132 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

Tikietic
post Mar 19 2015, 04:27 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Mar 9 2015, 05:23 PM)
Question! Thinkin of getting an espresso machine + grinder from another country. Any idea if will kena bomb by duty charge when it reaches here?

EDIT: Solved. Found a similar question here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2870741
got this piece of advice from dankoff m'sia..
coffee machines, e.g espresso machine weighing more than 60kg(commercial class/type) are 100% tax free.. too bad that most consumer types weight less than 60kg a pop..
that's what the folks said..

so, what espresso machine you're planning to get?
DEVILtonight
post Mar 19 2015, 06:50 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Mar 19 2015, 04:27 PM)
got this piece of advice from dankoff m'sia.. 
coffee machines, e.g espresso machine weighing more than 60kg(commercial class/type) are 100% tax free.. too bad that most consumer types weight less than 60kg a pop..
that's what the folks said..

so, what espresso machine you're planning to get?
Initially the Rancilio Silvia/Rocky combo, but now it's Gaggia Classic with a more decent grinder! Can't wait to get accessories for it. Macam dressing up doll je ahaha. And didn't know about 100% tax free bit... maybe we all can have a machine group buy, and put a boulder inside just to make heavier etc.

And for future machine hunters, here's a quick sharing of my hunting experience:

OVERSEAS BUYING
- A whole lot more cheaper, thanks a lot M'sia (a couple of hundreds to a thousand MYR difference)
- For Gaggia and Rancilio, you can get it cheaper from Amazon UK (don't go US because their voltage is different) and espressocoffeeshop. The latter is cheaper, but customer service if shit goes wrong might be troublesome (based in Italy). The consensus from random coffee threads is that espressocoffeeshop WILL honour their warranty, but you gotta chase 'em. Amazon UK settles the duty for you, and their customer service is top notch. But the downside for buying so far away is that, if you find something wrong with your machine upon arrival, sending it back is crazy expensive. But if nothing goes wrong, it's well worth the risk (some Singaporeans got theirs at no trouble).
- As of now, it's duty/sales tax combined is 30%. Sometimes it's based on luck - usually if the content is >500MYR, will kena tax, but did hear some ppl who lepas tax.
- Here is an experience of a Malaysian who purchased from espressocoffeeshop: https://mylapavoni.wordpress.com/2012/08/04...coffee-machine/ Her first machine I think lepas duty/sales tax, so it's quite a good deal.

RANCILIO SILVIA
- It's going at 3450MYR in Cuppa.
- Spinelli coffee in SG sells the Rancilio @ 1000SGD (~2668MYR without tax), and also sells a set (with Rancilio Rocky grinder + a base for both machines - ada drawers wan) @ 1600SGD. Espressocoffeeshop also offers this set for cheaper, but I would suggest Spinelli, because at least it's closer to home.
- Places like Gumtree Singapore may offer second-hand deals.

GAGGIA CLASSIC
- Locally, Lazada is selling it at 2111MYR. Nearly got it from Amazon UK for 1800MYR (tax included). Urbanez (ubzteam in LYN) is selling them too.
- (Edit) http://www.kollektion.com.my/ is also selling Gaggia products
- Takashimaya in SG is no longer selling the Classic, ETC-concept in Malaysia used to stock them but they are closed since around last year.

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Apr 5 2015, 12:33 AM
ivangiam
post Mar 20 2015, 01:11 AM

Hello all,

I am new to this forum. Very excited to see a forum here full of espresso enthusiasts.

I am owning a entry level ec155 and a low end krupp burr grinder. The only mod I had was changed the froth tip from a hk seller. Have been using the machine for 6 months now.

Like to share with you my latte art.

thepro91
post Mar 20 2015, 02:11 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(ivangiam @ Mar 20 2015, 01:11 AM)
Hello all,

I am new to this forum.  Very excited to see a forum here full of espresso enthusiasts. 

I am owning a entry level ec155 and a low end krupp burr grinder.  The only mod I had was changed the froth tip from a hk seller.  Have been using the machine for 6 months now.

Like to share with you my latte art.

I was just like you. Excited to see so many coffee enthusiats when i accidentally bumped into this thread. Great work! Keep it up!
hanny562
post Mar 22 2015, 07:40 PM

944 posts

Today's latte art..

Using Delonghi ECO320 to brew and frost the milk.

JustForCheonging
post Mar 24 2015, 10:50 PM

215 posts

Oh my, anyone who can suggest me any place where i can buy stainless steel milk frothing pitcher/thermometer and cup? I just bought a delonghi ec155 and cant wait to try out coffee making xD!

And should i buy grinder too?
DEVILtonight
post Mar 25 2015, 01:25 AM

74 posts

hanny562: hey that looks good! always like the 'rounded' designs

Just ForCheonging: Cuppa.com.my and Coffeeritual (website and in Publika). Milk frothing is harder than it looks initially, but once you geddit, it's awesomecakes. Prepare to drink a lot of milk :DDD
ierix
post Mar 25 2015, 11:37 PM

Hi guys got myself a philips saeco poemia.I was wondering is there any difference between stainless steel milk frothing pitcher and plastic ones?

I mean does it affect the frothing? also looking for rm200< grinder.any recomendation?
DEVILtonight
post Mar 26 2015, 12:18 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(ierix @ Mar 25 2015, 11:37 PM)
Hi guys got myself a philips saeco poemia.I was wondering is there any difference between stainless steel milk frothing pitcher and plastic ones?

I mean does it affect the frothing? also looking for rm200< grinder.any recomendation?
Not sure about how it affects frothing. But heating up your milk in plastic doesn't seem healthy to me lah.

If you're looking for a decent grinder at that price, go for a handgrinder (hario slim or skerton), and if you could push to rm230, the porlex is a pretty good one.

Keng
post Mar 26 2015, 09:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(ierix @ Mar 25 2015, 11:37 PM)

2 things I can think of, food grade steel and ability to feel the temperature.

Since most plastic foodware must be able to handle the heat, I guess the underlying reason is more about heat transfer then.

I've tried using temp probe, the response is too slow, not precise as you need to submerge more than 70% of the probe length and the hassle of cleaning it afterward.
ierix
post Mar 27 2015, 11:30 PM

Managed to get bout 1 inch of froth from my dutch lady purefarm milk.I think not bad.The froth last quite long in my cup.
ken_zie
post Mar 28 2015, 09:38 AM

830 posts

I have this Delonghi ecam 23.420 which was given by my aunt. Now, the machine need to be descale. However, I don't have the descaler. Do you know what can I use as substitute? Tried to google and some said vinegar but, some said it's not good for the machine.
luvox
post Mar 28 2015, 03:58 PM

626 posts

Hi. I just found out this thread. Happy to see coffee lovers here. I am using cheap taobao espresso machine EUPA tk-1826. I have been using it for few months n love making cappucino. I still unable make good milk foam for latte art consistantly. Any one using this same machine, mind to share tips?

Looking forward to get a new entry espresso machine, budget less than 2k, that can produce satisfied latte art n taste. Please give expert opinion.

xenith
post Mar 29 2015, 09:40 AM

409 posts

Hello guys and girls,

Between Philips Saeco HD8325 and Delonghi EC155, which one is better ?

Amazon list out EC155 as number 1 in budget espresso maker. But i not sure if Philips Saeco could do much better.

Thanks for the advice
johnnywynne
post Mar 30 2015, 02:16 PM

70 posts

Hi Guys and Gals,

Im looking to try and buy the Breville Oracle BES980XL. Does anyone know where I can get or order from?

https://youtu.be/GeTHoUOT7Ho

Thanks ya :-)

This post has been edited by johnnywynne: Mar 30 2015, 02:17 PM
Keng
post Mar 30 2015, 02:26 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(xenith @ Mar 29 2015, 09:40 AM)
Hello guys and girls,

Amazon list out EC155 as number 1 in budget espresso maker. But i not sure if Philips Saeco could do much better.

Thanks for the advice
Both can do the job just well. Both can de-pressurize their portafilter too.

The difference IMO are....

Saeco: can upgrade aftermarket (and naked) portafilter; you can check seattle coffee gear. Not cheap though.

Delonghi: steam wand can upgrade to those with swivel pillowball, can't remember taken from which machine. Not sure whether this has PF upgrade.

Apart from that, their architecture are pretty much similar, thermocoil design. No difference in pump either if I remember correctly. So your deciding factor will be price, look, and future plan of upgrade.

This post has been edited by Keng: Mar 30 2015, 02:28 PM
thepro91
post Mar 30 2015, 08:57 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(xenith @ Mar 29 2015, 09:40 AM)
Hello guys and girls,

Thanks for the advice
Probably you would wanna check out my post https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2524627/+1220. 2nd Last post from below. It's an amazing machine i can tell you.
P/s : i'm letting it go for another machine. Do let me know if you're interested.
xenith
post Mar 30 2015, 09:36 PM

409 posts

Hello guys, thank you very much for the valuables advices
Keng
post Mar 31 2015, 11:05 AM

142 posts

Bought Grand Central Roaster's beans from Perth. Tried several setting and found that I was able to produce for the first time a very very buttery shot. I did this by accident as I didn't change the grind setting from my previous beans.

16gm in 2oz out (forgot to weigh out) in a very short time of 17s. Thick crema, very buttery, not much acidity, very caramel too with slight touch of bitterness.

I was gonna throw away the shot when it extracted so quick but decided to try it coz the color is so good. Glad I didn't.
yuka
post Mar 31 2015, 09:59 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

Hello folks, I just started of brewing my own coffee. So I bought french press from IKEA and Hario grinder from coffeeritual. Got question, do I have to clean the grinder every time after use it? Thanks in advance.

132 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:16 PM