214 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

electroyid
post Jul 29 2010, 03:43 PM

292 posts

send my resume alrdy...twice.. didnt get any reply yet... hmm..
r u a seaman??
destroyer
post Jul 29 2010, 04:05 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Jul 29 2010, 03:43 PM)
r u a seaman??
yep. i'm sea-going marine engineer. it's quite weird bcoz dp officer is in great demand as far as i know. btw, have u finish already 6month familiarization onboard DP vessel for DP officer?
dezerotee
post Jul 29 2010, 04:16 PM

is there any chance for a chemical engineering fresh grad with 2nd class lower to get into OnG company?
still searching for a job.until now still there is no company call me for an interview.
already a month.
is there any other working field that i should try?hope some suggestions from all
new~b0y
post Jul 29 2010, 06:56 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Jul 29 2010, 03:43 PM)
r u a seaman??
From what I heard, DP vessel operators in SEA region would normally hire marine officers with DP certificates. Kill two birds with one stone. The ship can't be sailing and on DP at the same time, correct me if I'm wrong.

Not sure about drilling ships and semi-sub rigs though.

Perhaps it would be easier if you submit your CV to those man-power supply agencies. You probably stand a higher chance of getting short contract jobs.
electroyid
post Jul 30 2010, 02:33 AM

292 posts

i passed my basic.. n didnt have the chance to finish my 1month training..b4 i go for my advance... need help.. smile.gif
Zaypher
post Jul 30 2010, 08:41 AM

297 posts

i have received a call from petronas for an interview for a legal officer position in that company. I decided to go but just want to hear from you guys about the career opportunity in an oil and gas company
Noyze
post Jul 30 2010, 09:27 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

you're a leagal advisor and you do not know of how the world works? Come on, it's not like O&G is a new industry..

Destroyer : yes, a mariner is a seafarer. there is an opening for a class 1 foreign going master and also a class one foreign going engineer. i.e. marine captain and chief engineer. However, experience in support vessels is essential but not neccessary. So if u'ev worked on a workboat before your chances are high. There is also an opening for a Marine HSE Coordinator and a Marine Safety officer. I emphasize marine cos having sailing experience helps a lot. SO if you have friends who have perhaps done their sea time as a cadet but dun wanna continue, get them to buzz me and I'll ask them to take up a HSE course and well the future would look much brighter.

This post has been edited by Noyze: Jul 30 2010, 09:37 AM
destroyer
post Jul 30 2010, 10:50 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Jul 30 2010, 09:27 AM)
Destroyer : yes, a mariner is a seafarer. there is an opening for a class 1 foreign going master and also a class one foreign going engineer. i.e. marine captain and chief engineer. However, experience in support vessels is essential but not neccessary. So if u'ev worked on a workboat before your chances are high. There is also an opening for a Marine HSE Coordinator and a Marine Safety officer. I emphasize marine cos having sailing experience helps a lot. SO if you have friends who have perhaps done their sea time as a cadet but dun wanna continue, get them to buzz me and I'll ask them to take up a HSE course and well the future would look much brighter.
hrm.... i've known some people who have the class 1 COC. both captain n chief engneer. for the vacancy available, how much usually the salary given to class 1 COC seafarer in OnG?

about the cadet, i'll try to look around if any of my fren interested. juz want 2 know, let say they've undergo the course, what is the expected salary. just wanna know coz fresh diploma grads onboard ship are paid usd2200 as a starting.
Noyze
post Jul 30 2010, 11:19 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

You wanna sail or you wanna be on shore - it's their pick. If they decide to sail then stay at sea, if offshore they dun have anything related to sailing which they can use on any other job except sailing. For marine HSE the core is HSE not marine. The sailnig experience is only used as a leverage to get their foot in.

And I dun think fresh dip grads gets USD2200 monthly as on board a vessel, it does not matter what qualification u had from shore, everyone starts from the bottom i.e. a Cadet. ur friends are BS-ing you man lol.
For marine captains on board the salary range is between USD250 - USD500 a day. it's less than half of the global rates but it all depends on the fellow. If he wants to do it or not, that's why we have captains from Myanmar and indonesia filling in the gaps out here in offshore world.

As for the course, well go attend NIOSH, and like any other career, ur'e new to the damn field dun expect much. I had one uni grad, well actually a masters in chemistry or something like that who just toko a NIOSH course ( safety officer course) and demanded 10k month. lol. I asked him to come in for interview then fired the living daylights out of him. cos he could not answer questions pertaining to HSE but instead tried to outsmart me with his knowledge of chemistry lol. I told him what he knows about chemistry has no relevance to the work in HSE. SO basically i told him to take his masters in chemistry and stick it where the sun dun shine if he wants to get into HSE lol.

yeah i'm evil I know but we dun need smart alecs and ppl who demand unless they can prove themselves. SO freshies, be careful if you find someone like me lol, actually theyre lots of guys like me in our world. lolx.
destroyer
post Jul 30 2010, 11:45 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Jul 30 2010, 11:19 AM)
You wanna sail or you wanna be on shore - it's their pick. If they decide to sail then stay at sea, if offshore they dun have anything related to sailing which they can use on any other job except sailing. For marine HSE the core is HSE not marine. The sailnig experience is only used as a leverage to get their foot in.

And I dun think fresh dip grads gets USD2200 monthly as on board a vessel, it does not matter what qualification u had from shore, everyone starts from the bottom i.e. a Cadet. ur friends are BS-ing you man lol.
For marine captains on board the salary range is between USD250 - USD500 a day. it's less than half of the global rates but it all depends on the fellow. If he wants to do it or not, that's why we have captains from Myanmar and indonesia filling in the gaps out here in offshore world.

As for the course, well go attend NIOSH, and like any other career, ur'e new to the damn field dun expect much. I had one uni grad, well actually a masters in chemistry or something like that who just toko a NIOSH course ( safety officer course) and demanded 10k  month. lol. I asked him to come in for interview then fired the living daylights out of him. cos he could not answer questions pertaining to HSE but instead tried to outsmart me with his knowledge of chemistry lol. I told him what he knows about chemistry has no relevance to the work in HSE. SO basically i told him to take his masters in chemistry and stick it where the sun dun shine if he wants to get into HSE lol.

yeah i'm evil I know but we dun need smart alecs and ppl who demand unless they can prove themselves. SO freshies, be careful if you find someone like me lol, actually theyre lots of guys like me in our world. lolx.
yeah quite true what you've said. but i've already pass cadetship. salary only usd200. cadetship is my 3rd & 4th sem. yup. it's true my current company pay about usd2200 for diploma fresh grads(4th eng&3rd officer). but not really fresh. coz need to take exam from Marine Department. and also we've undergo 12months of cadetship.

i'm asking about salary coz wanna know the rate seafarer will be getting if they jump into OnG.
NewbieBetta
post Jul 31 2010, 04:37 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

any idea how could a fresh grad start off his/her career as a welder or drill engineer?

companies usually seek for experience candidate.
carloz28
post Aug 1 2010, 10:05 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

fresh engineer to welder or drill engineer?

Here's the path: I dun see any reason why a professional engineer wants to become an offshore Welder but if u insists..

1) Join drilling crew and start as roughneck, slowly work your way up to the welder position. Normally if they see the welding potiental in you, they will send you for welding training courses which in return you will get a certificate. That qualifies you as a full fledged welder. A word of advise, normally they hired experienced hands for welder position.

Drilling engineer:
1) Try resume bombarding operator companies like Shell, Chevron, Exxon Mobil, Petronas as a trainee engineer. If you are hired ,When they ask you to pick ur department, say you want to work offshore, field or "operations." Normally you will be trained as a drilling engineer, assisting company man daily with paperwork and reports.

2) Try resume bombarding in oilfield service companies like SLB, Halliburton or Baker. However, the drilling engineer position in oilfield services company are a bit different from what mentioned above and requires years of experience and technical knowledge on well planning, anti coliision studies and drilling ops. They normally promote people internally to sit in this position. If you can get in, then wwell done to you.

This post has been edited by carloz28: Aug 1 2010, 10:06 AM
capix
post Aug 2 2010, 10:44 AM

467 posts

hi..i'm naval architect from ship consultant..any chance for me working at offshore..if got what the pos?
seta_soujiro
post Aug 2 2010, 03:53 PM

97 posts

Wats the salary range for a wellhead engineer (fresh grad) doing service and installation?
tanaltws
post Aug 3 2010, 01:09 AM

Hi, need someone to help on this, does anyone know about Swift Energy Sdn. Bhd. ?How about the working culture there? Benifit? Management of the company? Is it got bright prospect for this company?
Noyze
post Aug 3 2010, 08:21 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

bro, u gotta get ur license before you can even try to touch usd2.2k. As a cadet u're getting jack shit if u asked me. I used to get USD 700 as a basic and then we had cadet allowances which varies from month to month depending on the chief mate and the vessel, which usually starts from a min of USD 250 up to USD 500 a month extra. But then again , that was when sea time for cadet training was 24months unlike now which I heard is only 12 months? crap man no wonder the quality of masters we're getting here are BAD!. I've seen masters and chief mates who cant even plan a proper passage!! >.< and I wonder how the heck these guys get their tickets!?
destroyer
post Aug 3 2010, 02:05 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Aug 3 2010, 08:21 AM)
bro, u gotta get ur license before you can even try to touch usd2.2k. As a cadet u're getting jack shit if u asked me. I used to get USD 700 as a basic and then we had cadet allowances which varies from month to month depending on the chief mate and the vessel, which usually starts from a min of USD 250 up to USD 500 a month extra. But then again , that was when sea time for cadet training was 24months unlike now which I heard is only 12 months? crap man no wonder the quality of masters we're getting here are BAD!. I've seen masters and chief mates who cant even plan a proper passage!! >.< and I wonder how the heck these guys get their tickets!?
yep. that's why i told u that i only getting usd200 as a cadet before. yep. only 200.now extra anything. now as 4th eng i'm earning bout usd2.2k as a starting. my diploma requirement only 12month seatime. for the 24month seatime, it actually depends on the college itself. marine department requirement only 6 month seatime as a cadet for engineer. 12 month for deck cadet. but some maritime college offering courses that 1 year college study and 2 years of shipboard training as a cadet. this is because for some students who prefer to pay cheaper college fees, they choose 2 years of shipboard training. while some that dun wanna spend too much time on sea can opt for 2 years college and 1 year shipboard training. but they have to pay more on tuition fees.

like u've said, some master n chief mate can't plan proper passage. it actually depends on the person itself. honestly from what i've seen. i've met the top 4(master, chief eng, chief off, n 2nd eng) people during my sailing, all of them perform well. sumtimes, they can get their tickets because they can memorize well. but when it come to working, some of them suck.

it also depends on the company. in some company, captain and chief off don't keep watch. captain will do more on ship management(but sometimes they also standby during manouvering) and chief officer only do cargo operation. some company, captain and chief off also need to keep watch.
Getz
post Aug 3 2010, 08:47 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Jul 8 2010, 07:00 AM)
Dont come to middle east now, it is superb hot down here, like a big sauna room  =.=!  Btw, i'm talking Qatar offshore, MOQ. Going back Malaysia tomorrow  ^^
Sound like Sime Darby employee. Finish that project as soon as possible. blush.gif
ex24dec02
post Aug 5 2010, 01:21 PM

208 posts

hi all,

can anybody suggest to me which Oil n Gas company that usually take students for internship program? I'm doing my degree in Mechanical Engineering and next semester is my industrial training (early January). Since my aim after graduate is to work in OnG field, so i think it'll be my advantages to expose in this field of work during my industrial training.

If possible, please provide with contact details of the company. eg. email, phone, address.

thanks.
amarah
post Aug 5 2010, 04:05 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Jul 15 2010, 03:14 PM)
I've already work with Fugro for 2 1/2 years (Mainly in Malaysia and Thailand). I'm still seeking for experiences which is still a lot to learn.

About salary increment, so far I get increment annually or you have been promoted to another grade (eg: Probation>Junior). Plus I get 13 months pay annually.

Actually, I don't have to come to KL office frequently since I'm a 'Field Staff'. Most of the time, I'm at home either for holidays or standby for the job. USD40/onshore allowance applies when you working onshore and travel to another place, mobilise equipments and etc.

To be the truth, Fugro is quite a big name for Seismic and Positioning services in OnG sector in this region. More info: http://www.fugro.com
bro...

are you working onboard seismic vessel...

if so, which department are you in....

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by amarah: Aug 5 2010, 04:08 PM

214 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0327sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:22 PM