thepro91: Nice setup, and diggin' the results of your milk frothing. So far I cant tahan the steaming from lower end machines, and give up too soon... but evidently, it's possible. Can def see your passion in this.
Thanks! just don't give up too soon. Learn the basics then upgrade!
Nolar, used to be a barista, and i'm too used to high steam power. Got a ec155 in my office I think, and a colleague of mine manage to do latte art with the stock 'steam wand'.
Hi everyone. Im TC a coffee enthusiast home barista just like all of you. Never knew this thread is active until accidentally bumped into in while looking for a new coffee machine. I see some of you guys are using the same machine as i am, the Philips Saeco Poemia HD8325. This is my first machine and i would say i have learnt a lot from it. It's a machine which teaches me a lot personally. Being tight on budget, this is all i could afford. From hand grinding with Hario Mini Mill grinder to Breville BCG800 and finally Gaggia MDF. One step at a time i would say to those who just joined. Some of my items were shipped from Taobao. Only the PF from SeattleCoffeeGear.
The Poemia is a great learning tool with some modifications to be done. For example, the Panarello Latte Wand takes a huge leap into making fine microfoam and also the Non-Pressurized PF for the Saeco makes a huge difference on the creama, body , acidity and flavour as a whole. Practising latte is a challenge and experience on this machine due to the inconsistency and under-pressured steam. For me, i guess i have different priorities now as extraction or rather looking for a GOD shot now matters hence the search for a better machine.
All in all nice to meet you guys and i hope i get to contribute and learn from all of you. Meantime wish me luck in finding for a good reasonable single group machine!
Here are some shots and latte art done on the Poemia ! Keep brewing and practising !
(p/s : Loads of failed latte art prior to all these, practise makes perfect. )
Saeco Poemia user here too. Wow, impressive! I wish I can be that good!
I have a PID that I've yet to install. Its only plugged in to monitor the temp which helped a lot to manually surf the temp for both brewing and steaming. Since then I've develop some procedure which allow me to brew at 94c consistently and also good pressure steaming power when I need it.
This post has been edited by Keng: Mar 11 2015, 04:07 PM
Saeco Poemia user here too. Wow, impressive! I wish I can be that good!
I have a PID that I've yet to install. Its only plugged in to monitor the temp which helped a lot to manually surf the temp for both brewing and steaming. Since then I've develop some procedure which allow me to brew at 94c consistently and also good pressure steaming power when I need it.
Mind telling me where and how much that pid cost? Thought of getting one. Hehe.
these are the latte art i made from the ciplak capresso ec 50 which i get from taobao. took a few months to master the steaming on this machine. still got lots to improve
thepro91 Saw u using breville and gaggia grinders. Hows the different between these two grinders? Is it worth it to upgrade to gaggia from breville?
I'm using merdeka coffee bean too. I think they are the cheapest around. Taste is acceptable for my morning and afternoon latte.
Hi wshazi, the gaggia is a great grinder but loads of retention due to the dose set up. Not great for personal home use like us single we don't brew that much. Other than that it grinds much finer for espresso than the breville. I'm grinding at grind setting 4 for espresso while the breville can't even choke the machine at 1.
The breville is great for brews other than espresso since its quite consistent probably due to the conical burr(gaggia's flat) You might wanna consider adding a shim at the base of the blades to make it grind finer but I couldn't find it here in msia. Hence I sold it off. Hope that helps.
This post has been edited by thepro91: Mar 12 2015, 08:51 AM
Hi wshazi, the gaggia is a great grinder but loads of retention due to the dose set up. Not great for personal home use like us single we don't brew that much. Other than that it grinds much finer for espresso than the breville. I'm grinding at grind setting 4 for espresso while the breville can't even choke the machine at 1.
The breville is great for brews other than espresso since its quite consistent probably due to the conical burr(gaggia's flat) You might wanna consider adding a shim at the base of the blades to make it grind finer but I couldn't find it here in msia. Hence I sold it off. Hope that helps.
You can just use any shim/washer that fits the dimension. Many hardware shop sells it here. I did that for my Welhome/WPM grinder
Btw anyone looking for a cheaper coffee machine for starters? Willing to let go my 9months old Saeco Poemia HD8325 with the customized non-pressurized ports filter for a very special discounted price.