Guys. Need suggestion for electric grinder below rm1k.. Will be using it with my moka pot, french press and aeropress. Saving up for espresso machine. Dont want to upgrade near the future.
prices locally seem higher than sg, this place below does operate locally. Besides going for stepless go for a small commercial grinder, where the burrs don't move when u take apart to clean. Selection kinda limited locally may have import say from oz.
Someone mentioned Grinder, an Eureka Mignon Electronic Doserless, Stepless can be gotten, if you look around, Usually RM1.5k but bargain skill can lower them to RM1.2k.
here I can find a used Nuova Simonelli MDX for like usd$350, change out the burrs for like usd$70 still under rm1.5k 64mm burrs but its tall wouldnt fit nicely under my counter.
Vario kinda plastic and its 54mm ceramic flat burrs I like the mazzer mini 58 or 64mm steel burrs just no $$ for it and hard to find used. so I score the MDF for like us$250 (~RM820) since they are popular in cafe. with tim hortons and starbucks killing them can find such equipment rather easily.
ceramic burrs last 2X as long but they chip rare.
somehow I find more ppl here like the Mazzer and NS not really popular here in states at home. mostly cafe.
good performance is impt and ease of taking it apart to clean to me is impt. if U can get those doserless.
According to the world barista winner video, it's always a good practice to grind and throw away the 1st few gms of coffee that will eliminate retention issues in any grinder. Some ppl say it's discontiued back in 09 but I still find them being made. Burr size change to be bigger vs older design.
I did that and no issues, sound wasteful but lady even ditch coffee which is sitting out for 10secs or so.
I use a hand made machine by mr Salvatore
This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 30 2014, 10:57 PM
how to afford a trad level machine... too expensive for me.
Londinium looks good and cheaper but still its gbp$1650 plus shipping! thats close to usd$3K for me salvatore trad level machine too expensive usd$4K.. nuts!
I am happy with mine no need to collect machines... LOL go too crazy may have to fly to hunt for my own coffee beans, do my own blends and be like Todd @ la colombe
I spend around 30 mins time to grind, extract, clean up the grinder, wash the cloth, wipe things down for 3 cups of coffee and 1 cup of steam milk for my kid.
Super Auto... U spend lot of time cleaning trust me. I use a Jura. the nozzle come flying out, milk not hot..steam 1 cup of milk lucky 1 crazy clean up.. unlucky 3 crazy clean up each cup maybe need to change 2 sets of shirts while u at it.
if U use the automatic sucker U have to run the cleaner for like 10 mins and stuff what a pain plus milk is not streaming hot. cleaner is like usd$10-20 for a tiny bottle and I can burn thru them like water easily. filter is usd$20, I have to replace them monthly. if one using the tablets to clean its usd$20 for 3 mths, but cleaning takes ~1hr. have to do it at nite.
making coffee is fast but clean up is 10X longer than my current setup. when it sucker blows up 2 times each time.. thats like 6 times each morning it will take more more than 45 mins plus it ruin your day. when sucker blows, one need to clean up the frother too to make sure its not clog up.
not sure how many ppl enjoy warm milk splashing all over. helps to keep your table and floor real clean since U will be mopping so freq at least 2X in the morning. LOL. U get the feel the excitement too as u never knows when that thing will blows.
got rid of the sucker in 6mths.. too much cleaning work. in office works great I dont steam milk and I just make coffee, always have clerk to clean.
the Saeco all china made, no getting those. dose very little coffee compare to jura. Saeco more quality issues, Jura more design issues. designed well to keep u hook using their cleaning supplies.
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 3 2014, 02:32 AM
Wow.. that really sucks.. so what setup are you using now to avoid all these? My setup is 30 mins to warm up, but that's for the whole day. Weighing, grinding, extracting and steaming milk is probably a minute or so each time. Cleaning the group head and PF, another 1 min max.. Grinder has no retention, don't have to clean up that often lol. But yeah.. a messy aftermath can be a real PITA..
Grinding and extraction etc just 1 min or so. Extraction usually 25-30secs. That's some fast manual action. HG-one at that price I expect no retention issue. Over usd$1k on manual grinder I expect the best out from it. Maybe one day I get to own one, maybe just maybe.. Lol
My warm up on my salvatore (small) lever is like 10-15mins. I don't leave my machine on for entire day since I only drink in the morning. Grind to extract and stream milk maybe 2 min each time. On my NS mcf I clean weekly. Back flush weekly. The ability to stream crazy hot milk without aftermath is damn sweet.
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 3 2014, 11:49 AM
I am just trying to est your time spend on grinding... I understand its a guide.
if U spend 40sec extracting and your grind and all just 30 secs or so to get 14-20gm of coffee thats even faster. ~60 rotation to do 16gm in below video is 30-40secs. U doing very fast when U est ~1min to do them all.
did U get the blind tumbler? no stock here but some store sell them but prices all inflated! those burrs are expensive! over $200. maybe in the future I find myself getting one.. not near.. maybe 3-5yrs. http://hg-one.com/store/
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 3 2014, 09:49 PM
trad manual level machine? those from La Pavoni isnt that much.. or U looking at something else. I am not familiar with who made these trad manual level besides La Pavoni.
to get your HG-One really need serious savings and timing oh and space. I need to move to a bigger house, my current place just 2000sq ft and I love toys.. waiting for my sous vide to come.
since PULP is the AD email them and check prices. Papa Palheta (M) Sdn Bhd PULP 29-01 Jalan Riong 59100 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Tel. +6012 945 3550 Website: www.papapalheta.com Email: pulp@papapalheta.com
I wonder if anyone buy anything from www.idrinkcoffee.com I was looking to buy something on promotion and its definately cheaper than in Malaysia with the shipping and stuff. But what i am afraid of is that when it reaches malaysia and encounter problem with Malaysia Kastam. Has anyone encounter any problem buying machine or product from overseas?
I am looking at the Breville Barista Express Espresso Machine 870XL and from the website plus shipping its around RM2.1k.
Thanks and regards.
again, someone iirc mel5582 had pointed out the voltage difference and the need of transformer. any issues getting local service centers to fix is also a problem. especially the site u pointed out is operating out of Canada.
Australia u wouldn't have to care about transformer etc
read mel's post. I don't think there will be a problem so long u pay tax! sales tax of 10% of charge and there is a duty rate too. u have to read the customs site, the information presented is way too confusing. maybe best for u to call. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2524627/+700
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 10 2014, 02:49 AM
Yup, NS owns VA.. I think Dankoff will be carrying in the Black Eagle.. Roughly about 70-80k ringgit. The weight based extraction is still being tweaked, so the Black Eagles they have now, doesn't have this feature yet.
Local prices very high Even usa a price tag of Usd$17k can buy a manual Corolla
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 10 2014, 07:41 PM