alot (never doubt that), but SOME desk sitters can earn similar if not higher than SOME offshore workers.

And the RM6-9k for experience project engineer is still considered too low for me (this what we discussing about right?)

ICDeadPeople
post Mar 16 2009, 04:22 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 16 2009, 03:30 PM)
Im not too sure about this,but when you mention experience,you really have to put how much experience you are talking about,is it 3 to 5 years experience or 10 to 15 years experience.....,for me rm6K to 9K sound reasonable for people with 3 to 5 years of experience,but it is definitely too low for someone with 10 to 15 years of experience.

Well i know there are lots of RE ,Geos,Petrophysicst being paid handsomely in Malaysia(even more than average income of people who work offshore with same level of experience),but those are for people with more than 10 years experience .....just my 2 cents
Spot on mate, its all depends on your experience.
I just having this thought that for an australian company who is looking for project engineer from other country, it must have to be someone that have enough experience (7 years or more).
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 16 2009, 05:48 PM

783 posts

Jeez, enuff already. Grow up and move on....
You really showed me how narrow minded a person can be. Its pretty pointless to say anything more.

ICDeadPeople
post Mar 25 2009, 03:58 PM

783 posts

Indeed its true. Lot of company now halting taking new employees, especially those expatriate. Im not sure about fresh grade though. But the company that I previous worked with is not continuing most of these expat contract.
Regarding results vs experience. Its true that with high cgpa it give you bigger chances to be hired. But as for myself I always believe that experience is as important as your cgpa. Recently we interviewed few candidates with superlative results, 10As, best students, dean list for 5-6 semesters running, etc, but when we ask a basic question, most of them couldnt answer it. It shows that they can memorized, but they dont really understand it.

0.0236sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:35 PM